Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau Pomys

Leyssac, 33180 Saint-Estèphe, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Saint-Estèphe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property with modern interiors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely welcoming. The chateau make look quite classic on the outside but the interiors were very modern and clean which made the experience very pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The room was wonderful, huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was under construction and there was alternative food which was tapas and not as promised, at night there were people celebrating and making a lot of noise and we couldn’t eat breakfast outside because there were no sun umbrellas

    The room was wonderful, huge!beautiful and very comfortable, the view magnificent and the wine fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Classic, romantic, traditional, most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not air conditioned so warm in day but fine at night.

    Staff very friendly and did what they could to make our stay comfortable and convenient. Also got a nice history of the chateau, it’s vinyard history and the immediately local wine from the land’s vineyards. Beautiful chateau and great location. No notable light pollution and had clear night sky so stars were amazing! Thank you team for making our stay fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice chateau and very nice gardens around it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do not produce wine, so you cannot have a tour/tasting.

    Nice chateau and very nice gardens around it. The restaurant was closed the day we visited, so they upgraded us and also recommended an nice restaurant in another village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Good stay overall but the quality of service has to be revisited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast (overpriced for the quality) The service at breakfast ( serving lemon slice with the hand! In the room was a constant noise coming from the soil like a generator !! Very troublesome

    The location , the room for the price, the park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice relaxed atmoshere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although The dining room is very pretty, the rest of the furnishings are not in keeping with the elegance of the building. Very brown and 1970’s for some reason. Breakfast at 14 Euros per person is too much!

    The chateau and it’s setting are very beautiful. Chateau Pomys’ s own wine is very good. Location amongst the famous vineyards is exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    A welcoming chateau and restaurant full of the Medoc character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modernisation of some aspects of the facilities.

    Manager and staff were as welcoming, helpful and joyful as can be. The Chateau lis simply beautiful and you are and feel right in the heart of wine land. We had a superb diner on the terrace of the Chateau, which will remain a touching memory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Setting beautiful, wonderful view of vineyards out of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Setting beautiful, wonderful view of vineyards out of the window. Dinner and breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine!!. My nine year old son and I took a morning running through the vineyards, priceless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Charm at a reasonable price, rather than out-and-out luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is classed as a "hotel du charme". It's strong point is character, of which it has loads, not out-and-out luxury. So no aircon in the rooms (but a stand-up fan), some maintenance issues (cupboard and bathroom doors stuck in the door frames, so couldn't be closed properly) and few of the facilities you might expect of a five star resort. But that's not what this hotel is about. If that's what you're after, perhaps better to look elsewhere (and pay the commensurate prices), but we found it perfectly comfortable, good value and absolutely charming. My one small gripe is that the two set menus on offer did not change for the three days we were there. I understand that this is not usual, but did result in some "menu fatigue", which is a pity as the food was excellent and pretty good value. (There is nowhere else to have dinner within walking distance, and we did not fancy driving home in the dark with a bottle of bordeaux under the belt.) This is something which I'm sure could be easily remedied by the management with a bit of planning.

    Beautiful, old chateau, well situated in the Medoc close to St Estephe and within easy driving distance of Paulliac, St Julien and many of the grande chateaux in the area. Large comfortable room, beautiful grounds, good restaurant and friendly staff. We forked out for a superior room which was really spacious and well worth the extra few Euros.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    St estephe at a budget Chateau price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu is limited but when compared to the other restaurants in the areas offers honest fare.

    Great Chateau accommodation close to all that the west bank if the gironde can offer. There are super grounds and good to the rear in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Beatiful Chateau in the middle of Medoc/Bordeaux wine Region
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful authentic Bordeaux Chateau. At Pomys you have a wonderful garden, friendly staff, clean rooms and perfect proximity to vineyards and nice cities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, It is a great place to stay

    There are nothing within walking distance of this property, The closest shopping area is 10 minutes away. I would advise anyone staying here as well as all the surrounding Chateaus, that it suited mostly for someone with Transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    A hugely enjoyable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite, though beautifully clean, was rather dated. But as an obviously family run hotel, we understood that you can't update everything at once!

    Chateau Pomys was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. A beautiful historic building set in glorious countryside.Inside, a mixture of stylish modern, vintage charm, and a smattering of retro seventies! But all presented to a very high standard, with crisp white sheets, super comfy bed, spotlessly clean, Delicious food, and warm and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    We had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's enough room for a pool and this could be added in a discreet part of the garden without spoiling the views from the rooms.

    Dinner and breakfast, the garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A beautiful, warm and welcoming place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Alban and staff were exceptional. Could not have asked for more helpful, warm and welcoming service. We went to San Sebastián for the food and Saint Estephe for wine, and I can honestly say the food here outshone our whole trip, just superb! Chateau Pomys is a wonderful place to stay. Will definitely be back and highly recommend to all! Thank you Alban & Team xx

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a small chateau, nice people, great dinner, great surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have tried most in this area, but this is our favourite chateau in the Bordeaux wine area. Small castle/hotel, with friendly staff, great dinner in pleasant surroundings. We look forward to coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    The place is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really nice. The room is well decorated. The bed is very comfortable and the linen very cozy and soft. The restaurant is fantastic. Super fine food!! Very chic cuisine. Breakfast was great. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Superb base to explore wine regions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow internet.

    Excellent dinner and breakfast in a fantastic location. I understand the new owners are going to carry out some upgrades. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Lovely.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower temperature/pressure and rain head fixture were delightful. Also, the Chateau's own wine was quite good (if they still have any left). A glass on the veranda was the perfect way to end the day. The bed was comfortable, and the room was well-appointed. The Chateau itself is beautiful. Wifi in the room worked perfectly, and the staff were extremely helpful and spoke English well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant rural property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was a bit disappointing.

    Very attractive chateau in the french countryside. Our room was recently renovated. Staff were pleasant. A good choice in an area with few options that I could find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Take your time and enjoy it as it is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming and peaceful. Take your time and enjoy it as it is. I mean, enjoying your mourning cafe at chateaux open terrace looking at the big green garden, everything in the middle of vineyards, some of them producing the best wines Saint-Estephe region can offer. Very helpful host on top of that. Time stops here ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    This is a working wine Chateau in St Estephe that dates to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a working wine Chateau in St Estephe that dates to the 18C but was also a pleasure chateau so the grounds were gorgeous to wander in. Dinner was served outside or in but the weather was excellent and outside was the better choice. The cuisine was excellent and the 2009 Chateau Pomys was an excellent choice reasonably priced. Room was spacious with a great view across the vineyards to the Gironde.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.8
    Would have recommended if there was a/c.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd floor and no lift Did not like the breakfast There was no A/C and fan was not adequate to cool the room and was beaten by mosquitoes with windows open.

    Dinner was fantastic and excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    As a seasoned traveler, arriving at a "vieux...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a seasoned traveler, arriving at a "vieux chateaux" it does not surprise me to find cracks in the wall etc. The Chateaux Pomys has the charm of a "time gone by" but still lives up to its grandeur. One of our most authentic experiences during us visiting l'Aquitaine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful place with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu could have had a bit more variety.

    Beautiful chateau. Extremely beautiful garden, full of flowers and trees, overlooking a vineyard. Very comfortable bed. Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    it is chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    change of the owner. replaced old original windows with plastic ones, old original furniture with modern, etc. Less charm, but still no elevator .

    it is chateaux

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant,relaxed and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was small and in bad weather could have been congested

    The general atmosphere was laid-back and friendly with attentive staff. Good parking and very pleasant gardens.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice short stay in Bordeaux wine region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was nice, but for the price I thought it could have been a little more special. There weren't any tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom

    The chateau was an attractive building and it was nice to have a tour of the vineyard. We bought a case of wine and it was very drinkable. Our guide of the vineyard was also very pleasant. The room had a decent view, with a huge bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.8
    we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Chateaux is a bit dated but has lots of old world charm.

    Very warm welcome with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.Great restaurant with very knowledgeable waiter Christophe regarding wines!Tasteful room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    The place to stay if you are in St. Estephe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Be prepared to walk up one or two flights of stairs 2) The internet didn't make it to the rooms. It may have been available in the lobby but we never could connect.

    The grounds were attractive. From our room we had a lovely view of the vineyards with the river in the background. The management was friendly. The property was quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Spectacular setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grandeur of the outside could be better matched on the inside. Wifi was not very reliable.

    Spectacular setting. Great wines at bar. An unique experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    Elegant property with a casual and friendly attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet service did not perform well during my stay

    The property is an elegant old Chateau set in the vineyards. The host Alban, and the rest of the staff offer a casual, elegant atmosphere an are helpful with suggestions to enjoy the rest of the area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, great accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great accommodation for the price. Teresa at reception was especially kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Property was beautiful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was beautiful and quiet. Overall just peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Fantastic. The charge of a real Chateaux in Medoc. Great services, Reception, waiters etc ... overly adorable and efficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Class is chateau in great position that is a bit faded but that adds to its charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main restaurant was closed and we only new this a few days before we left UK

    The staff went above and beyond and helped us out with a serious problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful property, very hospitable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, very hospitable staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Chateau luxury
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved the friendly staff, the beautiful setting , garden and grounds. The food was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Chateau in the wine country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The food was superb. The chateau is very charismatic but also modern and comfortable. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    lovely place, large rooms and bathrooms, i like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing i did not like

    lovely place, large rooms and bathrooms, i like it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    It was basically good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. Had to carry up heavy suitcases up stairs.

    Beautiful premises and setting, food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to drive a fair way to eat elsewhere in the evening

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Not going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was full of insects...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    It was all good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Chateau in the Medoc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly short staffed while having dinner

    Stunning hotel in a stunning location, nice rooms, good food dinner & breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "electrical buzz sound" in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    quite and beautiful place in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    missed a pool, because it was hot and there is enourmous space to build one

    beautiful site in the country (old castle), modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful castle where to spend a romantic weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very romantic accommodation with a wonderful garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Pomys is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place looks lovely, region was perfect. Staff were friendly and attentive, place was clean and food was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Decent value , great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed , no air con , no safe

    Location and staff friendliness and lovely dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly reception and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly reception and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Pretty, friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, in pretty gardens in a beautiful old building. Very friendly staff and great food. Very convenient for exploring the wine region.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient, comfortable MAIS....not up to the billing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed. Superb dinner, except that a frozen souffle was served!

    Comfy bed, good breakfast. Excellent dinner menu. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the dinner! and the wine :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Great staff and a great (really!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff and a great (really!) restaurant on site. Perfect place to relax in a peaceful and well taken care park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    the rooms were lovely and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were lovely and comfortable. the staff was excellent and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very generous and friendly host. Wonderful setting in the vineyards. Also a delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.9
    Herve is a wonderful host;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male servant really really cannot smile.....

    Herve is a wonderful host; some of his colleagues are great; beautiful castle

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine,staff,breakfast

    Evening meal, bed, beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Very good service from reception and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Very good service from reception and restaurant. Wonderful view from the room over the park and the vineyards.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Alban and his staff made us feel really welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alban and his staff made us feel really welcome. The chateau and grounds are beautiful and in an amazing location to go and see the amazing wine region. Alban arranged two tours for us when we arrived and took great care to make sure we had a great experience.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    Classic French chateau with spacious rooms in attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too few staff trying to deliver too much, so details get missed (eg. cushions of the garden furniture being left out in the rain, full ash trays and a plastic bottle left on driveway for two days). Only one waiter (who was also hotel manager) serving in restaurant so food was left under hot lights at the pass and drying out a bit.

    Classic French chateau with spacious rooms in attractive grounds. Good potential. Full marks to the wine.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.6
    The dining room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not to say bad because the room was very comfortable and quiet but since we were confined to our room on a rainy Sunday we thought the room decor could use a little freshening up. Bathroom was everything we wanted--loved the long tub.

    The dining room was excellent. We were there over a rainy week-end so were happy not to venture out into the rain, especially on a Sunday evening.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was really cold at night. The fact that didn't have an elevator caring the luggage to the forth floor was difficult.

    The staff was really nice. The chateau was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice place, with big beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well…room was cold, because all windows was open on arrival. Wi-fi especially in the morning was working very bad.

    Nice place, with big beautiful garden. Stayed 1 night only. Helpful staff. Didn't take breakfast as we wake up always very late :)

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    We loved the ambiance of this Chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the ambiance of this Chateau. We loved the friendly helpful owner and staff. The food was excellent and presented brilliantly. We would highly recommend this Chateau to any travellers wanting to stay in the Me doc region of Bordeaux. Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in a lovely setting with beautiful grounds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous hotel in a lovely setting with beautiful grounds and far reaching views across the vineyards to the estuary. I can't believe people are complaining about the lack of a lift! It would completely ruin this beautiful building. Appreciate the curved stone staircases and get some exercise! The staff are professional yet friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious with many choices. The dinner in the restaurant was also excellent. We have stayed here twice already this year and will certainly be going back.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets in room could use replacement- badly stained.

    Beautiful surroundings. Room was large with comfortable bed. Found a great restaurant in Pauilla - Resto Montivideo. Terrific paella, mussels, wine and inexpensive!!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    The location of the chateau is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was free but only very low signal in our room. Had to go to the lobby fir good reception.

    The location of the chateau is great. Big garden overlooking vinyards. Rooms have nice size and are clean. You will love it if you not expect latest luxury hotel style chateau. It is more like a b&b style if atmosphere which was nice. Breakfast was very good but need to pay extra. It was very giod that the chateau had a restaurant because the one we found in pauillac were not great. We would come again if in the region

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.7
    This is a beautiful building, in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation could do with some luxuries to match its exterior. It has no pool. The rooms are basic and tired. The beds are quite uncomfortable. Wifi didn't stretch to the room, and the water simply ran out mid-shower! (When we checked with the owner, he suggested that it was now working. He didn't offer any apology, or any element of compensation). Breakfast is decent (in a beautiful setting on the terrace), but quite expensive for what it is.

    This is a beautiful building, in a lovely setting. Close to the amazing wine epicentre of Pauillac.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff went out of their way to be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The choice of wine was very limited and expensive. The Pomys of course tasted excellent at dinner, less good at the tasting in the morning!

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    great place, old chateau, friendly staff, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great place, old chateau, friendly staff, and great restaurant, rooms are authentic, if a bit dated,terrific experience, and value for money. highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful location and setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Interior was not cosy or that comfortable. Beginning to look a little run down. Service for meals was quite slow. No pool to relax in.

    Beautiful location and setting. Delicious wine.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. The cuisine was excellent and served in a beautiful setting, and the accommodation was of a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.8
    its our first stay in a Chateau, a castle like hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the facilities are not as complete as a hotel, a kettle would be nice in the room.

    its our first stay in a Chateau, a castle like hotel. it was beautiful, the view of garden from the window, the vineyard in the back of the garden, the peace and relaxing atmosphere.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75