Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere 4 stars

10 rue du Champ de Foire, 86360 Chasseneuil-du-Poitou, France

#3 of 23 hotels in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rated down for value for money as the room was basic for the price and I must mention the towels in the bathroom were more like serviettes.

    The hotel is set in a beautiful grounds, with a lovely terrace and pool area. The restaurant was excellent. They are in the throws of building a new spa, which looks as if it will be another plus for the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room in the annexe. The unkempt grounds. The interior decor. The hard surfaces everywhere. The dining room. The breakfast room.

    The fact that we were moved from one ghastly room in the annexe with a leaking toilet that did not flush to an acceptable one in the main building. The fact that they accepted dogs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensuites in our rooms needed updating. Shower in bath old fashioned & a bit difficult to regulate. Also toilet separate to bathroom with no handbasin. We had rooms in main hotel - annexe may be more up to date.

    Reception area lovely. Dinner superb. Didn't have breakfast but it looked good. Good sized rooms & comfy large beds. Lots of work going on outside to add facilities so hard to appreciate grounds, but looked good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was sporadic,and the lighting in the bathroom was poor

    We loved the old world elegance of the accomadation ,the beautiful grounds ,excellent restaurant overlooking the lily pond and very friendly efficient staff , The food and presentation of the dishes was excellent , We also enjoyed the lovely pool area as the weather was hot ,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the installations were lacking maintenance and in some areas also lacking attention to detail. Breakfast very expensive for the very classical presentation with reduced variety of items; only one person available to assist all guests, which was evidently too short and in dire contrast with the high quality of the restaurant evening service.

    Very good location for a visit to Futuroscope. Nice garden with swimming pool and a pond in a quiet and peaceful location alongside a river. Very nice meal with a six-course menu the day of arrival. Design restaurant with a very pleasant terrace and competent and diligent staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The beds and the doors are creaky, even though the furniture is contemporary! - There is no AC or opening window in the small sport room - I wish we could Watch Canal + TV programs rather than Bein Sport

    - The hotel is very quiet and calm - The staff was very gentle and ready to help - The hotel stands close to Poitiers, the closest city, and the Futuroscope - The bathroom is separated from the toilet - There is air conditioning in the room - The outdoor swimming-pool is heated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chateau could use some maintenance

    Awesome location. Main reason was they had charging possibilities for an EV. We had a suite. One bedroom for us with a wonderful bed and the kids slept in the livingroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked being upgraded to a huge room with a view of the garden. Dinner outside in the garden was excellent and a very relaxing way to spend the first evening of our holiday in France after a day's travelling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the Restaurant for dinner was very slow. Thirty minutes after being seated for a pre- reserved table we still did not have water or wine and no-one had come to take our meal order. At this point I asked the waitress if there was a problem. I was told 'No'. I asked if it was normal to be left waiting for 30 minutes and she responded that 'everyone arrived at once'. This would seem a valid excuse except that it appeared that all diners had made prior reservations as we had. It eventually took 2 1/2 hrs to get through a set menu. The food was really, really good but the delays between courses were hard to explain. The price of the Room with jaccuzi seemed excessive at €250+ The breakfast offered was both limited and chaotic . The Hotel staff were good but the place seemed to be lacking effective management. TV channel choice was limited. WiFi in the room was not great either.

    Staff were very nice. The hotel had secure parking and was a nice building.The room had an effective Air Conditioning. Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable stopover on our return from the South of France. Relaxed by the pool with towels supplied before a lovely meal in the restaurant. An extensive wine list as you might expect but reasonable prices. The staff are all very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been cleaner

    The food in the restaurant was amazing even though it took 3 hours to eat from start to finish! Glad there was a garden for the kids to play in in between courses!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy so the waiting staff had difficulty in coping but that didn't really spoil our evening and the food was good.

    Lovely grounds with swimming pool in nice location. Lovely terrace for evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not fault our room which was in the main chateau building and had stain glass windows - a very large comfortable bed and a large ensuite in the tower. The hotel is very easy to access from the motorway but is still very quiet in beautiful surroundings. There is a wonderful restaurant for a very special evening meal. We will be visiting again for an overnight stop when travelling to the south of France.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is a little too much.I think the chef is trying a little too hard.

    Comfortable room Professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find Staff were good but not excellent

    Lovely grounds and atmosphere Good restaurant with interesting wine list

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom were old and smelt not good. Some common area smelt old.

    The location is excellent if you visit Futuroscope as it is 10 min far by car

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area is a little small. Could do with a few more sunbeds

    Lovely hotel and dinner on the terrace was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed and looked after excellently. Great room and a very quiet location Excellent breakfast - and home made bread and jams !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, certainly not value for money.

    Not a lot, hotel in general very disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather !!!!!

    Located in beautiful grounds, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely restaurant and evening meal with excellent service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good restaurant, all staff helped to make our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accepts pets

    Excellent accommodation and really helpful staff. Great setting and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charmless

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely setting in mature grounds and well located in next to the river in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely surroundings and excellent dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice dinner and decent room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer was slow

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower over bath ok for very short people Lights in restaurant were very bright felt like you were in a canteen situation which was far from reality Nowhere comfortable to sit and enjoy a drink from the bar

    Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and good value

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioner in room was very noisy even when not on. Beautiful chateaux that has lost some appeal through the conversions to a hotel and function centre.

    Restaurant was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Risky stopover treat - first time in a hotel with three young children aged between 5 and 8 years old, made to feel very welcome, wonderful food, great facilities - linked rooms, excellent playground next to the hotel grounds and decent pool. Would definitely go again.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    only complainant was that the food took too long to come. it wasn't an especially busy night (- 90% of outdoor space was used, only about 10% of indoor restaurant was occupied) ... two dinner seating times - we took the early one at 7pm. But we didn't get coffee till 11.15pm... bit much for 5 and 3 yr old?! there was apparently a prob in the kitchen that night, which they told me at around 9.30pm, when i politely asked what was going on. my main steak came out without the foie gras that was meant to accompany it. they did wave the supplement cost of 7Euros because of this error.. Real shame, as food was superb... they just need to pay more attention to the timings of each table - esp ones with kids, who are on a time limit! Also, must mention that when asked upon leaving whether we had a pleasant stay, (the manager being present behind the receptionist at the time) and I said, yes but no but, and explained how long our meal had taken, not once did the manager apologise / make eye contact with me etc... little shabby. In an establishment that wants to be what it wants to be, the manager would have apologised immediately / offered to give us something on the house.... just saying!!

    Fab hotel. great location 10 mins off autoroute. lovely staff. SUPERB food. nice little pool - adults can touch the bottom all the way, kids can mostly stand for 1/2 of it. free use of pool towels. free wifi. beautiful setting. very tranquil and romantic - air of opulence despite being a small chateau.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of our original room which was changed immediately when we expressed our disappointment. The room size was not shown clearly in the booking procedure. There are no tea making facilities in the room

    Friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Quality of the food, location in a pretty area.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast on Sunday morning was a fiasco. No tables laid up or cleared. No cutlery, plates or glasses so we had to go off searching for some in the main dining room. We saw others struggling too. Lots of food had run out so we had to ask for fresh supplies.

    Great room and very quiet in a lovely small village close to Poitiers. Lovely swimming pool and it was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi system why not work with just an acces code. It is laying so remote so why use such an user unfriendly system.

    Amazing location. Wonderful food and wine. Female staff all speak very good english and are very friendly, always wanting to help you.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast could be better.

    We where 3 adults and 7 kids and we had a wonderful stay. Staff was great and tolerated that our kids played around... the outside garden and space was great for our little easter egg hunt. The restaurant was really good.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast area was disappointing. It did not reflect the feeling of elegance and style created by the rest of the Chateau.

    Comfortable room with nice view of garden. Very appealing reception, lounge area. Good restaurant for evening meal. Helpful staff. Convenient free car park.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Untidy and public rooms tatty

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't quite meet up to expectations

    Well located for our purposes

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good place to stop on the way south

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and appearance. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was perfect about this hotel; especially the food! We had the most amazing dinner!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have a sauna.Few alternatives for eating in the surroundings,

    Calm and nice. Good for rest and walk.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful garden, charming location in old village along the Clain river

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception staff was wonderful and they went to great lengths to provide us with info about places to go with our dog. Dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful location and glorious building. Sad to only be passing by and not to enjoy the sumptuous setting. Would love to return.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in the Brasserie was disappointing

    Staff helpfulness, especially the receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Qualité de la chambre et salle de bains

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location with good facilities, quiet

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food! Position Quiet Nice walk through village and to mill

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very elegant hotel. Enjoyed the food.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: