Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau des Arpentis

Route D31, 37530 Amboise, France

#3 of 20 hotels in Amboise

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was amazing, very clean and spacious decorated with antiques. We stayed in the Chambre Rose room which was tastefully decorated comfortable bed an amazing Chat and a spacious bathroom. The property also had separate library and billiard room. I definitely would recommend this property and would stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was charming and quite large. The bed very comfortable and the air conditioning and wifi worked well. The bathroom was modern and the claw bath very romantic. The chap at reception was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chateau was beautiful and rooms were beautiful. There is a beautiful salon for guests on the first floor as well as self serve laundry included and fridges for groceries and snacks on the second floor. Pool was a great temperature and the breakfast was very good for a small fee of €12. Hotel also had many recommended restaurants in the main town which is a short taxi ride or drive away. Wonderful jumping off point for visiting near by castles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage to Reception when you arrive. Not enough sockets to charge mobile etc. and what there are, are on ground level so you have to get down on your knees. No in-room safe. Noisy shower and you can hear all noise, shower, loo flushing etc. from adjacent and above rooms. A/C unit made strange gurgling noises at different times although switched off. Plastic bath tub which moves when you shower. Would expect proper bath (cast iron) in such a hotel. No Do Not Disturb sign for privacy. Very smelly/ sweaty pillows which we hated! Small tv. No linen bath mat. There is a sort of reed one and not sure of hygiene or how often it is changed. Toilet roll not replaced. One member of staff to handle check-outs and complete breakfast service. Impossible to do efficiently. Antoine very stressed.

    Lovely small Château in picturesque setting. Spacious room in keeping with Château feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing for us was no bar/ food, you have to drive out into town therefore can’t have a drink etc.

    Beautiful setting and lovely inside and our room was spacious and comfortable. It’s very peaceful and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed a little hard

    the location and the facilities were exceptional! Great breakfast and staff very accommodating and friendly. The grounds were amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the staff and the grounds. Excited to see the beaver in the river. Impressed with the quality of renovation and so thankful the owners share it with the public.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives!

    THis was the perfect place to stay while visiting the chateaus of the Loire Valley. It was historical and authentic, but very comfortable and up to date. It had a pastoral setting but very close to the beautiful little castle town of Amboise. And, it was about half way between Chambord and Villandry. It was great! Would recommend to anyone visiting the Loire Valley!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved it all.

    This is a beautiful old Chateau, so it has all of the beauty and charm of an old, well restored building. Very large and spacious rooms. Romantic, well appointed, and a great staff. You cannot beat the location for touring the Chateaus of the Loire Valley.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get to stay there long enough!

    Fabulous to be able to stay in a real chateau. Laundry & kitchen facilities available & supermarket 2 minutes away. Very large room with modern bathroom. Large sitting room available for general use. Very central location to explore the Loire.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Chateau fully immersed you in its' fabulous character, a wonderful place to explore both inside and outside. Lovely rooms, bathrooms, lounge and billiards room, dining room. Excellent sunny breakfast room with lovely continental breakfast. Peaceful and elegant accommodation with friendly staff. Close to Amboise township to explore the shops and castle there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was nothing special.

    The hotel is really amazing! Beautiful rooms and the surrounding makes it really special. Its is also very well located for visiting Amboise and Chenonceau castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slow wifi is only real negative

    Large beautifully decorated rooms and bathrooms.Amazing views from our Balconies(saw deer both mornings) Breakfast delicious and great value.Even had a communal living area and a laundry room. Overall a lovingly restored chateau which ticked all our boxes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful chateau surrounded by idyllic lake and forest. Stayed in the private chateau which was spacious, luxuriously appointed and fit for a king!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, where do we start.. Being well travelled, we were shocked by the lack of service and facilities at the ‘Hotel’ ‘Chateau’ des Arpentis. They misleadingly advertise themselves as a hotel/chateau - both of these titles implying certain facilities being available to their guests ie restaurant and/or bar - neither of which you will find there. In fact there is nothing. On arrival we received a very uninterested greeting and a rushed, basic explanation of the accommodation. When we asked about having a drink to unwind after a 6 hour drive we were curtly informed there was nothing available on site - not even soft drinks! We would have to go and buy our own. That should’ve decided it for us but we thought we would stay positive and go into town later to have a drink and a meal. We asked if he could recommend a restaurant for the evening for us and we were shown a list and told to Google them to get more information. My 70 year old husband then had to struggle in with all our luggage with no offer of help at all. Our room was very nice and warm with a lovely view but for the price of 200€ a night one would’ve expected at LEAST some tea and coffee making facilities and/or a mini bar - neither of which they offer. When we queried this we were told there was tea and coffee in the lounge we could help ourselves to. After my husband had cleaned the car and I had wandered around the beautiful grounds we decided to relax in the said lounge and enjoy a hot drink. When we got there the fire was non existent and the fireplace was just smoking. No wonder, it was full of old ash. The room could’ve been beautiful but was dirty and unloved. The tea and coffee facility was a filthy old kettle, a glass tumbler with a couple of very old, crumpled teabags and 2 sachets of cheap instant coffee. The table they were on was full of sugar that some one had spilt there probably days before. That was it. It was a joke.

    First impressions of the property as you drive in are undoubtably impressive. The grounds are beautiful and the building itself is lovely. This is unfortunately the only redeeming aspect of our experience here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice place for a quiet and relaxing getaway. Nice breakfast every morning with friendly staff. They have a small shared kitchen if you want to store or heat-up food as well as a shared lounge with billiards and a fireplace. The town of Amboise is a short drive away with lots of restaurants, shops and 2 famous Chateaus you can visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was brilliant

    The family suite was incredible- the perfect space for a family of 5. The Chateau is stunning and I recommend it to all who want to take the family to the Loire Valley. Centrally located beautiful accomodation it was gorgeous. We had a beautiful log fire to greet us each evening on our return from sight seeing. Breakfast was wonderful and the space great for the kids to play

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea / Coffee making facilities in the room would have been good and maybe the chance to buy some wine onsite to drink / minibar

    fantastic building with great décor with good views and really comfy beds and just a small drive or taxi ride to a local town with plenty of restaurants to choose from. excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we arrived just as the weather was cooling down and the pesky stink bugs were looking for a warm place. Our room was filled with them. Not a fault of the hotel but the front desk gave a vacuum to suck them up. A little disgusting...

    Stunning grounds, beautiful interior, very peaceful. Very spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure. Would have loved to have been here when he pool was opened. But it was October. So of course it wasn't. Wish we had a room that faced the front so we could have had a pasture view. But still liked our room anyway.

    Seemed newly updated. Was picture perfect and so quiet. Loved waking up to chirping birds and not the sound of traffic. Antoine was so welcoming and knowledgeable. Breakfast was beautiful with the view over the courtyard and pastures. Even saw fox in the morn near the horses pasture. Beds were perfectly comfortable. Had a desk for working on the computer and new bathroom was darling but preserved its charm. I wish we lived here. Even had free laundry facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at the Chateau was wonderful. Beautiful room overlooking the grounds. Quiet and serene. The breakfast was very pleasant and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Such a special experience to stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a negative surprise at the check-in, as the apartment (The Orangerie) we booked 5 months ago was not available. The staff said it was booked by another guests, which was very strange, and we never experienced any problem like this during booking via booking.com before. They gave us the family room, which could have been great for a family with children, but we were with my parents, and this room is absolutely not for 4 adults. Fortunately the guy at the reception was really helpful and solved this issue, so finally we could agree in 2 separate rooms. One small downside was the breakfast. Altough it was nice, I would except more selection of food (especially warm) and a bit more 'traditional'/authentic French food (sausages, cheese). But overall it was not a big problem.

    Exceptional hotel in a castle with beautiful surroundings. I felt like I was in my own castle. :) Lovely place to relax and Amboise is just 5 min. drive from here. Great location to visit most of the Loire Valley chateau. Rooms are comfortable and stylish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nonone told us the inside was full of taxidermy- as in tons of preserved dead animals. This creeped us out. The rooms are great but the hallways could be better kept.

    Gorgeous castle and beautiful property, if you're looking for remoteness. Rooms are really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had plenty of bed bugs on the windows and bathroom, the host has been obliged to hover for a while. When we came back at midnight, oblige to hoover again. He was sorry but the owner of the place told him that we were in the countryside... Bath tub wasn't clean and I found a long hair. Bin was on the sink and not on the floor.

    Location, castle, the hos was nice and offered breakfast and 10% on the room but for a castle at that price, we won't come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with stairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apathetic approach of the desk staff. The swimming pool was closed and although the man offered to open it, it was clear he didn’t really want to. There is renovation building works going on in the garden which are quite noisy. No fridge in the room.

    The building is very impressive. Our room and bathroom were both huge although accessed by a rather narrow staircase. Close to a supermarket. Only 10 minutes to the centre of Amboise by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fantastic home built in the 1400s. The chateau and grounds are lovely. The beds were comfortable, good showers, the staff was great. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience in an old chateau. Being old it had some fun quirks. It took us awhile to figure out the heater so we were a little cold at first. It's out of the way so you really need a car, but a close drive to a grocery store, Amboise and many of the chateaux. A beautiful surround. Just expect what "old" gets you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is only open in summer. We visited it late September when it was still pretty warm, but the pool was sadly closed.

    Good breakfast. Very relaxed feel - able to bring your own wine and food for picnics, cooking buckets and ice etc provided by hotel. Good in comparison to hotels that try to rip you off! Felt we were left to it, with free reign of the Chateaux and it’s many interesting rooms (incl fantastic lounge area). Chateaux itself is beautiful, as was our room. Awesome tunnel through a wine cellar going to the pool!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that the pool, which was a nice feature that influenced our decision to book, was closed when we arrived - ok, so I guess it was too cold! On that note, we would have very much enjoyed a fire in the beautiful shared fireplace, but, no supplies were furnished and the host had retired by the time we thought to ask.

    This was a good Chateau with a comfortable bed, but, operated like any other hotel. We did love the cozy, shared living room with French billiard and spacious grounds where you can picnic (staff will gladly provide an ice bucket for wine). The best part was exploring this chateau after dark and finding a hidden tunnel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like...? It was perfect.

    This was the most beautiful location of our entire trip and we stayed in 5 different places... Our room was the family suite with wood beamed ceilings. I can’t say enough about this place.. The staff was great especially Amyrick!!! The grounds have beautiful views and the Chateau will take your breath away... easy parking, great breakfast... etc...etc... It is close to the center of Amboise and easy to get to Chateau Villandry and Chenonceau. I will be back!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful place. I watched the horses in the field across the pond from my window, they were enjoying am early morning "paddle"in the water

    Breakfast had a lovely selection considering it was "continental"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Chateau fit for a queen. We were celebrating my mother's 80th birthday and had the rooms Margaret & Jules. Gigantic, beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations for things to see and do in the area. Breakfast was the only meal available at the Chateau but excellent. I would strongly recommend staying at the Chateau Les Arpentis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the plug in the bath in the bedroom doesn't function properly so it doesn't fill, the children's bedroom is a tiny room off the huge bedroom, it needs reorganising, a fridge would be useful given that the lack of any facilities for food/drink

    the quentin & aymeric suite is immense but such a huge space could have been put to greater use, excellent pool and table football and table tennis, the facilities for entertaining a young family were very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed. The Chateau is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. We booked 4-5 months ago for a special number wedding anniversary over mid-week days at the full "double-room" rate. Despite this, we were given the "Mae-Rose" room. It is around the back of the Chateau with small, barred windows overlooking the driveway and car park. We feel the Mae-Rose room should be treated differently (notice ahead of time, price, extras?) than the other doubles. We say be wary of the Mae-Rose room. It is likely to disappoint on view or make you feel you don't get best value.

    The chateau and grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no lunch or dinner facilities and even an afternoon tea of coffee is not available unless you make it yourself with cheap sachets, etc. The breakfast room is quite comfortable and well decorated but the breakfast available looked unappetising and so we ate out !! The flowers that are decked around the property were well past their sell by date !

    Driving up to this chateau through the woods is beautiful and the property itself is stunning. The rooms are very well ( period ) decorated and extremely comfortable. The quietness of the surroundings is very welcomed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You and the Chateau should advise clients that the sat nav directions are very wrong and also that the entrance on the main road needs to be signed. At present there is only a flag.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A map to find the property would be better, rather than just written directions. GPS won't get you there, although close to main road.

    View from bedroom across lake and fields. Great selection of fresh food at breakfast. Generous with coffee. No noisy neighbours to worry about. Close to Amboise, and good location to visit other chateaux.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host/reception/owner was a bit odd (interactions felt awkward rather than welcoming).

    The property and grounds were gorgeous. The laundry facilities were very handy when travelling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk could have provided more guidance on what to do around the area! There were written recommendations but it's always good to hear from the staff.

    Loved the ancient chateau built in 1313- it was so well maintained and the room was quite luxurious. It's perfect for couples and/ young family. The housekeeping staff was so kind to fold our laundry and provide baby cot at no charge- thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was once a majestic property. It is in need of some upgrading. Things like furniture and towels were tired and threadbare. The air conditioning did not work. The room was very hot and stuffy. We had difficulty finding it as our gps did not recognize the address. Use gps coordinates.

    We had a large room with a beautiful view. The grounds are beautiful and the chateau itself is very impressive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few suggestions: the front desk print up directions from Amboise and other sites. We went to a wonderful restaurant about a 5 minute drive away and it took us 2-1/2 hours to find the hotel in the dark. Very poor signage. Alliance Restaurant is on their recommended place for dinner and it should be deleted and discouraged. We arrived at 7:15?and ordered a drink beforehand and they said it was not their policy and we had to order meat with order. They finally agreed and gave us a glass of wine .... we then ordered food about 7: 30 . Atc8:15 we asked why we hadnt received appetizer and waitress just shrugged her shoulders and said she didnt speak english. Meanwhile,, others were served and finishing dinner. At 8:45 we asked where our food was and they said it would come "soon" with no explanation or apology.At 9:15 they delivered the main course which was supposed to be the appetizer. We asked what happened to the appetizer and they then took away the salmon and said theyd bring the appetizer. We were so upset that we walked out and left 20 E for the wine. We then tried some other restaurants but they had closed by 9:30.. so, we waited 2 hours and got nothing food! Do not go to this restaurant. They are rude and do not make any attempt to satisfy english speaking people let alone serve the meal! Meanwhile, i must comment on Antoine, the manager, who acted as breakfast chef, cocierge, porter, historian, ..... we even spotted him in front weeding after breakfast. Rarely do you find such a hard working and pleasant person such as him. The owners are really fortunate to have someone like Antoine.😀

    Didnt serve bacon! Otherwise breakfast great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred to have a more extensive hot buffet at breakfast.

    The bedroom was delightfully furnished with a beautiful view over the chateau parkland. The outdoor swimming pool and sunbathing surround was inviting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keep in mind the chateau was built in the 1500's - the rooms can be a little stuffy in August, but they are beautiful

    Beautiful, magical property just outside the town of Amboise. Felt like I was in my own real-life fairy tale castle! The chateau manager Antoine was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found a mouse (a little rat) in our room. It was in the last day, and I think it could ruin my visit if I had found it before. We didn't want to stay in the hotel after that. The room looks clean, and maybe, the mouse had come from outside, because the chateau is surrounded by a vast green area. I suggest the hotel team take urgent care of this problem.

    The hotel is a real chateau! The chateau has an excellent location, and you can easily visit other chateaus in the Loire Valley by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for the quality of the place a bit more customer care would have been expected.

    Astonishing chateau and location, 10 minutes far from Amboise. Rooms are very comfortable while keeping the essence and tradition. Swimming pool area is really nice and equipped with a kitchen. Breakfast is good, coffee is really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having bacon or alternative for breakfast!

    Beautiful chateau with large. adjoining rooms (family of 4), set in idyllic country garden. Loved the walk through the cave/cellar to the pool, cooking facility by pool a bonus too. Amboise is a few in away & is a very pretty town with lots to see & eat. . I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antoine, the concierge/ maitre d was excellent. Nothing was a problem. Facilities and pool area were excellent. Rooms were lovely and air conditioned. Breakfasts out on the terrace were amazing. Very welcoming. Close to petrol and shops. We will be definitely be going back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to not like about this place

    This property is absolutely amazing I highly recommend it. My family and I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment next to the chateau. It's 5 star all the way. The service was also excellent and they spoke English well. If you have the opportunity to stay at this place you must.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful stately building with lovely rooms. The pool was great to dip into on a hot day. Open lounge area equipped with comfortable sofas and self serve coffee/tea was great for a post dinner read. On site wash room and fridge good for self storage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to know there were some self catering facilities by the pool before we went - though these seem to be new

    Lovely Room, excellent pool and facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double room with stairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had stairs up to our room which were quite steep, and there were a few more than I expected, but it wasn't really an issue.

    Our room was amazing... a suite in the roof complete with large bathroom with claw foot tub, huge shower, and separate toilet. Breakfast on the terrace was divine and had beautiful food. The tunnels to the pool were interesting, and it was easy to grab a bucket of ice to keep the drinks cold, although there was a fully equipped kitchen by the pool area. On the second level was a small kitchen area with a washing machine and dryer, and the other end was a lounge area with a pool table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main road at bottom of driveway can be difficult to cross at peak times. So much to see in Amboise, we didn't have enough time to do Chateau d'Amboise justice.

    Beautifully maintained 14th century chateau exuding atmosphere. Spotless room and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Exceptionally large and crystal clear swimming pool, (all to ourselves as a windy day). Most useful washing machine and dryer. Loved the croaking toads at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The adress in booking com profile incorrect! Hotel sent a letter with instructions via e-mail but i didn't got it. so we had a problem with finding the place

    The Chateaux is fantastic. One of the best stay i ever had. If you travelling in Loire best thing to experisence it - to stay in real castle. Room was cosy and autentic. Cleane and big. Breakfast on terrace also very nice. Mostly we loved to spend evenings near swimmimg pool on terrace with summer kitchen having wine and dinner we bought in gastranomic shops. swimmig pool also grate. We also liked an amasing big field with hourses walking around. living room with fireplace also like in castle. Location is very good. Quite and tranquile but close (by car) to Ambois and Chanonseau. Big supermarket in 3 minuts drive (work till 7pm!) I defenatly recomend this place to everyone and really want to come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Excellent choice at Breakfast. Staff cannot be more helpful. We could not fault anything. It was like living in your own Chateau

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is some what slow.

    The property is amazing, very nice with a lot to see. The concierge was very helpful and lovely. Very easy to get to Amboise and others Chateau.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only reason I didn't give full marks for the staff is that they seemed a bit understaffed in the morning. We went down for breakfast the first morning, but it appeared that only one person was there to handle the breakfast as well as check people out. Several tables were left with the used items on them, so we weren't able to sit down. The gentleman working that morning seemed a little flustered because he was trying to clean up, set out more food, and tend to guests that were checking out. We ended up driving five minutes to Amboise and eating at the outdoor cafes for breakfast each morning, which was a better value and more enjoyable experience for us. The breakfast served at the hotel looked amazing; it is likely that we arrived just as the first wave was finishing. I don't want this to reflect negatively on the chateau's staff because they were fabulous in every other way, but this was our experience with the breakfast.

    This is a gorgeous property just outside of Amboise. The decor and ambiance transport visitors to a time when the French nobility spent their leisure time here. We had a large bedroom with a fireplace and a sitting area facing a small balcony overlooking spectacular views of the French countryside. The updated bathroom was elegant with a large, modern shower and a huge antique tub. Strolling the grounds, discovering the underground wine cellar, and spending time in the billiards room were enjoyable activities at the chateau. The pool looked amazing, but we didn't have time for a swim. I recommend this hotel very highly, and will stay here again if my travels bring me back to the lovely Loire Valley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The directions to the venue are not good and we took more than one pass to find it and even then it does not advertise itself as a hotel or chateau! Google is wrong as well as is the GPS - just go for the D31 from Amboise.

    The whole experience was like being at home and not a hotel. Everything was so discreet and well set out. We'd go again and are thinking of doing so with more friends in 2018.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all perfect!

    A stunning hotel. We loved everything about it. A perfect stay for a relaxing break. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the hotel has a unique, personal touch. Excellent, quiet pool area with double sun loungers and kitchen area with drinks in fridge at only 1 euro with money put in honesty box! The nearby town of Amboise is lovely with a number of great restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Chateau living in the Loire area. Room is great, comfortable bed, AC really good, nice view, pool is large, the whole feeling of the Chateau is exactly what you where looking for / expecting. No lunch or dinner, but there are supermarkets close and restaurants in Amboise. Seems family staffed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is I think a very new project so doesn't yet have a licence for a restaurant or to serve alcohol on site. You can however walk to Leclerc which is 400m away and bring your own to consume on the premises - for example champagne by the pool !

    Amazing property and location. Swimming pool is very nice. Very quirky decor but loved it. Very unique rooms and areas such as the salon and underground caverns through to the pool. Would thoroughly recommend. Incredible surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions were a difficult to find in GPS as address of D 31 is not accepted. Must enter Les Arpentis as street address. Signage is understated from road.

    The grounds and pool area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with stairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There definitely was the space to have a fridge and a jug for tea and coffee, but there were was nothing. They didn't allow "picnicking in the rooms". Quaint, but I felt like I was on school camp!

    You had to climb a set of steep wooden steps to get to our very spacious room in the attic. Lovely views of the lake and countryside from our window. The ceiling rafters were interesting in their rawness and irregularity. Comfortable bed and chairs. Large bathroom with separate deep old fashioned claw footed bath. Unfortunately no fridge or kettle in the room, but there was a shared kitchenette with washer. Lounge and billiard room looked cozy, but we didn't use them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothng

    Amboise was very crowded with tourists so it was great to be able to just drive a couple of miles and be out in the beautiful countryside where the chateau is located. The breakfast was outstanding--our room (actually 3 separate rooms!) was amazing--so quiet!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 staff. Breakfast €14 a day per person was so and so

    What a beautiful chateau in a lovely location in the woods. Our room for 4 was huge and beautifully furnished

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were excellent but there was no restaurant or bar. My wife missed being able to have a glass of wine in the evening. A shame as there is a beautiful lounge.

    The chateau is a small but genuine castle (14th century, remodelled in 19th century). It is only 5 minutes by car from the centre of Amboise but is in a private, wooded area where you see deer, horses and hundreds of birds. Wonderful setting. Our family suite was huge and very well appointed with every convenience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The heating in the bathroom did not work properly, and even though we asked twice to have this checked, nothing happened. It remained quite cold for the five days of our stay, which we found amazing for this category of hotel.

    Very spacious, stylish room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with stairs
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited meal facilities for cooking and no lunch or dinner in house restaurant or room service.

    Amazing historic property in a magnificent setting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find the 1st day

    We liked the the quiet isolated location. The rooms have views of a pond and horse padture without any evidence of modrnity. No poles no hoghwsys no electric lights at night. Really slept well. Elegant room good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welll run property in an excellent location, perfect for venturing out into the chateaux country. We stayed in a beautiful family suite, two separate bedrooms with a shared full bath and a half bath. Enjoyed a glass of wine in the spacious drawing room before going into Amboise for dinner, a short 5 minute drive. Had a delicious continental breakfast , then headed out for a day of visiting the area chateaux and wine tastings. The stay here was the highlight of our trip to France!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful chateau in a quiet setting. Staff extremely nice an helpful. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated. There is also a beautiful billiard room and wood paneled library with comfortable chairs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay at this beautiful Chateau. Breakfast was fantastic and well worth it. Rooms were clean and exceptionally maintained. Really enjoyed the sitting room with the log fireplace. I cannot recommend this Chateau highly enough.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi did not work well, but I wouldn't expect it to inside a 12th century castle with super thick walls. We didn't visit the castle for its WiFi.

    The room was HUGE and the beds were comfortable. My friend said that she slept so soundly that she woke up not knowing where she was. This chateau is amazing, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was hearty and delicious, and the entire experience was wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds were beautiful. There were deer and horses and a lake. The house was tastefully redone and very comfortable. The host was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish more rooms to the castle were open to explore.

    Everything was magical. The quality price is amazing and it is very close to Amboise and a great base to explore the Loire Valley. I hope to comeback again some day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only able to stay one night, which was quite disappointing. Next time we'll stay longer!

    The rooms were wonderfully decorated and very large and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: