Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Pizay 4 stars

443, route du Château, 69220 Saint-Jean-dʼArdières, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Saint-Jean-dʼArdières

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 298 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    The front desk was very helpful helping us and directing us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are cigarettes left by last guests. The lunch we had in our room was cold, French fries was cover by salt and cold.

    The front desk was very helpful helping us and directing us to places to eats since the restaurant of the hotel during our stay was completely booked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to explore Macon and Beaujolais areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not effective on mezzanine floor of room. Also, struggled to get a table at the restaurant and were only able to dine there on one of the three nights we stayed. Need to book in advance I think.

    Good pool, excellent gardens and fabulous restaurant which was much improved from our visit a few years ago. Also a superb wine tasting set up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    great getaway if looking for rest, silence and good food and wine in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the duplex rooms, AC was not able to cool well the upper level, felt a bit hot during the night.

    Amazing location and old buildings, in the middle of wineyards. Diner was amazing. SPA as well. Very convenient highway not so far from the location. Many things to visit around. Great sunrise view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Swimming pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition is totally bad . The bed area at upper floor of the room was so hot that we could not sleep . The pillows are so bad.

    Swimming pool and garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location- very beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs level for the double bed was very hot- the air conditioning didn't seem to affect this. A fan would have been helpful.

    Amazing location- very beautiful countryside. Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and beautiful Château.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is very expensive. I can’t complain too much as it was lovely and in wonderful setting

    Amazing location and beautiful Château. We loved our stay and would go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought we would have been staying in Château itself but there are no rooms in it ! Everyone is accommodated in modern clean and comfortable rooms in ground level new builds near pool

    Gardens,food,pool,vines

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Recommended for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in 2 halves - the old chateau and outbuildings and a modern complex of room around a swimming pool and spa! Beautiful and spacious room with upstairs bedroom and small private patio facing the chateau. Excellent dinner (inside again because of rain!) except for the grand mariner souffle which was not properly cooked (too dense).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting. Very peaceful. Accommodation good, food and service pricey but excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise that there was alternative accommodation to the main house available. This comprised individual small duplex apartments set in the lovely grounds. The room rate was lower than that of the main house. If we came back we would try this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Well located, beautiful grounds, cosy room despite old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located, beautiful grounds, cosy room despite old furniture, very quite. Breakfast good, but the egg boiler didn't work one day. The eggs were. To boiled at all and there was no staff around to take care of it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Should have stayed longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator to the second floor for older guests ( 76 year old ) and no offer for assistance. Of course I didn't ask... I'm sure they would have helped.

    The room was superb, bath luxurious. Breakfast was extensive and ample with nice touches... soft boiled egg and local cheeses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing restaurant service, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing restaurant service. When we arrived at 7PM, we were told that the restaurant was fully booked, so we had to drive around for dinner. Luxury hotel without any possibility to eat something, even some bar food? Then breakfast closed at 10AM, very early we think for a hotel on a Sunday. We were 10 minutes late (our fault) and were sent away. So both dinner and breakfast outside the hotel. Book a table ahead, and get up early, than it could be a nice hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms felt like a motel. Charged €50 on top of the €300+ room rate to use the pool and sauna for one hour (with no treatment). No room service available during our stay (ends 31 August). Lunch and dinner not available unless you book early. Bar area rarely open - had to hunt down staff to get a drink (€18 for G&T). Overall disappointing for the considerable amount of money.

    Good breakfast. Lovely setting. Shame about the profiteering approach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Only over night so did . not get to see much but was a very relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could advise when booking that if you want to use restaurant on the day you arrive booking would be prior after a long drive to go looking for somewhere to eat is a bit tiring. No milk for tea

    Room excellent, tea and coffee making facilities welcome, but perhaps milk in the mini bar for those who want.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Instead of the promised two restaurants and a bar - one restaurant, working from 19-00 to 22-00. 02 and 03 August the restaurant did not work at all, without explanation. 04.08 we finally got into the restaurant and waited for food 70 minutes. Room service is open two months a year, the selection of dishes, for example 08.08, was limited to baguettes with ham. Breakfast is in a separate room - 3 points out of 5. 05 and 06 August (weekends) fire alarm woke us at 8 am))), and it could not be turned off for 5 minutes. 06.08 the room lost electricity, after which we had to move to another room. There is no gym. In the bathroom there is nothing, except for an equally unpleasant smelling shampoo and shower gel.

    Beautiful garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely chateau - worth a visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little hectic - no choice of some of the items as they had already gone. The connected wine cellar charged 8 euros for tasting, yet the room was costing over 200 euros hence should be free for guests. Felt the overall costs a little high for the quality of the accommodation. Parking was ok.

    Dinner was superb + staff - on a warm sunny evening it was lovely to be outside eating in the courtyard. Fantastic gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. We enjoyed jumping in the pool next to the vineyard. We also enjoyed dinner at the gastronomic restaurant. Parking on-site. It was very hot and humid when we visited, but the room had an excellent air conditioning. We enjoyed walking around the lovely gardens of the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Exceptional restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn't realised that our room would be in an annexe. The room was clean and had good air con although this didn't work so well in the bedroom which was on a mezzanine level.

    The restaurant was exceptionally good - not cheap but value for money as it was so very good. The waiting staff were attentive but not intrusive. We were able to eat dinner in the chateau's courtyard - lovely The gardens were lovely - outstanding topiary Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    A wonderful chateau !! The restaurant is the best !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location !! So quiet and peaceful !! Restaurant is brilliant !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for vegetarians. I ended up having just few small vegetables as my main course which was a little disappointing.

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception staff not very welcoming

    The evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    The walls outside the rooms and windows need painting !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls outside the rooms and windows need painting !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.5
    On arrival we were told that the price included breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were told that the price included breakfast but on check-out we had to pay €23 per person

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic mini break, very high quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar prices excessive

    Excellent accommodation, very peaceful, great spa facilities, excellent restaurant(food and service)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    The breakfast was super complete !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to mention

    The breakfast was super complete !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was extremely slow to the point that it was useless.

    Beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Perfect for couples therapy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite (Spa Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for couples therapy. Loved everything. Had the best birthday celebration with my partner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    Castle and the grounds are really beautiful, Dinner in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a bit basic (we were in one of the rooms near the pool with the bedroom in the loft) The rooms are not bad, but for the price one would expect a bit more. There are no windows upstairs in the bedroom, so to me it felt a bit closed in. Leaving the sliding glass door open on the ground floor is the only way to get fresh air. It would be nice if there were a window or vent that could be opened. The breakfasts are good, but even on the weekend it ends at 10 AM, so it's extremely crowded at that time, and even a bit difficult to find a table. Not what one expects from a property of this caliber. There is no hot breakfast, which was fine for me, but I can imagine some people would miss this. While it's generally quite peaceful, there were constantly small helicopters and microlight planes circling the property which was quite noisy.

    Castle and the grounds are really beautiful, Dinner in the restaurant was excellent (we took the three course menu). The staff everywhere was very friendly and helpful, The location is easy to find. The rooms and the estate are generally quite peaceful with great walking trails through the woods and vineyards. The pool is large, clean and nice, with plenty of deck chairs and parasols.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.4
    The castle is quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The swimming pool was not heated unless it was mentionned in the booking that it was open. The indoor swimming pool was forbidden for kids. We have reserved to the gastronomic restaurant in the hotel and we had to wait 1.45 minutes before having our first course. The children had to go to the kitchen to say that they were hungry. The chef was nice but we expected at least to have a coffee for free for the long waiting...

    The castle is quite nice

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    5.4
    the appearance of the chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the overbearing stuffiness of the bedroom in the duplex suite irrespective of the provision of air conditioning. the poor service and very poor choice in the restaurant. the inability of the chef to provide a good dish from a menu that was high on imagination but not in every day practicality. eg a fish dish buried in a grey foam, a beef dish with an anchovy sauce!!

    the appearance of the chateau. the appearance of the public rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    The quiet ambience and style was more than we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quiet ambience and style was more than we expected. The location and gardens are stunning and the food was a real experience, not to mention the fabulous wines. The Chateau also immediately forwarded both a document and a piece of baggage we left behind.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Our room wasn't in the Chateau itself which initially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The reception welcome was disappointing. The food was typical French cuisine, fine dining - no prices on the menus we were given. The cost was around 100 Euros/head - myself and husband struggled with the choices, made bad ones and weren't satisfied however our accompanying family really enjoyed the food saying it was the best they'd eaten.

    Our room wasn't in the Chateau itself which initially was disappointing however it worked out well as the room was an apartment style room with mezzanine level where the bed was situated. The bed was very comfortable and a great night sleep was had with no noise/disruption heard whatsoever. Sampled some wine tasting which was fun and bought a few cases.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.3
    Location is good, amid vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was freezing, although I had been assured it was kept at 26deg C. Nearer 26 deg F. After complaining, some heating was applied. Breakfast is in pokey room, entirely self service, no cooked and the same everyday for 23€ each! Dinner menu was minimum 55€ each for 3 courses-far too expensive.

    Location is good, amid vineyards

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Great dinners, good suits, fantastic location, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The spa is small , it is necessary to book it in advance and it is quite expensive. For breakfast there is no hot food. the swimming pool is small and rather cold.

    Great dinners, good suits, fantastic location, friendly staff, picturesque surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Not our first visit so was up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pity cellar/shop was closed so degustations of own wines more difficult = bought fewer. Menu high quality but lacks variety, e.g. : wonderful tomato truffle starter but no vegetarian main course choice. Pity no tea/drinks service poolside pm - perhaps the focus is on the spa which we do not use.

    Not our first visit so was up to expectations. Pool, room, food, wines all excellent as ever. New bar/lounge/gallery good. All staff friendly and super professional.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Room, swimming pool, breakfast, vineyard landscapes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Wifi on the swimming pool. At the restaurant the waitress claims Blanc the Blancs and Cremant are the same thing, just because they can offer only BtB.

    Room, swimming pool, breakfast, vineyard landscapes.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.3
    nice setting , castle surrounded by wine yards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a little bit "daté "decoration , needs refurbishing here and there

    nice setting , castle surrounded by wine yards swimming pool "motel style" rooms, nicely decorated kind service

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.8
    the location food, cleanliness, pool and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    beds were uncomfortable and although the rooms were spotless they need renovation....biut for one night i am not complaining

    the location food, cleanliness, pool and restaurant........beautiful building

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, nice staff and lovely environs.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Small room and the restaurant attached is quite poor and very very expensive. I do not mind spending money on a meal, but this one went down in the books as one of the poorest ones I have had in France outside a routier.

    Beautiful hotel, nice staff and lovely environs.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    4.6
    we did not like anything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    we had room 74. the bathroom is used out impossible to open the robinets(French) the hotel must be redone if they want to keep their prices zo high !

    we did not like anything it is all unpersonal

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    8.8
    great stop on the way to the South of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast location at 2 star level, with the unfriendly staff that goes with it. Limited offering - no fruit, no hot choices. Staff started the noisy cleaning process before breakfast time was over: when kindly asked to postpone for five minutes, ignored us and just went on. An unexpected disappointment in an otherwise great hotel.

    great stop on the way to the South of France

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    5.0
    The old part of the building was lovely and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no log fires and the bar and restaurant were very cold. We were in an annexe and had to walk outside in -2 to get to the spa and main chateau. I asked for a light bar snack when we arrived as we were eating in the restaurant that evening. Informed that we could have light snack in spa area - a very poor buffet was available and we were charged 78 euros on our bill - and 43 euros for a single short session in the spa. Very poor value for money

    The old part of the building was lovely and the restaurant staff were very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.5
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were too hot. We were unable to regulate the temperature of the mezzanine.

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.8
    Good resteraunt and food with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just not as good as it should have been. Breakfast room and food pretty poor.

    Good resteraunt and food with good service

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff Great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Tennis court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet lunch

    Tennis court Evening Restaurant was superb

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Exellent Diner outside, fantastisch location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exellent Diner outside, fantastisch location

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful food and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was very hot on this very hot day

    Beautiful food and lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Dinner outdoors in the chateau court yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner outdoors in the chateau court yard. Guided walk through the vineyards

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Château de Pizay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: