Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château Les Merles et ses Villas 4 stars

Tuilières, 24520 Mouleydier, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Mouleydier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.3
    No table and chairs in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No table and chairs in the room. Difficult to get work done. Bed was much too soft - woke up with a sore back.. Handheld showers are the pits. Room was very elegant but not very functional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Chic refined atmosphere in old Chateau rural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No availability for lunch and pool service not really available either.

    Enjoyed it all, atmosphere that combined refinement with casual warmth, chic decor, excellent dining, very nice professional staff. A wonderful rural peaceful stay. Good setting for day trips to small villages of considerable charm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Food and staff service wonderful but they need to install airconditioning and have relaxation areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floorboards in room and corridors very noisy and sticky . No air conditioning and ended up with mosquito bites due to having to leave window open.

    Bathrobes and slippers in rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel on a lovely property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more mains options on the brassier menu; especially if you eat there more than once.

    Beautiful hotel on a lovely property. The little things have been spotted and sorted. And as they say its the little things that make the difference.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved the atmosphere in the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor is a bit on the cheap but overall the place is excellent value for what s on offer.

    Loved the atmosphere in the courtyard. Breakfast and dinner al fresco was lovely. Nice pool. Comfortable room. Nice staff. Excellent location in the countryside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful returning end September
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing service from the moment we arrived early greeted with a glass of champagne, beautiful property, amazing food, staff fabulous, the owners should be very proud.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, relaxing and with a golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great restaurant with nice local wines. The villa was very spacious and with a great view. Added option of playing golf on the 9 hole course or just hit the call on the driving range

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Great dinner in the courtyard, good breakfast and staff all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great dinner in the courtyard, good breakfast and staff all excellent, thanks to Grace for the suggestion of restaurant in Carcassonne (L’Escargot) we went there Sunday night spot on, best wishes and hope we stay there again one day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing. Too much Northern European influence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is my third time of staying over 6 years. The grey plastic chairs in the dining area are out of keeping with the general decor. ( same chairs after six ? years!) Too much black and white decor in my room. TV did not work despite compliant to the staff. Dining area had lillies and candles in the evening. I bit like a funeral parlour. Service slow. Staff inclined to talk. Food average. Little iminagination .With the mix of private villas, golf course, restaurant and Hotel this business model simply does not work.

    Staff very good. Location good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived fairly late and we were greeted with a smiley face. The staff were very attentive. Large luxurious rooms and very comfortable beds! Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A very special few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had 2 evening meals at their restaurant and the staff were friendly, helpful and fun ... and the food delicious. We had an issue with our villa (8) which was dealt with promptly. Definitely hire a car and take advantage of the location, we did 2 road trips and visited Sarlat, Beynac, La Roque Gageac, Saint Leon sur Vezere and Limeuil - such a special few days!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant we’l be Back as soon as osdinle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The rooms, the staff, the food the overall friendly way we were treated and the efficiency of everything starting with the welcome on our arrival

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable and we will look forward to staying there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the charge for dogs was top end. I would have thought 10 - 15 euros each dog was sufficient. The ground surface from car park to room & room to restaurant (our room was in a separate building which we liked) was uneven and the clay from its surface made the suite’s floor dirty & gritty.

    Welcome drink on arrival, flexibility with the menu, relaxed & friendly environment after a day’s travelling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn,t try dinner in the restaurant, as the menu was rather fussy. Only wanted a simple Escalope de Fois Gras.

    Very friendly staff. Nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    A little out of the way, but charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little out of the way, but charming. We ate in the hotel restaurant, not a huge selection but food was good. Staff were very friendly/accommodating ... all in all, good value for the money and a short drive to the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do or anywhere to go when it's raining. Needed a warm room to chill in. Hotel needed some TLC

    The staff were excellent, especially Lizzie. The rooms were cute.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable beds in an uncluttered environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to aware that the property is old and has floorboards rather than a carpet. As such noisy neighbours walking in shoes or heals can make a bit of a noise. That said it did not for me spoil my stay. Really enjoyed my time here.

    very comfortable beds in an uncluttered environment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 could do with slightly better lighting for ladies to do hair and makeup.

    Lovely hotel and location. Very friendly and professional staff. Lovely to be given a welcome drink of champagne! Very good food. The 2 bedroom apartment is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place and setting for a relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't hire a car so taxi was expensive but very friendly drivers. Bike hire wasn't available at the hotel which we requested.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was superb we went with the chefs choice every night. The Dordogne was within walking distance. Champagne for breakfast was a treat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Very good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the rooms a bit cold (but that is the charm of a chateau

    Very cosy location. Very well renovated rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our little baby. The food is very good!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    5.4
    It was a nice looking place but too many disappointments with connectivity and ability to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi connection in original room. Moved to smaller less appealing room to get connected. Only French tv, no English news channels, unusual in an establishment promoting itself at this level. No vegetarian options on hotel menu. Couldn't eat a single thing so had no dinner at all here.

    Helpful chap doing check in

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Location, scenery, room food
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, scenery, room food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    allowed dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the website said there is the use of 2 pools however you could only use one pool which was a bit disappointing

    allowed dogs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully restored in glorious location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very comfortable room. The hotel is quite big, with a strong focus on golf. It's beautifully situated and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.0
    Staff lovely and friendly but decor tired and needs an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating. Attention to detail sometimes missing (eg water in room was not replenished).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The staff were wonderful. The hotel is in a lovely, peaceful setting and the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The eggs were cooked for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Staff absolutely fantastic and helpful, Food was superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff absolutely fantastic and helpful, Food was superb,Location delightful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent chef recommendation dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent chef recommendation dinners. Staff more than helpful. Rooms and facilities excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tennis court Outdoor dining (weather permitting ) Stylish property Great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have particular dietary requirements and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Thorourly enjoyable experience that I would like to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think

    Helpful staff. Pleasant atmosphere. Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ambiance, restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Super stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast, beautiful dinner - we had the chef's suggestion

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    A little slice of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous chateau, fab rooms, devine food and really helpful staff. Will certainly stay again :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    This is our favourite hotel in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is our favourite hotel in France

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Stunning place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to travel to France to be able to enjoy the experience :)

    Stunning place to stay. Have stayed here previously with our dog . Traveling alone this time. Excellent restaurant with great food at a reasonable price , 6 course taster menu for 45€ . The wine from the chateau is well worth a try. Beautiful setting and just friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water provided in room was in bottle with broken seal which was not good.

    Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, and friendly too. Hotel and restaurant were brilliant - stayed extra night as so good. Bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    The staff are wonderful at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are wonderful at this hotel. Our second visit within 3 months and we truly love Chateau Les Merles. One of the most welcoming places we have stayed at and the food is fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Charlie, the manager, was brilliant and went out of his way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is served a bit late at 8am...

    Charlie, the manager, was brilliant and went out of his way to organise an early dinner for us as we had to drive our daughter back to school. He also helped us with directions to Toulouse airport the following morning. Lovely food, too.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff at this hotel are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at this hotel are great. They were all super-friendly and professional. The hotel is tastefully decorated and spacious. The breakfasts were delicious and generous.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.8
    The restaurant has a nice setting and the evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The property advertised on Booking.com as serving Bistro food all day which we relied upon given we were travelling with our 1 year old and the hotel is located quite far from a town of any substance. In actual fact they now only serve lunch between 1-2.30pm and evening meals 7-10pm. The pool was also not ideal for little children being very cold with a small shallow end and only a ladder to get in.

    The restaurant has a nice setting and the evening meal options were good and well prepared.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    Welcomed with snacks and champagne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Public areas were cold. Wi-Fi didn't work in the room which for some was a major issue.

    Welcomed with snacks and champagne! Very stylish, good food and good value overall.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    7.5
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Characterless rooms. Curtains and blinds not effective. Non- closeable vent in front door causing cold draft. Poor access from main reception to rooms, with our elderly Mother.

    Staff Dinner

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Friendly, helpful staff, good food in the restaurant. Comfortable and well furnished room and well equipped bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    great staff and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bar area for drinks rather than just a restaurant would be useful

    great staff and comfy beds

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is quite far from the main tourist's sites.

    Very friendly and responsive staff. Very nice place. Very clean. The food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Very knowledgable and friendly service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very knowledgable and friendly service! Good food! Nice wine.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, very romantic setting and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel, very romantic setting and wonderful restaurant. Classic room was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    A welcome with a glass of champagne started our short break...
    • Family with older children

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    A welcome with a glass of champagne started our short break off perfectly !!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    Excellent food and beautiful location, staff are so friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food and beautiful location, staff are so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    the whole atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the whole atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.8
    We had an evening meal and the food was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms need more noise insulation

    We had an evening meal and the food was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Restaurant was great , great chef , magical outdoor dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was great , great chef , magical outdoor dining & tennis court a bonus . contemporary

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    Warm welcome and friendly and courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome and friendly and courteous staff

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The care and attention of the staff and the general feeling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The care and attention of the staff and the general feeling of unpretentious luxury.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    staff incredibly friendly and attentive,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff incredibly friendly and attentive, food excellent relaxed ambience

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy pool area

    Setting

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful helpful staff,relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful helpful staff,relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    The bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby! The staff are both helpful and knowledgable.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    The decor of the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor of the rooms The friendly, helpful staff The delicious food

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    PEOPLE AMABILITY AND KIND SERVICE .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bicycles were very old and basic to really enjoy a riding tour.

    PEOPLE AMABILITY AND KIND SERVICE . Food

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, lovely quiet position, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, lovely quiet position, great food.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    10
    Great staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great staff,

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.2
    Room, bed, restaurant, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea, coffee facilities in room

    Room, bed, restaurant, staff

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    9.6
    Amazing restaurant with fantastic food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Amazing restaurant with fantastic food.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: