Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Aquitaine hotel reviews
  4. Cénac-et-Saint-Julien hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Château de Maraval

Reviews of Château de Maraval

Lieu-dit Maraval, 24250 Cénac-et-Saint-Julien, France

#1 of 8 hotels in Cénac-et-Saint-Julien

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Flamenco
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Amazing stay! Loved everything about the property. No detail has been overlooked and it’s spotless. The spa is incredible and the hosts incredibly gracious. Breakfast was superb as well.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything! It was beautifully presented and felt luxurious - lovely little thoughtful touches. The breakfast was fantastic with home made cakes for then and available in the afternoon. Thierry and Anne-Marie were exceptionally welcoming and provided help and advice on restaurant bookings and places to see.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    9.6
    What a beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’d be great to supply a mini fridge as there’s no restaurant on site.... but a shared kitchen. A very small thing would be to provide two soaps and actual shampoo and body lotion.... but these are minor as the overall place was beautiful

    The location was so pretty and quiet and the Château beautiful The room was comfortable and at the front of the building The hosts were very accommodating and helpful The breakfast was really lovely also

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    10
    Must come back for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Zen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that we had to leave so soon

    The perfect place for relaxation The inspirational garden The SPA implacable facilities The pool The rich breakfast The hospitality of the owners Absolutely everything

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    10
    A truly wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Zen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Simply perfect from beginning to end. Great hospitality, beautiful and peaceful surroundings, excellent facilities, and very good breakfast. Plus many little extras that make this lovely getaway really special. Thanks to the hosts for one of the best stays I've ever experienced.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.2
    It is a very small hotel in an old castle, fully renovated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Flamenco
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the Chateau despite having GPS and it was disappointing to discover that the kitchen was not working that day. All the rest was great.

    It is a very small hotel in an old castle, fully renovated and refurbished inside several years ago. Anne-Marie and Thierry (the owners and the staff, all in one) are very friendly and helpful. We came on Sunday, the kitchen was closed so we went to the nearest (5 minutes by car) Thai restaurant for take-away food, a table with a bottle of wine was nicely served for us in the Chateau and we had an excellent dinner, the music was great as well. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good. Beautiful park, marvellous landscapes around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    This was one of the loveliest places we have ever stayed and one of the nicest holidays we have had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that could have been improved. It was perfect.

    This is the most wonderful small chateau. The owners were fantastic and incredibly friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a stunning bathroom set in one of the turrets. The decor throughout the chateau is modern, exciting and fascinating, contrasting with the traditional build of the exterior. The breakfasts were lovely and very high quality. The location is superb, set in its own grounds but twenty mins from Sarlat, 10 mins from spectacular places such as Domme and La Roque Gageac, 40 mins from Lascaux caves. The environment in the Dordogne at this part of the river is lovely with a chateau at each bend in the river, beautiful scenery and lots of places to eat and drink stunning food. We loved this place and this chateau. Our hosts were outstanding and we would recommend this incredibly highly to anyone wanting to spend time in this part of France

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    A small jewel in the Dordogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Klimt
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one pillow each - but that is now the norm in small hotels in France. However not very convenient for reading in bed.

    This small hotel in the middle of the Dordogne is everything that you may wish for for a quiet holiday. Only four rooms never more than eight people and very friendly owners make for a very relaxed atmosphere. I don't share the owner's taste in design but even so the attention to detail, and the cleanliness, make it an amazing place. Excellent breakfast, nice pool, a bit small but as there are few guests, very adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    Fabulous location, beautiful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Zen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous location, beautiful decor. Pristine. Very peaceful place with lovely grounds and pool. Thierry and Anne Marie are charming. Our car would not start on our day of departure and they could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all amazing

    Chateau Maraval & owners Thierry & Anne Marie were lovely. Our breakfasts were exceptional with fresh juice, fresh cheese’s, meats & eggs, delicious food! Served on the beautiful outdoor terrace. Thierry baked fresh daily 2 cakes which were delicious! The chateau was magnificent, everything was clean, neat & tidy. Our room was beautifully decorated, fresh lovely clean linen & towels. And superb air conditioning! The pool & surrounding gardens were gorgeous, very neat & tidy. The pool was awesome to lay by on the hot summer days. The nearby towns were beautiful & great for exploring. Delicious local restaurant recommendations by Thierry. We cant wait to come back, & will definitely stay at Maraval & recommend to all our friends. A bientot!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    A place to return to, at least once a year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Flamenco
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there's one thing to improve, it's a small table or shelf in to bathroom for putting your stuff.....but that's really all I could think of!

    Picture perfect. Great location. Great hosts. Perfect breakfast. Rooms to die for! The ultimate combination of a 500 years old chateau in the Dordogne combined with modern design and art. Perfectly executed. It almost felt as your very grand, catered and cared for home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Everything was absolutely superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Klimt
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was absolutely superb! The property along with the facilities and the most beautiful gardens are really wonderful and everything was super clean and immaculate just like new. The caring hosts care for every detail and do a wonderful job. The breakfast is superb and can be served on the terrace overlooking the fantastic gardens. The pool area is very nice and the spa area is very well equipped. The standard is as good as relais & chateaux or even better. It deserves a 10/10 rating. We will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Very special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Klimt
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maraval is a special place indeed. Their high ranking is no accident. Among the dozens of such places we’ve stayed, in several countries, Maraval is in the top three and may even be number one. Stay an extra night or two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Deserves 10/10 (if not more!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything from the amazing host (Thierry & Anne-Marie), the unique decor of the living area (think Salvador Dalí), the comfy bedroom, the exceptionally huge bathroom with stylish interior and all the mod-cons, the hammam and jacuzzi downstairs, the breakfast in the morning (the best we had in the entire trip), the chance of having the whole château to ourselves ... the list is endless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay at the Château de Maraval.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only remark is a quite poor soundproofing of the room.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Château de Maraval. Place is exceptional!!! Everything is super clean. The decoration and interior are so cosy that we were feeling ourself like at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    A perfect experience! We will definitely be back. Thank you Thierry and Anne-Marie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Zen
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had one of the most rewarding experiences of all of our extensive travels at Chateau de Maraval! Our hosts Thierry and Anne-Marie could not have been more helpful and engaged ensuring our comfort and well being. Always available but never overwhelming. The facility was amazing, comfortable and extremely clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.6
    Simply perfect. Beautiful, relaxing stay in a stunning chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is in a remote location, and we made the mistake of not hiring a car as in the area for a wedding. Maybe a bit too remote for us. However Thierry was again amazingly helpful and went above and beyond to get us where we needed to be. The most kind hearted, lovely people.

    The hospitality. Thierry and his wife could not do enough to us. The breakfast was amazing, especially homemade bread and cake!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Zen
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Strongly scented rooms, may not be for everybody.

    - Absolutely impeccable room (we stayed in the Zen room): tastefully assembled items and materials, beautiful and enjoyable shower+bath tub, super comfortable bed and bed linen, pleasant floor, always spotless. (One of us is highly allergic, this made a huge difference in feeling at ease.) - The hallway, stairs and breakfast area are equally impeccable. - The breakfast which was slightly different every day: everything you would expect, plus self-made pastries, special juices, eggs made to your liking. - As much coffee and drinks as you would like. - Help with finding and booking restaurants. - Arriving there, riding on the magnificent driveway and then seeing the beautiful castle lit by the summer sun felt magical. - Great hosts!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    Fabulous find in the Dordogne. Modern, Romantic and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Klimt
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern, clean, wonderful helpful staff. Lovely grounds, charming rooms, fine breakfast and great location. A little difficult to find but once there, you will be delighted. I rarely rate places I have stayed with a ten but this place and its owners deserve it. Only four rooms so hope you have the good fortune to find accommodation there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    10
    Wonderful hosts made us feel very welcome - perfect few days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful hosts made us feel very welcome - perfect few days - everything was perfect. Thankyou for everything.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Perfect. The owners were so friendly and attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Flamenco
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything. It was amazing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    A real treat in the Dordogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Flamenco
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to not like.

    Wonderful setting, super clean and comfortable with very attentive hosts. Every detail perfect and very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Fabulous chateau with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ethnic
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Thierry and Anne Marie were perfect hosts extremely attentive and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2016

    10
    The welcome and hospitality throughout our stay was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome and hospitality throughout our stay was wonderful. The ambience and decor of the hotel and our room was superb. Excellent breakfasts. All facilities were perfect. Overall this chateau had everything and was superior to most ' Relais & Chateaux ' at a fraction of the price. Congratulations to Thierry and Maggie on creating such a perfect retreat.

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    10
    We spent a week in the dordonge every night at a different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car is a must

    We spent a week in the dordonge every night at a different b&b. Clearly the best value for money. The hospitality was perfect. Spotlessly clean. Ultra modern design with great facilities and peaceful garden. Thank you , we will come again.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    Beautiful grounds, large, very comfortable bedroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful grounds, large, very comfortable bedroom and bathroom, all recently rebuilt. Breakfast was excellent with homemade cakes and preserves. The owners are lovely, hospitable and very helpful. We stayed 5 nights and would definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    10
    We were very impressed with every aspect of the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is literally nothing to dislike.

    We were very impressed with every aspect of the beautiful Chateau de Maraval. The owners are fabulous, the service is brilliant, the property and it's location are wonderful. In our opinion, Maraval is the template for how to run this kind of business. We had such a great time.

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    10
    This is definitely one of the most beautiful B&B's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How can you criticize Paradise??

    This is definitely one of the most beautiful B&B's in all of France. Marble floors, hand laid Italian tile in the bath, showers you could get lost in, beds like clouds, leather chairs, bedroom fireplaces: they have it all! The grounds are as perfect as the house, right down to the marble-lined paths. Thierry & Ann Marie are the nicest couple you will ever meet. We wanted to stay there forever!

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    10
    Fantastic combination of 16th century original (though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic combination of 16th century original (though cleaned up) exterior with ultra modern interior make for a great combination. Very exotic bathrooms!

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    10
    The CHateau is breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved everything there

    The CHateau is breathtaking! The beauty is everywhere: the rooms, the garden, the spa. the owners- Ann- Marie and Thiery are incredibly kind and generous. I have only good things to say about this amazing place, and probably will come back again.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    10
    The whole experience was amazing, location, accommodation,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole experience was amazing, location, accommodation, service including delicious breakfast. We would definetly recommend Chateaux Maraval to others and will most certainly return.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect,from the moment we arrived to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything was perfect,from the moment we arrived to the moment that we left. The owners are professional, whilst being friendly. They booked us into an amazing local restaurant for our evening meal.

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2015

    10
    Sumptuous renovation, extraordinary quality of design:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Sumptuous renovation, extraordinary quality of design: luxury in so many details! Chateau de Maraval deserves to be seen and known. Very welcoming people, letting you feel at home.

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2015

    10
    Everything has been made with attention and detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything has been made with attention and detail. Place is diffent and special. Owners make the most to make you feel at home and they get it.

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    10
    Every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    10
    the coupel who are the owners are friendly and warme pepole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the coupel who are the owners are friendly and warme pepole.the chateax is fantastic.we didn't wsnt to .leave

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    10
    Wonderful accommodation excellent breakfasts and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful accommodation excellent breakfasts and very hospitable owners

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    10
    The host couple are very hospitable and have spared nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host couple are very hospitable and have spared nothing to renovate the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    10
    Everything , especially the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything , especially the owners. Lovely persons.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful chateaux and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the flamenco room is very ott in red and black

    Beautiful chateaux and grounds. Excellent decoration and fixtures - but......

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    10
    Modern luxury and chic interiors in an old chateaux exterior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Modern luxury and chic interiors in an old chateaux exterior. Themed rooms are all all beautiful and all appointments are luxurious ans chic.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Château de Maraval Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: