Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau de Codignat 5 stars

Bort L'Etang , 63190 Bort-lʼÉtang, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Bort-lʼÉtang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful, tranquil hotel with fantastic history The restaurant was excellent and wine list very thoughtfully put together. Try the chilled white port as an aperitif!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Charming chateau, with beautiful garden and grounds (swimming pool, tennis court, pond with ducks and geese). Restaurant was excellent, deserving of Michelin one-star rating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms, food and drinks are little pricey.....but thats the price you pay staying in a castle...

    I had a wonderful stay. Felt like royalty staying at the Chateau.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were a bit dark, no shower just a jacuzzi tub in our Prestige room, only stairs to get to rooms but was ok for us, wifi wasn't always strong enough, didn't refill mini bar

    very authentic castle outside and inside, excellent restaurant with surprise menu and different wine with each course, helpful staff, secluded and quiet area, good breakfast room service, ornate room decorations, good jacuzzi tub with tea light candles provided, great landscaped exterior, location not too far from volcano tourist area, nice coffee machine in room and reception gave us extra capsules when we asked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd cobweb in the bedroom otherwise we liked everything

    Dinner was superb , really felt like staying in an historic castle , swimming pool clean & quiet .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area for pre dinner drinks taken up first night with private dinner party, no other convenient place available. No confortable lounge and with inclement weather the bedroom was not a good alternative. Bedding needs upgrading.

    Food and ambiance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food, and in particular the drinks, were exceedingly expensive. It sadly meant we didn't feel able to eat or relax at the hotel as much as we would've liked.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and deserve a special mention. The Chateau is everything you'd expect from such a luxury and special venue - excellent food and wine, beautiful rooms and decor, attentive and professional staff, beautiful grounds (with a bonus of several acres of woodland to walk in), and a very relaxing atmosphere. As dog owners it was wonderful to be able to stay in such quality accommodation and feel utterly welcome with our four legged family members! Thank you Chateau de Codignat!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay regularly at R&Cs and this hotel is one of the best. The service food and surroundings were all delightful. We will return again in September as it was so good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like finding ourselves surrounded by small children at dinner in a very serious restaurant. We asked to move tables and it would have been more sensitive to a couple not to have put us there in the first place.

    The four poster bed was sumptuous and our room in the Tower was like a location out of a movie.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the suit which we booked according to the available pictures in "Booking" is far better than the one we stayed in. - the dinner price is acceptable , however, my wife did not like that much.

    - very friendly and honest staff - beautiful castle - peaceful place - nice pool - tennis court

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We realized their was an odd smell in our bathroom. I think because it is carpeted there may be residual urine drops which have not been sanitized effectively. It was already present on check in to the room. Also, it was a hot day and poolside service was scarce. We waited a long time until a waiter came outside to take our orders. We waited a good hour to see some service.

    The food and service was exceptional in the restaurant and our bed extremely comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good - wonderful

    First of all , even before the location, we appreciated the very profssional and kind staff! Thanks a lot for your welcome ! Then the location which is splendid and restaured and decorated with excellent taste and a lot of creativity while it still stays in the style of such a castle ! The chief composes excellent meals and declnes a lot of berries and fruits within the menu - deliscious. Last but not least the cheese plate that reminds the mountains of Auvergne ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The liquor was over priced. For example, a vodka on ice was 25 euros.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They even went out of their way to help fix our rental car. The dinner was fabulous. The presentation of food was spectacular. Incredible flavors. Ambience of the chateau was warm and inviting. We had one of the least expensive rooms on the property but it was beautiful with numerous amenities. The pool area and the landscaping around the chateau were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent old chateau miles from anywhere if that's what you want. Pool and facilities good, restaurant is Michelin star. Could have stayed longer

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fabulous hotel, the room and the setting is magnificent. And the staff were extremely good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    felt rather pushed from our even though it was not late and found housekeeping staff not very friendley

    we enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice atmosphere and kind staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice castle with unique rooms and beautiful furnishings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service in a unique enviroment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too many things to list here

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Fantastic place with fantastic staff. They were very helpful and help us to acomodare our one month baby without a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a reservation for dinner at 9 and we had waited for 30 minutes.

    Helpful and nice staff, beautiful location and landscape, great food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliantly bonkers interior. You'll feel as of you should be wearing a suit... of armour. Great food. Smart pool. You are in a CASTLE.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The historical significance and setting was amazing! In awe of the entire place, the rooms were luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a cockroach!

    Very tranquil and lovely food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was average but the prices were very high. Not good value for money sadly.

    Amazing location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Head room in my bed room

    Old fashioned historic feel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small TV set

    Stunning natural setting and character of place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff went our their way to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic building in a wonderful setting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on top floor with no obvious fire escape route. Felt unsafe.

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paper thin walls and pillows, very difficult to find and hugely overpriced, in need of update and actually quit dingoes- hallways unlit and dark with quirky steps. While the suites looked sumptuous our "deluxe" room was anything but- a cramped medieval bed far too short for normal legs from which we could hear very noise from the bathroom next door. Most disappointing,not at all on par with other relais and chateaux properties we have visited.

    Fascinating building, true character place, good (if overpriced) meals

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lousy service. Pool area was left deserted for hours without anyone checking whether anything is needed. Some staff very unfriendly and almost rude. Harsh and aggressive reaction when we asked for a clarification of the total bill at the end of the stay.

    Beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was very well presented, but only slightly above average in quality and hugely overpriced when compared with other excellent restaurants in the region. I couldn't get the wi-fi to work

    The place was magnificent, presentation very good, service very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Un verre de whisky (même de 17 ans) à EUR 45 sans en être nullement prévenu (pas de liste des prix visible).

    La cuisine du restaurant. L'environnement très calme. L'amabilité du personnel.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Lovely peaceful location, excellent food and courteous helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A great Hotel with good food and a nice historic feel to it

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. The restaurant was fantastic. Great food and very good service.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming poorly lit way too dark

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room amazing food , staff could not do enough for you

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    57 steps to bedroom!!

    Friendly staff excellent food and comfort

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noise from other room's air con kept us awake.

    Great hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying in an authentic old castle-with all of its old world charm tucked away in the country.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food great but a little expensive

    Beautiful location, great building, nice pool, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The setting was perfect. Vstaff were attentive without being over bearing

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Be ready for expensive dinner :)

    Everything. Park around the chateaux, outdoor swimming pool, decoration of the room, quality of service, restaraunt.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a bath instead of shower

    Degustation menu was awesome

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Chateau de Codignat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: