Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de la Verie 3 stars

110,Route De Soullans, 85300 Challans, France

#1 of 7 hotels in Challans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 244 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The head waiter needs to lighten up and get a it more customer friendly!

    The location to the locality was fine Noirmotiers is well worth a visit The receptionist was welcoming helpful and charming The food was wonderfully prepared by a great chef.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Royale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aggressive mosquitos but avoid the wooded walk and you will be OK

    The proprietors are delightful as are all the staff the food is delicious the rooms comfortable and the decor is regal and entirely appropriate . I am not sure I deserved such a splendid end to my stay in France but having stayed here before we could not resist the temptation to return You owe it to yourself to do the same as there are few places more charming to spend an afternoon and evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no drinks bar in the hotel although drinks were available and brought to us. The bath towels could be bigger.

    There was a good standard of English spoken by the staff. The evening meals were outstanding. In the summer, I am sure the grounds must be wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Royale Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very small thing ... would have loved hot milk with breakfast coffee rather than cold. To be fair, I'm sure if I'd asked I could have had hot milk but the staff were busy with serving breakfast and they had already troubled to bring me the milk I'd requested (without specifying hot or cold) so I didn't like to ask again.

    The owners were very friendly & welcoming. The property is beautifully kept and the grounds lovely for strolling around. Luxurious without being intimidating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the dining was excellent it was a little pricey and the menus were a bit limited if you were staying more than one night.

    Beautiful setting and outlook and wonderful decor. A very large comfortable room in the style of a chateau. Very friendly and helpful staff. Ideally placed for the town and visits to the coast. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no air conditioning Poor water pressure in shower

    An old Chateau looking a bit tired and lacking in many modern amenitites. Good dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    Our fourth visit on our motorcycle to the wonderful place. We just love it. Great room, great staff, great food and great service. Ideal location, what's not to like!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good but the choice was a bit limited given the quality of the hotel.

    Staff brilliant. Dinner was excellent - some of the best food we've ever had. Grounds are amazing - it's almost like being in a park. Very quiet, apart from noisy Korean children in bedroom above one night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was wonderful. The Foigras in cherisse was devine as was the duck! Every course was a treat. The setting itself was beautiful and we enjoyed a lovely walk in the grounds. Nearby Challans is a charming town. The staff were all friendly, accommodating, helpful and welcoming. The room was beautiful, spotless clean with a comfortable bed and modern facilities. We really enjoyed the ambiance. Chateau de la Verie was more than just a hotel en route to our destination...it was an experience and one I hope to enjoy again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Royale Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not exiting: town surrounding has no real facilities or sight seeing. Lot of vacation homes surrounding the area. High focus on attaction or theme parks for small kids in the surrounding area. Expensive breakfast

    Great accomodation and nice chateau. Friendly reception lady and very helpful. Nice pool and gardens. Restaurant is fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and not worth the money and dinner the evening before was very outdated and stuck in the 80's. Let good ingredients speak for themselves rather than pimping them. Fois gras should be natural and not pretend to be a Black cherry! The cheese selection was good.

    The view from our room was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the prices of breakfast and dinner were rather high, which is a pity as it did rather put us off eating at the hotel, but I suppose we would anyway rather eat along the coast somewhere while we were in close proximity to fresh sea food, etc. This is not to say that the food was, in any way, not worth the money......

    A lovely quiet, picturesque and interesting place to stay with super grounds, pity the sheep were not tame, and the pool looked inviting albeit the weather during our short stay was not. The room was spacious and the decor was as one would expect in an old chateau. The bathroom could do with a make-over to bring it a little more into the expected style/standard of the present day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    Lovely Chateau in a quiet parkland setting. Excellent evening meal and a good breakfast. Service was very professional, the staff were friendly and helpful. Good pool with loungers and big brollies also extra towels were supplied. No bar at the hotel but drinks could be taken on the terrace or in one of the amazing character rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only regret is that we'd only booked one night here. We'd have loved to have stayed longer.

    This was a stop-off chosen because of the location more than anything. We couldn't have picked better! Our room was beautiful as was the entire building and grounds. The restaurant provided a fantastic dinner and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We'll certainly recommend this hotel. Not the cheapest but amazing value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used help with luggage in the gravel parking area.

    We had a dinner to remember. Loved the goats in the field early in the morning. The waitress was wonderful and took time to tell us about the wonderful dishes we were served.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food excellent but pricey and a general feeling the restaurant takes precedence over the hotel element of the business. Would have preferred a lounge or bar area for guests to relax in. The terrace is lovely but is being used mainly for diners in the evening.

    Fantastic setting, extensive grounds surrounding lovely chateau. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Well located for Challans and St Jean du Monts by car. Lots of free parking useful as need a car from this location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning and breakfast was a little dull for the price.

    The location and castle were excellent. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, and welcoming to our seven month old baby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Prince Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a hand rail over the bath so I could use the shower more easily which was located over a deep bath.

    Quiet and secluded but with pool and parkland and woodland. Really attentive friendly helpful staff. English is spoken as is French and Dutch. I loved the evening meals. I didn't feel uncomfortable being solo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't need a big dinner and felt sorry that the lady on reception was so keen for us to have dinner. But we found a good bar in Challans. The leaflet dispenser on the top floor landing strikes an old fashioned note.

    Lovely chateau in beautiful grounds. Bedroom nicely decorated and a change from the chain hotels. Very nice small outdoor pool. Staff were welcoming. Very good breads at breakfast. Easy cycle ride to Challans.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived too late to enjoy pool - sat nav "challenges"!

    Friendliness of staff, warm arrival. Dinner on terrace was excellent. Children choice limited but enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheep needed proper care, and shearing!

    Good natured helpful staff. Superb food, especially the desserts! Beautiful parkland setting - we even saw a deer in the grounds at dusk.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful area at the rear of the chateau,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not great value for money

    Staff very nice, food and dining experience wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usuel, it was nice It’s real plaisure to be there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is close.

    The environment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything. Great place to stay

    Felt like being in a castle. All good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expense and expensive breakfast

    History and restaurant. Sheep in the park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    Liked everything the service was amazing such wonderful staff, such beautiful surroundings, I have never felt more relaxed on a holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beware that the restaurant is closed on Mondays - but there are good alternatives in Challans

    very elegant if just a little faded

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was lovely. Hotel is beautiful .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wider choice of dinner menu.

    All excellent including staff attitude and helpfulness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting inside and out, tennis court swimmi9ng pools and loads of space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunshine ;-)

    Peaceful location, gear hosts, great food!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a shower unit rather than a bath

    The meal in the dinning room was excellent the chateau was impressive and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large rooms, good facilities and excellent food make this chateau an amazing place to stay and enjoy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked it all

    the food was lovely ,bathroom and bedroom super

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food for dinner was beautifully presented but could have had more flavour.

    The premium room was worth paying for for the space and large bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely grounds and a room with character.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay. The food in the restaurant is superb and all the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no lift - we were fine but some would find it a slog to the second floor rooms.

    Loved the decor and the ambience. Staff were very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff. Wonderful food Brilliant service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dauphin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful facility with amazing grounds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The whole experience was a pleasure. The owner was always present and aware, although it all run like clockwork. The food was also top class.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My entire experience was truly wonderful; a real delight. I loved the staff, accommodation, food, property and the overall ambience. The chateau is an exquisite example of La Belle France. Hope to return soon.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice to be able to get tea or coffee. Water and drinks in the fridge very expensive, 24c bottle of water 3 euros. !! Didnt bother brought out own in.No guest lounge so had to stay in our room.

    Very comfortable room, lovely decor.and beautiful bathroom. Lovely view of the gardens.Basic breakfast 15 euros !

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A magnificent chateau beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The grounds were extensive and very relaxing for a pre-dinner stroll after a long day's driving. An excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds were hard and the pillows uncomfortable. Also, I am a bit sensitive to smell and I think the room has some moisture damage, smelled like you couldn't air it out. The bed sheet cover smelled so I couldn't use it for the cold night. There were some spiders in the ceiling though, heard they didn't like mold so maybe just stuffy smell. After two nights I got a serious neck sprain that left me sleepless, don't know if it was the result of traveling or the bed here...

    The staff was wonderfully helpful and always available. The cook and the restaurant is amazing, very pleasant experience. The chateau, though a bit run down, is beautiful and you stay in quiet surroundings. There is a pool but it was a bit cold weather when I stayed so I didn't use it. I stayed for three nights and had a room upgrade, a very charming room with a private oriel.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool, which we had all to ourselves was a particular highlight. Was lovely to have a morning swim. The owner contacted us to let us know there was a wedding on the night we stayed, but accommodated us in a quiet wing of the chateau. Our room even had a turret which really made it feel like staying somewhere special. They couldn't be more helpful. It was a wonderful place to stay, we only wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff are lovely and the dinner and coffee outstanding. It is a beautiful hotel in lovely grounds and lives up to its website photographs. We are looking forward to visiting again

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was a little on the cold side and could definitely do with a clean a few times a day just for any stray insects.

    The staff were very polite! The locations was lovely too - a very relaxing and lovely stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Gorgeous location. Loved throwing the windows open in the morning and seeing the sheep and goats grazing in the grounds! Fabulous restaurant too serving amazing food.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at 2.30 on a Sunday and then learned that the hotel effectively closes (except for breakfast) for the next 50 hrs!! No Evening meal on Sunday and no lunch or dinner on Monday and no lunch on Tuesday.

    Meals on the terrace and great swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 22 in Chateau roofline although large only had one small window with a request not to leave it open as pigeons had entered.Warm night and room became stuffy.

    Located in extensive grounds and the two dining rooms were impressive.Attentive staff at mealtimes and good quality food very decoratively presented.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant room(no.20) but located over the kitchens. The staff talked very loud when having their early evening meal outside also later in the evening and at breakfast the next morning. Shower poor. No tea making facilities

    Dinner was excellent as were the breakfasts but both expensive. Lovely location and grounds.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't eat at the restaurant (not our particular taste in food or price) though it did seem popular. Passed as well on breakfast. (Standard). The town of Challans is nothing to speak of.

    The ambiance and the rooms were very nice. We enjoyed our walk around the grounds. We had a cute room (room 21) which had a breakfast nook in the corner turret.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's perfect.

    The rooms are superb, service lovely, food is fantastic. Solene takes care of you as she would her own. One of THE best chateaux we stayed in in France and we go every year to different regions.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wine on the terrace was a highlight the food excellent if a little expensive but the venue was a delight

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault it , brilliant stay in a real French chateau

    Lovely room , food was terrific

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here before ideal stop for ferry connection restaurant very good but expensive especially wine selection compared to similar chateaus .

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ambiance of a chateau

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    divine

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feeling of luxury staying in a chateau

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top floor without lifts

    Superb dinner on terrace

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff in a beautifully appointed Chateau hotel with lovely grounds and a quiet swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Fabulous vibe. Gorgeous rooms. Great staff. Excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, great staff real friendly!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very beautiful place, good staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The woodland walks and the food.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Country estate atmosphere

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Château de la Verie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: