Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château De Razay

Razay, 37460 Céré-la-Ronde, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Céré-la-Ronde

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1067 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Little Tree House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, beautiful surroundings. A little far to nearest villages for restaurants etc in the evening, but it’s the only downside. We stayed in one of the charming treehouses and it was a great experience, especially for the kids.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Architectualy, a brilliant chateau with charming as well as...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Architectualy, a brilliant chateau with charming as well as elegant interiors. The lady of the house and her canine companions the perfect welcoming committee. The grounds of the chateau were accentuated with stables,guest cottages ,etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    A fantastic stopover - don’t forget to meet the pet pig!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Little Tree House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little remote but in beautiful countryside. The treehouse was a bit of a squeeze for a family of 4 and there is no WiFi but i would still highly recommend it.

    The chateau and grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a treehouse which was very individual. The staff were excellent and the property has a nice swimming pool and animals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    We loved it here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being out in the country, you need to go to the village a few km away to eat or buy food. Aside from breakfast, there is no food available so come prepared.

    We loved it here. This property was out in the countryside on a few acres of land so you do need a car. It was a beautiful old chateau and seemed almost deserted when we arrived. However, more guests arrived later in the afternoon. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and there was a huge guest lounge with a large TV. The pool was large and almost for our own use. The grounds were lovely to wander around. You can unload bags at the front and then use the carpark a short walk away. It is close to Chateau Montpoupon which is open to the public and worth a visit. Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    We would definitely recommend and go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head attachment was broken and the chopping board was minuscule!

    The chalet was everything we were looking for - a peaceful 3 day stopover in the grounds of the chateau with use of the pool, and lots of grounds to run around in and play racquet games. It’s also situated perfectly for visiting chateaux and the river beach nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Pool very welcome after a hot drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool very welcome after a hot drive. Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Historic property with lovely grounds. Good and friendly restaurant 2km away in next village for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Slightly faded accommodation in stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A proper shower over the bath instead of a hand held one would have been preferable. In view of the chateau’s remoteness some facilities for making a drink or at least some bottled water would have been welcomed.

    Stunning setting, comfortable bed and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    We would go there again but do not expect anything more than a two star hotel with no restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast very basic continental. One croissant each, sugary orange juice and no meat or cheeses

    Chateau and grounds were beautiful. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Good old-fashioned luxury and friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind

    Good old-fashioned luxury and friendliness. The hotel is stately, run like a well-oiled machine and is set in lovely surroundings. Great for getting away from the hustle & bustle of modern life.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-condition in hot summer days and bathtub has no protection so need to shower sitting

    Beautiful grounds and garden with a convenient location in the valley

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place to relax for several days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was beautiful and relaxing. Unfortunately, we did not take advantage of the grounds or common rooms, and we did not see many other people there either. However, this would be a perfect place to spend a week relaxing and visiting nearby areas like the Chateaux of the Loire.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    There was no bar/restaurant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no bar/restaurant ... facilities could have been wonderful but you couldn't even sit out and enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. The swimming pool was extremely disappointing and looked dirty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful chateau and park, great for a holiday escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and especially the bathroom could do with an update. It's not bad but could be better. Also, the breakfast selection was limited albeit of a good quality.

    The Château is beautiful and the setting is absolutely amazing. So serene and beautiful. Reminded me of the park in the series Downton Abbey. :) it was very relaxing to spend a few days there, we actually extended for one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    A bit surreal really! Chateau du Razey is a bit like visiting a National Trust property.Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more comfortable bed would have been a bonus.Room was large, comfortable,but a little tired.We would definitely go back though.

    Most amazing property.Grounds,animals(especially Rudi the pot bellied pig) and friendliness more than made up for the rather hard bed.still can't quite believe the price...amazing value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful grounds and pool. Ideal for a short stay when exploring the Loire valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no option to get a drink or any food at all other than breakfast and with no shop within 10km this isn't ideal. No air con in the room.

    Grounds are beautiful, great for walking in and the building is very traditional with lots of old furniture and features showing off the beauty of the old chateaux. Swimming pool was also good and added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Charming property with the added bonus of a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was up a lot of stairs and rather hot but at least they provided a fan that you could plug in. The lack of air conditioning or an elevator were slight inconveniences, but to be expected in an old chateau.

    Beautiful old Chateau with gorgeous grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They recommended a number of restaurants for dinner but suggested we'd prefer one of the closest ones. We had a fabulous meal on a lovely outdoor patio right next to another old chateau. Breakfast is assigned by room, so ours was not served in the main breakfast room but at the huge table in the main dining room. As we were up early, we had this splendid, antique filled room entirely to ourselves for most of the meal. An amazing experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely for an over-nighter but plan your evening meal location in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wished they had an evening meal option instead of having to get back into the car to source dinner.

    Imposing property in glorious countryside, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful chateau and Treehouse adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Little Tree House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a minus as such for us but may be for others. The treehouse was a real adventure and we brought all necessary food knowing outside of breakfast nothing is available on site. I have put this as a negative as others need to be aware to be prepared, but this preparation leads to the value for money of the rooms. There are some restaurants within a short drive. The treehouses are clever thought out but the room was a bit of a squeeze for two adults and two children.

    Fantastic venue. The exterior of the house and grounds are stunning and the perfect location for exploring the Loire Valley region. The animals on site provided a lovely atmosphere. The swimming pool was clean and had the weather been brighter we would have made more use of it. Breakfast; pastries and coffee suited us perfectly. The treehouse in which we stayed had a lovely balcony and is nicely decorated with hot shower and wc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Good for one night, basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast wasn't great. ok but not great

    very helpful staff, recommended a local restaurant and booked if for me. i was travelling by motorbike and as it was raining they even offered to drive me there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    A very nice place to stay but with no dining facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful chateau but sadly no dining facilities at all. The breakfast was laid out and you helped yourself. No members of staff on point out what was available and how it worked. A very flat atmosphere for the start of the day.

    It was very nice to stay in a chateau which has been refurbished to a very high standard. The bathroom was stylish and nodern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Relaxation in a grand setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful Château in a large parkland setting with a nice pool.very peaceful and relaxing and a good base for exploring Loire and touraine countryside and river rallies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Gracious living with modern comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt like royalty! The house and the grounds are grand, gracious and glorious. There are beautiful dogs and cats who came to greet us, and other animals (horses, donkeys etc.) though we didn't go close to them. It was too early in the season to use the swimming pool. The welcome was friendly, and advice on where to eat was excellent - a nearby auberge with very good home-cooked food. My bed was comfortable, with elegant curtains. We only had one night here as we were just passing through, but it would be an excellent, quiet place to stay to explore the area, which is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is consistently appalling or non existent. Staff are obsessive regarding where you park, rather than caring about your stay; they are also abrupt and rude. There are no dining, drink or food facilities at all, other than self service breakfast. Desolate local villages offer nothing to the traveller, resulting in a 10 mile drive for food. The rooms are average, like an Ibis room without the charm. The corridors are poorly lit if at all, and smell damp. This place simply drags you down, and should be avoided.

    The grounds are picturesque and peaceful; good for couples and kids alike to roam.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful castle, beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We rent the chalet situated in the castle park. Chalet fully equiped and very clean. Castle and surrounding area is gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool

    Very nice place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Very calm exceptional place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm exceptional place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Location and the historic saloons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed and the size of the room.

    Location and the historic saloons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    French-country staying experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    It was a 500-year small chateau. The ground was magnificent especially for people who lives in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Peaceful countryside place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast Ample Parking away from property No tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Peaceful countryside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location great easy breakfast this was our second visit and I am sure we will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Dissappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby rooms old worn bed linen itchy wool blankets. Old worn towels. Basic breakfast. Dirty high chair

    Beautuful chateau and grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful elegant building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful elegant building. Lovely pool. We love seeing all the happy animals especially the pig.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Location and setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambord (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and setting. Owner gave good recommendations about local restaurants. A lovely and enjoyable time. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, quiet, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Little Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main bed in tree house was very hard.

    Beautiful, quiet, clean. The tree house was lovely to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Hotel staff is very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambord (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot

    Hotel staff is very kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Great option to stay in a chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far away from everywhere. Too basic breakfast.

    Nice chateaux, impressive gardens, nice and clean rooms Very good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Perfect located, nice building, and very friendly staff/Owner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Staff very welcoming setting beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very welcoming setting beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Great chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambord (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soooo far.

    Great chateau. Room was great. Property beautiful. Like a fairy tale.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Chateau lodging in the Loire Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great quiet Chateau and a base for the Loire Valley.... Breakfast was very nice and staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, if slightly past it's prime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one place to eat evening meal within walking distance

    Sense of history

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the outdoor area a lot with all the animals as well as the charm of the little tree houses.The bedroom was clean, calm and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Little Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky. Peaceful. Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Chateau Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location with excellent facilities and great accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location and beautiful Château
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoy so much in the park of the castle, and the restaurant beside Château de Montpoupon is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful green space to wander through the grounds and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful green space to wander through the grounds and the woods. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    calm, stylish and extremely pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kitchen, no restaurant (anyway, good choice nearby)

    calm, stylish and extremely pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    -Very good price (85€) with breakfast included (double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room with a small flat tv No restaurant or bar No fridge Little bit outdated decor

    -Very good price (85€) with breakfast included (double room) -Very friendly staff -Clean rooms and property -The hotel is very picturesque -Romantic and peaceful location and property -Beautiful ground and gardens If you'd like to stay at a Chateau and you don't want to pay 300€/day, it's a great and smart option !!!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    5.8
    Very nice With the Chateau and the forest, quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Even though we stayed in the chatelet it would have been nice to have the possibility to go and eat breakfast at the chateau. We would not been troubled by paying a little extra for that.

    Very nice With the Chateau and the forest, quiet and piecefull.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.6
    I always wanted to sleep in a castle, so while visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I always wanted to sleep in a castle, so while visiting France I finally got a chance to do that. I loved the place, because it is in nature and the view is marvelous!!! Make sure you take some food with you because they do not serve dinner, but breakfast was really good in the morning:)

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.2
    We had a very nice room (Chambord) that fit us well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast is a 100% french style and if you are not used to this kind of breakfast (without cheese, charcuterie, eggs) it may not suit you.

    We had a very nice room (Chambord) that fit us well as we've traveled with our 5-year daughter. The domain of the castle is very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.0
    Pleasant location in parkland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel because they advertised a restaurant close by, but they said it was closed because it was the end of the season, something they should have mentioned on the site. We were disappointed to discover our credit card numbers had been printed out in full; this is a serious issue — future guests beware!! The corridors had distinctly musty smell.

    Pleasant location in parkland.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    Being able to stay in a chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The chateau had no restaurant for dinner, so had to drive 15 km for dinner Private bathroom only had a tub with hand-held shower

    Being able to stay in a chateau Walking on the grounds Pleasant breakfast in quaint breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    The property is a magnificient Castle from the Loire region,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On the down side I think the bedroom could be slightly better furnished with a desk and perhaps a kettle and tea bags, otherwise everything was great.

    The property is a magnificient Castle from the Loire region, the landscape gardens are another atraction not to be missed, and they also have an alternative accommodation near the trees that looks like a Robinson Crusoé tree house. Will go back with young children for sure!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    We were treated like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were treated like family. Everyone was friendly and they went the extra mile to help us with local questions, directions, etc. We were there right after the son's wedding and they shared a big bag of fruit with us. The tasty attractive breakfast was appreciated too. The whole area is beautiful. We are very happy we stayed at the chateau.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful chateau, accomodation and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking too far from chateau. Got soaked getting to car due to heavy at time of departure.

    Beautiful chateau, accomodation and grounds.My bedroom had a four poster bed and was very nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outside garden facilities a little run down.

    Quiet. Grounds were extensive. Receptionist recommended and then made reservation at local restaurant for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights (with other family members...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights (with other family members in the cabin next door). Brilliant location - in the middle of a hide-and-seek friendly wood with lots of open grass areas for games too. Great pool too.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.8
    Beautifull setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking too far from rooms for such a rural setting. Room and facilities were average. No wifi in room and breakfast was disappointing.

    Beautifull setting.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    This was way more than I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was way more than I expected. It's more beautiful than the pictures. We had a beautuful romantic room with bath!! Beautiful grounds and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Amazing Chateau, did not have long therefore going bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not long enough there, midges, no restaurant so had to drive out for food.

    Amazing Chateau, did not have long therefore going bad without the children, peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    The location, the surrounding park, the proximity of castles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From outside it is impressive, but inside it doesn't keep much of what a manor should be. The upper rooms and the hallsneed some refurbisment, some decorations may change the atmosphere.

    The location, the surrounding park, the proximity of castles to be visited, the breakfast (French style, but very good). It was extremely quiet, an excellent spot to relax after a day spent by moving around and visiting touristic places.Had a nice surpise by meeting the enormous vietnamese pig, the pet of the house:))

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    A great stay in a great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in all rooms. We did not mind but it can be a problem for some people.

    A great stay in a great Location. An authentic Chateau of the Loire, Great. Very good value for money and breakfast was included. Staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely surroundings and very peaceful and not far from some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having a decent shower and cup of teA or coffee facilities

    Lovely surroundings and very peaceful and not far from some very nice places in the area and a good local restaurant 1.5 km away

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    The setting and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a bit iffy, which to us was important

    The setting and location. Very quite and peaceful Beautiful building and history Lovely places of interest nearby

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Very different from staying at a cookie-cutter hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very different from staying at a cookie-cutter hotel! We stayed in the chalets. Beautiful grounds, forest. Location is pretty good. Most major Loire destinations are within 20-30mins drive.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    It is very relaxed, you are left to enjoy the house and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is very relaxed, you are left to enjoy the house and grounds at your leisure. There are many animals to go and see, including a friendly, free roaming pig. The breakfast was good, plenty on offer.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    The venue is like a fairy tale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were a bit basic, beds too short for tall people, but it is not particularly disturbing

    The venue is like a fairy tale. very French breakfast, excellent viennoiserie

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.7
    Friendly owner and typically french
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no bar or any way of getting food without a trip to the local restaurant 2 km away. Breakfast could do with cheese, eggs and meat. Could be do much better if evening food and drinks were offered

    Friendly owner and typically french

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Delightful and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Delightful and clean. Helpful staff, lovely location and rooms. This was the highlight of our stay in France. Our GPS with the WAZE program took us right there. Not too far out of Montrichard, which was also lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wish we could have stayed longer. It was perfect!! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the chateau was a fantastic treat for us. The grounds were lovely to wander around and the pool was very pleasant. Our room was nice and large and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    A return visit & Madame had remembered us from previous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A return visit & Madame had remembered us from previous year. Charming venue in very quiet countryside with lovely restaurant nearby: would certainly revisit if only to see Rudi sleeping on the steps!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The Chateau is absolutely beautiful with lovely picturesque...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Chateau is absolutely beautiful with lovely picturesque surroundings and although no evening meals are served just down the road is a quaint restaurant next to a Castle serving gorgeous food at very reasonable prices would stay again

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    The exterior of the chateau and its gardens are quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You need to have transport to stay here. There were no facilities for making tea or refrigeration, which was a little difficult for the isolated location.

    The exterior of the chateau and its gardens are quite spectacular. For us the location was great for getting to a variety of chateaux. The staff are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was probably back luck, but we stayed in July which had days approaching 40C. Our room was a sauna even during the night. The manager did move us to a cooler room which did help. Aside from the heat, the hotel is old but fairly well looked after. There is no wifi in the rooms - only in the communal lounge. Bit far from restaurants.

    Friendly staff. Nice to stay in a converted chateau away from the city

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: