Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Locguénolé

Locguénolé, 56700 Kervignac, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Kervignac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was stunning, the walk round the grounds was so relaxing. The Receptionist who met us was extremely gracious and a mine of information. Very nice man, sorry we could not say goodbye to him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    We were celebrating my wife's birthday and could not have chose a better location to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could only stay one night.

    We had the superior room No 4 on the first floor which was tranquil, charming, quirky, comfortable, had a magnificent view and evinced faded elegance - we absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly, attentive. helpful and informative. Dinner was a lovely experience with a wonderful menu and wine list.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Stunning walks around the estuary & beech woodland. We will definately return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived two -three weeks to early as the roses were not out. They will be stunning when they are in bloom

    Room was huge with 2 double bedrooms, all the hotel staff were extremely friendly and were delightful towards my well behaved black Labrador. One of the charming waiter with a dog called Vicky (cannot remember his name, not only gave us the best window table in the house, but there was also a bowl of water for the dog at dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    a first class establishment, professionally run and high quality throughout and priced accordingly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's a pity they can't guarantee the weather!

    A great location and setting, excellent and efficient staff, first class cooking and the chef was able to provide a dairy-free option with any fuss. Pool was good, I would like a gym facility too but there are excellent trails through the hotel parkland for running and the riverside views are delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few chips on walls in our bathroom.

    The place is fabulous ! The view is so peaceful. The pool was warm , the ground are perfect for a walk. The bed was very comfortable. The service and reception excellent. The food was amazing ! This is our second stay and we will definitively go back. Recommend for a couple romantic break , a birthday and with kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A magnificent chateau with superb food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The cuisine was superb, the room was huge, comfortable and well equipped, the gardens and landscape were beautiful. The staff are charming, smiley and helpful. It was an absolute delight and a privilege to stay in such a magnificent accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Secluded and very charming location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room if they have weddings on the premises. So my advice, ask before you'll book if noise bothers you. It was quite noisy and it lasted after 2 am. As a result we had very little sleep that night.

    - Quiet und very secluded location - Very friendly staff - Great outdoor swimming pool - If you love "nouvelle cuisine" on steroids I would strongly advise you to visit the onsite hotel restaurant for dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely fabulous!!! and we will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although every thing that was served for breakfast was of extremely high quality choice could have been larger. we were not offered the hot breakfast and did not see the notice describing the same until we had finished. so the cost of 21 Euros per head , in our opinion, was a little expensive.

    setting magnificent and the attention to detail made everything spot on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to be with superb restaurant in Britanny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast too expensive I missed a relaxation room at the wellness area

    Charming chateau in a great environment. Very friendly staff with excellent service. Superb restaurant. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the very best in French accommodation, with a staff second to none, I have traveled the world but not found the like in France, it is without the best family run Chateau available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    If you want a Chateau Hotel, this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, no fault of the hotel, the weather during our stay was rough and precluded any walks around the adjacent woods and shore-line. Next time !

    Everything. Beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    The best of Brittany
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Regrettably there is no lift, and though the staircase is wide enough, it is a long way up since the ceilings on the main floor are quite high. This is why I could not give the facilities a perfect ten score. There also is no air-conditioning, but even on the hottest of days, the evenings were cool enough that the room fans proved sufficient.

    An exceptionally nice place to stay on the southern coast of Brittany; near enough to both the Carnac area neolithic stones and to the other interesting sites on or near that coast. It also provides an excellent restaurant for breakfast and dinner (we were always away touring during lunch). The beauty of the property itself and its magical location on the water among the trees and gardens make it a site worth visiting. The staff were attentive and pro-actively thoughtful, if that idea conveys their excellent helpfulness. I've noted that the bed was comfortable; the shower and bath were also excellent. We have stayed here four times over the last dozen or so years and have never been disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in beautiful gardens and extensive sweeping grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We would have liked to have some coffee and tea making facilities in the room. The restaurant and refreshments were a little expensive. 2 coffees in the morning were €18. We didn't eat in the restaurant at all but the visitors book was full of compliments about the menu. This is not a criticism of the hotel but coffee making facilities would have been a nice touch. When we spent a night in roscoff on our return to a 3 star hotel this had it and we didn't realise how much we missed this during our visit to the chateau.

    The hotel was beautiful in extensive grounds. We didn't use much of the hotels facilities as we were visiting friends and family in the area. We booked so that we were comfortable during our stay. The hotel needs to have some money spent on it to bring it up to the 20th century. However this didn't distract from the overall comfort. The staff were very attentive and turned down the linen and closed windows and shutters at night. We used the heated swimming pool which was empty as it was towards the end of the season. The staff were polite and very helpful. We would like to thank all the reception staff and sylvie who brought us coffee in the mornings. We would definitely return again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful setting, amazing food and relaxing stay would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did miss being able to make a cup of tea/ coffee in our own room on arrival and first thing in the morning as there were no tea making facilities in the room.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location and our room was absolutely beautiful, with an amazing view over the water. The staff were helpful and accommodating and kindly served our young children an early meal before bedtime and then brought us our delicious evening meal in the comfort of our own room. The complimentary spa products in the room were delightful and much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    A charming hotel with a beautiful location. The Chateau is splendid and authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is stunning and the staff are helpful and friendly. Of course it is necessary to preserve the original features of the hotel but the bedroom and bathroom, while functional, need updating. The dining room is very good too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    I had a super weekend stay at the hotel for a friend’s wedding, excellent food and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey!

    Grounds of the hotel were lovely, great setting for a wedding and the staff were very kind and helpful. Lovely little pool area as well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Room size, view, location, ambiance, and especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size, view, location, ambiance, and especially the staff - all wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Didn't have the coffe. But the dinner was out of this eorld

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Tired and remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu

    Grounds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    All I had hoped. And more !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Gorgeous view. Great staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Second visit as good as first
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing setting and very attentive staff, excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Our second visit to this delightful chateau. It would be difficult to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NothingOur second

    Beautiful tranquil setting. Exquisite food and excellent service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great setting good staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    We intend to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning location and a delightful experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stay expensive wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price and quality of the wine

    Building, rooms, restaurant, Grounds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up to the property had no handrail

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful Chāteau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Royal service in royal apartments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Royal service in royal apartments!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift to the upper floors

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Room fantastic, bed v.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only fault was the weather which prevented us from enjoying the superb estate.

    Room fantastic, bed v. Comfortable, the food excellent, beautifully presented by staff who could not be more attentive

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Only being there two nights we were very unhappy that on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Monday No service for food or drinks! Amazing quite a disgrace for a top hotel.

    Only being there two nights we were very unhappy that on our second day there was no food or service for drinks! Amazing for €300.00 a day,! we were not advised ion this situation until we arrived. We drove around on Monday night trying I find a resturant open. Ended up finding a Pizza shop. Not really what we wanted for a luxury holiday! Hopefully this doesn't happen to other people.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.6
    location,building, dining and overall "style".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    attention to detail could have been slightly better for a hotel of this otherwise very high quality. Example: fruit in bowl at breakfast was not changed over three days leaving some fruit past its best. Noise from the room above was, perhaps inevitably in a building of that age, high.

    location,building, dining and overall "style".

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.2
    My wife was having some back trouble, so the staff arranged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little hard to find, but I called the up, and they directed me over the phone.

    My wife was having some back trouble, so the staff arranged for us to have a room where she didn't have to climb any stairs. This was a more expensive room, but we were not charged extra.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    The Chateau is in a beautiful and quiet location but is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Chateau is in a beautiful and quiet location but is very convenient for L'Orient and the major roads of the area. The staff were extremely helpful and the service was of a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    The room was spacious and clean, it was in the eaves and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bed was a little short and my feet hung over the end. The breakfast was expensive so went elsewhere.

    The room was spacious and clean, it was in the eaves and had an interesting shape with wooden beams in the ceiling . The grounds are also very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    The restaurant - sublime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taller people would be challenged by low beams in the attic rooms, and the less able by the number of stairs, including stairs to the en-suite.

    The restaurant - sublime! Both for diner and breakfasts. The setting above the river - so beautiful. The hydrangeas - spectacular! Excellent public rooms - make time to enjoy them.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful, tranquil location, superb friendly service and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Beautiful, tranquil location, superb friendly service and excellent food and wine. Lovely pool location but didn't try the sauna etc. Great base from which to explore the area! Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the food was very good the chef in some dishes was venturing away from traditional into Japanese which was not always apparent from the menu description.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds and a superb swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast but rather pricey.

    Beautiful grounds and a superb swimming pool. The restaurant richly deserves the high recommendations it receives.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    A beautiful room in a fabulous chateau within a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    A beautiful room in a fabulous chateau within a lovely setting and a really superb gourmet supper. Staff were lovely and helpful and were not fazed by an arrival on bicycle! The bicycles also got well cared for! My husband was given freshly baked gluten free bread.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.5
    The staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed could have been better

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Wonderful location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not to the standard of other relais & chateaux properties

    Wonderful location and views. Excellent food however pricey.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, fabulous old building and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, fabulous old building and friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a long way from anything

    Very friendly. Restaurant nice and atmosphere pleasant

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff, food, grounds, location, everything really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, food, grounds, location, everything really

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    Lovely friendly hotel, fantastic views over the estuary and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely friendly hotel, fantastic views over the estuary and the food was superb!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Château de Locguénolé traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: