Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Hostellerie Château de la Barge 4 stars

Route des Bergers, 71680 Crêches-sur-Saône, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Crêches-sur-Saône

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    I spent one night at this hotel for a wedding in a close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spent one night at this hotel for a wedding in a close location and I was disappointed by the amateurism of the staff. Rooms are nice (quality bedding, nice decoration despite really old facilities) but: 1) We asked for an iron for our clothes. First iron sent didnt work. Second one was broken, with wires coming out of the plastic. 2) Phone in the bedroom => didnt work. Can't join the reception. 3) Last but not least, we reached the hotel at 3:00 AM after the weeding. The hotel door was closed. We called the reception, no one answered. We searched for a solution and finally found a letter in a furniture next to the door, with the name of a guest (room different from ours), containing a key => we managed to open the door and avoided a night outside. No one warned us the reception was closed at night. Totally unacceptable given the price of the room. Equipment (iron, phone, etc.) are in no way in accordance with the standing on this hotel. Staff was unable to provide us with excuses or clear answers regarding our experience. Nice place, nice park around the hotel but unacceptable experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Impresive country hotel with eclectic decor. Very nice location in the middle of Maconnais vineyards
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More menu choices as a la carte menu although excellent was a a bit pricey. Food standard excellent with good choice of good local wines. Not a place for those on a food budget.

    Good quality although pricey breakfast-buffet but scrambled egg/bacon available plus freshly squeezed orange juice and excellent bread/cured meat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Bed very comfy, dinner and breakfast very good, although...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down exteriors and cheapish wall papering, one of our rooms required walking around the outside of the building ( in rain) , bathroom not 4 star, some rooms poorly insulated for noise, basically in our opinion, apart from the kitchen this hotel was a good 3 star but not 4.

    Bed very comfy, dinner and breakfast very good, although dinner expensive, main hall and stairs decorated in a fun way, lighting fixtures especially

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant hotel spoilt by poor directions to get there. Please note, D89 goes in two directions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 7 hours driving and even with sat nav, we were annoyed by having to spend another 1 hour driving round in the dark countryside , to find the hotel. A small 30 cm half hidden sign in the hedge really is inadequate and unhelpful to guests.

    Comfortable room . Clean and adequate facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    A very good Relais du Silence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet and convenient to the motorway. The owner was very helpful. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent, and the breakfast was varied and good. This would be a good place to explore the area for a few days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, beyond expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved except, perhaps, the sign at the entrance!

    Beautiful Chateau, unique accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful, food and atmosphere could only be 5 star. Would love to return and will recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only nosy portable air con Noisy roon on third floor overlookig restaurant Parking on grass ""field" Chaotic restaurant staff many disgruntled customers affecting ambience but my service was fine

    not a lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful park, old building, beds very confortable, very...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cardinal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet access - their server was not working... No drinking water in the room. Rate of the room slightly excessive... without including breakfast

    Beautiful park, old building, beds very confortable, very well located visit the region of Beaujolais

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Charming Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charnay Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The Hotel needs a bit of TLC, but it is an honest and well run establishment and provides everything one could wish for. Not the best I have ever visited but somehow it had a charm of it's own !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    A cool dip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit small, not much floor space, enough for one night but would struggle on a longer stay, the air con didn't work.

    Location and food were excellent, lovely hotel and a very relaxing end to our holiday, the pool was a delight at the end of our trip

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Great restaurant! Awkward room key...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room, on the ground floor (due to lots of luggage!) was not updated. Peeling paint, sad and vaguely dirty carpet, old bathroom faucets that kept moving as you turned the water on and THE most awkward digital room key ever: not only did it not work when we tried to activate it but the staff had to go through an adjoining room -where guests were already asleep!- in order to open the door to our room from the inside!! This needs addressing...

    This Relais du Silence was on our way back to Paris. Very convenient. We stayed one night. The restaurant is FABULOUS! Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Perfect overnight treat on way to the alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 miles from the motorway on our way to our annual ski holiday. The restaurant was an unexpected pleasure very very high standard of cuisine at very reasonable cost. Expert recommendation of local wine to match our meal..very very good wine selection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.3
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    A disaster. Terrible room, horrible decor, old facilities, no maintenance. The breakfast, too simple, very little to choose. The cleaning staff literally had all the clean towels and sheets all spread in the floor.... awesome.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    4.2
    The thermostat was set to 18C and could not be adjusted from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thermostat was set to 18C and could not be adjusted from the room. I asked to have it increased and they did set it to 22C for one night and then lowered it back to 18C. I was cold for my whole stay. There were no instructions for hot and cold adjustment for the shower. There was a handle with a blue dot and another with a red dot. One would think the blue one would be cold and the red would be hot. But if you turned on the red handle, nothing happened. So I had a sink shower the first day. I tried to call the front desk, but there was no answer and no instructions as to how to dial the front desk, so I had to call internationally on my cell, after 8 am. There's no one there all night. Actually, the blue handle controls the flow of water and the red adjusts the temperature. Who would have known? When checking out, the front desk was snotty about the temperature adjustment. "Well, I didn't turn it back down". There is not desk for computer use in the room, it's a garage sale dresser instead.. I worked off my lap. The furniture has to be moved around to get the bathroom door opened. This was a cramped, dark little room, pretending to be a luxury facility. The maid came while I was working, looked at me and left, not to return. This is not a four star property by any stretch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathrooms

    Beautiful old building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    The staff were welcoming and the meal in the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were welcoming and the meal in the restaurant was truly excellent. Will stay again on the way down to skiing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    5.0
    Enjoy the dinner but do not stay at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Pigeonnier - Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The private road to the hotel is in terrible shape. The room was very cold and difficult to get to

    The meal was very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    we missed not having foie gras as separate entree

    very good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    4.6
    This hotel does not merit 4 star quality.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This hotel does not merit 4 star quality. The grounds are barely looked after, the drive a bumpy agricultural track, the trees and bushes neglected; inside the decorations are tired, tacky, the paint peeling and chipped; there are cheap partition walls, cheap carpets, and cheap fixtures and furnishings; tops of cupboards and shelves are dusty; the hanging curtains in the dining room are a total mess; the so-called Jet Set Bar (which only seemed to have beer on tap as any other drinks were fetched in from somewhere else) is reached down a corridor lined with nasty tiles which make it all look like a minor football club changing rooms; there are piles of beer crates in the bar giving the impression of a little-used store place. This is an impressive historic house with the potential for great splendour but has become a sad and seedy place inescapably reminiscent of the English comedy series Fawlty Towers. It barely rates a 3-star hotel, much less 4. The saving grace was that dinner was quite good, though the waitress service was grumpy, humourless and lacked all finesse. The sommelier was cheerful and informative but clearly run off his feet doing a mass of other jobs which meant he could not concentrate on his dinner guests. The prices are far too high, both for the dinner - breakfast was a mess and certainly not worth its price - and for the rooms. Overall, this hotel offers a bare and unimpressive minimum to charge the maximum: avoid staying here at all costs!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Lovely French atmosphere in and around hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved everything

    Lovely French atmosphere in and around hotel. Delicious, fun meal in hotel restaurant. Slightly oldie, worldie feel in hotel which added to the experience.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.5
    Evening staff were extremely nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower head holder missing meaning.

    Evening staff were extremely nice . Morning somewhat less when I just wanted to bring to their attention the defect in the shower, instead of thanking just went about their business. A smile and thank you van go a long way.. Food very good Hearty breakfast quiet

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    We only stayed the one night as this was a stopover...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We only stayed the one night as this was a stopover travelling to south Italy. The large mansion was beautiful inside and outside. The rooms were nice and clean, beds were comfy too. All the staff are very helpful and polite. We had a meal here that night which is a set menu of 6 courses that was delicious and very filling!!!! So thank you chefs. We saw a few reviews stating there was a train line nearby, but honestly, we got there about 3pm and left about 10:30am the next day and think we heard 2 trains go by the time we was there, so not a issue really. So really enjoyed our night here and wished we stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    Sean from Italy(?) reviewed this place and found everything...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was strangely intermittent and the bath was rather small, but at least there was one. I will return when next in the Lyon region.

    Sean from Italy(?) reviewed this place and found everything wrong with it. Must have been a bad day. The trains didn't bother me, the service was great, the dinner was delicious (at 23€ for 3 courses hardly a rip off), ditto breakfast and the staff were bilingual and charming. Maybe it's me.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little tatty. Wallpaper peeling off in spots, bathroom shower repaired with brown masking tape. Dingy corridor leading to the room.

    The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff in general, the waiters in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The waitress at breakfast was not so pleasant and didn't seem happy in her job. We were charged for two cheese plates, but I should have checked the bill, probably a genuine mistake.

    Very friendly staff in general, the waiters in the restaurant were great and attentive as we arrived late evening. Lovely place to stay and we used the pool before setting on our journey next morning. They were very child friendly. I recommend this place it has a good quality restaurant with a terrace outside and nice atmosphere, it's set in the beautiful French countryside.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi didn't work in the bedroom. The cleaners started hoovering at 9am - thought it was a bit early to be making noise when we were still in bed.

    Our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious. We went for the option that came with a glass of wine with each course. The wine choices went really well with the dishes that we had chosen.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel has an "old school" elegance to it.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The hotel has an "old school" elegance to it. The restaurant staff were very helpful and knew their products well. The food and wine were excellent. I would definitely stay here again. It was charming!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Lovely little country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None, perfect stay

    Lovely little country house

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.5
    Sympathy of the team and quality of prestations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Sympathy of the team and quality of prestations

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.9
    beautiful location, friendly staff, rooms are personalized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    water kettle was carbonated, has to be cleaned

    beautiful location, friendly staff, rooms are personalized by names (nice idea)

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: