Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Salettes 4 stars

Château de salettes, 81140 Cahuzac-sur-Vère, France

#5 of 5 hotels in Cahuzac-sur-Vère

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that we had reserved a room within the chateau and were put in an extension room completely separate from the chateau. It was like staying in a self catering apt which was not our intension and left us feeling completely isolated from the chateau. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, Although, the jacuzzi bath did not work properly as the air intake knob has ceased. I found the bed uncomfortable as the mattress was very hard. My husband thought it was Ok. The TV did not have any international channels, other than BBC and CNN News and the other relevant channels did not convert to the original Language which is now a very common feature in hotels and quite frustrating for my husband who does not understand French. Unfortunately, due to suffering from food poisoning from a restaurant the night before arriving, I was not well enough and we could not experience the gastronomic restaurant. Based on the above, overall, the overnight stay was disappointing, especially due to not having experienced staying in the actual chateau. We did however appreciate that we had called ahead to request an earlier check in than the official 4pm due to me not being well and our room was ready. Our advice is to double check with the chateau in advance that you are getting the room you believe you actually booked. On check out, I mentioned our disappointment to the gentlemen on reception regarding not being in the chateau and being quite dismissive, he remarked, ‘the rooms are all the same’ followed by the bill and pointing out ‘this is your half price room rate’. So unprofessional and to be honest rude! They set the rates.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of room very reasonable, but everything was then an extra charge, like breakfast and spa. Better to be honest and charge more but include from the start. Add spa and breakfast almost doubles the rate.

    Seclusion and quiey

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on the bed was thin and poor quality. One of the reading lamps at the bed was broken off and not replaced. For this price one expects better quality/maintenance. Website said that restaurant was open but upon arrival it turned out that it was still closed because season had not yet started. Many competitors clearly mention this on their websites: not doing this is a misleading and unacceptable omission

    The old castle which was left unaltered at the outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was very small and jacuzzi not very hot - and not included in the price of the room so expect to pay more. The food in the restaurant was good - really delicious - but it wasn’t cheap. There’s nowhere near to have an evening meal and so you have to eat there. Breakfast was very average and not cheap - check to make sure it’s included in your price. Overall it’s ok, but overpriced for what you get.

    We stayed for one night while on a long weekend exploration of the area. The staff were excellent. The Sommelier gave a great wine tasting (every evening at 6:30pm) and then gave great advice on wines with our dinner. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was very disappointing and not good value for money.

    Our lovely welcome and the room was very nice. Beautiful setting with stunning outdoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very family friendly. Very big room but couldn't add another bed for an additional child. Should just come clean and say not really recommended for families

    Beautiful and serene setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was disappointing, both after supper and at breakfast. The room was lovely, but the bed was pretty hard, and the wooden surround, whilst nice to look at, insured a collection of bruises on legs, unless you were really careful! The bathroom needs an fixture on the wall for the shower attachment.

    Lovely staff, all very helpful, beautiful surroundings, nice pool. Wonderful meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our visit the weather was exceptionally hot but we found the swimming pool to be difficult to access down stone and then many wooden stairs, from which I got a splinter in my hand whilst just looking. Some members of staff very superior in manner.

    Lovely contemporary décor. Nice setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have had my small moan about the breakfast rolls...inedible bullets! But I would return to this hotel tomorrow.

    Wonderful experience, food really sophisticated, breakfast rolls the only failure. Staff were charming and very helpful. I loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have a basin in the room with the toilet. Bath plug didn't fit particularly well so water ran away during bath. A piece was missing from the bath tap and the mirror was cracked. I don't know if there was a chance to get clothes ironed or borrow an iron - maybe I should have asked - but that would have been useful.

    Comfortable bed. Gardens. Flowers. Pool. Views. Quiet. Clean. Peaceful. Modern.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not practical in design. You could not stand to have a shower as there was no shower curtain/divider - so, unless you sat in the bath, water would go all over the bathroom. Consequently, you couldn't really shower properly. The bathroom also contained the only window in the whole room without a blind - albeit small, we found this very strange and had to be careful when getting in and out of the shower... The hotel restaurant was only open one evening when we were there, which meant driving a fair distance to a nearby restaurant on the other night. When the restaurant was "shut", they were obviously entertaining guest as there were some people dining there, but they refused to provide any food in the form of room service to guests staying in the hotel - not really what you expect of a hotel of this quality.... if the staff are in the kitchen I'm surprised that they can't make two extra dishes (especially when they are only cooking for a group of c. 10 people)...

    It was a wonderful location, with stunning views when bathing in the pool. The hotel was very quiet and you couldn't help but relax when you were there. The bed was very comfortable. The wine from the chateau's own vineyards was very nice and a special touch to accompany what was a very nice meal in the hotel restaurant. The sommelier in the restaurant was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the wine he was serving, chatting to us in detail about how they make their wine and what the good years were. There are lots of pretty villages in driving distance from the hotel, which make for nice day trips.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor with little choice,stale baguettes and definitely not value for money and by far worst part of the stay

    Hotel setting was excellent though not busy ambiance was good. Dinner a bit pretentious but taste was good. Pool was a definite bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was delicious but expensive, the cheapest menu was 46euros and 8euros for a glass of wine from the chateau. The rooms could be cold with no heating at the time of our trip, mid September, Only hand held shower head in the bath, so impossible to have a shower and all the rooms were the same. Outside, the pool was beautiful but access is down steep steps and so impossible for anyone with mobility difficulties. Nowhere to sit and have a drink or tea except outside,.

    Food excellent but very expensive. Lovely bedroom with large bed and lovely linen. Top quality fittings and décor. Lovely views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I highlight the problem solving attitude of staff, they really took care of us during our stay, and did their best to solve some issues we faced with.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is expencief and we did eat better for less money in other places

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast

    Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Excellent stay, with a chef par excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful staff. The lovely wines and food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner extremely formal - need a more relaxed option for families with young children

    Beautiful property, stunning views, nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service professional but not particularly welcoming Sophisticated food but repetitive "mise en bouche"

    Stunning place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more imagination with the breakfast options would be great.

    Total peace and quiet. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outlets for the hairdryer didn't work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful chateau in the middle dale of a vineyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu at restaurant, quality of dinner , value

    Countryside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no lounge areas

    It was very relaxing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Preferred a real shower

    Very quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great environment, very nice staff, clean and great restaurant .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making machine in the room for the mornings

    Super quick check in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bizarrely, a wonderful bathroom but no shower only a shower head off taps. Did not ruin our stay though! I am not sure in England you would get away with a loo one side of the bed in the hall and the bathroom off the other side without a hand basin in the loo but I am being really picky! Its France after all.

    food and restaurant , style of room (v modern), beds

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was nothing to dislike.

    Nice and quite with lovely views. Could not fault the food at the restaurant. The room was spotless and warm. Staff were all very helpful and were willing to speak english.. Would have no hesitation to return or recommend.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was rock hard - literally the worst mattress ever. Other guests at the wedding we were at who were staying here were also commenting on this. There was no actual shower so you had to stand in the bath and use the hand shower Restaurant - way too fussy, no food on room service and the only menu was a 5 course tasting menu. No bar - so you couldn't just get a drink and sit somewhere. They didn't replenish the toiletries so ran out of shower gel on the 3rd day. They had taken all the medieval character out of the chateau and replaced the bathroom and bedroom furniture with cheap pine. A 4* hotel, this is not!

    The close proximity to the venue of a wedding we were going to. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Beautiful location and views - ask for a room on the 1st floor otherwise you if on the ground floor you can here everyone above you as there are no carpets, only marble floors.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All a bit too formal. No bar to get a glass of wine without having to eat. Restaurant had extremely limited menu which was expensive for what it was. WiFI was patchy!

    Fantastic location in the middle of a vineyard. Pool idyllic, and the rooms beautifully renovated and decorated.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gardens were untidy with scruffy plastic furniture scattered around. The service in restaurant was a little too formal, it was quite difficult to relax. WiFi was a bit like a treasure hunt. A bit too much style over content.

    The location is very beautiful overlooking rolling hills of vineyards and farmland. The staff are excellent. Great wine.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A little bit complicated with the food. Would have liked a small meny available at more hours or simply some olives to have with the wine.

    Welcoming staff and beautiful house in winegrape suroundings. Extra points for welcoming the dogs with a mat and waterbowl.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safe in room not fixed in place ran out of pool towels tv had only canal plus tuned so needed retuning no help with bags on exit Children allowed so was noisy around pool

    Pool in vineyard restaurant very good lovel location and outlook

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous restaurant, staffed by professional team. The location, scenery and pool were all fantasic. Service was laid back but if you asked for anything, service was very efficient.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were beautifully appointed and the restaurant was superb with attentive and knowledgeable staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cutting edge design of 20 years ago feels dated especially bathrooms.

    Excellent cuisine and wonderful and restful setting.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy children splashing and dive bombing in the swimming pool

    Amazing restaurant

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfully quiet.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    The whole experience was more than we expected, location, service, food & wine. A great treat. Thank you.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: