Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Chez Charles 4 stars

Route De Calvi, 20260 Lumio, France

#3 of 8 hotels in Lumio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Owner on site makes all of the difference in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything.

    Our first trip to Corsica and first hotel in Corsica. I can sum up our thoughts regarding Chez Charles with a quick story about check in. Our lovely staff person greeted me with a smile and when I asked did she require a credit card for check in she stated..."All we really need here is a guest with a smile" In today's day of skeptics and critics to receive a perfectly honest and inspiring check in response paved the way for our entire stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Between the Mountains and the Sea there is a special place called Chez Charles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This a wonderful boutique hotel conveniently located in the village of Lumio which is between Calvi and L'lle Rousse, the high mountains and the Ligurian Sea. It is a short drive to the Sainte-Catherine Airport and a short drive to the hillside villages of Corbara and Pigna as well as to the beach town of Algajola and the Punta Spano wildlife reserve. If you are a hiker, there is a wonderful hike that begins in the hotel parking lot and heads up to the ruins of the village d'Occi, and many other hikes for all levels. A car is advisable and there is amble parking. The hotel is chic contemporary in design. We had a superior room which was quite lovely. The bed was large, mattress comfortable and comfortable pillows. The view out our window was a spectacular view of Calvi Bay in the distance. The hotel is located on a main road but if your room is facing the sea and road as ours was if you close the windows, you hear nothing. The wifi worked fine. There is a wellness spa. There is also a beautiful pool that has a bar opened during the summer months. There is another bar on the first floor by the reception area with terrace seating as well as indoor seating. The hotel offers a breakfast which is excellent and for lunch and dinner you can dine at the Michelin-rated Restaurant L'Oggi which is located in the hotel and has indoor and terrace dining. We had an absolutely fabulous lunch, indeed I would label it as one of the top culinary experiences I've had in my life - outstanding service, presentation, and the food was delicious and fantastically creative. Romain Roland, the chef, is an artistic genius. There are other excellent restaurants that are close by car. The staff of the Hotel is friendly, helpful and highly professional. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant but overpriced and lacking in atmosphere. Please please please kill the Muzak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in restaurant, food excellent but overpriced. They would do much better if they lowered their prices eg 20% discount for residents, and maybe for locals out of season to give the place the buzz it needs

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel in a bit busy street!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Expensive restaurant (very fine dining) - Very noisy room - Earplugs is a must! - Weird smell in the room - bad ventilation? - Right next to the main road which means that relaxing at the pool is not too relaxing noise wise. - Slightly on expensive side for what you get.

    - Great pool area - Serviceminded staff - Luxury feel in the hotel. - Very close drive to Calvi and also close to the food stores like Carrefour. - Very close to some nice vineyards (Clos Culombu - recommended to visit!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    I think the concierge might have had more knowledge of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I put it above. i liked the design and scale of the hotel. the room was lovely and very precise. the view was good from my room

    I think the concierge might have had more knowledge of things to do and places to eat in the area. the continental breakfast had very little fresh fruit. none cut

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room with a small window facing the stairs where the staff is taking a break for a coffee and a cigarette, the pillows are not comfortable as the fridge didn't work (and the staff couldn't offer a solution). Overall I would expect more from 4 stars hotel

    The location is convenient if you have a car, to go to Calvi as well as to the nice beaches around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    3.8
    Paint is coming off the walls, smell in the corridors is bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint is coming off the walls, smell in the corridors is bad, lighting is insufficient, and traffic in front of the hotel is quite bad even during off-season.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.8
    Price vs. Value not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. Pool not very attractive. Very lood due to main road just in front. Restaurant very expensive. Ice Coffee for 7 Euro was just a glass of cold old coffee - no icecream or whipped cream. Overall very disappointing..

    Nice view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    6.7
    Good location, design boutique hotel, but expensive for services provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast very expensive (!) doesn't match hotel and restaurant' standards: no hot food (just boiled eggs!), lack of choices of fruit, cheese and ham, very poor! Hotel rather expensive.

    Convenient location, half way between Calvi and l'Ille Rousse, great to explore that part of Corsican coastline. Nice design hotel, friendly staff. High quality michelin star restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    The very best off hotels with the very best of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, fabulous sea views from an equally fabulous room, the best varied breakfast we"be ever had, wonderful restaurant & pool all topped off with smiling, gracious & highly professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel in Corsica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location at the main road so that it gets noisy with open windows. Standard room a bit small for a family with a baby. Breakfast is overpriced for the offered variety.

    Great sea view. Nicely decorated neat hotel. Michelin star restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets are not changed daily

    Excellent breakfast. Fresh local products

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    Great Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a shower Swimming pool, bar closed, ashtrays overflowing unemptied

    The bed was super comfy The restaurant was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Great pool with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper shower in our bedroom

    Great pool with fantastic views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Its all about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its all about the food. And its good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    A lovely stay and a superior restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quieter main road at night!

    Lovely hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautifull hotel, lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull view, but located on a busy road

    Beautifull hotel, lovely room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Luxury hotel with an excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy (The hotel overlooks the main road)

    Clean and neat. The view is awesome! Moreover the restaurant is outstanding

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    4.2
    The hotel is on a very busy and noisy road, so we heard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is on a very busy and noisy road, so we heard traffic all day despite being on the 3rd floor. The rooms were on the small side, and there was nothing to justify the price we paid. I've paid much less, for much better service. Very disappointing, and I regret having spent time and money there.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing.

    Just about everything. Truly. We liked every aspect of your facilities and, especially, the friendly and helpful staff. (Perhaps you could have improved the weather!)

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is very modern and beautiful designed with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very modern and beautiful designed with very high standard. The location in Lumio is stunning view of calvi bay. Hotel Chez Charles is a perfect choice for having holidays in Calvi region. We stayed here for 4 nihghts and took the half board for 2 nights ( 78€/ person/day which is very fair price. We enjoyed Breakfast at the terrace with panoramic view and Dinner in L' OGGI, michelin Restaurant.) The hotel staffs were very friendly and the room is very clean and well designed. The owner of the hotel was very kind too. For choosing the roomcategories , we have choosed the sea view which we could here the noise at the street, even at nigt time...but we got used to after first night and it is worth for having panoramic view on this side. If you have problem with the noise, you might choose the mountain view. or you could closed the window and switch on the air condition. The swimmingpool is temperated and also have panorama view. Conclusion: If you want to have somethings special for your holidays, Hotel Chez Charles is the right place.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this hotel. The staff is amazing and hardworking ,very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel has amazing views over the bay of Calvi, the hotel is super-clean and has a great Guide Michelin restaurant. Breakfast is good, beds are comfortable and they have proper duvets and nice products in the bathroom. The bar is cool with a vast variety of drinks from all over the world and they have a good winelist. The location of the hotel is perfect - near all activities, a lovely beach and on the main road - which is a plus.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    We had a nice time at Chez Charles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a nice time at Chez Charles. The hotel is a short drive from the main town, but the view is really nice and it looks over the port of Calvi. Dinner here was excellent and Henri the bartender was really attentive and very helpful. Our room was very nice and clean, and they gave us a complimentary bag of local cookies which we enjoyed! The pool was also very nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Everything was as though this were a fancy spa and yet only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was as though this were a fancy spa and yet only $100/night!A Wonderful heated pool, slippers and robes, terrific breakfast, lotions, kleenex, huge room with beautiful view...nothing was missing. I will return to this area only to stay longer here!!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.2
    Noise from road traffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from road traffic

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Loved the restaurant. Excellent service. Great facility

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    6.7
    very small room, it doesn't fit with my expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small room, it doesn't fit with my expectation

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Cleanliness

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Hôtel Chez Charles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: