Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Gilly 5 stars

Gilly-les-Cîteaux, 21640 Vougeot, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Vougeot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 425 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not as comfortable as you would expect, and if you compare it to a modern “luxury” hotel you may be disappointed as some things are not possible while keeping the authentic structure and feel of such a place. It is a beautiful location and preserved piece of history.

    The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are authentic but with the modern conveniences. The restaurant was beautiful and the food excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of having breakfast exorbitant .We used your restaurant for diner but refused to have breakfast on principle.Drove into Nuits saint Georges instead.This was the only thing we were not happy with

    Superb hotel.Have already recommended it to friends.For such a top class hotel,the room rates were very fair

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Chateau is fantastic and loved it. However, the service was not to the standard expected for a 4 star and therefore found the price too high. Basically paying to sleep in a castle! Worth it once but unlikely to return ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was smaller than expected and not at all comfortable. Although we were on the 2nd and what we thought to be top floor we were awoken at around midnight by heavy footsteps on the floor above. This went on until the early hours and started again long before breakfast. Sleep was impossible and we felt exhausted in the morning. Not a good experience for a top class chateau.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delightful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like.

    What a find! A beautiful chateau not far from the motorway, providing a perfect place for a stay over en route to our ski holiday. The staff were welcoming, helpful and had a great sense of humour. The room was perfect for us - a large double room for my wife and me and two adjoining rooms for the children. Our youngest, 9 years old, was given a welcome pack with some presents in when he arrived. The restaurant was a vaulted monastery and the food was excellent, as was the wine list, which is reflected in the price. Well worth it in my opinion and we will definitely go there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was left unattended with no bartender nor any one when we got there. We had to wait for about 10 minutes to get served. We also had a nice dinner in the fabulous atmosphere, yet the service was provided by different waiter each time that our request seemed to have been missed out, not shared among themselves. For example, it took about 30+ minutes and 4 separate trials to get a bottle of water.

    A really beautiful hotel set a lovely old Abbey. The gardens were beautiful despite being there in the winter. We had dinner and drinks and the bar, parlor and restaurant were quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast for 25 Euros a head was better than most hotel breakfast experiences but for that price it needs to be TOP CLASS! A better range of home made breads would have been nice. Freshly picked berries would be desirable. Home-made porridge would be enticing. And overall the quality of the produce and ingredients was 7 out of 10 not 10 out of 10! The decor of the rooms is perfectly ok but in 2017 something more of a timeless international design style would be welcome.

    Stunning location and ambience. The staff were all fantastic in their hospitality. An impeccable place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chateau is a bit tired round the edges (broken window frames and peeling paint in bathroom). Restaurant food is rather small portions (my casserole had lots of pork and about two sprouts and carrots in it) although it was delicious.

    Lovely staff and grounds. We were stranded after car broke down and they were very helpful. Great provision for the dog. Restaurant is atmospheric and excellent food. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very slow in bar High charge for the dog of€20 - dog bed promised but didn't appear Breakfast charge too high at €25 but we didn't bother after poor food the night before Also 8 euros for a bottle of water !!

    The beauty of the chateau and the location Stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff - dinner and breakfast were poor at best. Breakfast is not a service that is aligned with the overall aura and impact of a good 4 start hotel. Swimming pool area is most unwelcoming - no thought given to layout and facilities.

    Lovely building and grounds, great location for Burgundy vineyards. Reception staff very friendly and helpful - excellent English spoken!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldnot have dinner, as it was full y booked only had to book room service.

    Ambience and the chateau and facilities. Snacks were also great. breakfast not so great for that price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c so it gets really hot inside the room. Breakfast not included and way too expensive (25 euros per person/day). No help with luggage. Property needs a lot of maintenance. Difficult to understand how it is considered a 5 star hotel!

    Size of room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast with 25 Euro to expensive for the amount of variety. Breakfast served till 10.30h and at 9.30h eggs, bakon, orange-juice, cheese missing, they were filled up later on, but a big family, me and other peolple had no joice at the moment entering the breakfast buffet.

    nice big park, room, castle itself, surroundings of the castle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air conditioning,out side temperature was 34 deg C room temperature more like 38. impossible to get some rest not mentioning sleep. a portable a/c unit would make a big difference

    rooms are big and nice,though beds should be bigger

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee machine in the room. When I asked, I was told not all the rooms have them. For the price I paid in a 5 star hotel I was disappointed. Also bathroom accessories there was no body lotion. Again in a lessor category that would be fine but not here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Restaurant used to be amazing but now middle of the road. Waitress who welcomed us was surly. Young guy who served us was a trainee and tried really hard.

    Beautiful old building and lovely grounds. Fabulous location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food very expensive for what you get. Tiny portions and little choice. Badoit water alone was an astonishing 8 EURO a bottle!

    FREINDLY HELPFUL STAFF

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great. Served in an empty room upstairs. Will be better in warmer months when they can utilise outside terrace

    The restaurant in the cellars is very atmospheric. Great food Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    No minibar, no airconditioning, shower broken, extremely dirty bed covers. In the restaurant various tradional meals missing, last cereal bread, ans so one. Of course, in such an environment, you only find very similar staff without any professionalism.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff and service do not correspond with a 4-star standing. From the moment I called to arrange a birthday lunch upon arrival, the front desk agent seemed lost and non-attentive. From the lack of regard to helping schedule winery visits in neighboring Pommard, Vosne-Romanée, etc, including recommending we visit the region's greatest tourist trap (Chateau de Pommard), to forgetting the small detail of a birthday candle I requested for my husband's birthday, I was very disappointed. The beds need to be changed out, the quality of the bed linens needs to be re-evaluated, the carpeting was dirty, and scarcity in the bathrooms, I could go on...

    The location was ideal to visit wineries, and the chateau is impressive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better. They are too small. They don't have coffee machine in the room.

    The building is beautiful, as well as the sourroundings. The restaurant is marvelous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    A beautiful old building but with good modern facilities such as free wifi and easy parking. The vaulted dining room is stunning and lovely food and wine. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant. Food ok but really not up to standard expected in hotels in Small Luxury Hotels category. Staff in restaurant very pleasant and trying very hard but they desperately needed someone with experience to guide them. Nobody topped up my wine glass througout the meal and they struggled to deal with a challenging diner who was present at the same time. Not their fault at all but an older more experienced person would have been able to handle it better Breakfast was very good but seriously over-priced at 25 euros a head All in all a pity. We have been looking for a convenient "half way" place to stop en route on regular visits to the south and had hoped this might have suited. Not much point in offering an upgrade on the basis that you pay the extra for it - I would have booked the alternative in the first instance!

    Excellent location. Pleasant grounds. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar Service understaffed for tea time and evening drinks Long wait. Restaurant food excellent but not matched by restaurant staff nor maître d'hôtel without any explication of food served no knowledge of cheese wine not topped up in short Gault Millault chef let down by quality of restaurant staff. What a shame!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on our bed were quite old I would say - one thin and insubstantial while the other was a bit harder though lumpy.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and quite accommodating. We were unfortunately held up due to airline delays which meant we arrived 24hours later than planned. Even though we were in the non refund period for our booking, we messaged the hotel and explained our situation and they did not charge us for the night we missed. It is a quiet location. It is not set in and around vineyards, rather in a farming setting. The vineyards are however only about 3kms away, along the Grand Cru route. Breakfast was varied and rather tasty. Our room was of a good size. The salon and bar are lovely relaxing area's as in the terrace outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there wasnt any recommendation on vineyards that we should visit. the room service at night only serve cold cuts. they expect you to eat at their restaurant which was quite pricey. Food was ok but not for the price.

    The bed was nice to sleep on. Location wise it was in between Dijon and Beaune. great to venture out to see the area. Also its very close to chateau des vougeot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is young, dynamic and very qualified Really good restaurant with a great wine proposition Having a go at the bar for a late drink after dinner is a delight Breakfast time slot is perfect (until 11am)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, but worth considering for a splurge. Also, the "queen" size bed was really just the European standard of two twins pushed together.

    Well...it's a chateau...I mean, that's a pretty awesome start. On top of that, the staff was amazing and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had a fantastic locally-prepared dinner in the formal dining room, and the views could not be beat. The chateau was just outside Beaune, but well worth the beautiful drive, and close to lots of vineyards that had partnership offers for tours and such through the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    In the middle of lots of place of interest Very good breakfast in a ancient lovely château room, you can taste real French cousine in the "5 star" restaurant swimming pool open in September, and of course you can have incredible glass of vine whenever you want

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is dismal in terms of food, service and wines, but beautiful as a room. The sommelier is rude: his list was not updated, he tried to pass another vintage, and created a scandal when I returned the wine (A 140 EUR bottle) because it was maderized and they made me pay for it all the same

    The reception upgraded me to the best room in the house

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's lost a little of its lustre since we visited 8 years ago - not quite the same quality of service or sense of luxury, though still enjoyable for us & the kids

    Beautiful building & grounds, with a top notch restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area was very disappointing. The sun loungers were old and uncomfortable and chairs and tables plastic. The hedge and lawn had not been cut. The room was a bit floral for us and had to keep cool using one noisy fan. Expensive glass of champagne - double the price charged by another more impressive chateau hotel

    The dinner was excellent: food, setting and service. the hotel building and grounds were very impressive and we liked the sculpture around the place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was two singles pushed together and the mattress was old and uncomfortable.

    Location, beautiful building, sculpture garden, good food. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was switched off although the fans still worked. Expensive breakfast which we avoided €25 per head.

    Great location and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast overpriced for what it was, don't mind paying for quality but not euro50 for a couple of croissants and a yoghurt

    Food excellent staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no disabled parking spaces & although provision was made for myself. The nearest parking spaces to the main gate could be made available & the rooms on the ground floor x 2 or 3 could be adapted to accommodate a disabled person by installing a walk in a Shower.

    The location gardens space & all the staff were superb paying so much attention to detail I am disabled & once staff were aware of this they did everything they could to make my stay as comfortable & welcoming as possible. I try

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a shower cubicle rather than a bath with shower over

    The restaurant food was absolutely brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good rooms of a generous size. Bathroom well equipped. Clean and well presented. Dinner expensive but very enjoyable. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, quiet room, excellent dining cuisine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely chalet but very comfortable bed and excellent food Will definitely return probably in summer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large. The hotel originally had a lot of character but needs refurbishment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Facilities friendliness of staff. An outstanding property. Huge room very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attentive food excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do in a walking pace

    No noise. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terrible. 2 singles doesn't mean 1 king!!

    Old chateau. Cool building and architecture

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more welcoming, especially during dinner

    Excellent vegetarian dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect Very charming place So quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom lights failed!! Fell in toiet! Wife called night manager who was superb.

    Good room service meals, including breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast menu was fine but somewhat restricted

    Very pleasant place to stay with excellent dining.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in told i could not eat in the restaurant owner was disinterested. Poor service in restaurant

    Lovely location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low spec room. Low on facilities. No air con.

    Amazing grounds. Great food. Historic setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nor 5star glean. It vas ok.

    Nice garden and you can lone bikes. It is so nice to take bike and go trough the vine cardens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit pricey

    Service in Restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, the restaurant, the gardens

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired, bedding very sub standard, no proper shower in bathroom.

    Food in the restaurant was excellent however service could have be better.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like scottish showers. Beddings are very light for February.

    The breakfast and restaurant are great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locating through GPS was difficult

    Room architecture and unique ambience

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had a very old mattress.

    Staff was very helpful, and friendly. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgrading. No AC in facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grounds spoilt by ugly and intrusive sculpture

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow meal delivery on the terrace

    We stayed one night and the bed was awful so the next night we moved to a more comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu and lack of senior staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closer to Beaunne, but not far from Dijon!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service not as friendly as before Staff seemed under pressure in restaurant

    Location Impression of building

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired rooms, below average and really dismal breakfasy.

    Lovely exterior! Great gardens and stunning vistas

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room, breakfast very disappointing and cold

    Atmosphere was great, bed was really comfy, very tranquil.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have always wished the hotel had a small gym - we would stay longer

    We are regulars as a family and

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug-in in a bathroom

    Perfect territory, outstanding architecture. Pleasant stuff, tasty breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bar service poor. Wanted s drink in the terrace but no one came. We had to seek them out after driving for 15 hours. Service at dinner was weak didn't motice we had empty glasses. Didn't bring the wine we ordered until prompted twice.

    Fabulous friendly reception staff. Glorious building. Great breakfast. Stunning. Really enjoyed it.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here in 1990 and at that time this hotel was beyond compare. The price is still high but the quality is not. The decor is dated as are the furnishings. The staff are young and inexperienced, the food is average, what has happened to the attentive sommelier and waiters. Very disappointing perhaps the old saying "never go back" is appropriate here. Such a shame

    Exterior appearance.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    But the restaurant is badly lit, dated in terms of restoration and too costly for the quality of the food. The overall scheme of design needs to be brought back to the respect for the ancient property...signage is careless and although pleasant, there is mediocre care to overall aesthetic.

    The location is unparalled...

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The frosty reception from the lady in charge of of the reception. She should get training in Thailand to understand what good service and kindness mean. When I reconfirmed my booking for dinner, I was told that I did not reserve and they were full. When I told her that I reserved 2 months before and I had a written confirmation, she recognized their mistake and told me that "they would try to accommodate me". How welcoming! When I when for dinner, there was 1 table of 4 people and me alone...in a room that can seat 100 people, this, until pass 9hrs pm when a small group of 12 showed up. I was told informally that because they are not busy, they reduce the staff so any unexpected booking makes them flip into a panic. You may as well not show up so you won't cause problem. Food was average anyway.

    Some part of the "castle" , like the common areas are beautiful but some, such as the corridor carper, are in great need of refurbishing. Some of the staff have been wonderful, I guess in an attempt to compensate for the arrogant attitude of the head of reception.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant does not live up to its potential. It is situated in a beautiful area and it could have been a wonderful dining experience. I do not mind paying more for a meal if it lives up to the hype, but I found the 3 course meal for Eur60 per person to be way too expensive for what you got. I would not recommend eating at the hotel restaurant as there are other options within walking distance available.

    The castle is stunning and the little village outside Dijon is amazing. Loved our stop-over here. The staff was super friendly and we can not praise the quality of the service enough!

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: