Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Vault de Lugny 5 stars

11, rue du Château, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Vault-de-Lugny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Stunning locating, stunning food and stunning service. 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Service was superb, room was excellent, the food was out of this world! Simply stunning. Our overall stay was simply delightful. The staff couldn't do enough for you. We had an amazing time and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Highly recommended. The wine list was staggering. Can't rate this place highly enough

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Our stay in Burgundy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals and the cost of renting bikes were pricey. The decor in our room was a bit outdated.

    The owners were very nice and extremely helpful. Breakfasts and dinners were very tasty (gourmet with extra small courses) and were served elegantly. There is much history with this Chateau. We received much help with an itinerary to visit various places in Burgundy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    De luxe room that we had booked instead of a standard room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De luxe room that we had booked instead of a standard room turned out to be a dark attic room; the representation of this class of room by Booking.com was clearly misleading in my opinion. Also the restaurant is in an unattractive, rather small and dark room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful and although it is a luxury...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee making facilities in our room

    The staff were extremely helpful and although it is a luxury hotel the atmosphere was not intimidating!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    A fantastic place that feels like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are traditional French and some are not airconditioned and can be a bit dusty and over patterned. Pets are welcome and there are lots of dogs running around.

    This is a moated chateau, not really a castle as some pictures may have you think. The suites are superb and bearing in mind that you are staying in a privately run hotel/home, the place is amazing. The food is superb, the chef Franco Bowanee is a complete star. You are made very welcome by the hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, stunning park with 404 year old plan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, i.e. during the very hot summer days the room was a bit too warm.

    Fantastic location, stunning park with 404 year old plan tree, nice indoor pool, excellent restaurant with very competent and accommodating sommelier & chef!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Charming and welcoming stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are charming but slightly “muddled” interior design! Some would call it “characterful!”

    Outstanding wine list and excellent dinner- (we are fussy!) Friendly and excellent smiley staff .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Atmosphere was very relaxing, and dinner, as well as breakfast, was a pleasant experience. We stopped in this place when our child celebrated 7th anniversary so the owners arranged cute gifts for both children :) And finally that huge plane tree (platan) which is one of the oldest in France planted in 1614 is amazing! If you have a chance, visit this Chateau.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful Château and wonderful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about it

    Beautiful Château and wonderful grounds. We took out two young boys and the staff looked after us really well. We had the tasting menu which was lovely. Would love to go back as we really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms could be modernised. Stepping into a bath to take a shower was not easy or safe (by modern standards)

    Staff were attentive and helpful. Meals and service were impeccable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    A memorable experience in Burgundy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room on the third floor, had a great bathroom and a large room adequately decorated with a comfortable bed but only one small "attic" window. The two floors below had rooms with large windows that would open to the court yard and allow much more light into room

    The Chateau is an amazing property with an incredible historic building, beautiful setting and a very attentive staff. When the weather was warm we had breakfast and dinner outside under umbrellas looking at the beautiful grounds and watching the resident peacocks strut. We were able to rent bikes at the property, take hikes or touring routes provided. We were near many historic towns as well as winery experiences.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Inadequate value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic venue but horribly overpriced at every turn. Wine list prices only for the super wealthy. Dinner prices also over the top for very average meal. Won't be back anytime soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place with beautiful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food is a bit expensive specially when there are no other options nearby.

    Driving your way to the place you get a feeling that you may have made a mistake as the place is so secluded. However within a day, you realize how amazing this property is. They do know how to pamper their guests. Pascal, Elizabeth, David, Karen (Mauritius girl at front desk), the entire kitchen team headed by Franco and every person is always ready to make your stay more comfortable with a smile. One of the best hotel experiences of my life. I would love to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Peace and tranquility surrounded by beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was somewhat overpriced- the room was small and the bed was two twin beds pushed together. Breakfast was very expensive compared to other equivalent château-hotels.

    The setting of the chateau and it’s grounds are wonderful. Very quiet and peaceful, old walls, even a keep! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great time, wonderful proprietors/staff and will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet wasn't as strong as I would prefer in Le Roy. Everything else was fantastic.

    This was a fantastic experience!!!! It is clear that the owners are on-duty every day, and the staff is unbelievably courteous, unobtrusive and efficient. They are all from Mauritius - who knew?! David, who runs the restaurant is exceptional - great food, great service and lovely experience. This is chateau lodging at it's best and not like the cheesy chateau hotels found in the Loire valley. I can't recommend it enough, particularly if you have high expectations, i.e. - Americans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Basically good and it was fine for one time. Probably wouldn't duo it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was right over the kitchen so whatever was being cooked we shared . at the restaurant was good one night but not as good the second night. Loved the pool and workout room. front desk very friendly but we got some bad information soon the time we should leave to get to our wine tasting destination and missed it as a result. Plenty of good activities at the facility and he chateau is awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    The propriety is amazing, really beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to our room on the 2nd floor, we had to pass through a corridor that was probably just above the kitchen and e smell of boiling veal stock and seared meat was a bit too strong. Not at all what you would expect on every time you would get to or leave the room (even though I love veal stock!). Also, the place is in Burgundy, so you would think I the probability of a client arriving with a nice bottle of wine is high. I just had visited a winery and wanted to enjoy it in the Château's garden. There was literally no one there, and the receptionist wouldn't allow it because "other clients" could see. I mean, what would be the problem? I even had a reservation to dine at the restaurant later... She told us that we had to leave the Château to drink it... an, oh well, so we did. A pity... The dinner was ok, maybe a bit too pricy for what it offered, although you could see the ingredients were really nicely sourced.

    The propriety is amazing, really beautiful. You actually feel like you've just traveled through time. Staff is quite friendly, although I think they could have shown us better how to profit from the facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing 🌸
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything it was excellent 🌈✨

    The staff were friendly The food was hard to beat 🌺 was lovely 🌸 The facilities were good The bar was very trendy and very up-to-date 🌸 The Grounds where amazing 🌺

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice historic Château .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bath was clean no doubt. But I think you can expect from a 5* hotel to cobwebs on the ceiling

    Nice historic Château . Friendly staff. Nice swimming pool. Superb dinning venue

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful place. The service is good but if you have visited some of the amazing 5 star chateaus in the area you will realise it could be far better

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place was excellent. The staff attentive. The food and wines were fantastic and they even prepared a meal that was not on the menu on our second night. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Best stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    My daughter and I have stayed at several chateaux over the past week. This property by far was the BEST, truly a 5 star experience. We were met by the staff waiting on the front steps. Several peacocks and the Italian breed truffle finding dog also greeted us. The indoor pool is terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed dining st the chateau. We would have loved to stay longer but had a river cruise to meet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    A chateau that really strives to make your stay memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Beautiful maintained grounds. Food was outstanding as were the waiters. Front desk made excellent suggestions for day trips along with easy to read maps. This was our favorite place to stay our trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    The restaurant was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything Headline: magical few days in most beautiful chateau- beyond all expectations!0

    The restaurant was amazing. Brilliant !we had not expected the food would be on the level of Marc menau a the star testaraunt near te that nolonger exists ! Every meal was a pleasure Every aspect of our experience was beyond expectations We will return on September

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Break from reality with those you love!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly hard for my comfort, but my wife loved the four poster renaissance bed.

    The entire staff is amazing. They are friendly, courteous, helpful, spoke english, and are great with children. The chateau has been beautifully restored. The grounds apresent relaxing walks. The location of the chateau is near various wineries. The ambiance is secluded so one feels away from the hustle of life. The restaurant has exceptional food and I commend the chefs for presenting sophisticated culinary delights, but can easily transition to making exceptional children's plates.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated

    Love belt setting. Very helpful staff. Wonderful dinner in the garden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Experience a perfect stay with great facilities and a succulent meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very attentive, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely premises, great food and an excellent swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot

    Lovely premises, great food and an excellent swimming pool. Friendly and accommodating staff always around to make you feel special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Great grounds, lovey restaurant, amazing pool facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great grounds, lovey restaurant, amazing pool facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful situation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Romantic paradise in the French countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very comfortable, stunning grounds and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    No atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Amazingly great hotel - a clear 100% recommendation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazingly great hotel - a clear 100% recommendation!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful castle, beautiful surroundings, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful castle, beautiful surroundings, nice room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Awarded the VC. Very Charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.0
    Pleased to have stayed here and would consider a repeat visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not over impressed with our room

    peaceful setting and grounds, fine character property with exceptional food if expensive. well worth the diversion.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Service, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel and amazing grounds ,very friendly stsff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff great vibe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Amazing place and the staff are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and the staff are nice. Lovely chateau! Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Best service we had our whole trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were late arriving and they waited for us and made us feel very welcome in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    It's a magical place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was worth the trip from Paris ~ even with the car rental

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed re-decorating

    Couldn't have felt better looked after by the very helpful staff and it is a very beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    The location is very remote but the perfect place for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There isn't much nearby (walking distance) as far as amenities such as food and good cafe. I had rented a car for my vacation, but without a car, the location would have likely presented access difficulties.

    The location is very remote but the perfect place for relaxation, beautiful countryside, and personal attention from the staff. It was so romantic to watch the sunset from the property terrace.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly management and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi very variable, very old bathroom style, but that's a very minor issue. Awful pillows and no choice.

    Very friendly management and staff. Beautiful restaurant, gardens and house in general.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Truly beautiful castle and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food is slightly overpriced - deserts not as nice as one would expect (everything else was perfect)

    Truly beautiful castle and garden. Very attentive staff. Lovely pool :)

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.0
    This is spectacular piece of property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't know if they are in the process of redoing the rooms and ours had not been done yet but it was in desperate need of updating. The bathroom was very old and not what I would expect for the price we paid per night. The towels needed to be replaced.

    This is spectacular piece of property.The staff was very friendly and the meal that we had there was delicious and well prepared and served.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Fabulous stop off for our road trip to commence to the south...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Fabulous stop off for our road trip to commence to the south of France We had the large suite with the four poster bed, very high ceilings and spacious with large windows. Great rustic chateau to set of the 'french' mood

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast was lovely The grounds were beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited choice on dinner menu Bathroom needed updating shower did not fix to wall so had to hold it by hand ! No air con & it was 39 degrees! No offer of a fan for the room either No WiFi service in the room

    Breakfast was lovely The grounds were beautiful

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    The castle and its surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    The castle and its surroundings. We had half board and the food was excellent. The friendy and professional staff at dinner. The overall quality of the hotel. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the silence and the good life.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Elegant great place old clean nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was terribly hard pillows foam not befitting a 5 star.

    Elegant great place old clean nice staff

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The beauty of the grounds, the fabulous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beauty of the grounds, the fabulous food.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    amazingly beautiful position and a stunning chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    amazingly beautiful position and a stunning chateau. very peaceful and attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Ambience and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambience and quiet

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Perfect setting, very friendly reception, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect setting, very friendly reception, excellent breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    The attention of the staff to services- from valet parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attention of the staff to services- from valet parking to the canapés with the champagne

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.9
    Classic theme quiet and a quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad wifi connection

    Classic theme quiet and a quiet place

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: