Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Hôtel Château De Verrières & SPA 5 stars

53 Rue D’Alsace, 49400 Saumur, France

#6 of 21 hotels in Saumur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was very co fusing as we first got put in the incorrect room and we had to wait in the lobby with our stuff while the tried to fix the confusion. Check out was also very uncomfortable as Mo one seemed to know what was going on and I felt very uncomfortable The facilities were value for money but. It the customer service experience

    The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable Best bathroom I’ve had in a hotel room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming small hotel, lovely grounds. Exceptional staff. Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely chateau in Samaur. We were in the area visiting the French armor museum, well my husband was visiting the museum, I sat in the car and read. Chateau has so much charm, the rooms were exceptionally nice and comfortable. Awesome bathroom with great shower. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    We could not ask for a more perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not ask for a more perfect place to stay! Most places were within walking distance of the chateau. Our hosts were most gracious, making reservations for us and assisting us however possible. And they served the best croissants & French toast anywhere in the region!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Château. Very comfortable. Easy parking. More like 5 star b&b.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge wasnt helpfull with restaurant bookings. We ask to book a restaurant and he said it’s closed for holiday. Restaurant was open and we made a booking ourselves.

    Very nice place. Comfortable big room, beautiful view, breakfast very nice, good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    A unique beautiful property but not quite close enough to the old centre of Saumur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a good 15 minute walk from any good restaurant. We were slightly out of season but did not see one other person on the streets during our walk back from dinner which was slightly unnerving! As there are only 10 rooms in the hotel, there is no life and it is like staying in a museum. Only one minor criticism of our room is that despite its huge size there was only one comfortable chair in it.

    A fantastic Belle Epoque property. Beautifully decorated and wonderfully comfortable. Delicious breakfast served in a unique dining area. Bedroom of the very highest standard with a fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    This place is an excellent choice if you are looking for an outstanding personalized small chateau e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more knowledge of insider things to do in Sammur, but I am reaching, they were accommodating as can be. I would like to have had a better selection of pillows. I really like access to a soft down pillow and hotel pillows usually to firm. I would like to have had access to a scale.

    The grounds are luscious, the staff goes out of its way to accommodate request. For example it was cool out but I wanted to swim. They opened the pool cleaned it and had it ready for me each day of my stay. I was the only swimmer. They went to the post office and got me stamps to mail letters I wrote. they set up an outside table for breakfast when I was the only one who wanted to embrace the cold air. great service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Quaint hotel wonderfully located in Saumur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bit more variety at the breakfast buffet.

    Wonderful accommodations. The room was quite big and the shower was divine. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.0
    Saturday evening in Saumur spoilt by careless staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made irreversible errors in booking restaurants, including one at a special restaurant for a special celebration on a Saturday evening. Extremely careless; resulted in spoiling the evening.

    The house was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Still a wonderful location, but the new owners need to up their game.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The new owners seem reluctant to talk to the guests. He seemed to lurk but not engage. She was rarely seen. We thought it very strange. The previous owners engaged whenever appropriate, and that was one of the reasons we returned. It was so friendly. Also, our room was not cleaned on Sunday. When we asked for it to be cleaned, we were told the staff had finished for the day. This is bad. We should have been notified so we could have arranged to be out of the room earlier.

    It's a wonderful place in its own right with beautiful rooms on every floor and gorgeous gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and staff were excellent. The breakfast overwhelming. Very special hotel,beautifully decorated. Saumur itself is on the other end less interesting than the surrounding bigger cities like Tours or Angers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eugénie Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultra luxury in Saumur, the chateau lived up to its promise of old world charm wIth all modern conveniences. Our host was very helpful with local knowledge and the chateau was a few minutes walk to the city centre of the quaint township. Stunning views of chateau Saumur from our window. 5 star.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location, beautifully furnished hotel 5-10 mins walk from town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive drinks prices. Hotel lacked ambiance

    Lovely outdoor pool and beautifully furnished reception rooms Spacious bedrooms with tea/coffee facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Amazing chateau near the centre of a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was wrong at all

    This is a stunning Chateau near to the centre of town with delightful, welcoming hosts. Breakfast was excellent and served in a fantastic vaulted room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is beautifully decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's more a B&B than a Hotel. Breakfast Expensive and of poor quality (Orange juice from the supermarket!!!)

    The hotel is beautifully decorated

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Arguably the best hotel in France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The entire experience was absolutely first class and could not be faulted. From the staff to the owners everybody made us feel welcome and part of the family. Arguably the best hotel in France.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    4.6
    Choose carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions were not good, the host was very intrusive and kept following us around until we headed for the pool. The room was very small considering we paid £160 and it was meant to be a 5* hotel. Fan in the room broke and it was replaced with a noisy one which kept us up most of the night. Flies were gathering around my pillow during the night and there were LOTS of them! overall NOT a good experience in this hotel and I would not recommend to anyone.

    The pool was refreshing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Highly recommend for a Downton Abbey style experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original floor boards in our room were quite creaky and the original bathrooms were dark although decorated nicely. However, the main room was so spectacular it made up for these aspects. We had a junior suite decorated in blue and green. There were a lot of small flies on the property.

    Our suite was huge compared to a regular hotel room and the main room containing the lounge and bed was very quiet and private. The room and building were beautifully decorated. The staff were very helpful, although there was a language barrier at times and one of them followed us around whenever we were in the chateau which felt a little strange.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Charming and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is very friendly and caters for the slightest needs. The Chateau is very well maintained and is filled with history. The breakfast, although simple, is really worth the money; all ingredients are of a good quality and the croissants match the french reputation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    Lovely staff - rather overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper signage on the road ! Wifi was very poor - at first non existent ! Very unclear how to use the main gates ! There was a dangerous step outside my room - If I was staying longer the room was very small -

    The staff - The location .. Good but expensive breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent environment, perfectly located for accessing the town whilst in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Lovely garden and grounds, superb classic home with highly sympathetic and beautifully presented refurbishments and furnishings. Most of all our host were truly wonderful and shared their home withgraciousness and kindnes. A memorable experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.8
    Uptight owners ruined what would have been a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of the hotel were incredibly controlling, we felt like they were watching us all the time. When I was in my room, ill with a migraine, they would not let my husband bring food to me (no food allowed!) and made me go down to the basement to eat it. Also, I understand there is no air conditioning but there were no fans available in 30 degree weather.

    The rooms were very pretty, the grounds were lovely and it was in an excellent central location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The gardens are very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts could be better

    The gardens are very special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Close to city center, beautiful Chateau and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, owners, amenities, historic value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey spa service

    Beautiful property, excellent service throughout, outstanding location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Lovely chateau hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eugénie Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We appreciated the advice on where to visit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eugénie Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the room rate and was very expensive.

    Old world charm

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Will ever forget the sweet stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are so sweet and nice. The room is vintage and very beautiful. very cozy environment. Will never forget this in my life !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Quiet and easy access to sites. Safe, secure, easy parking. Spacious room. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Superb stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were so very nice, attentative and welcoming. Lovely people !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Good chateau and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good chateau and good service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Charming and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the chateau should be better marked

    Magnificent property, well maintained and welcoming environment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, a haven in Saumur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, the pool was amazing. Just generally a lovely experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay In Saumur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Small Green Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A beautiful building in a good location. Provided us with an excellent dinner recommendation. Very high standards .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Soleil Levant Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful property Super hostess Could not be faulted

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.4
    Quite, history of the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No room service No food all day only breakfast No staff to help with languages only the owners ( old couple) The owners are new - just bought the hotel, seems they dont have alot of experience. Cant be rated as 5 stars at all They refuse us to get delivery food We didnt know where to enter from out side the street Looks like any house of the block Welcoming skills poor

    Quite, history of the place Nature Safe

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Loved the Chateau very beautiful and in a fantastic location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the Chateau very beautiful and in a fantastic location for the Loire Valley. We ate out at night and the restaurants were just a few minutes away, so perfect, gardens lovely, The owners were on hand (Mr Mrs Pascalal ) all the time to help and give you advice on where and what to do. They were charming! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.1
    Lovely building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of atmosphere, not many people staying Lack of bar Owner felt a little intimidating

    Lovely building Well located for Saumur With the right no of guests would be lovely Beautifully decorated room

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.2
    the couple who run it are very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hair drier is difficult to use. No hand mirror in bathroom. Poached eggs were cooked perfectly but had vinegar water on the plate with them

    the couple who run it are very welcoming. The historic building has been well cared for.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The Opulence of standards, decor and hosting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Butter pats! Please use fresh butter. Yoghurt cartons instead of bowls.

    The Opulence of standards, decor and hosting. With a beautiful setting. Rooms were delightful. Food superb and hosts charming. This is a definitely must visit. The tranquil zone in a delightful city.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    From the moment the electronic gates were opened for us and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave too early to have enjoyed breakfast.

    From the moment the electronic gates were opened for us and we were greeted by the owners, it was something special. We just wish we could have stayed longer. The centre of Saumur and the Loire were walking distance. A lovely meal on the quay listening to a string quartet on a warm balmy evening

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Loved the architecture and decor of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the architecture and decor of the hotel. Wonderful old world, charming -- and beautifully decorated. Lovely grounds with onsite parking and great location in Saumur.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful property in lovely Saumur, very well situated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property in lovely Saumur, very well situated, great hosts. Each bedroom has its own theme and is a little gem. The reception rooms downstairs are grand and stunning. The park is lovely for a short postprandial stroll.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    This was gracious living on a grand scale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was gracious living on a grand scale. The building was imposing and all the furnishings were sympathetic and elegant. There were several areas for guests to use and drinks could be served. There were woods to wander in, and a swimming pool to relax in. The owners were charming and only too willing to help in booking restaurants, taxis and anything else. They also have a lovely dog, Baron...

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.2
    Hotel is a beautiful late 19th century Mansion with mainly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Allit needs is a restaurant and the building and ambiance is there to do it!

    Hotel is a beautiful late 19th century Mansion with mainly original features set in a lovely garden. Staff/owners very helpful. The pool is great.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    The lovely building and antique furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two prices for breakfasts would have been more appropriate.

    The lovely building and antique furnishings. The friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts. Good English spoken. Only a short walk to town centre, good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.2
    The decorations, policies, cleanliness, and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a cheap place to stay. If you want a night of luxury, it's a fun place surrounded by Belle Epoque furnishings.

    The decorations, policies, cleanliness, and staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Old world charm Cosy atmosphere Relaxed setting

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.4
    good location on edge of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entrance hall very grand but didn't think the room lived up to the star rating.

    good location on edge of town

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    We loved the location and welcome from the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location and welcome from the owners

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Secure and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Secure and central. Plus very pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    The owners were really welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were really welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    This place is a magical fairytale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This place is a magical fairytale.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly welcome on arrival and just the right amount of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly welcome on arrival and just the right amount of high quality service and support throughout our stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    elegance and comfort, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    elegance and comfort, location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location close to town centre Beautiful comfortable rooms Friendly, charming owners and staff Good pool to cool down after sightseeing!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Quite simply, the most beautiful place I have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't stay long enough!

    Quite simply, the most beautiful place I have ever stayed! Loved everything about Chateau de Verrieres.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful building helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Broken bath tap but a minor inconvenience

    Beautiful building helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.8
    The overall ambiance of the chateau and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall ambiance of the chateau and gardens

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The fabulous room and sumptuous parlours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to dislike but breakfast could not quite as good as everything else about it.

    The fabulous room and sumptuous parlours

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    Only for one night but lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only for one night but lovely. We were kindly told about a small restaurant only 5/10 minutes walk L' Aromate FAB food and not expensive.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Excellent staff well run and very friendly place to base...
    • Couple

    Excellent staff well run and very friendly place to base yourself for a few days

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff could not have been nicer and the place was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff could not have been nicer and the place was beautiful and spotless.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: