Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine des Avenières 4 stars

1060, Route du Château, 74350 Cruseilles, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Cruseilles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    In 1904 Mary Wallace Schillito Fell in love with the magnificent panorama of Savoie Mountains and in 1907-1913 build the Fantastic Domain of the Avenieres not fare from the town Annecy Today we enjoy in this property luxury hotel and haut cuisine restaurant All was perfect Nice ,clean and unbelievable tasty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Personnel was very kind and accommodating. The neighboring woods are quite big therefore nice walks etc. Lovely pool outside must be nice during the summer. The massage chair was great and the sauna and hamman. Lovely breakfast with local goodies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor but we had wished to have a snack on our later arrival like a fruit, but reception mention that Kitchen was closed

    Amazing hotel with a beautiful view and fairytales rooms. My fiancée loved the surprise and the beauty of the place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of Food in restaurant was extremely disappointing for the environment we were in. Presentation & quality considerably poor. Lack of imagination by the chef. Started was a crevette soup that we could not finish - crevette were not fresh. Main course was a very plain chicken dish with unseasoned veg - on par with pub food. The dessert lacked all imagination with 2 chocolate mousse servings - one warm and the other cold with 1 boule of vanilla ice cream.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original booking was in a suit in adjacent building which was pretty poor for the price... Moved us to a very nice room in the main house. If that had not been available we would have not stayed. The trip was saved and was actually fine

    Breakfast was the highlight....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't most practical for a 6'3'' person.

    Great place with excellent viewes and exeptionally quiet. Perfect. Wish I could stay longer and use all facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the 2 story studio were awesome and very modern design, yet I thought we were going to stay at the old palace

    Nice hotel located on top of a mountain, which gives a real experience of staying at a unique place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were fantastic, very helpful and restaurant staff in particular very knowledgable about wines and food they were serving. Deluxe suite in squirrels house with view of lake Annecy was excellent, food (whilst expensive) was excellent. Overall a superb stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a long time we had not such a good stay! fantastic location, quiet and peaceful incredible view of the mountains and lake professional and attentive staff THE breakfast copious and delicious.... Thank you all for your warm hospitality! We will return again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful castle Amazing staff Good food at the restaurant Location and rooms like no others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much

    Really nice location with beautiful view!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dessert is not well defrosted

    Environment, nature , amazing Castle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms needs some shake up... bathroom is too old and so are the guests rooms

    Great building, staff and views, kind of old world gem

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditiong anywhere. Temp in the room 30 degrees C. Swimming pool for kids only.

    Personell very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Excellency Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not miss this beautiful chateau. Everything from room to staff, service and food were way beyond d my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was excellent!

    Everything was perfect: staff things about each moment of your staying. Fantastic romantic place. It should be 5* hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Excellency Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful room with spectacular view (Princesses). Staff young and lively. Food exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I will never return. I have to start my review in this way because I was highly disappointed by the poor service, location, attention to detail and because one has the feeling that the hotel tries to communicate one thing and sell something different and just purely wants to make money off of you. There is a saying which says:if you can not convince people confuse them. This fits appropriately. The marketing mix is out of scope. Positioning (as premium hotel) and pricing (upper range) are not aligned. The concierge welcomes you with so much information that it confuses you. However the most import message that comes across is: you should have breakfast and dinner at our hotel. These are the first two questions you will be asked. Note that the hotel is far away from everything and thus you will be stuck there (we drove along the lake of Annecy to find alternatives). Coming back to the hotel, it has many small defects that can be disappointing if you come with expectation generated by the messages and the prices: wifi does not work (they will tell you they will fix it in a few months; however you pay now); the evenings can be noisy (do to parties or discos nearby and the air conditioner) and unfortunately the hotel does not offer ear plugs; the rooms are not insulated so you do hear your neighbors; the kitchen odors will arrive just in front of your door; there is no bar where to go for a chat or drink before going to bed;....on top of that I perceived a sort of a negative energy as the jovial happiness you find in many other places is missing. If you are in the region and have the budget for this place, take some time to look into other options further down the lake (after Annecy) . You will find hotels on or near the water and in similar price range, which will allow you to go for walks, have different eating options and enjoy a sunny spot

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi is slow and you can have only 1 password per device. So you cannot stream netflix to google chromecast on the TV's.

    I could load my plugin-hybrid car!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room is not perfectly insulated. We got a bit of a draft during the night (I imagine it gets quite warm during summer) We did not enjoy the deserts as much as we did the rest of the meal

    Room was very spacious. The way it is furnished makes you feel like in a fairytale. Staff extremely friendly and nice. Special thanks to restaurant staff (lunch and breakfast) who made our stay even more comfortable. Food was exquisite. Very rich and tasty breakfast (price was lower than announced on booking). The view is amazing!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was quiet and peaceful as hoped for. The food and wine were superb as expected. The staff were exceptionally helpful. All made for a very relaxing stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a bit too much furniture in the 'Observatoire' - the small table and the 2 chairs are - for my opinion - not really necessary.

    The 'Observatoire' room with Roof top terrace was beautiful. The diner, even if already fixed/Chosen by the 'Chef' - was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The entrance of the building have no ramp for strollers & wheelchairs.

    Away from noise & pollutions, located on high mountain which gives you super view on the valley the room clean and decoration amazed me the duplix design made me feel wow

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no restaurants close by as an alternative. The dinner for a three course meal took over three hours to complete. It is gastronomic menu, but they should offer al carte as an option. When you travelled all day from Italy......you do not want to be having such a long meal time.

    The venue was great.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor internet connection

    Truly outstanding kitchen

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a lovely hotel that offers beautiful views of the valley below. Helpful staff, we had a cosy room. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, atmosphere... Romantic place where to recharge batteries

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    The location and the room

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: