Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Résidence Château des Magnans by Popinns 3 stars

Route de Nice, 04850 Jausiers, France

#5 of 9 hotels in Jausiers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 793 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight chlorine smell when you enter the building but not in the rooms so not really a problem

    Good instructions for after hours access. Loved the local bread and jams for breakfast. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything thing, the staff were lovely and friendly, the room was awesome with amazing views and the spa was a welcome trip after a long motorbike trip, would love to go back with my girlfriend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a little hard but for the price, that was completely fine for us.

    Amazing location looking over the Jausiers valley. Indoor pool is a great place to relax after a day hiking, skiing or rafting. Huge apartment, perfect for a group of friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures are misleading as you get the impression that you are staying at the nice white chateau, but end up in a bunker - rooms are very basic.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor management and availability of staff. We arrived at 1pm and there was nobody available until 3pm to check us in. Poor level of cleanliness and maintenance in the appartement and general facilities.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've spend 4 nights in the hotel without ANY INternet connection in the room. There were no Wifi or if there was one it didn't work in the building where we were. Needless to say this is VERY annoying especially in view of the price. Apart from this there were many annoying details: no towels in the kitchen to dry the dishes, no cleaning product for the dish water, etc...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed. ...Tatty around the edges. Felt run down. Clever, probably old, pictures on website not a true representation of the accomodation. Certainly not a "Chateau" hotel. No bar, no evening meal available, no bottled water in rooms, breakfast set out 6 pm and left all night uncovered. Several facilities out of order. Parcel tape used to cover up what appeared to be electrics in breakfast room floor very typical of the management's attitude to standards. On top of that ... a list of "do this or we charge extra" on the doors ... Vac floor, clean bathroom and wc .. etc etc Sort of thing you used to see in student houses! I'd never leave a place untidy so found this insulting. Do they employ cleaners or expect the guests to do it all? Ok for one night but certainly wouldn't stay any longer. I hate to write about a place in such a negative way but the place needs a revamp at E100 a night.

    Reasonably clean but not A1.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment ( 2- 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a huge garage, we were told to store our bicycles in our apartment which meant a lot of stair climbing with the bikes. The wifi did not work in our room at all. Although we had a kitchen we had no cleaning supplies to keep the kitchen clean (no soap, sponge, towels etc).

    We enjoyed our two night stay in the castle in Jausiers. We had great views and it was a very convenient for our bicycle trip. The apartment was large, quiet, and clean. The town is within walking distance and had a great butcher shop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is poor, very bad furniture. You also need to vacuum the apart when you leave. The spa is located in another building ... looks like a public swimming pool. They advertise as warm but it was chilly. The spa is as poor as the room, shower and bathroom .... unspeakable. On top of this, apparently, the structure did not receive the reservation from booking com. In my experience you can find much better for less money. I won't come back.

    The castle is nice .. from the outside

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6-8 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a starter kit for self caterers would have helped

    Good sized apartment with self cater facilities. amazing views down the valley and access for local mountains.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways are not very 'friendly', and could do with some re-decorating. Breakfast could have been given a bit more attention. Like better bread, coffee and tasty croissants. Some parts need to be updated but the atmosphere is pleasant and price - quality is fine.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. Appartments are spacious and one of our apprartments we had a superb view on the mountains. Swimming pool and spa are nice extra's. Great and quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system was very noisy and not hot at all considering it was running all night

    Stunning building in a lovely location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Update info that Spa has been out of order since a year... they only mention Spa out of order after the reservation has been done.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets inside the bathroom.

    The montain’s view and a well furnished appartment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No oven or washing machine

    Indoor swimming pool, location, quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6-8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Large apartments

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None to mention.

    Value for money. Sauna, hammam, pool and hot jacuzzi. Early checkin.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms quite hot and bathroom needs update

    Authentic french hotel with orientation for customized service and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool, jacuzzi and two saunas are free. Room was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly as described, you get exactly what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is set up for those staying for more than one night. Our room in the "chateau" which is not by any measure, any kind of chateau was furnished in Ikea furniture as an apartment with a kitchenette and had zero charm. From the outside it is quite lovely but inside it is another story. The bathroom and kitchen are set up with the cheapest possible furnishings. This is at best a basic place to stay. The breakfast was at best adequate, nothing special. The staff however were very nice given their paltry offerings. We booked here only because we were told on Booking.com that there was a restaurant. After booking we were told that there was no longer a restaurant and it would cost us 50 euros to cancel. We would have canceled.

    Lovely view of the mountains. Staff is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last time I slept on a bed that hard it was a friends inflatable mattress that had a puncture, and I woke up laying on the floor!!! After a day's skiing/walking/sightseeing you at least want a good nights sleep!! No comfortable seating and a very poor choice of TV channels.

    Other than going home - the location was good so you could escape to Barcelonnette and other interesting towns!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Both the pool and the hot tub were colder than desired. But the kids enjoyed them.

    So many things to do in the area. We had no information going in and were pleasantly surprised. This is a great area for hiking, rafting, accrobranche, and views. The hotel is big, comfortable, and a good deal for the price. We were so happy to be here in the mountainous, less crowded part of the Mercantour instead of the part near Nice and the coast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were more like a ski resort with most rooms in modern buildings around the castle. The swimming pool is small for the number of rooms. We were delayed in arriving but found it difficult to contact the staff by phone although email works.

    Well equipped self catering apartment with beautiful surroundings. Walking distance from a small town with most facilities although the town lacks life. A great place from which to visit Europe's highest road and the Mercantour national park.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Make sure you get an appartment (especially in building D) with a view on the valley (to the west) and not, as in our case, to the mountain site (no view )

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly manager who couldn't do enough for us, great parking and a very nice breakfast. Highly recommended I could have happily spent more time there

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice apartment base for cycling in the Alps. Great staff and very good facilities at Chateau Mangan. If eating out go to Barcelonette (10 minutes drive) as restaurants are much better than in Jousters, which is very small

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room/suite. Well priced and with a wonderful view from the balcony. Town is a short walk away. Breakfast spread was good-continental style and varied.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    (stay in castle) The value for the money was good, however the room could use a freshing up.

    The location is fantastic with a beautiful view of the valley and walking distance to the closest town and nearby trails. Extremely nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    internet not so stable

    cosy and view

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and made my stay a real pleasure

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    welcome

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely place with very friendly staff. Breath taking views. I would definitely reCommend to any one.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen could have some more pots and pans;

    Location, helpful staff, facilities, accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Badetücher: not enough for one week.

    Breakfast value for Money: excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    really good Location, very silent

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were some people partying at night. Making loud noise.

    The apartment is big but a little outdated.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    le mobilier marron est triste

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The scary twisted road to Jausiers, up and down the mountain.

    Wonderful stay at Chateau Des Magnans apartments. Serene and peaceful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This can be the best stay of our south france road trip. The view from the window is just awesome! Staff are helpful, facilities are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed

    The staff

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: