Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Rose 3 stars

Le Bourg, 69840 Juliénas, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Juliénas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely property, but we spent very little time there. We arrived at 9:25pm and were told that the kitchen was closed, however, they offered us cold meats and cheese. We ordered 2 plates each, 4 in total, 2 puds and a €25 bottle of wine. Our food bill came to €117!!! Daylight robbery.

    Great shower Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful and agreeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cricism because I very much the peace and quiet of the Beaujolais region.

    I liked the location especially the convenience of visiting the beautiful city of nearby Macon where unusually one can drive into the city and find available and free parking without problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a comfortable stay in Chez La Rose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We had a comfortable stay in Chez La Rose. We arrived rather late, but were just in time to have dinner in the restaurant. The food and the service there were very good. We had booked the small room, which was perfect for us, the room was situated in another house across the street. The room was quiet and the bed was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    We'd go back there. It's well located, convenient, and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only disappointment was with dinner the one night we ate at there. Two of us ordered chicken dishes and they came out quite dry. Having extra sauce helped, but overall it was not up to expectations.

    The place is clean, comfortable and well located. The lady who owns the place is very welcoming and speaks English very well, having spent two years in England. Julienas is a pretty little village, well located for visiting this pretty region.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    La Rose - a beautiful place to stay. We recommend it any time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was lovely!

    We absolutely loved everything about this place. The staff is incredibly courteous and helpful. We were greeted with big smiles, the room was perfectly clean and cosy (fast Internet is available, too). Breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful setting. The owner also gave us a wonderful tip to visit nearby sites. Julienas is stunningly beautiful. It´s a fairy tale setting. We will be back for sure. La Rose is an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Our room was away from the main hotel and down a street to...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was away from the main hotel and down a street to our room which had a lot of stairs so beware when you book here if you have issues with mobility and stairs. The parking was on the main square or you had to pay to park in the garage which we did but once your in if people park after you your stuck till they come and take their cars out. The room was small but comfortable The restaurant was very nice and the staff friendly and bi lingual but on our stay the food was very average but the wine choice was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous location in a tiny village surrounded by vineyards. We ate at the restaurant next door for lunch, and in the hotel restaurant for dinner. Both were excellent. Try the wine tasting at the converted church down the road. €1 for a small glass of wine. The white beaujolais was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We very much enjoyed our stay at Chez Rose hotel. The welcome was warm and genuine, the room spotless, well equipped and very comfy. The breakfast was very good and enjoyed outside on a terrace. We also very much enjoyed the excellent restaurant, the village and general location. I hope we can return to this little gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    All memory of Rose erased.
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner pretentious, overpriced, appeared as though served direct from supermarket shelves, a sad shadow of a once great, generous, joyful restaurant. Would help if chef could learn to boil an egg. Bedding insufficient for a cold night. (A recurring French hotel problem). TV & internet not functioning.

    Good clean room with pretty outlook. Plentiful hot water. Bed/lighting acceptable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay in the heart of Julienas. Good room, excellent dinner
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 euros per pet is a bit steep. However nice to find places acceptimg dogs.

    Beautiful and convenient hotel in the very center of the village. The room in adjacent building was spacious and clean. Our two dogs enjoyed it too. Dinner was superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Quiet, comfortable and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have more vegetarian options on the menu - the potential is there with the wonderful hummus.

    The 'small' room was small but very comfortable and had a roomy and beautifully equipped bathroom, both very clean. View over vineyards and quiet village location. Dinner was superb - beautiful fresh cod on a bed of vegetables all cooked to perfection, and a spicy hummous the likes of which we've never tasted before. Breakfast was likewise delicious, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made preserves, lovely bread. Overall we loved the eco philosophy and all the care put into sourcing lovely local products. Service was warm and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay in Julianas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Residence Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment was very comfortable and airy and nicely laid out. we had a very comfortable night sleep. We hope to go there again. The restaurant was pretty good too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Charming hotel in peaceful landscapes surrounded by vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in the heart of a charming village amongst vineyards and beautiful peaceful surroundings with scenic views. The staff were friendly and the bathrooms were all newly renovated. Within walking distance were wine tasting places and small bakeries with tasty pastries.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    I enjoy the location now the third time. good price performance ratio, excellent cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Service Flexibility and friendliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Great address to stay when visiting the Beaujolais region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better

    The really scenic location, the room size, cleanliness, and comfort. The food in the Restaurant was really excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Staff. Very welcoming environment. Lovely pool. Great food and wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    It was excellent and I hope to be able to return for another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was extremely friendly to my grandson, who is 2 1/2 years old. I appreciated that greatly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    ok for a stopover but not as a destination for more than a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu choice, breakfast overpriced, needs updating

    the location and the room layout. Staff good bed comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minute shower

    Location, and a fantastic receptionist

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location on the wine tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our dinner was disappointing. Not weaht we expected

    The whole ambience, a warm welcome with charming staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Small, friendly hotel in one of the Grand Cru
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room in annex although had all facilities

    The helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with a very nice restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town had very little to see and visit.

    Very nice and clean hotel. Nice pool and a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything was up to our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    Owners & staff were extremely kind & helpful. Excellent facilities Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Book ! The best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are the best of the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Explore Beaujolais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel with excellent restaurant in a pretty village! Owners are very nice and competent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Received a warm welcome and were immediately offered a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Received a warm welcome and were immediately offered a bigger room at no extra charge! Very comfortable! Dinner in hotel restaurant was very good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    A rose among the vines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Good room upgrade.Fantastic location in Julienas and very good food. Local wine to take away at cellar door prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    A great hotel and a super good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is super good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    The welcome was very genuine and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was very genuine and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellente brioche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente brioche Piscine

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    A must in Julienas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for us !

    Were upgraded on arrival to a stylish, spacious , very confortable suite . Good decoration , super fittings.....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Want to explore Beaujolais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing! We came for a quality break in stylish surroundings to explore the local vineyards, thanks to this excellent hotel everything exceeded our expectations.

    Want to explore Beaujolais....you will find no better Hotel. Beautiful location, immaculate stylish bedrooms, smart, characterful restaurant offering gastronomic food with owners who discreetly make you so welcome. On a sunny day we recommend returning in time to take tea or aperitifs in the patio gardens by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly front staff, excellent location right in middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was good but a bit thin on content (no eggs or other warm items, only cold) although fresh squeezed orange juice from cool machine was nice touch. Parking not easy if you arrive in the middle of the day - lots in town fill up but empty out around 6pm.

    Friendly front staff, excellent location right in middle of town but still quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Had a "suite" which was more of an apartment than a hotel room; very spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    The view & quiet bedroom & air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was slow and non responsive mostly. Too far from pool so misleading. Apt 42 is down the road so not connected to main Logis

    The view & quiet bedroom & air conditioning. Good bathroom Lots of room.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable , clean room in an annex a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable , clean room in an annex a short walk from the hotel. Excellent dinner in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No problems.

    Charming hotel. Well situated. Delicious breakfast. Good service.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean, good quality of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was friendly but very busy so had little time. Otherwise excellent!

    Comfortable, clean, good quality of everything. Excellent dinner!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    The whole package !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole package !!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: