Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau La Cheneviere 5 stars

Escures - Commes, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France

#3 of 14 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very expensive for what it was - perhaps they could offer a continental breakfast for a lesser price!

    Bedroom was beautiful (get staff to show you how to work shower/bath!). Dinner in the restaurant was sublime and better than some michelin starred restaurants I have dined in. Staff incredibly, helpful, courteous and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice country chateau spoiled by inefficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff as a whole are "off with the fairies"; the girl who took us to our room on arrival took us (with all our bags) to the wrong room: service in the restaurant was haphazard - no wine list until I asked for it, then brought the wrong wine, not the one I ordered, general level of ditzyness all round, not very professional. Only 3 dishes on the A La Carte menu for both starter and main, so to be told on both days we dined that one of the 3 main courses was "off" with no alternative being offered was unacceptable. The food was good but not special. Told Reception on our last night that we needed to leave early the next day to catch the ferry, but when we went down the next morning no one was there, we had to go and find someone and our bill was not ready. That sort of thing is useless.

    Lovely, quiet chateau in the Normany countryside: quality bedroom suite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Great Normandy gateaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could improve wi-fi quality

    Friendly staff with professional and personalised approach, good and rich choice for breakfast, nice garden and surrounding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent food choices beautifully executed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was limited and costs €25 per person. Room rates are also steep for the size of the room. Ask for a room not on the ground floor as we experienced a lot of noise from the wooden floor of the room above

    Great location with fabulous food and a comfortable room, albeit the room would benefit from comfortable seating rather than directors chairs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    An excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. Our room in the annex was spacious and very comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting the Normandy D day beaches and the Bayeux tapestry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at a busy road which does not really allow safe biking or walking into town or to the beach. Breakfast choices were somewhat limited.

    Beautiful hotel with large nicely appointed rooms. Great bed. The bathroom had a bath but no separate shower. Breakfast included a-la-carte items. Dinner was wonderful but expensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Helpful and friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff . Very comfortable bed . Lovely gardens and close to historical sites

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location to explore Bayeux and the D-Day Beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Degustation menu was excellent, staff friendly , and knowledgable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The staff was very welcoming, the room comfortable, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming, the room comfortable, and the food amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location with stunning, but quiet grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location with stunning, but quiet grounds. In the heart of Normandy without staying in the bustle of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing restaurant. Very comfortable bed. Beautiful well maintained grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable one night stay, lovely large bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyable one night stay, lovely large bedroom. Excellent dinner which restored my faith in French cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place to visit WW2 DDay sites

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simply wonderful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Good was supreb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good was supreb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee is very expensive at €7 per cup.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - right between Bayeux and various D-Day beaches. The grounds are gorgeous - meticulously maintained.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    10
    This place was very classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place was very classy. The location, just a few km from Bayeux, made it very quiet and relaxing. We used it as home base for the 3 days we were visiting the war memorial sites. What we didn't know at the time of booking was that it has Conde Nast credentials. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful, well kept property with a friendly accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None; other than the Normandy sites there's not a lot to do in the area.

    Beautiful, well kept property with a friendly accommodating staff. The food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charged you for every little thing. Wi-Fi was weak and kept cutting in and out. Bed was super uncomfortable. No air conditioning in the main house. Flies in the room due to having to keep the windows open for air. No ironing boards. Overpriced on everything.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Location, facilities, room (suite) and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff in the dining room in the evening. Very good the first night, but hassled and offhand second night when it was more busy resulting in slow service.

    Location, facilities, room (suite) and food.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked the grounds the wonderful trees especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little minor training in the dining room. Tell the waitresses or waiters to clear the crumbs off the table after the main course has been served and before the dessert. I thought the price of breakfast in addition to the cost of the room was unnecessarily high. The jacuzzis instructions are not clear.

    We liked the grounds the wonderful trees especially the Sequoia. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    GREAT BED AND SUPER BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING

    GREAT BED AND SUPER BREAKFAST

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Staff was delightful, food was wonderful,coffee was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was delightful, food was wonderful,coffee was great. Beautiful surroundings and well kept property. Would return again!!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Great Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive restaurant and breakfast.

    Great Chateau Garden

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    The Chateau was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Chateau was amazing! The rooms were incredible, very large and pristine. The location is fantastic. We will definitely return

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    Location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    a bit expensive, especially for the meals

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything. Property to the staff is beyond compare.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property. Very accommodating staff. Great food. Close to great areas.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not bad boring for 2 women

    Setting

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.8
    The place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sommelier and we were put at a bad table the 2nd night for dinner which we thought was disappointing.

    The place

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    quiet atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing. loved it all.

    quiet atmosphere. restaurant. garden

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great location and beautiful setting make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, great location and beautiful setting make this an enjoyable place to visit - first class restaurant too.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loved everything

    quiet and relaxing

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is good. The dinner is the best one I had during this trip in France. It is a hotel worth to remember and come again

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.3
    Easy access to the Normandy beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seemed tired and nothing special

    Easy access to the Normandy beaches

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    Service, Property very well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service, Property very well kept.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: