Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château des Comtes de Challes 3 stars

247, Montée du Château, 73190 Challes-les-Eaux, France

#2 of 5 hotels in Challes-les-Eaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hand held shower leaves a bit to be desired, and hair dryers that wont switch on without the switch being continually held down are useless if you are in any way arthritic.

    Dinner - excellent. Breakfast excellent. Wine tasting very pleasant and welcome surprise. All staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin beds were smaller than expected, wobbly, and uncomfortable. The restaurant food, it was pretentious in concept and poor in execution. I found it horrible and could not eat it. The best thing, the only nice thing, was the cheese. The menu was fixed four or five courses with 2 choices for each course. There was no effort to accommodate someone with gluten free requirements, so my son 's options were extremely limited in the restaurant. We ordered a room service gluten free breakfast, and specified meats, cheese and or egg. They delivered only dry gluten free bread, and jam. said "sorry we could not provide more but the packets of meat are not gluten free. no mention of cheese or egg! So my son went without breakfast but was charged 17 Euros. We found the attitude of staff, reception and restaurant, arrogant and superior. Not a warm friendly environment. We will will not be returning.

    Nothing I can think of.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was hand held which is always difficult. The bathroom was small.

    The restaurant was beyond excellent and the the staff were great and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work but I asked to change room and was accommodated. This was a much nicer room with air conditioning that worked. Great.

    Beautiful building and very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help to carry the luggage to the room upstairs. Restaurant of the hotel is not up to its reputation

    Very comfortable room and possibility to park in a safe place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we shall return

    Very different from our previous stays, much friendlier staff, menu more accessable, more relaxed atmosphere, made to feel more welcome Setting and hotel always lovely Rooms vary according to price but all good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had an early start, tea/coffee making in room would have been appreciated.

    There was no reference to roof repairs and scaffolding. Clearly this is an essential part of upkeep of such a fine building. This explained the generously Discounted price on room rate so not s big problem for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful terrace for al fresco dining and nice pool and grounds with super views, especially when the gliders come home to roost at the nearby aerodrome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location a bit non-descript - round back of some houses in Challes, although surrounding are is lovely. Poor service at dinner at first, as restaurant was very busy - felt a bit forgotten. Food all looked quite fancy but quality was just ok. Pool smaller than pictures suggest.

    Comfortable room, very pleasant grounds and chateau. Dining area on terrace was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was quite expensive and no options for children, provided and charged for full price adult dish when all I asked for was a small piece of chicken. However overall was a good experience.

    Rooms were excellent and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind..

    Very stylish.. Amazing location and general atmosphere.... Restaurant seriously good..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb luxury hotel. Fantastic restaurant. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining service

    Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi has low signal at the far building.

    Place where you can relax after a hard business day. Great restaurant with huge variety of wines and cuisine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; it was perfect.

    A gastronomic delight nestled between the vineyards and Chambery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us upon leaving eventhough our booking had been paid in advance

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the wine tasting which was included. Dinner was really tasty and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful site, fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel to the hotel

    Comfort and landscape

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lounge at reception is a bit "cold"

    Very good restaurant and the presonnel realy makes the difference.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm place. Breakfast familiar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was not cleaned!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very classy plave. Enjoyed it alot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine tasting was a very nice thought and after a long drive very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good stop off on way to Alps. A little more expensive than others but lovely spot and old fashion charm

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant with live music on Saturday evenings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literie fatiguée

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small, but still lovely.

    Fabulous outdoor area to sit and have a drink a look at the lovely view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange stale/ mouldy smelling bed linen . Rooms may have been unused or sheets dried indoors

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place and great to relax in the gardens

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was rather expensive for what it was

    Location, ambience great view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hotel service between the hours of 1300hrs and 0700hrs....it was off season and as we were only there for one night this didn't unduly bother us. It was a shame that the restaurant wasn't open though, as it has had good reviews.

    There was a very relaxed atmosphere, everything was just charming!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to have a set menu with no choice for dinner as they had a party the next day. The food had been hanging around all day, cryst in warned up scallops and cheese curling at the edges. We had to pay 35euros each for the pleasure, basically a rip off

    Comfortable bedding and bed

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant is expensive and no choice but the full multi-course menu.

    Chateau type atmosphere. Free wine tasting. Clean and nice bathrooms. Cheap room rates.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really lovely receptive staff, greeted us in English which was a relief as our stay had to be extended after emergency surgery—would recommend, we had to check in very late after the restaurant closed but reception threw together a cheese/meat/bread selection with desert+drinks, perfect! Beautiful, authentic building and grounds, generous sized rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our air conditioner was not adequate for the 32 degree temperatures we were experiencing. And the breakfast in the white tent was lovely, however our stay was 11 days and it would have been nice to see just the odd change up.

    The Chateau was top notch and the grounds were so peaceful. We had done a little laundry that was hanging to dry in the bathroom and without asking, the staff left an iron and ironing board in our room. The tour of the wine cellar was wonderful. Tasting and appies offered as well.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff could have been more helpful. Arrived pm but they couldn't provide us with a snack to put us on till dinner.

    Lovely setting. Excellent facilities. Food was exquisite if a tad pricey.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magnificent setting. Our third visit to this lovely place, one of our favourite Chateau Hotels. Extremely helpful friendly staff, lovely rooms, amazing Chef who always caters for my husbands gluten intollerence. Excellent cuisine. Peace and tranquility and lots of places to sit and relax inside or outside. Good value and if you need - English is spoken. Excellent WiFi. Highly recommend. We will be back again next year !

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Still trying to think about something I did not like, but I can't. Maybe the fact that there is no lift.

    The staff is very attentive, the view is nice, nice pool and you live in a Château for a very affordable price. The room are quite big and clean. Fantastic grounds. We attended, by chance, a special wine tasting and food evening and it was very, very good value for your money. Thank you !

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff in Resteraunt overworked on evening due to large party. They tried hard to keep things moving but waited 1 hour for a menu with no bread as we waited. However meal was excellent.

    Excellent location and views

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The (column) shower worked very badly, which is unacceptable for an hotel of this calibre. Mediocre coffee (push button choice) at breakfast

    Dinner was superb

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The suite we stayed in was modern and nicely decorated. The bathroom and jacuzzi bath a lovely unexpected treat. The room was large and comfortable. We had dinner in the dining room which was exceptional. I would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner is quite expensive and so the kitchen has to up its game to match...not bad but not as good as expected.

    A true chateau being lovingly redone to capture its original beauty...the owners care and that is nice to see. The value of the room from Bookings was significant over the rack rate! Nice complimentary tour of the wine cellar for Bookings clients!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed one night, but wished we could stay longer. The hotel has great charm and the staff were excellent. We were lucky enough to have a wine-tasting session in English before dinner, and we were shown around the old cellars. The food was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bad experiences

    great location for walking as next to mountains. beautiful chateau with lovely gardens and the dinner exceptionally good. We stay here frequently and love it

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facilities Maybe a bit too special for our purpose on this occasion as we were staying one night on a European driving tour. We had the evening meal at 46 euro, the food is a bit intimidating for our taste. Very posh with some odd taste combinations, which probably reflects on us rather than the menu.

    The Chateau is totally stunning and you know you are somewhere special straight away. The staff were very welcoming and the free wine tasting for guests was a great bonus. The room was luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there for four nights. First night was very good. We have had a nice bedroom. But the other nights were different. We have had different rooms. The room was shabby. Plus some insects... It is not possible to understand why! We have had the reservations two months ago! Fortunately we have maaged to change the room.

    Wonderful location, wonderful old building.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air cons a problem. Old building much effort and passion from owner clear but big job to do.

    Enjoyed owners passion and energy and future planning. A man with vision

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management decided to do a meeting in the breakfast room, during breakfast. The staff tried to make it as painless as possible, but having breakfast with some business people shouting in the room from morning was stressful and destroyed the charm of the place.

    The hotel is well located just outside of the highway. Really peaceful environment (until breakfast)

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head was a bit limed, but it was OK.

    Very nice room, nice bathroom, with spacey shower. Free parking in the yard, which is a nice park as well.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A couple of minor points didn't work quite as expected, but that didn't disturb our stay as the majority of the staff was very friendly and made up for the small misses. Reception staff could be a little more friendly though

    Lovely location, character buildings and amazing restaurant setting.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband got stressed at having to wait 15 mins for the next batch of croissants to be cooked at the self service style breakfast buffet.

    The beauty of the architecture, the history of the place, the chapel, the primroses that grew everywhere, the amazing evening meal, the very kind and accommodating staff, I'm a vegetarian and they went out of their way to accommodate me. The jacuzzi bath & our room, well decorated, very warm, clean & comfy. Free wine tasting too!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The chateau, the friendliness, the helpful attitude of the staff, the seven course dinner in the restaurant, the excellent wine cellar tour and bottle selection.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gourmet dinner was over the top - reasonable food but far too much. Breakfast was a bit thin on the ground.

    The hotel is really nice. Our room was superb. The location is good and parking was not a problem. Great night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, I was not in the central what they call the 'castle' and the wifi was broke, so I had to be moved. They said ask for help with moving, no problem, but I wish they'd said we will send a man to help you; my bad back wasn't amused, but I was happy to arrive in my room for the second time and it was great. For me the location of this nice place was dire (I don't cheat with gps, I am old and like maps and I'd call this a bit off the beaten track) but a helpful man at a garage got me to follow him to the village and he lived only a few hundred metres away from it, though we had driven maybe 10 km. I was lucky!

    The price, discounted by 50%, meant such as me would be happy to stay here, but beyond my normal scope. Lovely buildings, in an interesting setting, there's a 'castle' bit and other buildings that look just the same. Swags over the bed, very peaceful. Arrived at night and left quickly in am so didn't get the full feel for the surrounds, but if you are in this area and you are not filthy rich, stay here. Breakfast was generous and worth the money. Staff have some decent English.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The duvet was too hot. Prefer sheets and blankets.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the beds were not the comfiest, but nothing too bad. they would defiantly benefit from a furniture replenishment.

    clean room. great location.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner was excellent

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was unfortunate that their restaurant only provided a fixed price menu. For that reason we would not go back..

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Mattresses could be a little more comfortable.

    Superb evening meal, the real reason for our choice of venue and we were not disappointed again.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very ordinary

    Great atmosphere at dinner and superb food.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rather small room and no elevator in main building. quantities of dinner are rather big for small stomachs

    cosy room; very good dinner

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and a lovely building.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food moderate and service awful. 1 or 2 individuals tried v, hard, but losing battle. 3,5 hrs. for a 2 course meal !

    Very comfortable hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    General peaceful ambiance

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quality of the food was really good.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wine tasting and good food

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere was fantastic. The food was an experience.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice setting. They prepared a meat and cheese plate for us as we were arriving late. Good quality breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Aircon a bit hit and miss

    Stunning location with beautiful views. Chateau classically French beautiful and grand, and excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The activity is run more 'commercial' than a few years ago

    Building and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Characterful hotel with good menu choice

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed in room 004 was not comfortable and very short. I did not sleep well.

    I liked everything except the bed

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: