Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Churchill Hotel 3 stars

14 Rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France

#4 of 18 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The configuration of the hotel was a bit odd. We had to leave the hotel and walk thru an enclosed courtyard to access our room. The room itself was very new and clean with nice features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is expensive for both the continental or buffet. There is just body wash/shampoo in a wall hung container in the shower so I had to purchase bar soap and shampoo/conditioner from the nearby grocery store.

    Great location- many restaurants, Bayeux tapestry, and Notre Dame cathedral within walking distance. It is an older, charming (walls with Churchhill memorabilia) hotel with updated bathrooms. Hotel keys are actual brass keys. There is a grocery store a couple of doors down from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive fir what was served, compared to several other hotels and B&Bs we stayed in during out three-week trip.

    The staff was especially friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelers today have mobile phones and tablets that need recharging. No outlets on either side of the bed. Only one available in the bedroom. One more in the bathroom. Internet speed was painfully slow!

    Clean bedroom & bathroom. Comfortable bed. Safe in the closet. Parking lot just behind the property. Close to restaurants and museums.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room amenities were very limited: no fridge, no shampoo or conditioner, two plastic cups in the bathroom, no wash cloths, no outlets by the bed, mattress was a little wonky in that i felt I was leaning towards the outside of the mattress, curtains didn't block the street light completely...

    The hotel common areas were very charming, the art work was wonderful. The people working at the hotel were very accommodating and friendly. Location was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was the weather was hit and miss

    The staff was helpful and friendly-location is central to most points of intrest -our room was comfortable and convenient. I can’t say enough nice things about the hotel or the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In general, we don't care for French breakfast, so didn't like what was presented. Went to the grocer nearby and bought fruit and yogurt to eat in our room. And as the hotel undoubtedly serves a large English speaking contingent due to the Normandy Beaches, it would be nice if they all spoke just a little more English.

    We chose the Hotel Churchill because of its age-old charm, and expected the room to be small, but adequate. The hotel is loaded with charm, and the staff was helpful, although could have been a little more proficient in English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sonia at the front desk was so helpful sorting out trains and connections as there was a train strike while we were staying in France! Thank you so much! The hotel is in a perfect location and we shall return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was expensive and very limited. Front desk employees ranged from uninterested to positively surly. Only one was welcoming.

    Room was comfortable and functional. So much history on the walls!! Location in town and distance from train station were perfect!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was scanty, just cold cut ham omelet and bread.

    In the heart of the city center, just a distance walk to tourist information center, Church, Bayeux Tapestry Museum and grocery store.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms. Charming, but in need of an update. Looks like part of the hotel has been renovated, however our rooms were in the old part of the hotel.

    Excellent location. In the heart of Bayeux. Clean property. Free parking 8 minute walk from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The triple was extremely small, even by European standards. It also would be nice to have a tea kettle in the room. The value for the breakfast is not good. One could easily go to the Patisserie up the street for a breakfast pastry for 1 Euro plus the cost of a coffee.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was OK at best. Room too hot, and when I opened the window, tons of loud stragglers from the bars made it impossible to sleep. Your choice is either be too hot from the heater, or cool off and hear the loud mouths of drunken teens. The facilities were fair. Don't advertise that you have a bar or gift shop and then don't have. The carpets on the stairs were worn, the lighting in the hallways was inadequate, (I almost killed myself when walking on the floor with the two steps up with florescent lighting) I would suggest you call out the queen on behalf of you friend mr Hattcher..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to spring construction, the free parking was a struggle to reach - we drove in a circle around a bunch of tiny one-ways three times before gaining access - shouldn’t be a problem once construction is finished.

    The hotel is wonderfully modern yet decorated in the style of WWII era. The breakfast was more than the usual French carb and coffee - there were eggs and fruit. The bathroom was huge and shower hot! (Room and bathroom very large for a hotel in France.) It’s located a short distance from Bayeux’s cathedral and museums and right in the middle of all the restaurants on “main street .”

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very friendly staff. Especially if your taking a DDay tour with Overlordtour Company. Pick you up right in front of the hotel. It was great !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was very pricey for coffe, slice of cheese, eggs and a half slice of ham

    Rick was so friendly and made us feel at home. Would have been great if could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eric the owner was very helpful and friendly. He provided excellent information on Bayeux and the surrounding area and could not have been more helpful. He was a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is an excellent base in a very central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to report - nice old building.

    Super friendly and gave us a free upgrade as the night we stayed the hotel was not fully booked. Super friendly and in a perfect location. Breakfast was good and we also had a nice cider in the bar area. They even made a reservation for us at a super restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Light colour duvet could have been better than black comforter with white cover.

    Centrally located on the main street full of restaurants and shops. Grocery store Carrefour is just next door. Attentive and smiling staff. Walking distance to all major attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was so kind and helpful and stored our bags after we had checked out so we didn't have to take them with us on a guided tour. The breakfast was also terrific! I highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like staying in a friends home in the centre of Bayeux. Loved the boutique character mixed with museum-like galleries and super-friendly host. Bayoux Cathedral just outside our window. Thank you for the home made croissants and pain au chocolat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    So glad we booked this location. We visited in the off season and they actually stayed open another day just for us. Breakfast was incredible. Owners are on site and so friendly, lots of dining near by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We travel a lot, so our "great" ratings in every category aren't easily earned. Eric runs an excellent operation and does it all, from cooking breakfast in the morning to waiting up at night until all guests are safely back. He truly cares about his guests!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My tour to Normandy was canceled the night before I was supposed to go. Thankfully I made mention of it to the gentlemen at the front desk. At 11 o'clock at night he made phone calls and got me on an ever bettter tour l! Thanks for the help!! This hotel was like a step back in time to the 1940s. Good restaurants and sites close by right next to a meeting point for tours to Normandy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arr @ 4:09 am due to unforeseen travel difficulties and walked from the train station to find the hotel locked-we thankfully we able to call Eric and he came out to let us in but I️ had emailed to say we would b late and wished he directed us on procedures for late arrivals

    Great coffee...pleasant and helpful owner Eric

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good!

    The location to local attractions was great! The bus service to Mont Saint Michel was very convenient; just outside our room! We were within walking distance of the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast OK but same every day and not included

    Great location. A comfortable hotel. No elevators for luggage ....might be a problem for elderly. Staff very helpful and cordial

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't spend the money for the Churchill's breakfast buffet. It was pretty pricey for what they provide - croissants and cereals, fruit (was soggy), and some coffee. There are much better choices in the town, which is just as charming and an easy walk.

    The Churchill has tons of charm and history, and its location is fabulous. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was much more spacious than we'd expected (compared to hotels in Paris!).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was a little bit odd with a line of gunk stopping the shower door opening making it a bit awkward to open but no deal breaker.

    The hotel was fine, the shops were 30 seconds, the breakfast was very nice, the staff did everything they could to make it nice stay. The room was fine and Bayeux was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a thing.

    As usual when we travel, we pick a spot and stay there about a week. Then we take side trips to points of interest. The Hotel Churchill in Bayeux, France was a central site in Normandy. The owners, Eric & Patricia, were on site every day and could not have been nicer. When we arrived, we could not find the hotel by car (curse you GPS). We walked there and Patricia went back to the car and drove with us to the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very happy with the hotel, but if you do not want to walk up stairs dragging your suitcase this might not be for you. The breakfast was fine and served by a very cheerful hostess. I am just not a breakfast person.

    The location of this property was the best. Really right in the heart of Bayeux and walk to the Tapestry and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more convenient parking for hotel guests and breakfast included with room rate.

    Our eggs were cooked to order on our first morning there. Our host and hostess were very charming and accommodating. The facilities were very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two sections to the hotel. Room in new part was far superior to room in old part. We asked to switch rooms and they agreed. Would not have enjoyed a stay in older rooms.

    The staff were very interested in learning about our reasons for being there and providing advice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small, musty, and in need of maintenance and updating. The floor outside the bathroom appeared to be water damaged and moved under foot, and the tiny shower had poor water flow.

    The staff was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite tricky getting to the hotel as we arrived very late. Parking wasn't immediately obvious and the one way system didn't help.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic and is a great spot for going on trips as well as walking around Bayeux. The employees are really helpful and very friendly. Our room, number 3, was quite small and the doors to enter it are very heavy which was tricky with bags but the room was immaculate. Breakfast was great; fruit, cereals, eggs and the most delicious bread and croissants. Would definitely stay here again if returning to Bayeux.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was advertised that there is free parking in back it is only available for 3 hours, then one has to find public paid parking or look for free parking on the street. Since we were there for two days and would not have the opportunity to move the car, we had to park a distance away.

    Good sized room, quiet although centrally located, clean, comfortable. Great recommendations for dinner. Two prices for breakfast, continental or full, we only tried continental, good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor was average.

    We arrived a bit early to check in, so they immediately suggested a nearby restaurant for lunch, and called up to make a reservation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel was perfect. Right next to a grocery store and around a lot of restaurants. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I travelled with a friend and the room with two double beds was nice, but definitely small for two people. We only stayed a night, so it wasn't an issue but I would stay in a larger place if there for an extended period.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff was a bit aloof.

    We loved being in Bayeux. Took great D-day tour, visited the tapestries and saw the cathedral. All interesting and very worthwhile. Left a Kindle in the room, called and asked them to return it to us and charge the shipping to our credit card. It's been 2-3 weeks and still no package has arrived.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we checked in they had us booked for only 3 days. Originally that is what I did, but I changed it to 4 days and got a confirmation with a pin. Everything worked out in the end.

    Center of their Main Street. Matthias was very helpful in giving directions to D-Day Sights, finding our misplaced car and helping us get back to Rouen train station to turn in rental car. GPS did not work in rental car and this made driving in the area difficult. Would bring are own device next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mattress was as hard as a board, very uncomfortable. Breakfast marginal. This was the most expensive room during our stay in France (including Paris) but it was the worst bed. I would not stay in this hotel, find another one at a better price.

    Front office staff very helpful! Very clean rooms, but overall cost NOT worth the money!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room outdated. Old blanket on bed with no top sheet. Crowded lobby. Understaffed. Average breakfast that is not included.

    Good location for touring Normandy sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com advertised that there was public parking for 8 euros a day. INstead there is is public lot behind the hotel for 1 euro an hour, with a max of 3 hours! It was always full. We had to park on the street, about half mile away! We did not get a wake-up call one morning. Clerk said, "Lots of people had problems with wake up call this morning. Really? Don't go tho this hotel expecting a charming room as shown on its site. Most of the rooms are in a new section of the hotel, and while large and comfortable, decorated like a holiday inn. Toiletries consisted of 2 soap dispensers.

    The location is central, short walk to good restaurants and sites. the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hot water for two consecutive days and the breakfast is quite basic. Our room was in the old part of hotel which is showing signs of wear

    The location was great and the hotel was very quirky with war memorabilia displayed throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I changed my reservation from 3 days @ 130 euro a day to 4 days, the entire stay increased to 155 euro a day.... no explanation... they also said we had a superior room... interesting we had no window to the outside, only to a hallway... the smell of food permeated the room from 6:00 until 11:00 am

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast buffet- they bought me gluten free bread! Very clean, comfortable, and excellently located. Perfect base to see all the historic sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator or straight stairs. We carried heavy luggage up two flights of spiral stairs. The continental breakfast was overpriced and not good with basically bread items and a drink. Wish we had not done that. The expanded breakfast looked more like the continental breakfasts as a hotel in the US--cereal, eggs...

    Great location. Need a taxi from the train. Ask hotel to arrange ahead of time or you'll wait. This is an older hotel with no elevator. Rooms were very plain but comfortable. Perfect location on the Main Street with many restaurants. Can easily walk to the cathedral and the tapestry. We also did a half day Normandy tour that picked us up at the hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished we booked an extra day. We were visiting for Normandy beaches and only gave ourselves two full days. We loved the Churchill Hotel.

    We loved the family bedroom. Traveling with myself , my husband and two teenage boys.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is too expensive; absolutely the worst coffee that I have ever tasted; no elevator; carpet needs replacing; overall it looks run down ; overpriced for what you receive; my children's room had a window with no blinds or curtain - very disruptive for sleeping

    Staff is exceptional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room was dated and it was quite dark as it only had a small window. We were in the older part of the hotel. The stairway was not a problem for us but could be for older travellers or young children.

    The staff were very nice and welcoming. We were given a map of Bayeux and shown where places of interest were. The room was clean and parking available (albeit public parking).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful hotel-- full of charm with very helpful staff and a great location. We stayed for 2 nights and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above, very small room, and would have like to have light in the bathroom without it being attached to light in the bedroom. Should also have had an explanation ahead of time about regulation of heat, as it was quite cool in the room until it was explained to us to ask for heat to be turned on.

    The room was quite tiny, but all our needs were met. It would have been nice to have a nightlight in the bathroom. Otherwise very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we paid (Euro 155 per night): Parking is a hassle; the stairs are narrow and ackward especially when carrying suitcases; the hot water for the shower was virtually wiped out by 07:30 each morning; the breakfast full buffet is way overpriced for what is offered; bar soap and shampoo were not provided.

    Excellent/excellent location and friendly staff; continental breakfast is a good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel dirty and flowerbed full of weeds. Breakfast expensive at 14 euros per person but all tables were filled with dirty dishes, one overworked waitperson and little food available. Coffee tepid and too little milk. Bathroom good but shower water nearly cold. Too bad because the Churchill does have a great location.

    Great location in the heart of Bayeux and charming appearance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was very old. IMO it needs major renovation. The bathroom floor and toilet in our room were somewhat dirty as it was not thoroughly cleaned.

    Great location. The hotel is centrally located in the city center. There are a ton of shops and restaurants within short distance. It is also only steps away from Place de Quebec where all tour buses depart. Front desk staff were super friendly. We had continental breakfast which was OK. Each guest got 3 pieces of bread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower was often lukewarm. No tea and coffee making facilities.

    The hotel was in an excellent position within the beautiful town of Bayeux. Lots of parking have available not far from the hotel. The room was basic but fine for a week and the staff were all very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no elevator, but we knew that going in.

    Everything about the Churchill Hotel was just as we hoped. The staff is very friendly & accommodating and speaks English very well. We stayed in the main building which was very quaint & comfortable. Updated bathrooms and large rooms made for a very comfortable stay. The smell of fresh bread/croissants baking in the morning was wonderful...I still dream about it! And the coffee was delicious. The location is perfect for walking to everything in Bayeux. We would stay here again for sure. C'est magnifique!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped room for 3 people. No lift access so best not to come with bulky luggage.

    Easy access from Mont St Michel on the hotel's shuttle - which is where we came from before stopping over in Bayeux. Hotel is well-located with easy access to the main street with shops and food options, and a supermarket and the tourist information just next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Not quite as clean as I would like: sticky table top, stray hair in bathroom.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was wonderful. Great location. Nicely renovated and up to date.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to let you know can park in paying lots free after 6:30pm until 9am.

    Beds very nice, staff great and hotel very nice and close to restaurants and grocery store.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and hotel but the suite was on the first floor with the soda machine and breakfast area literally right outside the door. As a result, I did not have a particularly good night's sleep.

    Location and history of the hotel and area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have used more information on parking. There is a very small lot behind the hotel, but the hotel is on a no-car access road. Google maps didn't help us find the hotel! We eventually needed to just park in town and walk to the hotel. Small detail though, hotel was lovely.

    Really nice location in such a really nice town. We had one of the new rooms, and the air conditioning was lovely, but it was also so nice to open the window and hear the town noise. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel manager was lovely and made sure we had an excellent stay. All of the staff were so friendly. The hotel is spotless and well located. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was listed as available when we booked and that was not the case. Very difficult to find parking. Then we were not housed in the main building but in an annex building that we did not like. Musty, small and disappointing.

    The location in town was perfect and the breakfast was very good. We liked seeing the historic decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint - no complimentary shampoo or soap except for for on the wall squeeze type.... at almost $200 bucks a night... I want soap and real shampoo!

    As an American travelling to Normandy I LOVED this hotel. Many photos of the liberation of Bayeux through out the hotel. We stayed in the very quaint and cozy side of the hotel. The room was a good size and the extra bed for our daughter fit well. The AC worked well. There did not appear to be an elevator, but we liked the circular stairwell with the side cabinets with vintage flags and memorabilia. Within a 250 walk to meet Overlord Tour group and the Bayeux Tapestry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had a small window and overlooked the atrium so there was very little fresh air. Having said that we only booked last minute and to get in on a busy Saturday night for 5 of us we were very lucky so can't complain.

    The location was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the address of the hotel is "14 Rue Saint-Jean" that is in a pedestrian-only area. For car arrival the website guidance should be to "Place de Quebec" where there is a fair amount of (paid) parking.

    Only a few hundred metres' walk from the Tapestry and from the magnificent cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All Good

    The Waitress at Breakfast was a typical French Lady, she was fabulous, did her best for us all, had a great sense of Humour and really made the start of the day; Great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the entire town is difficult. Most of the parking is 3-4 hours, paid only. Hard to find a 'free' spot for our entire stay but the hotel did help us find a free parking area, it was up to us to find an open space.

    The hotel staff was really very helpful with finding local restaurants and attractions. They couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, everything good.

    It was a lovely place to stay. Nice friendly welcome and assisted to the room - first time ever. New tastefully furnished room with excellent bathroom. Breakfast was more than sufficient - I just had continental. Liked the fresh fruit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly there was nothing bad! It might have been nice to have a bath tub rather than a shower, and the parking was a slight struggle to find, and pay parking in a public lot. But really petty issues. I can imagine that if one weren't visiting for the WWII history, or didn't want to be surrounded by English-speaking tourists, this hotel might seem a bit OTT, but for the likes of us, it was wonderful.

    Just an excellent hotel, perfectly located in the centre of town near to all sights and attractions, literally next door to a supermarket open all day. Memorabilia and great photos throughout, focusing on the period around D-Day and especially the visiting US forces - it was almost like being in another museum! Welcoming staff with (of course) perfect English. Room was spacious and pristinely clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre. I think omelets and bacon should have been offered.

    Daniella and Sonja were very helpful advising places to eat, booking, and most of all, finding a lost bag that I left at the airport. They were always happy to meet my needs if it were a washcloth or ice. Daniella is an excellent bartender as well. The town was charming and the hotel As well. I took some cards and brochures to share with my friends who travel. Kind regards, Stacey Jones.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one struggle was the wifi. It was a week signal when all of had multiple devices. We had to keep signing in every few hours.

    Loved the manager, he was very friendly and made us feel at home. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. We had a family room which had a loft with two single beds for the kids upstairs. Plently of room, but the stairs were steep for younger kids. For our teenage boys it was perfect. It was very comfortable, and a good value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was very difficult to figure out. The hotel personnel did not give us a good explanation of where to find parking.

    Hotel personnel were very helpful in assisting us in securing a reservation for dinner. The place she suggested was a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a great central location. Close to the Tapestry and lots of wonderful restaurants. All were within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have requested a lower floor because we had 2 large suitcases

    helpful staff, interesting memorabilia in the hotel, very close to Tapestries Museum, Cathedral, shopping and dining. Great value at the price we paid. Definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: