Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau de Montvillargenne 4 stars

6 Avenue François Mathet, 60270 Gouvieux, France

#4 of 6 hotels in Gouvieux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings were worn and with holes, it was not easy to access or explore without a car as a taxi to travel only 3km was $30.

    Staff were excellent and building and grounds were interesting beautiful architecture but run down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nice and clean but rooms needs some modern touch and maybe renovation. Not a standard that you expect form 4 star hotel. The pool is very small and rapidly crowded when the guests arrive. With over 100 rooms you can imagine the crowd ! Also please note that they carry weddings during spring/summer weekends and this is a disaster. We were staying in this hotel over one of those weekends and the noise wakes you up and keeps you up at night. We were woken up at 1 and maybe managed to sleep again around 6. Again, not a standard and service that you expect for this price.

    Very nice area, close to the Chantilly castle. The hotel was clean, staff very nice and food (both restaurants/bar and breakfeast) tasty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please change the breakfast, you have an amazing property but breakfast is not so good, natural juice,...everything and please use the space in the terrace, empty and no place for.your guests outside where is the best experience. Thank you very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not feel comfortable when having dinner at hotel's restaurant. Personnel was not attentive to us and the service was really slow. Food ok but not spectacular. No free TV channels with movies in english

    Front desk and bar personnel are efficient and courteous. Impressive building. Wish we would have stayed for more days to enjoy the different amenities the hotel has

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't the one of any of the pictures advertised. the room was located at some forgotten corner of the chateau, it was old, old carpets, curtains, furniture, none of the beauties from pictures on website. Very small window and to look through it you had to stand on chair! Shower didn't have hot water pressure. Paper cups for tea only (4* standards?!). Stayed there 3-4th Dec, it's not high season. We are just married couple and wanted treat ourselves. highly disappointed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very beautiful but far from a 4*standard. The place is not that clean and the spa is horrible. The pool was dirty and the sauna was dirty there were even worms !!! Big big big disappointment !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast didn't look good for 20 Euro.

    Excellent staff. They were maybe understaffed, but the people you spoke with were very helpful. The grounds were amazing with fantastic views from chateau rooms. Annex was okay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Spa was dated.The pool was very small and cloudy.The steam and sauna rooms were small and not on at 07.00am. The room did not look like anything in the advertisement online. Very very expensive even for France.Not very good value for money.

    The restaurant food was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was awful.. The dining room was depressing. By 9.15 there was no cooked food and very little fruit left. The only option was bread or cake. As a result we cancelled a reservation for dinner.

    Good location in a park near Chantilly. Very spacious room with good views over the countryside. Large and well equipped bathroom. Easy parking but there is quite a walk to the hotel from the farthest point.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good but very expensive € 20,- p.p. The room was quite small and a problem to put the Luggage down.

    The accomodation is bride and frindly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the restaurant was not very good value. We had a set menu at 47 euros which wasn't good value. If you went for the al la carte menu you had more choice but expect to pay from 100 euros per person upwards and that is without drinks. Breakfast would give you the option of scrambled egg sausage and bacon, but unfortunately when we had breakfast the egg was cold and the bacon and sausage trays were empty and was not replaced. We may have just been unlucky.

    The hotel was extremely luxurious with amazing decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    - A door to an adjacent (service?) room kept being slammed from early morning until our departure. That was very much annoying. - Room provided with uncomfortable twin beds joined rather than an actual (full) bed, despite my specific written request. Not up to the standard expected from such place.

    - The property's neighborhood is very calm, silent and relaxing. - The property in itself is very exotic. - Appreciated the decoration and cleanness of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could have a small part in which young children can stand (100 cm deep, 135 cm is too deep). Interior of room and bar is a bit outdated/cheapish).

    Building, old room in which breakfast was served

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big, but the furniture and design looked like being in the Soviet Union in 1950 ! The swimming pool didn't look at all like the pictures on the website, very small, indoor , not very clean. No restaurant, only a bar, very noisy , very expensive light dinner. The overall impression was quite poor, glad we stayed only for one night.

    Green environment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well organized gives the impression there is no leadership or communication between personnel. Lots of flies everywhere and around breakfast that was uncovered and badly prepared and definitely not worthy for 20 euros per person

    Very beautiful property conveniently located

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was stuffy. Most of the rooms are in a low quality annex. The chateau is not the hotel. The annex is a bunker next to the hotel. The room was terribly hot and never cooled down. There was no soap. The pool was really small. It is not a lap pool at all. There is no refrigerator in the room. I could not keep water cold. No ice and it was terribly hot. The staff was merely performing perfunctory duties. There was no real interaction. All this for $200 a might? One word of advice: This is a tourist trap. Stay away.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a major refurbishment When we ordered a taxi, the reception called a limousine service which turned out 3 times more expensive : 30€ for a 5 minutes run !!! Some staff members not used to 4 star standards

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not normally give out but we were quite shocked at the hidden costs associated. We chose not to have breakfast the following morning but were charged €40.00 anyway as Chateau said it is charged whether you have it or not. I do feel the hotel should inform people when booking a room that this is extra. When I spoke to the Chateau from Dublin I asked could they give me a number to book a taxi or could they book a taxi to collect us from the airport on arrival on 18.03.17 which they kindly did. We were not informed it was a private company and it was over €100.00. On our return journey to the airport I thought it would be half the price as we were only going one way from the Chateau to the airport but surprise it was more expensive as it was a Sunday so it cost €115.00. I feel the hotel should inform people of this expensive service. Ireland is noted for being expensive but a drink for two people was €26.00 which in any language or Chateau is extortionate! Overall we did enjoy the short trip but not sure I will be going back.

    We were attending a wedding which was really lovely. We flew in on the 6.20am flight from Dublin and could not check into our room until approx. 3.00pm so we had breakfast which was lovely with a lot of choice and paid €20.00 per person. Also food ordered during the day was very good. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I went in December 2016 with my sister and niece (1 year old). It has been very easy to book a Baby-sitter, she was very qualified and we have been able thanks to that to have a great spa session and dinner without the baby. The restaurant is delicious and the service perfect. I recommend it with no hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside of the hotel does not match at all the beautiful outside. The rooms are very dated, decorated in cheap, disco-style, no charm and no taste. We didn't stay in the "castle" but the add-on bunker that has 60% of the rooms. Went to the gym and half the machines did not work. Decided to avoid the pool and "spa". Had initially paid for breakfast (€20 Euros per person!!), but having read some reviews and checked it out in the morning we made the right decision to avoid it and get our money back. It is not at all what we expected based on the photos and the price of the rooms.

    The outside facade. The locAtion. Then bed was comfortable. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small for the price we paid and it was cold on an october night The shower smels mold and the bathroom wasn't really clean Toilet's door was noisy

    The location and the place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at the hotel (at 20 euros per person) was a complete disaster. There was no food left when we arrived (20 mins before closing) & it took 30-40 mins for them the replenish the buffet (and clean cutlery, coffee cups, etc) quite begrudgingly for the last round of people. Very disappointed in the service and quality of the food for the price. We'd have been better off driving into town for a fresh croissant but opted to pay the hefty price in the interest of time and convenience. Ended up wasting both time and money for a yucky meal and yucky coffee. We ate from the bar for dinner and in contrast that food/experience was perfect!

    The room was lovely and the bed was super comfy. Beautiful grounds and well situated close to the beautiful Chateau Chantilly and a short drive/train ride to Paris. We didn't use the spa facilities but they looked really nice. My kids were disappointed that they didn't pack their bathing suits. Family room set up was great (two large adjoining rooms).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middel of nowhere. Once arriving at the property, one is isolated from the outsider would. Result? A hamburger at the Bar:24 Euro.

    Nice castle, within 45 min drive from Paris.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are overpriced and a bit dated, for what they are, which is a shame as it is a nice old building. I opted for the main building not the annexe though it wouldn't have been any different. We were looking forward to having dinner in their restaurant, though was told straight away it was booked out. We were tired from our drive so had a very simply meal in the bar, nice though nothing special. The breakfast was quite nice, though overpriced for what is was, $30 per person, the most expensive breakfast we had. There was no porter to help you with your bags. Lovely old building, though they need to improve there services and the rooms.

    NIce old chateau, in a good location to the Charles De Gaulle airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms are below expectations. Small and dark and no A/C. We were originally given a room that hadn't been cleaned from the night before! Housekeeping is very poor.

    Good location and very pleasant public rooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very good but very expensive.Bar also very expensive.

    Excellent rooms in chateau smaller in annexe but very different prices. Excellent staff. Good beds. Lovely grounds. Good breakfast but not cheap.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    If going to a gig at the Chantilly Chateau book a cab well in advance! The hotel team are really helpful but the local infrastructure is quite limited.

    Beautiful part of the country side. Friendly people. Room very comfortable and a cracking breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, the restaurant was amazing. Small room room without aircondition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have informed us in advance of wedding on the bottom floor - too much noise for a stay like this

    Beautiful Chateau

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights on the bathroom mirror too strong - causes headaches

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    The car park is 500 metres from the property our room was down a series of corridors and very small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    treatment at front desk but only by ine person. others were fine

    the bartender was lovely and helpful. front desk had some disagreeable aspects

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe more bikes to hire as they only had a few models there were large enough for adults.

    Great place. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costs of taxis and food

    Old worldie feel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The business center

    The bed was confortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely buffet breakfast. Great value if you travel with children as their breakfast is free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar a little crowded Food was good, but expensive, though you get what you pay for

    Good location Helpful staff Nice Breakfast Good quality meal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was supposed to call me back and never did it. A problem with our room...

    Nothing around you need a car

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have the chance to visit the pool or spa, so I cannot give an opinion.

    Breakfast was good. Restaurants was above average.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    impersonal; crowded; breakfast noisy and stressful

    Location; access to spa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels narrow forme in hotel.

    It is good atmosphere in the hotel.Old style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very dated and does not relate to the beautiful exterior of the chateau

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine!!

    Atmosphere excellent. At times staff at reception understaffed. Otherwise very happy lovely hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time very busy but there was a wedding on.

    Lovely bedroom. Dinner delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room VERY hot unable to sleep also could not turn the shower down to cold

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in the room. Not good when the weather is hot.

    The room was a good size but some of the common areas needed updating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more friendly and cheerfull.

    Beautiful hotel/castle, nice location (5 minute drive of Chateau Chantilly), nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were almost alone in the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Castle
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Building, staff, check-in/out

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fact that we were unable to occupy our rooms until 5 p.m.was unsatisfactory and the apparent difficulty in booking taxis was disappointing for a four star hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant. The entree and main were average to say the least and the dessert was absolutely terrible. Very dry and not correctly made. We all had different desserts and they were all not good. Obviously the photos on their website are bought stock photos and not the desserts and meals the kitchen creates. Very dissappointing. The turkish bath smelt bad.

    Beautiful building,

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved the property, the hotel and Chantilly. It is situated on the outskirts of Paris with easy access into Paris. Excellent breakfast. We are horse people and appreciated the racetrack and Thoroughbreds in the vicinity.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The "annex' turned out to be a concrete bunker with sod on top of it so, they used a sicking sweet product to cover the mildew smell. The bar where we ate a pizza and drank our beer out of the bottle was dingy and somewhat less than clean. Louzy!!! We left the next morning forfeiting our $250.00 for the next night. All in all, this was just a big rip off and bait and switch. I have worked for a major airline for 42 years and will let anyone know to stay away from booking.com and his property

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel looks good on the picture but does not reflect the reality, the service is awfull especialy the front desk. Once arriving there with my wife, the hotel manager told us that no lunch table or dinner table were available as the restaurant were full. Even having paid one of the biggest room category and the hotel manager told us to go to Chantilly by Taxi and eat there. It was totally unacceptable to us and we asked for a refund which were rejected and at the end, The front desk said that they would call the french police if we were not stoping complaining. So basically this hotel presuming being 4-5 stars sell you rooms at a very expensive price but does not let you have lunch or dinner due to the high frequency of local people. It s the worst experience ever and I would not recommend it to anyone. They have distroyed our 10th year wedding anniversary.

    Nothing !!! terrible do not go there it was the worst experience ever !!!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner not good. Although one main course not charged the problem was not dealt with satisfactorily, young waitress floundering with no backup from superiors.

    Very good bedroom and bathroom facilities

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud event kept me up all night. Restaurant is not very good, don't bother.

    Place is nice, clean, good location for the last day before a flight out of CDG.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This year we had a room in the annex which was ok but a bit basic and not really reflected in the price.

    This was our second stay at Montvillargene for a triathlon at nearby Chantilly and we would definitely stay here again. The setting is lovely and although it is a very large hotel it manages to have a quiet and calm atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had more luxurious 3 star rated rooms in other hotels. The facilities and general interior need refurbishment, the pool is ok but changing area is poor. Breakfast is well over priced.

    The location, building and gardens are beautiful

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor leisure facilities - no outdoor lounging area to speak of Fireworks from weddings up until midnight, guests drinking outside until 3am. Luckily the noise of our fan on full blast to keep cool with no air con helped!

    Beautiful looking hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mrs Lucy who openly funs at people, unlike the other in the staff who are very professional .

    Excellent crew except a disagreeable Mrs Lucy, and cleaning crew comes to your room without letting you know, they come at anytime in the day, open the door without knocking.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was not ready when we arrived after lunch so had to use swimming pool changing rooms to get ready to go out. Restaurant was dissapointing, service was slow and the food average and overcooked for the price. Room was nice but quite stuffy, needed the fan on all night, air conditioning would be an improvment.

    Beautiful location and large spacious room with good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mini fridge was not cold... Otherwise I'd have had the champagne!!

    The facilities, grounds and building in general were BEAUTIFUL! It made the wedding absolutely perfect.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Over priced. not luxury, room was hot, parking no where near reception. Coaches parked outside, warming engines early in morning ( ie noisy) made it feel like a stop on an autoroute. over priced compared to other 4 star hotels.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room didnt have AC and was very hot and sticky Little high on the price for the actual room we got. Breakfast at 20 Euros per person seemed a bit high

    Beautiful building, amazing setting, tremendous gym facilities, and very very convenient for CDG Paris international airport.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice enough but all a bit dated. Spa disappointing so don't choose the hotel for this reason. Rooms very warm and no air conditioning. Breakfast expensive for what is provided and same charge of 20 euro for a four year old who eats 2 mini croissants and a piece of fruit!

    Nice location. Very pretty building. Comfortable beds and good room for families.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airco in the hotel, but they are working on it. Wegen booking a room be sure to choose a room in the castle and nog in the annex building.

    The effort of the staff to make our stay as good as possible. Thank you Stephanie. Parking and wifi free.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in the annex, the room was lovely but warm like an oven. Ridiculous, when in the room we held the bedroom door open to allow air in, we also put the electric fan to the rondo to get cooled air in.

    Fantastic location in a beautiful place.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The classic rooms are very small and near the staff area. No aircon that we could feel.

    The restaurant terrace was amazing and in a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard room I paid 233€ per night for, is not a room in the chateau as implied by the grandiose photos on the web, but a cell in a low-ceilinged annexe resembling a prison camp rather than a hotel. To obtain a decent room, still nothing special, I had to pay a supplement of 150€ per night. Two nights in this dump ended up costing me 766€, a far cry from value for money, which probably needs reviewing by a consumer association.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I was annoyed to find out that the breakfast which had been added in my initial booking was not carried over when my booking dates were amended. This caused issue at checkout.

    Location & ambience

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath had some limescale around the tub where the connections are for the jacuzi. The curtains in the bathroom were very dirty, it was a bit disgusting.The pool could have been a bit warmer.

    The castle is Beautiful, very nice setting. The food was wonderful . The pool facilities were good, we liked the way that you can relax next to the pool.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar menu could of been better

    The food was to die for

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Receptionist absent when we arrived

    location and lovely castle

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive breakfast

    Lovely for a treat, fantastic rooms and beautiful gardens

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms a little tired. Restaurant nothing special and avoid breakfast as a melee.

    Setting was great

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chateau de Montvillargenne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: