Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château De Werde

Hameau de Werde, 67150 Matzenheim, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Matzenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options could be more diverse.

    The hosts were more than wonderful. We arrived way after the check-in time but there were no issues with that; we called and informed them and were able to arrange things. The castle has really nice rooms, cozy and wonderfully decorated. We really enjoyed our stay in such a calm and quiet place after a hectic day at Europa Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is amazing, the landscape is great, the furniture is awesome. We think that the outside of the residence must be better preserved (painting and caring for the wood). But despite this detail the experience was worth it because the atmosphere of the place reminds us of the Middle Ages.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the building and the room were beautiful. We had dinner in a nice restaurant close by, which was advised to us by the very friendly hotel owner. Breakfast was delicious and in a lovely room. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived it was terribly cold in the chambre. It took few hours to make the temperature comfortable. There is also no place to spend the time with friends in the evening, the only room (reserved for breakfast) was closed. The cheminee was also not functioning, the good fire in the very cold evening would be the right thing.

    Location is very good, the territory of the chateau is very nice. Chambre was comfortable and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some baffles (outside part of windows) are not completed

    good equipped historical castle, enough and free parking places outside, comfort and natural nearby environment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some maintenance work; there were no curtains in our bedroom

    Great owners, beautifully decorated with very large rooms (we stayed in the "suite " with large bedroom, massive bathroom and a small sitting room)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was just beautiful!! We loved out suite, it was cozy, clean and well maintained, the whole castle has such a nice atmosphere. I can just recommend it. Thank you for making our stay so great, we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was great. Don't hesitate!

    Couldn't ask for a better place. The manager/worker was so energetic and kind, the room was so big and impressive, and so was the garden of the castle. There was a mysterious feeling in there and it wa magical. Wish I could have had a longer stay!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a charming place to stay. We loved the authenticity of the château which now runs as a bed-and-breakfast. The owners are charming people, the breakfast was very nice and the views from our windiws were amazing! Our children also loved the experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    A wonderful place to stay. Historic large rooms with model updates. Beautiful surroundings inside and out. Super friendly and helpful proprietor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains in the bedroom.

    The owner could not have been friendlier. We had the suite and it was beautiful! It looked exactly like the pictures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downside - no wifi/internet and no kettle for making tea in room.

    Rooms really nice and comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host, fantastic rooms in a lovely Château!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby restaurants

    Environment is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust

    It was great location only 30 from Strasbourg. Lovely people running the hotel. Helpful with explaining where to go for leisure activities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no internet

    location and old style of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, spacious suite, beautiful bedroom, amazing bathtub.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were too cold and there was no wifi

    Greatlocation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Really overprized. our suite did not have a shower (!) there where a lot of bugs in de room. and it was very (!) cold. We are not used to say negative things about a place but this was a first. Think twice before going here.

    Sleeping in a castle is always nice!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Damp smelly place, wallpaper came off, garden not well maintained, mold in shower even though bathrooms have been updated, cobwebs everywhere

    To sleep in a castle is always cool...

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitoes, unavoidable on a hot, sultry day by the river - take some repellant (including plug-in type)

    Lovely, well-kept chateau run by a delightful, welcoming and English-speaking family at a romantic riverside location. Great restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival main entrance was locked, nobody around. Sign 'ring bell' would help.

    Location ist calm and close-to-nature, the set feels like 100 years back.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are some points that need to be by all means improved. First of all is the apearence from outside, the exterior facade, it makes you think that this is a ruin when you come. And first impressions are very important. The second bigger problem was that the whole place was very cold. The heaters were set on maximum power and they were freezing. This is a huge inconvenience and an important comfort factor. We were there on 2nd May and the temperatures were bellow 10 Degrees Celsius in the night. We had 2 rooms and in both was freezing. The 3rd problem was at the breakfast. Me and my friends fought for the butter that was just 1 day out of date, there were also butter packets that were expired 2 weeks before. The same thing also by the marmelade, there were packages out of date from a couple of weeks, but also some that weren't allready expired. All in all, we are going to come back for sure just because of the beauty of this place. I also think that this Chateau has lots of potential because it can be a great headquorter to visit the great surroundings like Straßburg, Colmar, Freiburg, Europa-Park ... But because of such problems it tends to be unpopular, and thats a shame.

    We stayed for the second time at the Chateau de Werde, this time we broght a couple of friends with us. They were also very impressed of the place and want to come back. The owner is also very friendly and helpfull. The chambers were very charming and clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our shower was broken. We had to hold the shower in our hand while taking a shower. Otherwise the shower was nice and the bathroom was big.

    The chateau is beautiful and situated 25 minutes from Strasbourg. In the near area (about 10 minutes) there are restaurants. A list of restaurants is provided. The staff is friendly, the room is big and cozy and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too bad the place is a little run down. they should invest in some renovations.

    very friendly castle loved the atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Quiet and peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath towels to small no Kleenex breakfast no fresh fruit jam in little containers not nice

    Location and nice rooms

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Château De Werde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: