Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Châtellerie De Schoebeque 4 stars

32 Rue Foch, 59670 Cassel, France

#4 of 4 hotels in Cassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome in the beautiful Chatellerie, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome in the beautiful Chatellerie, good parking and very helpful staff!! Rooms are as expected in such a manorial Chatellerie - very stylish and comfortable furniture :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.0
    One night good. Second night poor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room evasion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had only stayed one night would have given excellent but second day they had a conference and got very flustered. Restaurant was closed to all other guests, having earlier said it was open (few other choices in Cassel except at the weekend). And following morning breakfast was nothing like the day before. At 8.30 had run out of most ingredients and forgotten to turn on the hot plate so stone cold eggs. Staff were very apologetic

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Views to die for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    The village has just been voted best village in France. It got a few good restaurants and lots of bars. Get the right room in the hotel and the view is to die for, they are on par with Tuscany.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel where the attention to detail shows. Well located for us, a hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the garden has lovely felt you were not encouraged to use the garden, insufficient seating would be amazing if the pool was in use.

    Lovely old building beautifully furnished inc the rooms. Stunning restaurant excellent food. Good location walking distance to town centre and museum. Lovely views from the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt breakfast was overpriced for what was offered, but there was enough to eat and choose from.

    Room lovely, and very spacious. Bed comfortable. Excellent dinner in restaurant with fabulous views over Flanders Fields. All staff friendly & very helpful. Comfortable residents lounge and small bar area. Easy walking distance to town square with a good choice of restaurants. Some restaurants only open for lunch though, not dinner. Parking for 4 cars in the hotel courtyard, which we used, but we were told there is additional parking at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Our toilet didn’t work, the hot tap was loose in bathroom, breakfast was appalling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most other things. The lady onthefto t desk was just too miserable. Our bathroom was not clean (look above your head) toilet didn’t work and breakfast was dreadful

    The view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    This is a nice hotel with very over the top French naff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the night we stayed most of the restaurants were closed and so we ate at the hotel. The prices were quite high for food and wine.

    This is a nice hotel with very over the top French naff decoration. Having said that the views from our window were stunning and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice historic building with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room evasion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have notified us that there was a wedding that night , so there was no possibility to have dinner

    Nice historic building with a beautiful view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Pleasant hotel but clearly understaffed and some fairly significant deficiencies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neglected and difficult to access hotel garden with a few chairs covered in bird droppings. Bartender didn’t know how to mix a gin & tonic ! We were shown the residents’ drawing room on arrival but when we wanted to relax there after dinner, we were told that it was not available after 9pm.

    Lovely location, nicely furnished and plush bedroom, excellent views. Attractive restaurant where we had a decent if not outstanding dinner and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to visit and best hotel in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi strength was great but you had to keep signing back in

    Views and hotel restaurant in the evening where the food was excellent and relaxed but efficient service great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.9
    Dreadful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience.

    Hotel ok. The bedroom needs updating , very dangers layout. The design is dreadful having three angled steps to the bed area. Toilet situated behind a curtain and a sunken bath which feels awkward. Would not recommend that particular bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is in a beautiful setting; it is a shame that the service and facilities do not match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room tired. Dinner poor (only 3 choices for each course and for the main course, 2 were fish and one was duck!). Poor wine menu. Spa unavailable. Room not cleaned properly - coffee cups not changed, toiletries and loo paper not replenished, flaky paint on ceiling, Shower unit breaking, water pressure intermittent, 3Euro charge for small bottle of water is ridiculous.

    The member of staff who looked after us and the view from our room. The town is very pretty and the decor was charming in the main hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall the hotel did not disappoint, and I would recommend it, we had a very enjoyable stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the hotel breakfast to be poor value for money. Poor variety for 17 Euros per head. Our experience at breakfast did not encourage us to try the restaurant in the evening.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, we had amazing views from our bedroom, our room was very comfortable. We found the staff to be very helpful. It was very good being able to park in the hotel courtyard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Very grand old hotel with lots of history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real drawback was that the beautifully appointed dining room with a massive panoramic view across Flanders, was only open for groups and special occasions (e.g. weddings). The town centre, however, is less than five minutes away on foot and has ample excellent restaurants.

    Very grand old building! There were elegant furnishings throughout, reflecting the considerable history (Foch, Haig, George V), especially WW1. There were also contemporary rooms - mine was Moulin Rouge! The room was beautifully furnished, if perhaps a little short on lighting! The gardens and grounds are magnificent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Historic hotel in wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the other rooms seemed very strange to us - only a curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom & toilet area and somewhat bizarre furnishings - but the room we had (Pompadour) was fine

    Food was very good; restaurant had wonderful,panoramic views; our bedroom was very comfortable and also had wonderful panoramic views over the Flanders plains

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Trying to be fair but, unfortunately, disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room evasion
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mixed the reservations so at first they did not have our reservation in place. As "compensation" they gave us their best room, but they told us we would have to change to a different room in our last day. Then in the other room, the bath filter was leaking lots of dust making the water black. I would not complain really as the employees apologized and were friendly but in our last day they requested us to park the car in the back parking instead the front one, we did thinking it was not allowed to park there but it was because they had other guest with a Porsche to park there... different class from past centuries apparently. Disappointing specially because the prize of the rooms is much higher than what you get. One girl there was the only very professional. Good for her.

    The employees were friendly and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    French old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just starting to look a little tired when you look very closely

    The views from the restaurant were fantastic and the old world charm of the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    6.7
    Overnight stay, glorious sunrise.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining / breakfast area cold. Parking seemed to be only for 4 cars with very tight entrance.

    Room period style and quirky, reasonable size, comfy bed, seating, desk and mini bar. Heating responsive. Good views. Nice staff (some good at English) Dinner cooked with food from market - menu and food good but restricted choice. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    From Aire-sur-la-lys to Cassel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpark a bit tight. Floorboards very sqeeky.

    Large comfortable room. Large shower. Wonderful staff. Views to die for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was charming!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Just very pleasant and more comfortable and luxurious than anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    The fantastic location. Wonderful views and very comfy room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Cassel stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Waited for our late arrival (23:00) very helpful, served us late drink too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access to the historical town which is an entrant in top villages of France 2018

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful room and a fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was low season there was almost nothing open. One person worked the front desk and the bar area.

    Beautiful room and a fantastic view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    All rooms decorated differently based on famous French ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms decorated differently based on famous French people, wonderful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite historique prestige
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was not open. Very staff around

    The location was stunning. The local area,restuarants / Bars were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room elegance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent all round

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    7.5
    The room was comfortable, with great views over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being out of season both the hotel and the town were very quiet. We hadn't realised that dinner was not offered, and many of the restaurants in town were also closed.

    The room was comfortable, with great views over the surrounding countryside. Friendly and helpful staff. Onsite parking.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our last night in France and was supposed to be our splurge night. We have stayed in Cassel before and we had promised ourselves to stay in what we thought was the top hotel in the village. How wrong we were. It's a beautiful building that promises more than it delivers. The room we were given has to be one of the most bizarre we have ever stayed in. The room we thought we had booked was in the traditional French style. The one we were given couldn't have been less so. Most of the large floor space was taken up with three high wooden steps up to a futon bed. This arrangement was mainly to accommodate a rather pointless sunken bath at the foot of the bed. Worse still the en suite was concealed in the corner behind a transparent shower curtain. I don't care how long you have been together, some things should remain private. Breakfast was fine but a tad expensive at 17 euros each. The WiFi was difficult to hook up to. The young staff were all very pleasant. We stayed in early September and the hotel was almost empty and thus lacking in atmosphere. I have no idea what the other bedrooms look like but room 34 has had an unfortunate makeover.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Enjoyed early morning swim and view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All at hotel was good

    Enjoyed early morning swim and view from our room We liked the old world French charm of this place and will look to come back again to stay for longer

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    The location, decor and French ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was tired and was a disabled room even though we did not request this. The breakfast was basic.

    The location, decor and French ambiance. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful and pleasant hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and pleasant hotel staff. We loved the extensive views from the rear of the hotel, gardens, architecture of the hotel and its interesting history. The town is pretty. It's worth spending some time to visit the shops and the windmill and to look around at the buildings.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Great location and very nice rooms with views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cost of a taxi to take us 3 miles was £30! We were not warned about this by the Concierge.

    Great location and very nice rooms with views.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    The character of the hotel and its setting, and we like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The character of the hotel and its setting, and we like Cassel. It is very convenient for starting a visit to France from the UK

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location and views....large, clean rooms....very french! Staff friendly and helpful (little English though...)

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Fabulous facilities and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous facilities and setting

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Banging my head. The plumbing.

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    The room was lovely the best we have stayed in , including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking was the only downside

    The room was lovely the best we have stayed in , including the HILTON we stayed in in the UK!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: