Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château Hôtel Du Colombier 4 stars

Lieu-dit Le Colombier, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#7 of 74 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Superb château in great position for return ferry to the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing absolutely great.

    The history of the château, the wood panelling, floors and ceiling as I'm a carpenter by trade it was stunning. Food and wine was as good as it gets Superb. Wine was of good choice and quality. Will be back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely chateau; lovely surroundings; great staff; worth finding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to find the hotel. A combination of satnav (poor), google maps on iphone - a little better! Asking directions - hilarious!! and a Michelin map of France. Its only about 12 mins from St Malo Centre and the old town, but also a million miles away down tiny country lanes. You need to make sure where it is before you get there. Looking for the D2 road is by far the easiest way to start. Dinner takes a long time to serve, so sit back and enjoy!!

    Carol and the staff were just great. Stuck for taxi Saint Malo, phoned the hotel - sorted! Breakfast was lovely in lovely room. Quality of food at dinner - excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Good experience at the chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little small on the second floor but we only paid for a double so no real complaints. We saw the first floor rooms and wish we had booked one

    Hotel staff were very good and breakfast was soo tasty good quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice with wow factor. Its a little expensive but you get what you pay for and safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a UK TV channel to watch say BBC1 and say Sky News other than CBNC and Bloomberg .

    The staff were hard working and multi taskers (doing the jobs of several staff )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Initial appearance was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. it was wonderful if a little expensive. in this weather a pool would have been very welcome.

    Initial appearance was great. room, bed and all hotel related issues were good to excellent. Breakfast was very good.coffee excellent. dinner was good fish soup was really very fishy,only suitable for cat humans. main course,halibut, was good to very good,but after a big fish soup,more fish was uphill work.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Outstanding Chateau like stepping into a Grand Shipping history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was Excellent

    The arrival to the grounds of Chateau was very grand. Our hosts could not do enough for us. Go enjoy this with delicious food experience. Spoil yourself. Carol looked after us and was amazing, cheerful, spoke excellent English as our French very limited.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    The country setting, how well decorated and maintained the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand washing facilities in the toilet but in the bathroom next door

    The country setting, how well decorated and maintained the building and grounds are and how the features of the house had been retained

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    I felt let down and disappointed for my daughters. I wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed last year and were given a first floor room which was very nice. We ate in the restaurant. I had a superb fillet steak. This year I took my daughters and stayed again to give them a great experience which didn't really happen. We were given two dark ground level rooms one supposedly a superior but is in fact a special access wheel chair access room. My daughters room had a bath with shower head but nowhere to clip it and the toilet was in a cupboard. The bathrooms had been built unsympathetically inside the original rooms. I had booked in good time but were given I would consider the worst rooms. I believe it was because we booked through booking.com and they gave us an out of summer season price. However, the stay was very expensive. 560+ euros without breakfast for two rooms and dinner and a couple of drinks and a good bottle of wine. G&T was 8 euros, even when I ordered one without a mixer. There was no fillet steak just rump which was a let down and tough. The scallop starter was superb as was the sweet but just not as good value or choice as previously. At 265 euro without breakfast my so called superior room only price would have been horrendously expensive for one night. The car park was mostly filled with French vehicle plates so I imagine they may have been given preference with regard to room choices but that is just a feeling. The staff were very pleasant and I remember the lady from last year. It was a shame, the Chateau didn't live up to expectations and make sure you have a deep pocket if you wish to stay in the summer and I would insist on an upper floor room. The guests above us woke us twice walking the floors and slamming doors late at night.

    The position is good for the St Malo ferry. 15 mins away. The chateau is a very nice building in lovely gardens. The Chateau has some good rooms on the higher levels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The chateau is in a beautiful location, with stunning grounds and interior. All the staff are friendly and considerate. Our free upgrade was entirely unexpected. Nothing was too much trouble. We spent a 'landmark' anniversary there and were made to feel extra special. The food in the restaurant is excellent and not to be missed. A bonus on our final day is that it is less than 20 minutes drive from St Malo ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the bar and restaurant so it was quite noisy at night .and some of the outside furniture was quite run down and needed cleaning.

    Friendly staff nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    a good meal at the restaurant and the decor that was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gardens could do with more loving care and the gravel in the driveway made it difficult to ride my motorbike on.

    a good meal at the restaurant and the decor that was in keeping with the old Chateau

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Two unforgetable nights in a French chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found no disadvantages and wish to come back next year

    Beautiful real atmosthere of a French chateau when you have a real old furniture and a polite staff. The breakfast was exellent but for extra charge. The place was quiete and cosy with exellent location(very close to StMalo, Mont StMichel, Cancale and Dinan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Would go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They may have been cutting staffing costs, as the garden chairs weren't clean, and parts of the garden needed improvement...

    Special, well worth the Bookin.com price, thank you! Gorgeous rooms. Classy dinner. Very quiet room and surroundings. Near St Malo but out of the way of all the commotion. We were shown the back route to the nearest beach..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    There was a great welcome when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a great welcome when we arrived. The staff were very helpful and courteous. We enjoyed the cuisine and the restaurant sits on the edge of the gardens giving a pleasant view while eating. Our rooms were recently redecorated and the bathroom was fantastic. The grounds around the property are beautiful and great for parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic ambiance, superb food, excellent staff - will visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all perfect

    Superb evening dining experience, breakfast fantastic, great welcome, wonderful and very helpful staff, beautiful property with character rooms . HIGHLY reccomended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    we couldn't have wished for anything better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Simply everything. Carole was so helpful. Chateau was charming. Breakfast excellent. Room was idyllic bed comfortable. Decor enchanting. Gardens were great to to sit in and have a sip of wine. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Don't expect dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As motorcyclists my wife and were a little disconcerted by the gravel drive and lack of hardstanding parking, but sometimes you have to make do. We were really disappointed to be told on check in that the restaurant was fully booked that night. The alternative was either room service or a taxi to St Malo. We chose St Malo and had a wonderful evening. I spent 15 years in hospitality and had never refused a resident guest a meal. The reason, a party of classic car enthusiasts. Around 20 to 30 people eating at the same sitting. Difficult I know to get the meals out together, but not impossible. Two more extra mouths should not have created a problem. We would have been happy to eat after their main course had gone out. Breakfast was another disappointment. Bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs kept tepid in a bain marie. The hotel also describes as one of its USPs it's marvellous oak staircase. We wouldn't know as our room wasn't accessible by it. I will say that the manageress did give us a small reduction in our bill, not enough to cover the taxi fares to and from St Malo though. What was supposed to be a romantic end to a week of motorcycling through Spain and France turned out to be a bit of a letdown.

    Magnificent property and grounds. With a stunning view from our bedroom window. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well decorated. It was also very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, enjoyable and first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole ambience is excellent. This is our second stay and we will stay again when in the area. We really look forward to,our visit. The food is Michelin star standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Chateau, bit expensive but great position and the evening dinner was excellent as were staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little on the expensive side considering we had a bathroom in a 'Narnia' cupboard. The bathroom was a let down but the room was nice with tea and coffee.

    We had the dinner which was superb. The meal, the service and the view from the conservatory was excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The hotel was only 15mins or so from the ferry to Portsmouth so we could arrive nice and early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    great chateaux looks like good food here on site but also great seafood nearby......must come back
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ease of getting there.. perhaps having a map from booking.com with the reservation would really help.

    people really friendly i didn't get a chance to try the gourmet cooking but it looks great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.5
    Very convenient to St Malo and Mont-St-Michel. We enjoyed the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobes in the room were very limited and not functional, unfortunately. The gardens are being recovered, but look quite neglected in parts, such as fallen large trees in the lake.

    The chateau hotel has great charm, beautiful and comfortable sitting room. The dinner was outstanding, favourably comparing to Michelin starred restaurants we have visited. There are very large gardens to wander in. The bedroom was beautiful with lovely views over the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was too fussy and pretentious for our taste. Choice of drinks was limited and prices were nonsensical.

    Beautiful building and grounds. It's a fair walk into St Malo if you're reasonably active but it can be driven in minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    A grand country house in a beautiful setting, handy for St Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some rather ancient fitted cupboards in our room with a strange contraption for hanging space which you pulled down, but since we were only there one night, it didn't matter. The room could have done with some updating to the cupboards, but was otherwise perfectly acceptable.

    A lovely chateau in a quiet country area, with huge well-tended grounds. The lounge/bar and restaurant were beautifully furnished and the staff were extremely pleasant. We had a delicious dinner in the conservatory and the hotel ticked all the boxes for a relaxing one-night stop prior to catching the car ferry next morning. We had a pleasant room with a big window overlooking the gardens. We were able to check in early and drop off our luggage prior to spending a few hours exploring St Malo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    A peaceful setting & welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The room was comfortable with beautiful wooden floors & rug. We dined both evenings in the hotel, the food was exquisite, as was breakfast! All good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Get away from it all near St Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about 15 minutes south of St. Malo. It's in a fairly isolated location and we arrived late at about 10pm. However we were met by a very friendly and helpful gentleman who offered us a late supper which was perfect. The following morning they presented us with a lovely breakfast overlooking the lawn down to the lake. The bedroom was very comfortable so a good stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Courteous staff in charming chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garden at end-of-season was a bit disappointing; trees magnificent but not much to walk round.

    The staff were outstandingly helpful, and very kind. The rooms were gorgeous, including very comfy beds, and the food delicious, including local specialities and home made produce. Wonderfully quiet. Perfect for a family of mature adults.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Ok for an overnight stay. Would not want to spend any more time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed overnight out of season so seemed to be the only guests. Hotel felt rather tired.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.5
    A good hotel, great dinner and conviient for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was good and the wines sensibly priced

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful chateau. Beautiful room. Breakfast needs a rethink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated above

    We only had breakfast and would have preferred a plated meal as opposed to a limited buffet . Sausage and bacon awful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Wonderful food but accommodation fell short of expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Certainly not ‘superior’. Lack of staff when required.

    Food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Staff was very helpful. Atmospere is very cosy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice relaxing stay for one night before catching the ferry home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant. Very pleasant gardens around the Chateau. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything perfect.

    Lovely location.Beautiful furnishings . Excellent food. Very friendly staff. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Great potential, poor delivery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a cupboard. Literally, it was in a cupboard.

    Beautiful, If shabby grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner

    Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room and the gorgeous grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.1
    Very comfortable with good food.Jean Michel was a shining star in his attention to our every need
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit quiet.

    The hospitality was beyond expectation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great place, quiet and friendly with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was to a high standard we would have liked to have stayed longer and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    A lovely chateau which has a brilliant chef
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite hard to find - better satnav communication would help!

    The restaurant served a meal that we have never had bettered!!! Superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Charming quiet hotel close to St Malo with charachter.and very friendly and professional sr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Edwardian bath too small, water boiling too hot

    Charachter, food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    It a very nice place to spend a weekend but they should work on installing an AC system in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small Even with a fan running all day long, it was really hot in the room .

    The site

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A fantastic property with amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic property with amazing staff. The food was second to none. An amazing experience and we will return. Thank you. Classic car group

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Great Looking Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have Air-Con

    Very pleasant staff and the drawing room was exquisite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent, friendly service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Chateau just outside the town of St-Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off the beaten path

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Best place in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm and complete.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.1
    Very difficult to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Very difficult to find. Access to the port was not easy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Staff were fantastic and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic and friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    A fabulous stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Warm welcome and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    9.2
    The location is good if you want to get away from it all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is good if you want to get away from it all & be in the countryside. Beautiful, historic home. My room was comfortable & spacious.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.8
    The very warm welcome from the owners - it felt like we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very warm welcome from the owners - it felt like we were being greeted by friends into their very elegant home, decorated with great attention to detail, in keeping with the historical period in which it was built. At the same time it had all we need in a hotel; including a separate lounge with a bar, a very good restaurant, easy parking, beautiful grounds and even a lift.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.5
    Great place with lovely staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is not commensurate of this star hotel and badly needs renovation. Don't expect to have a shower in the bath that is not even fixed to the wall.

    Great place with lovely staff and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Impressive chateau and beautiful nature around, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little bit dificult to find hotel initially

    Impressive chateau and beautiful nature around, friendly and helpful staff, deliciuos dinner (sadly that the restaurant was working only one of two evenings, but staff help us to choose and order a nice restaurant in Saint Malo and we have a nice dinner too)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a standard room with a very small bathroom and overbath shower only. Difficult to find initially

    Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location and excellent food

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    We stayed here as a group early September and the place is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed here as a group early September and the place is charming. Rooms are large with comfy beds and the food was delicious. would definitely go back!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Magical building in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magical building in a beautiful setting. A little difficult to find, but worth the effort. Staff were extremely attentive and efficient. Evening meal superb.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.7
    The location and tranquility are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner Service in the Resturant was very slow with an extremely long wait for order to be taken. Had to ask for bread after 30 minutes waiting without service staff approaching us. Could be that there were a lot of guests and the Chef was a bit overloaded with a multitude of orders at the same time. The food was excellent however.

    The location and tranquility are wonderful. A good place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The ambience is a feature of this property.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.3
    This chateau was beautiful - it was like Disneyland but real!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't eat in because the breakfast costed 14 euros each which is a lot considering my daughter and my husband only wanted a cup of tea. The bathrooms had hand held showers over the bath so it wasn't easy to have a shower. It was lovely, but I felt it was too expensive.

    This chateau was beautiful - it was like Disneyland but real! We checked in and then went out to eat. It is definitely necessary to have a car. The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.6
    The menu was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room colour was terrible

    The menu was excellent Very good value. All going so well then the desert course was served to me burnt and dried out. Such a let down.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Ten minutes from the bustle and parking nightmare of St Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ten minutes from the bustle and parking nightmare of St Malo. Location brilliant for pre or post ferry stop. Quiet and classy with great restaurant, and huge estate allowing ample parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel. This has to be the best find in St Malo. Set amid tranquil countryside and yet only 10 minutes from Port du Naye. Beautiful setting lovely rooms with great facilities well worth finding.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Living in Guernsey we often require a nights stay close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing to dislike.

    Living in Guernsey we often require a nights stay close to St Malo. This was an amazing find. Close to the port and the supermarkets. The location and gardens are amazing. The room is tastefully decorated with a lot of the original features with an amazingly comfortable bed. The meal was excellent. Would be a perfect location for a wedding.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful and well-kept park.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Despite arrows pointing to the destination, the hotel was not easy to be found on rainy night. Breakfast was perfect but non-French guests might appreciate some vegetables (tomatoes, cucumbers, etc.) to be included.

    Beautiful and well-kept park. Romantic castle. Fairy-tale atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Very helpful staff, clean and very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, clean and very special

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    excellent personal attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room decoration and size could be improved

    excellent personal attention

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Beautiful Chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful Chateau. Amazing territory. Excellent ambience. Great overall experience

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    garden surroundings, calm atmosphere, relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit difficult to find, but we managed

    garden surroundings, calm atmosphere, relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    Charming old chateau in lovely gardens with beautiful rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little difficult to find down a narrow country lane.

    Charming old chateau in lovely gardens with beautiful rooms and excellent dining.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff, great cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff, great cuisine

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    Nice rural location but difficult to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice rural location but difficult to find

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Countryside & gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Countryside & gardens

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Ambience and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not able to have evening meal in on Saturday because they had a function. No facility for lunch or dinner on Sunday and Monday

    Ambience and character

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: