Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel & Spa Château de l'ile 5 stars

4, Quai Heydt, 67540 Ostwald, France

#1 of 5 hotels in Ostwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, easy to get into Strasbourg by tram or car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good apart from hot selection which wasn’t refreshed adequately

    Great location, easy to get into Strasbourg by tram or car. Spa was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel quite expensive for what it is and the retaurant very dissapointing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant was terrible. After two and a half hours we left without having dessert. Also we were never even offered any water with out dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakfast with a nice view from the terrace, but too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wellness area did not deserve the name. Pool was ok, but the sauna area was very poor.

    Nice breakfast with a nice view from the terrace, but too expensive. We liked the charm of the hotel, but it is a bit old glory (bathroom requires refurbishment).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.5
    Easy to get to Strassbourg from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dinner at the restaurant was a bit disappointing. Choucroute more or less without taste. The vegetarian dish from my wife looked fine, but had a lot of cooking-water inside the dish.

    Friendly Staff, nice room and a small easter-gift on room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Fair hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is not big enough. Also with kids it was hard to keep quit as we have to since the spa was very close. Options for food are limited with two small resturants as well they were super expensive.

    The nature around is amazing. Dinner is luxury one but the price was very high

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful, charming and old world feel but with modern comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this property

    The atmosphere and the setting were relaxed but sophisticated. Beautiful location by the river. The regional set menu was pretty well-priced at 60 Euro for 4 courses, compared to other restaurants we experienced of the same calibre. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great experience and value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything and would definitely recommend this place!!

    The hotel was beautiful. The staff were exceptionally good-friendly and helpful and there were nice touches for our son and dog. The grounds were gorgeous and we enjoyed a simple cheese plate in the outdoor bar area which was perfect. The pool was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing and enjoyable stay, greatly enhanced by the lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely grounds, great to take breakfast on the terrace with greenery all around. Staff really friendly and helpful, they are such an asset to the hotel. Enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. Covered pool on the small side, so awkward to swim in when there are a few people in it, but otherwise it is fine. Lovely meals in the on-site Winstub-style restaurant and, surprisingly, prices and quality were very competitive with the restaurants in the town centre so that we were not tempted to dine out once we had eaten there. Well located for visiting Strasbourg - 5 minute walk to a good tram service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice woods with little trail surrounding the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were too mnay people and children in the pool with not enough chairs. Outside seating was especially limited so I was not able to enjoy the pool and the sun as I had hoped

    Nice woods with little trail surrounding the area. great weekend getaway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money, excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor point: the Spa is a bit outdated and rather small. The sauna is a tiny room that fits 3 people if everybody sits upright.

    Very nice green surroundings, roomy and clean bathroom, large parking in front of the entrance. The gourmet restaurant was excellent and the bar has a nice selection of cigares. We came for a romantic weekend and were not disappointed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay with the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No in room coffee and tea making facility.

    I traveled with my wife and our two year old toddler, we love it that the property is in a quiet area with big gardens for our little one to explore (we even spotted beavers and swans!). The team there was extremely welcoming and prepared even small gift pack for our son. We totally recommend this property!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    5.4
    Old, very old, very very old either as a property or service level
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Start investing money and competencies into the hotel before it dies Change the Chef in the restaurant immediately SLH should eliminate this hotel from it's list

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff throughout our stay, nice views, clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small Jacuzzi and the rooms/spa look a bit dated, no 5-star feeling inside.

    Very friendly staff throughout our stay, nice views, clean, large bathroom and great castle location, very romantic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    My Country Residence!! I wish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monday night no restaurant It cost E50 to get a restaurant in Sedan an back Good meal and very reasonable though

    Fantastic location, setting, Chateaux and grounds This is our second visit - dinner was good, breakfast ok!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Stop over visit on our way to the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    taxi into town was expensive €35 each way.

    Staff were excellent, really accommodating and cautious at all times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beds and lovely restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    not much to add -- basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs updating

    good breakfast dinner ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely touches included for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room View on the River
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely touches included for children. Pool was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Good service and good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room View on the River
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not good cost performance. There are only cold meal.

    Good service and good staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Will go back
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good friendly service, good dinner, good breakfast, very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym

    The bar the winstub the service really good people and helpful at the reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful garden, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are simple

    Beautiful garden, quiet Nice bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    My son (6 years) loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N.A.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Very kind especially to kids!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A little bit of paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was booked up...

    Absolutely everything!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Tied and expensive and would not return
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and Hotel furnishings are very old and tired, it was like going back in time, but that had another problem it smelt like it too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice historical building.very nice park.Kind staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great experience from arrival to departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall a great experience from arrival to departure. I would only say that it's not cheap but I felt I get the value as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet location very professional staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area too small

    Excellent food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.3
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room with View River or Village
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms very small, balcony dirty

    Almost everything perfect!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited plug sockets. Needed to unplug lights, TV, etc. to charge phones.

    Friendly staff. Super large bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool was extremely cold and the Jacuzzi was very small. The room was ok but I was expecting more from a 5 stars hotel.

    The location was great. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.3
    Good location, nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Property is getting very dated, could benefit from a refurbishment. Atmosphere in the bar equaled that of a bus station, with very bright lights which was a pity because the drinks and snacks were very good. Avoid the restaurant with young children, cause except if they're into 'grown-up' food there's really nothing for them, and what's there is totally overpriced.

    Good location, nice pool

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed had bed mites and we ended up with a few bites. The hotel needs to take care in the cleaning of the beds.

    Location Customer Service Pool Restaurant Parking

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    3.8
    Looks good from the Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi incredibly slow; too few SPA staff so no availability on two days running for any treatments; tiny and old fashioned TVs in "superior room"; 24 Euros for breakfast (!!); peeling wallpaper commonplace. Over sold, over-priced with over-the-top advertising blurb allowed on Booking.com.

    Looks good from the Booking.com photos.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    4.6
    The Chateau is beautiful outside, but inside is nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Chateau was nothing special, and there were many warehouse on the way there

    The Chateau is beautiful outside, but inside is nothing special. The food was good.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    great hotel, with atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great hotel, with atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly personnel. Clean, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    Everything was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was wonderful! Very festive for the holidays and staff was beyond helpful with directing us into town for the markets.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    The Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clearly not a 5 star Hotel, but the price is.

    The Spa

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast wifi garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast wifi garden

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.8
    Expensive breakfast , old building .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Large area river green landscape .

    Expensive breakfast , old building .

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Very kind and helpful staff, they upgraded us to more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very kind and helpful staff, they upgraded us to more spacious and comfortable suite and room.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: