Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Chateau De Sully

route de Port en Bessin, 14400 Bayeux, France

#13 of 18 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt that menus could have had more variety over the 3 nights. Disappointed that even the canapés and amuse bouche were identical each night. Not very pleased that some things on the menu were not even available or limited to only 2 or 3 servings available . What we had however was excellent Submitted by Mrs Sandra Buchan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, then no water .... 21 € breakfast a joke ..... Ibis do exactly the same for a fraction of the cost. Our hopes of eggs benedict, salmon, completely lost Menu night 1 excellent, night 2 , the same with the same items not available, night 3 the same with the same items not available yet again. Judgement : good for one night, ok for 2 nights but for 3 nights the tariff should be reduced or the choice increased.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine list expensive and lots missing from the menu.Breakfast not as good as it could have been and pricey.Kebabs of poorly prepped fruit poor substitute for fresh fruit salad.Also room needed two not one chair and coffee machine never re stocked with coffee or milk...in the room. However stunning place and fascinating history.

    Beautiful grounds,good room, good hot tubs ,attentive staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Food excellent,room good. It rained so couldn't enjoy the grounds but they looked very nice. The proximity to Bayeux, the D-Day beaches, and the other attractions of the Normandy coast together with the quality of the food and service would entice us to return here over other hotels of similar rating in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a lift as the stairs are a little steep specially carrying cases.

    The spa facilities good, the whole place very well presented with gardens perfect. The waiting staff very, very good. (Gregory)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not value for money cost Euro30 per nigh for the dog. Room too small, bed too big for size of room. Very basic for the price. Food and drinks very expensive

    Nice place but far too expensive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    VERY expensive and the menu did not change. Really good for a birthday party but not as a longer stay hotel.

    The food was fantastic Michelin Rosette. Eggs cooked perfectly etc. Great wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa full of foam, and scum. The second spa at over 40C, too hot. The bitts in the swimming pool. On day 2 the spas were closed. The nights sleep was disturbed by the nois and creaking of the floor above our rooms, the poor attitude of the manager when we raised the issues, and no apology from the manager who was pompous and brusque to the point of being rude. Nothing was offered as a way of compensation.

    The grounds, the rooms & the views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fanatastic overall, great location and large rooms. Gourmet restaurant was amazing experience for one night, could do with a more reasonably priced option - bar food or room service for instance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel manager was a bit gruff and even ugly at times. We were waiting with vans to take some of the people in our group into town. He kept barking about the vans being parked in front of the hotel and wasn't helpful or friendly at all. We weren't blocking anything or anyone, and there is a TON of space in front of the hotel where we had the vehicles waiting. We had five rooms there for four nights. I could have picked another location - and next time, I'm inclined to do so...

    Lovely property in a great location to visit the invasion beaches, Bayeux, etc. Many members of the staff were extremely pleasant, and it really is a tranquil, charming location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully decorated room which would be ideal for single but certainly not big enough for double. In eaves, no stair rail up last flight of stairs which was awkward, only room for one bedside table.

    Location good for Normandy beeches and Bayeux. Very good meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service was extremely poor. We had 3 families who jointly spent $5,500 at Chateau de Sully over 2 nights. Upon arriving, the temperatures had been unusually hot, approximating 90 degrees plus. Two couples were to share a duplex suite, which had one bedroom on the second floor and an attic bedroom on the third floor. By opening windows in the second floor bedroom, the temperature was tolerable. However, the attic bedroom on the third floor was between 85-90 degrees and the only possible ventilation was a sliver of a window at the roof level, providing no air flow in the room. No other windows existed in this room to create cross ventilation. We asked to have a different room in exchange for the attic bedroom, which the hotel accommodated. Upon checking out, the hotel charged for the entire duplex suite, which we were happy to pay, but they also charged for the replacement bedroom. In other words, they charged for the bedroom not slept in plus the replacement bedroom. They felt that the burden of not staying in an inadequate room should fall on the customer, not themselves. Obviously, money overrules the care and comfort of customers at Chateau de Sully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was quite warm even with the windows open (no air conditioning in rooms which, of course, is NOT unusual for the area, plus a heat wave was beginning). A ceiling fan or other fan would have been helpful/nice. The shower was lacking a door or curtain--and not being used to a handheld shower, we tended to get water everywhere in the bathroom.

    This Chateau is beautiful. The grounds were so peaceful and relaxing, plus our room was quite spacious. Sure, there are a few things that need fixing, but we have stayed in top resorts that had faults and/or needed repair. All of the staff was friendly/cheerful---special kudos to Mary who carried my heavy luggage up the very steep and lengthy stairs to our room (it got lost in transit and arrived before we got there). The restaurant was fantastic and after we did the 15 course dinner with the wine pairing, I swore I would never eat again. It is conveniently located to D-Day beaches/museums/memorials. We hope to take advantage of the spa on our return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the bedroom - we boiled!

    Fabulous food; lovely wine list; comfy bed; clean facilities; nice pool; friendly, willing staff, gorgeous building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing. There are much better hotels for the price. The hotel looks very nice in pictures and from the outside, but in reality it is very average with rundown rooms, cheap furnishings and very unhelpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel near d-day beaches and lovely Bayeux. Hotel rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable and clean. Chateaux is superb and the park beautiful. Don't forget to book a table at the Michelin star restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were looking a bit tired. Internet was awful. We had 2 connecting rooms which meant we didn't do the highest level and the beds were a bit lumpy. Gym was not very functional as it had 1 elliptical that didn't work well, a bike and a broken weight machine.

    Lovely grounds perfect for touring Normandy. Very nice restaurant. Bathrooms were modern and rooms have lovely views of the ground. nice heated pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bed was very comfortable the room itself was a little cramped. We also would have expected a bath and/or bidet in the bathroom rather than just a shower.

    The location was excellent for us and the meal we had in the evening was superb. The grounds were beautiful and the pool was georgeous and warm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift to the upper floor

    Large superior room with all mod cons, flat screen tv and Wi-Fi, comfortable large bed and very nice bathroom. The bonus was also heated indoor pool and jaccquzi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of one single thing I would change.

    The setting of the Chateau was lovely. The place was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful, spoke English and went out of their way to meet our needs.. Breakfast was good but dinner was out of this world. All sorts of tastes from start to finish.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast far too expensive , in room very limited , buffet good quality but limited choice , particularly at such great price . Hotel restaurant prohibitively expensive but plenty of good food at Normandy restaurants not too far away e.g.. Cruelly .

    Night Porter was excellent despite our delayed arrival ( French Farmers' blockade ). Beautiful fabrics and design choices . Excellent swimming pool .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet a bit on the slow side. Style of the interior somewhat not fully thought through, a bit of a mix. Some renovation here and there needed, but still cozy atmosphere anyway.

    Location is great for any visit to Normandy, just 3 km outside of Bayeux. Grounds and garden spectacular, friendly staff. Free use of phone for international calls within Europe and even to the U.S.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too small. The bar prices were silly and the breakfast was too expensive for what was offered. The breakfast offer made us drive into town.

    Staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very good. The restaurant was expensive, but if you like great food and superb service, you will have fun.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This chateau is perfectly located just 5 minutes from the centre of Bayeux. The rooms are well-appointed, although some are a bit small. The glass-roofed pool and spa are excellent, and just a few minutes walk from the main building. Breakfast is not cheap, at 22 Euros, but all the ingredients are home made or locally produced and of high quality. The service was good and the receptionist very helpful and courteous. However, the best aspect of this hotel, which hardly anyone has mentioned, is FREE TELEPHONE CALLS TO EUROPE, U.S. AND CANADA. If you want to keep in touch, this is a huge bonus and worth a lot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes it is quite expensive, particularly with the GBP exchange rate as it is. But we knew this when we booked it.

    Wonderful setting and great food. Don't agree with other reviews that have issue with portion size. No, you don't get a big plate of veg and a bowl of chips, but is that really what you expected? After all of the small courses we were pleasantly full, and it was all delicious. Friendly staff and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff seemed to be a bit overstretched at times. The food was amazing, but nothing simple is available.

    The staff were excellent. The food and service was excellent. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and it is ideally placed for touring Normandy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Dinner in the 5 Star restaurant was amazing! Staff in restaurant and in hotel extremely friendly . The history of the facility was impressive.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delightful staff - one was mentioned by Taki in The Spectator recently!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and location of the room were a disappointment.

    The setting is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular gourmet restaurant !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 Star property with elegant dining

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great chef!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main building was stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service

    the restaurant was wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not value for money and the lack of staff on duty

    The bed was comfortable, very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was in a spectacular setting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent restaurant. Great pool and gym.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent property which was very nicely maintained. Staff was very cheerful and accomodating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very worn and bedding was not as fresh as it should be. Stains on walls, etc. located out of the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry service, no turn down bed in the evening.

    Location and the setting

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped CLASSIC rooms. Over cooked beef. Sub mature lobster cost 5gbp in a supermarket. Offered as dinner half only for 50gbp

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marie at the front desk was awsome. Great help with everything... spoke English very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a smile from staff

    Pool was great but fitness room very poor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just returned from an Easter vacation of Normandy, including the D-Day beaches, with my 14 year old son. We stayed at the Chateau du Sully for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Excellent location close to the main sites, and about 3 km from the centre of Bayeux. A lovely boutique Chateaux with very personal, attentive staff, and beautiful reception rooms. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got a room on ground floor not in the main building and on the way to the spa. Not ideal as you have to keep curtains shut and can't enjoy any view on the gardens

    Food, grounds and

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly the access facilities were not at usable level for my wife - no hand holds in the small shower and very difficult hand basin.

    Absolutly beautiful house, superlative catering and great atmosphere. All in the beautiful Normandy countryside.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Couple

    Polite but not a warm and friendly staff. They need to work on their customer service skills. No one even thought to assist us in carrying all our luggage up the stairs to our room or assisting us when we had to change rooms due to s problem in the original room which in most hotels of this caliber is the norm. The Chateaux & Relais chain always does and they have excellent customer service.

    Very comfortable bed! Rooms a bit small but well decorated and pretty. Responded quickly when there was a problem with our room and gave us another room.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    extremely expensive for value received. at our stay at the Madrid Ritz, everything was less expensive. The decor was out of the 50's , no shower, out of town

    unique property

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Directions to find the property inadequate, we could have done with clearer directions.

    Very clean and comfortable, and excellent location for Normandy beaches etc.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was 'snooty'; We felt treated like 2nd class guests because of our booking.com reservations. First room given was very small and uncomfortable, couldn't stand up in dormer areas, including water closet! restaurant had high ratings, but we didn't enjoy our selections, and our server spoke little english we could understand. Restaurant and bar are very expensive. Cocktails over $20, and no one could mix a manhattan.

    Beautiful chateau and surroundings, perfect location for beach landings sight seeing, dining, and other touring.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were "upgraded" to duplex suite in spa building but it was certainly not an upgrade. Though it was two bedroom ensuite and a living room, the rooms looked like they were furnished from a garage sale. If you are staying at this hotel, I highly recommend requesting rooms in main building. Hotel was too far out-of-town to be able to do anything in Bayeux.

    Restaurant is amazing. Grounds are beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is surly and not helpful . Nobody available from 9pm to 8am every day. Third floor rooms accessed only by spiral staircases. No elevator in building. You are on your own to get luggage to and from third floor rooms when front desk is not staffed.Room was spartanly furnished--like a two star hotel.

    Good location for Normandy beaches touring

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Costly accommodation ( we referred to it as 'Shabby Chateau Chic')...... I suspect playing to the American market and it's excellent location Bayeux, Arromanches etc.

    Excellent Location;Excellent Staff; Excellent Meal.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No porter for luggage ( I asked about it at check -out -- the receptionist offered to help, but only after I asked -- the check-in receptionist never offered. ) I had not realized that the wonderful smelling 1 star Michelin restaurant was on the property-- we were "rich, fancy food overloaded " from our week in Paris prior to coming to Bayeau--- I would loved to have dined there , but we just couldn't face it!

    Beautiful grounds-- comfortable bed -- immaculate bathroom--- Free calls to US!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the staff were very attentive except for one who was responsible for the breakfast service. She was never anywhere to be found and was snarly when she was around.

    Beautiful hotel and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very, VERY stuffy!!!!! Do not go there: with kids who just like to be kids and have fun; or, if you are a "kid at heart" and would like to be even a minimally free spirit!! It will be tolerated, but, . . . ! And, if you like stuffy, this is the place for you!! But, not for me.

    Incredible ambience and setting!!! Absolutely beautiful grounds. Impeccable service. Dinner in the restaurant was FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Last minute booking through booking.com and we invested in staying at this accommodations so that our family had a memorable night with separate rooms . Our rooms looked nothing like the photos in booking.com plus we were provided rooms that did not match our needs as a couple . No effort by staff to make our stay more comfortable or more enjoyable . Not worth the investment . Torn and worn carpeting in our rooms no assurance to our third floor room with luggage . Sad representation of the area as we had enjoyed many other locations for much less money . Not worth it disappointing

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had trouble finding the hotel, the sign seemed to blend in. Though we called and they were helpful giving us directions.

    The hotel is located outside of town but within close distance to the D-day beaches. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the pool, which was in a sunroom, what a nice surprise especially because the weather was cool. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, it was amazing, I would recommend it highly.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would prefer a room with air conditioning so that we could sleep with the windows closed. The room was a little crowded also.

    The setting was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful despite our poor french. It is conveniently located near many war memorials.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But because it was in the country I did find some red ants in the bed. BUT one must remember it was a COUNTRY home.

    We enjoyed our stay in the country estate. It was quiet and refreshing after a long trip.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast should have been included in the room rate as it was expensive at 21 euro per person

    superb location, excellent accommodation friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms and first class food and close to Bayeaux

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Chaotic service during first night's dinner and breakfast next morning - 30 minutes delay both times. Breakfast ridiculously expensive, EUR 21 for white bread, marmelade and two types of chees, eggs cooked to order, but no selection of meat. The restaurant is a 1-star Michelin, food is good and nicely presented, but not star-quality.

    The chateau is beautiful, well locted for visiting nearby cities and the Normandie beaches. Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator. Staff not terribly responsive. Elderly couple had to bring luggage down two flights of winding stairs without assistance. Breakfast buffet was very over-priced.

    Lovely grounds; chateau remodeled beautifully. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is a little slow.

    Loved being in the beautiful French countryside, but still close to Bayeux and the D-day beaches. Their dinner was phenomenal- highly recommended! The chateau is exactly what I imagined.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints at all...it was a perfect stay

    Everything...warm welcome, lovely room and the grounds surrounding this chateau were beautiful, even in early spring. Be sure to have dinner at the excellent restaurant...it's a bargain. The bed was very comfortable too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very over priced drinks and evening meal. Asked for an egg at breakfast and the waiter looked horrified and said no!

    Fabulous location.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous....simple as that !!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They nickel dime you

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The entire estate is deliciously charming and extremely well maintained! Staff, meals, facililties beyond superb!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of shower and no alternative, simpler menu.

    Excellent food - though expensive

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, historical setting with exquisite food. Ideally placed only a few kilometres from motorway and about 10 inutes drive into Bayeux.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price of dinner.

    Spa facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved it! Beautiful and in great location. Wished pool and spa stayed open pass 8:00!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This historic building is set in lovely parkland near to Bayeux. Outstanding dinner and leisure facilities.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the staff not very friendly

    The peace and quiet, the spa and dinner were just wonderful

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: