Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau de Lantic

10 route de Lartigue, 33650 Martillac, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Martillac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much actually. I thought the hotel was all rather good.

    Firstly, it is a fantastic building with very kind and helpful hosts. We had a fantastic room. The bathroom was not modern but was perfectly good. The quality, friendliness and value for money was outstanding and I would happily recommend this for a weekend away in the French countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was internet in the main building, there was no connection in our room. It would have been nice to know this at the time of booking.

    Owners were very friendly, and helpful. Would have liked to have wine and a conversation with them however they seemed very busy. A very easy drive to Bordeaux.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A traditional chateaux with a homely luxurious feel in a convenient village setting. Only 10 mins drive to Bordeaux yet in the midst of the vineyards. The village has 2 restaurants and a pizza take away only 2 mins walk. Lovely owners with a lovely dog. Made us feel very welcome at their beautiful home. Spacious comfortable suite, very quiet - we had the best sleep. Our dog was made to feel very welcome too. There's a vet only 5 mins drive which was handy for the return passport check. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible stench in the toilet - like death, think something had died behind the skirting board or the bin needed replacing. Toilet seat didn't fit that particular toilet - wrong size & shape but still functional. No milk provided (not even UHT pots) or English/Breakfast tea bags and only decaf coffee on the tea making tray. Bath towels were very thin and tiny. Bed was too low and hard getting up out of. Breakfast should be included for the price of the Junior Suite (extra 10€ each) - we took a small stroll to the local bakery and got ourselves fresh croissants, pain au chocolat and coffees (only 3.50€ each) and enjoyed them on our private outdoor terrace attached to our room in the sunshine.

    Extremely comfortable huge bed. Ambient lighting. Amazing shower. HD TV. Air Conditioning. Loved you could make your own tea or coffee as there was a kettle. Fridge was a godsend. Parking away from the building as not to ruin the setting/view is nice. Swimming pool looked inviting but we didn't have time. Friendly resident pet Golden Retriever free roaming and greets you upon arrival. Lovely helpful & friendly staff. Easy to find with or without satnav - we arrived in the dark at 9pm and the small town looked gorgeous with its church illuminated and twinkly lights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both when we arrived and left there was none at the reception, just be patient and look for them around!

    We stayed 1 night after a friend''s wedding. We slept in a big and extra comfortable bed, we woke up, had a swim in the 'pool, nice and refreshing shower and we left. Everything went perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given it's close proximity to Bordeaux you can hear a little noise of the dual carriageway (but not too much). We had dinner at the chateau which was lovely home cooked food. However, it was charged at restaurant price which I thought was a little too much for what it was.

    Beautiful Château in the midst of vineyards. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Romantic setting. Close proximity to Bordeaux.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked some meats to be available in the breakfast. It was croissants, bread, jam, dairylea, coffee, tea, cereal.

    The accommodation is EXCELLENT. The staff are EXCELLENT. A real pleasure to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were rarely any staff around and they were totally disinterested in us as guests. Often totally ignoring us, we had never been to the area before and would have loved some input. Definitely not warm hosts. We wanted to know if we could eat in the restaurant one evening and were told we couldn't but with no explanation - apparently you have to book in advance but I have only found this out after reading other reviews. Towels were old and smelt of damp, we had to request new ones every day. Old and tired round the edges.

    Very quiet and relaxing in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very overpriced and hap-hazard very little choice, tables not cleared, disorganised condiments, even ran out of coffee and guests only had juice to drink one morning, very disappointed.

    Lovely location in a quiet village, plenty of parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was run down, dusty rooms, that are poorly maintained including chairs that are dangerous and part collapse, indifferent staff, no operating restaurant, no towels to use the pool, gardens poorly kept. A very poor experience. The Boooking.com web site gives a most misleading image of the property.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what we got. It was very hot and the room did not have air conditioned or even a fan. The fridge was unplugged when we arrived and anyway it did not work very well once plugged. They refused to serve us any dinner when we arrived at 8 pm as you need to book before 18:30.

    The room was big and the hotel is in a quiet spot in the countryside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to actually buy anything, village was tiny and closed all afternoon. Quite limited on what you can buy from the chateaux but we actually liked the lack of commercialism to be fair. We had the most amazing cheeses and wine...which was more than enough for us. But if you want constant attention, then this probably isn't for you....

    Such an authentic French property! An absolute feast for the eyes. Plus soooooo peaceful, tranquil and beautiful everywhere you looked. The pool was stunning, high quality everything..... Village is tiny but lovely, ate at the really good Restaurant Le Pitou twice...and loved it ...highly recommended Beds super comfortable, staff lovely and unobtrusive, wine and cheese on the terrace was wonderful....everything with a smile. I travelled with my mother (70s) and my daughter (16) and we were completely charmed by the whole experience. We didn't want perfect we wanted real.....and that's what we got, and loved every single minute of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the room (cause of the rooms not to us, and the floors), the wifi was not functioning, the owner not specially friendly.

    The room was nice and clean, bkfst was as well good. The pool was top.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning - slept with windows open and got bitten to death by bugs. Mini bar did not work, staff a bit grumpy, the place needs a really good clean. Everything chipped and lacks attention to detail. No bar as such - more of a guest house than a hotel.

    Old world charm - however this comes at a price. Lacks good facilities, things are broken - all part of the charm - however its was not for me.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The town was very, very quiet so don't expect anything open on a Sunday.

    Being able to walk some of the backroads through the vineyards nearby was a real bonus. Our hosts were most gracious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management below average. Charged our credit card before the stay and the rate charged was much higher than that displayed in the room. Toilet leaking onto the floor, bed uncomfortable,electrical fault and what were white towels were grey and past their use by date.

    Property was great from the outside and the restaurants in the village were very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, a really nice place. It feels like at home with dogs and cat included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful family hosts. Beautiful location and grounds. Lovely food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful bathtub!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Romantic, awesome location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful people and food! The area is beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    Staff where amazing helpful and couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and comfortable room. Great owners.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this special boutique chateau. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of menu for dinner.

    Friendly hospitable staff especially Christian who was knowledgeable about the local wines and put himself out for guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really suitable unless you have a car as taxi from Bordeaux will cost around 50 euros.

    Beautiful château, nice surroundings and nice dog :0)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting. Very comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although I acknowledged the staff upon arrival that we would not have breakfast at the hotel, breakfast showed-up on our bill at our check-out. While the Lady at the hotel desk consulted another staff person by phone about the breakfast, she also exclaimed that it was 'terrible' that we had a promotion discount for the room since we booked through the internet. I kindly advised her that, thanks to the Internet, we had decided to stay two nights at their Hotel.

    Hotel with historic charm. Large room with kitchenette, nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was to our full satisfaction

    The staff was very friendly and recommended a great restaurant on walking distance. The location is nice and rustic surrounded by wine fields. The junior suites where spacious, very clean and with nice beds. In the bathroom there where l'occitane high quality amenities. Overall great experience and excellent wifi.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed not very comfy

    Everything. People friendly, excellent food, beautiful setting

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    comfy room

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charming Chateau matched by its owners who are v welcoming.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: