Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château De Noizay 4 stars

Promenade De Waulsort, 37210 Noizay, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Noizay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. The rooms are dingy. The towels and bath robes are at the end of their lifespan and grey instead of white. No atmosphere. The dinner is overpriced and not very memorable. This property should not qualify to be in the Relais Chateau group. Stay at the Les Minimes which is cheaper and have much higher room specs. The only person that was pleasant to talk to was the young gentleman who checked us in, he was very helpful everyone else were very grump. This place needs a good general manager to bring it back to standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    A real castle and you are treated as a noble person! The staff is stylish and attentive to you. The chef is a chef: excellent and artistic courses in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had was an electrical outlet for my blow dryer in the bathroom. I have quickly discovered that most European hotels modern or old do not have electrical outlets in their bathrooms, only for shavers. A bit tiresome. But one must make allowances when traveling in a foreign country and accept the differences.

    Beautiful place to stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommend:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As previous reviewers have said things are overpriced, especially the minibar (which we didn’t use). The restaurant was also overpriced (though the food was very clever). We booked through booking.com for £120 (q very good price) though when we tried to check out at 7.20am before breakfast the bill was for €258. We had to find the email to show that we’d precooked a price and then had to wait until 8.10am for a manager to arrive and confirm that yes indeed our price was €120. I guess that wasn’t too big a problem but it was irritating and we were not offered any apology for the mistake or our inconvenience.

    The hotel is beautiful, the garden stunning and the food clever. Our room was cosy, at the top of the chateau.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower had no water shield so water went everywhere- very annoying

    Prices for food were high. Didn't eat breakfasts there and only one supper meal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room came without air-conditioning, which was actually OK as the place was so quiet we slept with the large windows open and a breeze coming in. We were told there was no air-con, but only after actually confirming the booking and having the deposit taken.

    This up-market chateau hotel nestles in a small village on the eastern end of the Loire, not too far from Amboise and Tours. The location is very quiet, and we enjoyed the garden terrace on warm afternoons (although not the heated pool as we carelessly hadn't brought swimming costumes). Service was excellent throughout from a helpful staff, and we ate in the hotel restaurant 3 times on our five-night stay (great cheeseboard, and a good wine list helped). Our room was spacious and the bathroom very well appointed. An excellent base from which to explore this area of the Loire, and we'd probably stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was dirty. They overcharge for everything without telling you beforehand.

    It is pure theft. The bathroom was dirty the room was dirty. I left the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all

    The welcome was fantastic and very friendly without being overwhelming. The room was clean, light and airy. The bed was very comfortable. I dined alone and the service was perfect - orderly and efficient in every respect. The food was good and the wine local, good quality and well priced. My breakfast was excellent and all staff at all times were friendly and helpful. All in all, a wonderful first night of my holiday in France

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. No air-conditioning in the room. It was hot as hell - and the staff didnt think it was important to tell us that there were a few rooms on the side with air conditioning! We found out at breakfast when we were talking to other people who took those rooms. There was a little fan but thats it. In their defense, it was excessively hot last few days but i think an air conditioned room is a base expectation when temp is > 35C. Or please be upfront that chateau doesnt have air conditioning. 2. Also, the drinks in the minibar are absurdly overpriced. I opened a 1/2 bottle of regular brand champagne (assuming it will be $20 or $30 euros). Granted my mistake, i didn't check the price but they charged me 75 Euros for it!?! Just ridiculous. I was shocked at check out to see that on my bill and their response was "it is on the minibar menu" - of course it was, can you please try and be helpful?! They were generally nice folks so i didn't make a fuss but felt silly that they would fleece their customers this way. You can get pretty nice bottles of wine for 75 euros. Just daylight robbery.

    Really nice chateau. Very elegant restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in several chateau along the Loire Valley region. This was one of the most expensive on our trip and others had larger, nicer rooms, and the breakfast was very expensive in comparison.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unfrendly, snob and kind of freak. That was the worst experience during my 17 days trip in France. Noisay doesen't look like a hotel, but an asylum.

    To leave the hotel and never come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com no cancellation paid room was tiny, dirty and remote on top floor although the hotel had only one other guest. Unacceptable. To move rooms cost an addition £150 supplement!!! More than the cost of the booked room!! Breakfast ( not taken) woukd be €45 pp. in a dark empty restaurant. A scandal! Outrageous and fraudulent hidden costs. VERY Disappointed And will not recommend ! Not Relais&Chateau standard- barely 2 star

    Spacious and well maintained outdoor 'parc'

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for dinner & breakfast doesn't justify the choices you have. Maybe it's a choice to keep it exclusive but I would offer more choices & maybe "regular" traveler like myself who choose to stay in 4* place would also enjoy the dinner there.

    Castle was beautiful, so peaceful & quiet surroundings. We slept so well here. Service was excellent & everything perfect. Our dog was welcome too & enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a little bit expensive, eggs need to pay extra. Swimming pool is not so clean, many dead flies, leaves.

    Wifi is good, castle is beautiful, food is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night at this beautiful chateaux that instantly immerses you into the French countryside. There was beautiful views of the back garden and beyond from our bedroom window (photo attached), the room and bathroom were spotless and there was even a welcome gift! The restaurant for dinner was fantastic, don't miss the opportunity to dine here if you're staying at the hotel. The tasting menu included a course of fresh goats cheese the chef had made himself, beautiful French inspired mains and stunning desserts. Just remember it's a 16th-century chateaux so don't expect ultra modern bathrooms and elevators! But the bathrooms are perfectly adequate and the staff are more than happy to carry your bags to your room! We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this level of hotel, having an Wi-Fi that doesn’t reach 1Mb/s is lame. Terrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noting to dislike

    The beautiful setting and the wonderful restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shower, only bath

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cost

    Food very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are grand but basic and it is really overpriced for what you get.

    It's a Chateau so very grand and imposing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful corner room in chateau. Grounds and entry are very attractive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have stayed there longer.

    The staff, service, facilities, location and food were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service and the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the Chateau, only in annex

    Beauty and elegance in the Loire Valley

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are not experienced and charging a lots from many other fess on top of room fees.

    Very nice room and environment. Good food as well.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly and helpful...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only staying one night and having to leave.

    WOW! This was my favourite stay in 32 nights!! I loved everything. The chateau itself and grounds is simply breathtaking, located in the prettiest place in France. Our room in the chateau was to die for... Grand old-world charm, with an incredible bathroom to match. The staff were attentive and charming, and the dining was out of this world! WHAT a chef, he produced the meal of our trip - if you can't stay here then treat yourself for dinner! If I could rate higher than 10 for everything I would. My wish now is to return to this beautiful establishment one day.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Chateau is well located for seeing the Grand Chateaus of the Loire and Cher. The restaurant was excellent. They made a red birthday cake for my wife. The grounds are attractive with 2 sequoia trees and other formal and informal gardens. We left our passports, 3 credit cards, and at least 300 euro in the safe. They Fedexed them to us overnight and we were greatly relieved to receive them in Paris the next morning. It was expensive, but worth the expense.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is one of the most unique and lovely properties I have ever visited. Staff and food excellent; for an Arizona desert dweller, the setting is other-worldly fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed with the standard of the restaurant.The food lacked flavour and was extremely expensive.The menu choice was poor.We have visited many Relais & Chateaux and were very disappointed that this hotel came no where near our expectations.

    location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were offered an upgrade to the chateau itself for an extra 35E but our room was probably nicer so we didn't take it. It was a Sunday and everything in town was shut.

    We did get a 50% off deal through booking.com so our review is based on this rate (135E/night for a room in the attached building, not the chateau itself). We drank wine in the chateau grounds, played tennis on the lovely courts, dipped a toe in the pool, and enjoyed the lovely room, huge bath, lovely surrounds and beautiful old chateau. A lovely treat and well worth it for one night. Accommodation in France of this quality, and character, for this price is not hard to find, but it was special to stay somewhere so traditional and with so much history.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do not eat here. Menu is very limited, very expensive and the service is very very slowcs

    Very attractive building

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great food!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was great - would have liked a little more choice on the menu

    The personal attention, welcome, great room, setting

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the staff was very accomadating and the rooms were clean! Great way to end our trip in France!

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    every thing was enjoyable

    Dinner was fantastic and staff attentive but discrete.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: