Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine du Château de Monrecour - Hôtel et Restaurant - Proche Sarlat 3 stars

Monrecour, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France

#1 of 6 hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1120 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit basic for the grandeur of the buildings. No real atmosphere but pleasant and friendly.

    We were in the Chateau, in one of just two rooms on the left wing with a large enclosed external terrace between them, so it was quiet and secluded. We had fabulous views across the Dordogne valley, over the gardens of the estate, one of the two swimming pools and well beyond into the manicured countryside. The room was quite large, with a four poster bed, seating area and good en-suite. The decor and furnishings are not original but serviceable and appropriate. We didn’t eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked but heard later that the food is very good. One night we had a picnic on the terrace, wine and cheese etc., watching hot air balloons rise and fall over the hilltop town and Castle of Beynac nearby. Glorious. Breakfasts offered a varied and plentiful menu of food and drink, eaten on a terrace with that great view. Easy on-site parking. Perfect location for seeing the best sites in the Dordogne. The two swimming pools and pretty gardens provide entertainment if needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper bar area , had to ring buzzers on terrace for a waiter and sometimes they didn’t turn up and bar service closed at 10 pm

    Great location lovely staff fantastic views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Disappointed we were not told there was no lift and we were put on the third floor which meant climbing four sets of 13 stairs each time we went to our room. Whilst appreciate it is an old building the room we had was very dark as it only had a very small window and the artificial lighting was not very good. With regard to no lift whilst we did have some help with getting cases up the stairs although had to carry some, we had to struggle getting two cases and holdall down.

    The location was good the food was good cleanliness good and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We're a bit out of shape so the 3-story stair climb was a bit of a work out (although probably good for us).

    We got a spacious 2-room suite here so we could spread out over our 4-night stay. Our room was on the top floor of the chateau building and had lovely views of the surrounding countryside including the castle at Beynac and Chateau de Milandes across the valley. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large and modern with a double sink. We appreciated the good bedside lighting, free water and refrigerator in the room as well. The breakfast buffet was good-- the bread, pastries, and yogurt were my favorites. We also enjoyed the slightly heated pool one evening and took advantage of the washing machine and dryer too. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and maintained well. The restaurant here was excellent and we enjoyed supper there twice. The staff was friendly and we appreciated help from Crystalle in the evening with recommendations for places to eat in nearby towns and calling for reservations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool needs easier steps for older customers !!

    Superb location near Beynac , the Chateau is simply gorgeous . Not over modernised , it has kept its charm while still being very comfortable . The view from the terrace is perfect and the restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all amazing.

    Benjamin you deserve the Michelin Award for Tourism and Customer Service, you are a Star, in fact 7 stars !! I stayed recently for 4 nights and had an unfortunate problem with my Rental car needing to be towed away and replaced. Due to a total lack of customer service from the rental company and being left stranded, Benjamin on Reception went above and beyond to assist with the whole process and even offered to loan me his own private vehicle to drive so my sightseeing in the Dordogne wasn't interrupted whilst my vehicle was being sorted out. I was a solo woman traveller who doesn't speak French and the whole situation was resolved and my holiday continued in a brand new rental vehicle all because of Benjamin's empathetic, caring and understanding soul. His level,of professionalism is like no other I have ever experienced in any hotel in the 52 countries I have stayed in. As for the hotel, amazing, very unique, perfectly located, the Chateau is incredible and the rooms are wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is fantastic, though if you're not paying attention you might miss the turn. We weren't in the main building, but the secondary building was fine. The hotel has a Michelin restaurant on the property, something of a draw, but a dinner for two can easily run over 140 Euros. The breakfast was the standard French fare, never really worth the price, but there's not much you can do about it in the country. Great location for visiting Beynac-et-Cazenac and the Dordogne region. Would stay again, for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    So many wonderful things to love about the Chateau: The breakfast was huge.... in addition to all the breads, cheese, and fruit, we had delicious scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, which had not been included in other breakfasts on our trip. We also had a bathtub, often missing from hotel rooms in France. The meal the night we arrived, was the best dinner on our trip. We also enjoyed the well- maintained grounds and flowers. We would love to come back and spend a week here in the Dordogne area of France.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very good except the scrambled eggs. So boil your own egg. No problem.

    We had a great experience in this castle-hotel and will come back in the future. Location is perfect close to Sarlat. There is a lot to see and to do in the surroundings of the hotel. From our room, we could see the castle of Josephine Baker. We stayed in the main castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly, helpful staff. Like working there, and show it. Breakfast was excellent, even had crepes, bacon, eggs. Room in annex was newly renovated, spacious and comfortable, with coffee/tea, refrigerator. Stairs are a little steep for heavy bags. Short drive to historic attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower leaked, draperies in room inadequate, no coffee in room. Nice pool in season.

    Beautiful building and setting, very helpful staff. Room and public spaces were not as spiffy as photos suggested. Restaurant was very good. They charged us for breakfast we did not have so beware. View from our room was great, but being on the second floor meant a lot of stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there had been somewhere to get a drink and a snack during the day.

    It was all good. The staff were great. The restaurant was excellent Very good breakfast. Wonderful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was lovely as were the accommodations. The grounds were beautifully. The staff was top notch. The on site restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (5 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with the whole experience/stay, nothing negative in our experience.

    Rooms were a good size for a family, bed was very comfortable, facilities were very good, families are welcomed, great location!! It was our first visit to the Dordogne Region, and it was a great base to explore the local region, being close to Beynac, and Sarlat-la-Caneda, close enough for a daytrip to Saint Emilion. Staff were very friendly, professional and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing, we waited 20 minutes for bacon and eggs to be made available.

    Setting was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything....Absolutely fantastic. Such a glorious property. The restaurant was lovely. Staff were friendly and provided good advice for sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Appart Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is gourmet style and very expensive. Not a good choice for a family. However some rooms have self catering facilities which means that you can eat what you want in the room.

    The room was spacious, the grounds lovely. If you are exploring the Dordogne it’s an excellent location. However you are out of town so you will need a car yo explore or eat out. Two nice swimming pools and the hotel is next to the river. Very pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The whole place was beautiful. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was delicious. There were 2 swimming pools and both were wonderful. The parking was very close to our room. The setting was picturesque. I really cannot say enough good things about this place! We loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest natural orange juice for breakfast ;)

    Loved everything! Stunning Building & Surroundings. Huge bedroom in the annex and bathroom. Everything good, clean, comfy,spacious... good location, friendly staff, great castle and amenities, good breakfast.. hope to come back in summer :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice chateau is very close to the Jardine de Marqueyssac (really amazing place) with gorgeous restaurant and lovely territory around. Calm and cozy double bedroom apartment. Friendly and very good english-speaking stuff. Breakfast hall is not so stylish as other territory and I was waiting more tasty food for the breakfast in old french castle. It's not bad but too standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our loft room the single beds for the children were accessible by a very steep and dangerous staircase. There was a gate, however, we slept uneasily worrying that one of them would fall through the steps on their way to the restroom in the middle of the night.

    Clean, beautiful, well-situated, charming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OMG, this hotel was amazing in every way!!! I wish we could have stayed a week!! Staff is excellent, but it's the aesthetic beauty and location of this former chateau that make it so outstanding. For touring in the Dordogne, I cannot recommend this exquisite hotel enough. The dinner in the restaurant was a 12 out of 10. The entire experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE had an amzing room with a four poster bed and wonderful view. A perfect mix between tradition and modern comfort. Staff were great everywhere in the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful chateau with a fine restaurant attached - a perfect overnight treat. The nearby village is a nice stroll from the chateau itself. Breakfast the next morning was also very good. The staff were all very helpful. The castle itself is great - very well maintained and comfortable. Nearby Beynac well worth a visit. Overall - no complaints at all. Happy to recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we arrived at restaurant toward the end of the day but still before closing but felt a little rushed by the speed with which the courses came from the kitchen. a more relaxed pace would have been nice.

    the staff is wonderful, the setting is amazing. we were upgraded to a better room by the reception, because we stayed in touch about our arrival time, which shifted during the day. the breakfast is one of the best we’ve had. the location is perfect for exploring the heart of the Dordogne.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The enthusiasm displayed by the ever friendly reception staff, together with the cleanliness throughout the chateau, made our stay a truly memorable experience. Their location in the Dordogne valley was close to all the villages and castles we explored in the area. Being here in the off season, we often remarked about the activities we missed due to the late timing of our travels. However at the end of each day, we appreciated returning to our "home" away from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay at the Domaine. We were in a loft apartment, which is in a slightly newer part of the complex, but the chateau itself is a grand old building, and the grounds are very peaceful with amazing views of the countryside all around. The staff were friendly, everything was very clean and we enjoyed a huge and delicious breakfast. It was too cold for swimming during our stay, but the pools looked very inviting and the accommodation was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit cramped and the air-conditioning was rather noisy. There were no comfortable chairs.

    Great swimming pool. Quality of food was excellent. The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (5 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Other reviews have raved about the service but we found it to be very average. We were staying in one of the self-catering cottages, not in the hotel, and we arrived on a Sunday evening. All the shops were shut and there was nowhere to stock up on food. The on-site restaurant was fully booked. Our choice was to go hungry or drive to the next town and see if we could find something to eat. That is not amazing service. It's not even good service, even if it is said with a smile. I arrived at a hotel in Holland last week at 10pm just as the kitchen was closing. "No problem", said the guy on reception, "I'll make you a sandwich". That's good customer service! The cottage (with the exception of the bed) was quite uncomfortable. The sofa (which would seat 2 people) wasn't comfy - you wouldn't want to spend more than an hour sitting on it. And, if the cottage is supposed to sleep 4 people, where are the others supposed to sit? At the dining table? Also, there's no side table to put glasses on, if you were having a drink on the sofa in the evening. You have to put them on the floor or get up and down to the table. It's hardly relaxed. The banister on the staircase was really wobbly. When I pointed this out, the receptionist said that the cottages are being refurbished next year. That's great for next year's guests but doesn't make this year's guests feel as though they matter. The wifi signal is weak in the cottages. It's good in the pool area next to reception, perhaps a booster is needed. Finally, there is a shared area at the back where one can eat outside, which should be a lovely feature, except that the tables are picnic benches. That really has the feeling of a motorway service station, not a chateau. Having read such great reviews, we were disappointed with our week.

    The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have slept in! The restaurant, if you can get into it, is superb. I ate the most amazing risotto as part of the tasting menu. One of the best things I've ever eaten and I don't normally like rice. The pool and the pool area were enjoyable. The kitchen was really well-equipped (it was only missing a tin opener, maybe people staying in chateaux aren't supposed to eat tinned food!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/ai

    The property and facilities were fantastic. The personal were great and helpful It's location for visiting the area was great. Great Place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This property is absolutely stunning! You can choose to stay in the castle or the annexes. I stayed at the castle and enjoyed a beautiful and comfortable room. The surroundings of the castle are gorgeous, nature all around and a nice swimming pool. The stafff is Very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is delicious and varied and is buffet style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel service but the hotel restaurant was IMO overrated and overpriced. Food was uneven, entrees and desserts were quite good but main plates were over-seasoned and under-cooked(fish). On top of this, the head-waiter/sommelier thought he was running a 3 Michelin star and acted quite snooty when we asked for recommendations for a bottle of wine. In general, he seems wound up a bit too tight and made it a less than relaxing experience. After our first dinner, we cancelled our reservations for the remainder of our stay.

    Very nice location, room was quiet, clean and comfortable with a great view. Reception staff pleasant and professional. Check-in and our fairly easy. Great to have on-site washers and dryers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't a lift so not great if you are on second/third floor !

    The Chateau is lovely , the setting and views superb. Excellent dinner and breakfast !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was right. Who wouldn't be happy staying in a place like this. It's 3 stars but to be honest, I thought a couple stars had fallen off the sign. Breakfast good too and the restaurant was great...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a terrace with a view, there is a grand salon where one can sit to read, but nowhere to relax into comfy sofas which would have been nice.

    good breakfast, constantly topped up, excellent selection. Beautiful location and building, easy to find, well located for travel around the area. Excellent restaurant - booking recommended as it is open to visitors not staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place to stay. With very friendly obliging staff. The family had rooms in the Chateau and the annexe rooms. The rooms were beyond all expectation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving!

    A truly wonderfull experience in a real French chateau. We were taken to our room in the main bulding, and what a room. Large and furnished in style, spotless and well equiped with tea & coffee making equipment, safe and mini bar. Large and comfortable bed, good bathroom and shower and air con. Great views from the bedroom and were entertained by the robot lawnmower cutting the grass. Huge guest lounge furnished in keeping with the grandeur of the building and excellent breakfast. We had evening meal in the restaurant which was of a high standard and good choice of menus and good value. Extensive wine list but expensive. Swimming pool looked inviting but the weather was a bit cool so gave it a miss.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather. which nothing could be done about.

    location with a super swimming pool. Ideal to cool down after a long car journey. a beautiful hotel with superb out buildings converted to holiday rooms. Probably the best breakfast we have had in France with a buffet catering for all needs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds were beautiful and view pectacular. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the owner works extremely herd to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.would highly recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was rude to my husband on the telephone - correcting his French for him. The thing is my husband actually is French so we were more than irritated by this. A lovely stay let down by her (and her colleague who took my booking for the restaurant two months previously but forgot to enter it into their booking system so we didn't have a reservation on the day we checked-in. They eventually found us a table and there were a number of other empty tables which gave the impression of them being a bit disorganised.)

    Amazing food and comfy beds. There was air conditioning in the lower part of the bedroom but the upper it was very hot and stifling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing that could be done, but the showers were very difficult for anyone over 5' tall. I think I was the only one in my group who didn't bump my head on the ceiling or a beam more than once. I also didn't like that the pricing for the bottled water was hidden in the cabinet. I didn't know the bottled water was chargable until after we had used it. Also the main room door locks would allow you to lock in others, causing a safety hazard and possibly frustrating scenario. A permenant unlocking mechanism needs to be on the inside of that door. There were many times I had to leave sleeping family members with an unlocked front door due to the risk of locking them in while I was away.

    This was a special experience for everyone. If we ever come back to the region, we want to stay here and for much longer. The grounds were wonderful for morning and evening walks and there were so many extra perks like watching the hot air balloons float by, having a great view of surrounding castles (especially Milandes) and all the outside terraces, the adult only swimming pool, soft beds, and welcoming staff. Breakfast was also wonderful and offered many healthy options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing at all negative to say

    Fantastic location with large grounds. Close to many of the main attractions and villages in the area. Excellent staff. The 2 bedroom cottage we had was large, a spacious kitchen with plenty of equipment and dining table and 2 good size bedrooms. 2 good size swimming pools

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family loft for 5 was great although the stairs were very steep so not really suitable for under fives. There was a stair gate though at the top. The room was very clean and functional. The restaurant was excellent but much smarter than we had imagined so not suitable for a baby and small children. There was a lovely play area for children and table tennis.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle is a bit far from any restaurant so if you can't get into their restaurant (apparently very good since fully booked) then you have to drive quite far and restaurants around close at 21h so very early. You will have to go all the way to Sarlat to find something open after 21.

    a beautiful castle with amazing rooms, pools, garden and interiors. staff very nice. You have the experience of being a prince and a princess for a night, loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flawless. Perfect. A hidden gem!

    Exquisitely beautiful. Outstanding value for money. We wanted a base to visit Marqueyssac; this was perfect. Dordogne area very busy, but this was quiet and relaxed. Family accommodation was generously sized, very well equipped, comfortable, and passed my wife's standards for cleanliness - spotless. Lovely outdoor pool. Breakfast is not cheap, but it is very good indeed, and - taken outside on the terrace - was a glorious start to the day. In Britain, this would cost several hundred pounds. We were absolutely delighted. We want to stay again - for longer, next time. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well maintained property with rooms in the Castle and some appartments. Good pools for family and adults. Friendly service. Good restaurant on site. Very close to Major castles in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in adjacent buildings and our lock of the door (also the backdoor) was a bit difficult to use. In an emergency it would be difficult to get the door open. The shower was a little bit old and some water was running out to the floor from shower’s doors. Bathroom and toilet cabinets were old and cheap looking considering the atmosphere of the castle. Toilet cabinet is really high – as short as I am, I did see only my forehead in its mirror.

    Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour is close to several attractions like Chateau des Milandes, Chateau de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle and Pech Merle which is only about one hour driving from here. Pech Merle is a pre-historic cave and museum that is worth of knowing and experiencing. Remember to book visiting in cave before. Our room was clean, good bed but unfortunately wifi was not working or was having a problems all the time. Breakfast was good and reasonable price 11€ per person (tea, coffee, juice, yogurt, muesli, croissant, bread and different kind of jams, fruit salad, bacon, eggs and sausages). We ate both night in hotel’s restaurant (remember to make a reservation ahead) and food like also the wine were good. Maybe not so lot of options in the menu – but for two evenings – it was enough. To stay there longer you have possibility to enjoy from their swimming pool – we did not have time to do so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful building and grounds. The hotel offers a luxury stay at a very modest price. The bedroom was very spacious with a lovely view. We enjoyed using the swimming pool. Breakfast was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this place as it's not often you get to stay in a chateau. In our 5 week cycling trip this was the best hotel we stayed at.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was assumed to be the chauffeur of a tour bus (a group had arrived a few minutes earlier) as I was wearing a Polo shirt which was taken to be the logo of a company!. If renting an apartment/cottage, there is 'picnic' seating behind with a garden umbrella. However in the afternoon - had a lot of noise from the kitchen of the restaurant which opens onto this space.

    two heated swimming pools, one of which was not heating and they informed us to use the other. Good gastronomical restaurant, nice overall facilities. Great location but you need a car to get anywhere. The cottage was fully functional with lovely rustic feel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't eat in the restaurant because we found it too expensive.

    Beautiful hotel in one of the most wonderful regions of France. The photos on Booking are nice but it sure exceeded our expectations when we arrived on a warm sunny summer afternoon. The main building (the chateau), the gardens and the swimming pool areas are very well cared. Our room was in a rustic annex building, very picturesque, with views to the chateau, to one of the swimming pools and to a lovely sunflower field. From one of the windows we could see another castle across the river. The breakfast is of good quality and it can be taken inside the chateau or on a beautiful terrace that has a lovely view over the valley. The main city, Sarlat, is only 15 minutes away by car and all the attractions of this region are a short drive away. We stayed 3 nights and there were still so many places we didn't have time to visit. Hope to come again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could have been better, there were spiderwebs everywhere. It was not mentioned anywhere that there was an extra charge for cleaning the room.

    The property itself was beautiful and the surrounding greenery. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short stay :(

    Cleanness, friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely gardens and swimming pools, comfortable bed and the air conditioning as well as family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staffed with only one Person at least when we were there, if othere guests check-in it requires some time for you!

    We did not stay in the Chateau main building but in side buildings, which were well equipped, air con, fridge, TV, we planned 3 nights but stayed 5 because everything was nice, two pools, Special Service on terrace from Restaurant, very nice and friendly staff, 2 very big parking places. One of the decisive Advantages is the Location, Location, Location Close to gorgeous Sarlat-la-Canéda, Castles Castelnaud, Les Milandes, Beynac-et-Cazenac with fortress and many Beaux Villages de France! Closeness to Sarlat which we like with Saturday market around Cathédrale St-Sacerdos or out of Town Château de Puymartin. Domaine du Château de Monrecour is the perfect base to explore both Perigord and Dordogne for People wo don't like the hazzel in bigger cities and love the landscape, river, also good for canoeing or Biking. We are very experienced travellers but this Location was what we are looking for! Not the last time!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaint at all.

    We were in awe as this place is gorgeous. We felt like we were on a second honeymoon. Everything was awesome and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We could see 3 Castles from the grounds. Great location to visit the Dordogne valley. Breakfast was very good and the fine dining was a Great experience. We love this place and will stay here again when we return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed room was nice. Very comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style and we were able to sit out on the terrace to enjoy the gardens. Dinner in the restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed a week with husband, could have done with a little more warode hanging space. Restaurant to expensive to eat every night of stay. Restaurant decor could have been in any city. Beautiful terrace, would have enjoyed to have light snack/lunch on terrace during the day. No facility of outside eating on a beautiful hot sunny day/evening. Hotel could Inprove daytime refreshment and eating facilities, great venue potential.

    Loved the chateau and setting. Wonderful staff.......so helpful Love the setting and decor of room. Very clean. Good quality bed linen and towels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    This is a beautiful Chateau. Our room in the tower had a view of the castle of Beynac, high on a bluff overlooking the Dordogne, and across the river was another Chateau. Very beautiful. We spent many days exploring the Dordogne River valley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was run off her feet, whilst remaining very jolly - a slight increase in staffing levels would assist.

    Restaurant was formal but friendly with the children and the food was amazing! 2 pools mean children are not constrained from fun while adults can relax. Table tennis, boules and a small play area. We took a balloon ride departing from the adjacent field.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were thrilled with our choice of the Chateau de Monrecour- #1 the property is just amazing,clean, 2 pools and beautiful landscpaing. and #2 there was AC - as the area was experiencing an incredible heat wave it was more than welcome - and definitely not usual in properties in France. We were also very pleasantly surprised with our dinner at the Chateau de Monrecour restuarant - quality, all local and superb , presentations beautiful and service aimable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Room was large and had all the modern amenities in an old and beautiful chateau environment. Hotel had a robot lawn mower I named Bernie. He was battery operated and quiet. No mowers and blowers! Staff, mainly Crystal, was exemplary - booked our kayaking trip, dinner reservations, etc. with a beautiful smile and checked often to see if we needed anything. Lovely experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in annex was very spacious and had all the facilities you would expect, but: * Stairs going up were a bit narrow. * Windows were small which made room dark.

    The whole experience was just absolutely great. Staff friendly, breakfast very good, dinner superb, etc. And room rate for annex was very attractive. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't eat the snacks in the fridge-there aren't any prices listed so we thought they were complimentary (like the cookies at Comfort Inn?). They're not. Oops!

    Staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Easy to find, located close to many attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit patchy and slow.

    Lovely ground floor room , good bathroom, the room opened onto the veranda and a short walk to the pool . Very quiet and pretty location . Breakfast also good .The restaurant is nice , food excellent .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast doesnt live up to any other facility there. Very basic and not what I expected from dinner previous night. Only one member of staff on duty. Let it down

    The food wine list and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having an apartment a washing machine would have been fantastic.

    We were pleasantly surprised at being given an upstairs apartment with our own deck. The choice of two swimming pools which were heated and very clean which was contrary to other reviews. The gardens were immaculate. Yes it is approx 15km from Sarlat but an ideal location to explore the local area. Quiet and restful away from the herds of tourists at the end of the day. Just buy your own wine and enjoy!!. There were many cottage type units rather than accommodation in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The picturesque setting, the glorious weather, the calm and tranquil surroundings, the church bell chiming on the hour and the proximity to all areas around Sarlat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    We had a lovely room in the hotel - they upgraded us from a cottage we were booked to stay in . The staff were very helpful in every way Our family have a house in the village and our grandchildren were allowed to use the swimming pool during our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climbing stairs with heavy luggage!

    A beautiful property and relaxing place to visit. The room was a great size with a separate toilet and bathroom! Other than having to climb stairs with heavy luggage it was a perfect place to stay in the beautiful Dordogne region. Breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service and staff were wonderful and exceeded our expectation and our needs. We stayed in the Loft apartments which was ideal for a family of five. I will definitely reboot and stay there again when I return to the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This chateau and surrounding buildings are situated in a park like setting, well manicured and inviting. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Our dinner in the restaurant was one of the best values we had in the Dordogne, which encompasses the quality and price of the dinner. The staff was charming and very helpful. Well worth another visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt like a queen. Looked out the chateau windows and balcony across the vineyards and could see 3 castles. Luxurious game room where we played chess. The staff was excellent and the restaurant was a treat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room in the Chateau
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think off

    The bed was very comfortable and an ideal location for a romantic get away. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was outstanding, the staff were all very helpful especially the receptionist. Breakfast was reasonably priced and of good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not able to book a table in the restaurant as it was fully booked, we had to drive to the next village, but unfortuantely the restaurants didnt open until 8.30pm which was a issue as we were honeymooning with our 9 month old daughter and too late for us.

    The place was stunning, the Chateaux was amazing unfortuntately we didnt have a room in the main house, but were able to look around it and the grounds. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke very good english.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The road in Beynac is undergoing upgrading and was sometimes closed to traffic requiring a deviation.

    Located in the Dordogne valley near many worthwhile sights e.g. Chateau Milande, Sarlat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 persons) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast variety and availability was disappointing

    The restaurant was superb for dinner and the accommodations were very comfortable. All in superb surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: