Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Oxo 3 stars

38 Avenue De Verdun, 64200 Biarritz, France

#56 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains. Definitely need blackout blinds or thicker curtains.

    The staff were fabulous. Particularly Julian who was so very helpful with his delicious recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with no air con. No fridge or kettle.

    Very convenient location and very clean. Staff nice and friendly. Beautiful town and neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small - we were bumping into one another. I appreciate that Biarritz is an expensive place in July, so you're not going to get much for what we paid. Luckily, we are both small and short - if you are big and tall, you would hardly fit in the room or the shower. Also, our room was overlooking the street, which was very noisy (although we are not light sleepers, so it didn't really bother us at night, but would bother light sleepers). Breakfast was a bit stingy - a bit of bread and very small croissant, which was brought to you on a plate, so no chance of helping yourself. There were a few more bits on the side, like yoghurt, but all in all, not a filling meal. In saying all of that, I would still recommend this hotel.

    The hotel is in good location. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacceptable lack if basic facilities. Our room was in third floor, with no elevator! Extremely small room, badly conditioned,and very noisy surroundings ar night, impossible to sleep

    Location in Biarritz is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy nights. .. Motorbikes, guests banging doors, public lighting right in front of the window.

    Location is great. Staff wonderful. Fairly good value for money buffet. The owner is very helpful and charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lift and no bottled drinking water and coffee maker.

    Hotel is in very centre location. Room and bathroom clean, shower water pressure very strong! Wifi at times stalled! no Coffee maker, however can reguest hot water from the staff. Room tidying every day. Sfaffs helpful , no lift in the hotel, suggest lower floor for seniors ! Recommendable for others.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Horizontal stripes on stair carpet made it difficult to see the edge of the step.

    Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. Staff helpful and carried luggage up to third floor for us. The station is quite far from the centre. Actually the No. 10 bus stops almost opposite but we didn't know when we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small but very functional. So nothing to dislike at a great price.

    Location was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The public parking is just behind the hotel and is easy to reach. Check with the hotel before entering the parking as they offer a discount.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrom of the triple room on the small side and no desk and chair in the room.

    Small friendly hotel, centrally located. great value continental breakfast. Disabled parking at the hotel door.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each time the toilet was flushed the drains in the handbasin and shower also emptied removing the water trap. This allowed terrible smells escape into our room from the bathroom, there was no working fan in the bathroom so to deal with this issue we had to leave the bedroom window open at all times and it gets quite cool there at night.

    The staff at Oxo were a delight... easygoing, friendly and very approachable. Unfortunately when I requested to change rooms due to the smell from the sink and shower drains they were unable to accommodate us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Traffic disturbs your sleep in the morning. Breakfast selection could be better.

    Very central location.The most friendly staff make your stay pleasant.Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Comfort Plus is much smaller than budget hotel rooms in UK. If you're unfortunate to get a room overlooking Avenue de Verdun expect night time disturbance as the hotel is next door to several rowdy late bars. WiFi is very slow and unreliable. The photos used to market the hotel online are very flattering.

    Cheaper than many other hotels in Biarritz at time of booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is over priced, the location to the town is good, but the rooms are very small and very warm!! You do not have any facilities such as air conditioning to help with the temperature of the room so you have to open the windows and if you do this, it is impossible to sleep due to the noise during the night, motorbikes, people leaving the bed etc... No English Channels to watch on the TV, no hairdryers in the room you have to ask to borrow them. The breakfast should be included in the room rate as the price is really high. I emailed the hotel to ask about parking they told me that they had Parking but when I got there they had not booked the parking for me so I had to pay a lot more than expected!! Also do not stay in the 2nd floor, as you will have a street lamp shinning into your room. The Shower pressure is really low, takes forever to have a shower and you can even here your neighbourhood having a shower!

    I liked that the location it was great for the town, but this was also negative in regard to the noise during the night!!! The staff are really lovely and will try to help as much as possible.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only diadvantage was the room located at the street side giving some noise. It did not keep us from sleeping

    Oxo is a friendly hotel on a short walk to the beach. We had a family room. The room was spacious enough, the bathroom had all we needed. There is also a little terrace. We didn't use it but still nice that it is there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was one member of staff (young guy with curly hair) who took exception to us walking through the reception area whilst he was cleaning the floor. He actually was quite forward in his anger towards us. Not exactly what you'd expect from a hotel. I was brought out the back door at one stage. Friends were told to remain in their rooms whilst it being done.

    Location, Breakfast & Some very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park included

    excellent location, clean, comfy, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Very helpful staff. Pleasant stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not be prepared when we arrived at the time set.

    the situation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny but comfortable. Tiny bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good staff very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small bed, not enough for 2 people to sleep confortable

    good location, close to the beach, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and noisy. All fittings are quite old

    Staff was nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon

    Close to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Location. Town of Biarritz is lovely. Could have stayed a bit longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could invest in airco or a better fan

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on reception was super friendly and helpful. We really appreciated this - he was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bottled water in the room

    Perfect location, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful nothing a problem gave good information

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super uncomfortable.

    The staff was very nice and the location was perfect. Very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was around the corner and paid

    Location was okay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be comfier

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and a lot of noise from the street at night.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. And the hotel is very clean. Just minutes from the beach😁 had a very comfortable stay would stay there again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and there was no air conditioner. For the price we paid I expect at least an air conditioner

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on a busy road a little noisy

    breakfast good. wide choice staff very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking in Biarritz is a big problem. Was offered discount parking for 10 euro per day. I walked 150 metres up the hill and got roadside parking easily. Summertime may be a problem

    Location was near enough to the centre of without the noise. The hotel was functional and for, was fine.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The people who worked there were very friendly. They really make you feel at home, besides that, they were always willing to help. For example; providing service while me and my friend were planning activities, such as, jetski-ing, spa, swimming pool and clubbing/partying

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was street noise being a Friday night and we couldn't close the windows due to no air conditioning. There were good shutters.

    The staff were great, especially Julien. The room was basic but very comfortable with an easy walk into town and the beach. We had a good breakfast and the car parking was inexpensive and close to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no Air Conditiining, so can be quite warm in the rooms. We were lucky to have a fan, as well as have a few windows in our room so it wasn't bad. Rooms are quite small, but still very cute. There is no mini bar if you're wanting to purchase water, or food.

    The location of Hotel Oxo was great, 5 min walking distance to the beach as well as many restaurants/cafes. Filip was amazing from the second we entered the hotel! Very helpful, spoke excellent English and was very knowledgable on the city. Nice little terrace to get to sit and have coffee. The Room was very clean, and hotel looked exactly like in the pictures.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our shower didnt work one morning though this was promptly fixed. My biggest complaint was the bed. It was quite uncomfortable and the room was really hot so it made it difficult for me to sleep.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was also nice. Just a short walk to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No do not disturb door hanger

    Good location, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing ..

    Fabulous the three gentlemen working In the hotel lovely place to stay helpful close to everything you need.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Friendly and helpful staff. Close to the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location and good size single beds

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small, didn't have AC, and the bathroom was tiny.

    Location is great. Parking is on the street.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast area is not my favourite, modern, small.

    I enjoyed the nice, good looking and comfortable room. Peaceful. Nice and fresh bath room.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small, no air con. Pictures on website were very deceptive

    good location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perfectly clean and modern rooms

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: