Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Restaurant Chut

4 Rue Du Bain Aux Plantes, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#63 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath - 8
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little lacking in choice.

    It is very Quirky. An old wooden building with small, odd shaped rooms and bath rooms. Clean, well appointed and comfortable beds. Great restaurants close. This is also a restaurant but closed on the Sunday we were there. Basicially in the centre of petite France and town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath - 8
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small. We’re both quite tall so found the bathroom sink a bit cramped. Although we did stay in the attic room so I suppose we should have expected that so not the fault of the hotel.

    Service and staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. The food and wine at the restaurant was fabulous - the best meal we had in Strasbourg - would definitely recommend eating there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place must have been adorable in the past but now it came across a bit run down (the photos are misleading) and also too expensive compared to other places in central location. Big compliment to the staff, very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite uncomfortable pillows and just one each. When we asked for extra pillows we got just one extra to share. The toilet door (in room nr 4) is beautiful, but can be a bit of a “romance killer”, since it doesn’t hold tight to sounds and fumes, and you see through the coloured glass. The hallway room on the first floor is crowded with extra furniture that doesn’t fit in. Get rid of that and then it will be just perfect!

    Very charming little place right by the canal and very close to the central station and city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have appreciated tea/coffee in the room. There was a coffee station downstairs (with no mugs) but I wouldn't have liked to be charged per cup

    Wonderful location. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not working though the name of the hotel is hotel restaurant and this was the reason why we chose this place. It took me some time to choose a hotel for foodies and it was a big disappointment to actually meet the chef at the hotel and find out she was on holiday. I had two kids with me so we had to wonder around for a restaurant in the rain. No proper reception, no waiting area

    Good location, interesting design, clean, very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed unexpectedly improvised, yet charming. It was a bit noisy as it was placed next to the kitchen and the downstairs lobby.

    Perfectly located, charming little inn in a beautiful area of Strasbourg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with shower - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and really cozy. The rooms are ideal for couples that like a romantic setup. The restaurant is superb and the staff is extremely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with shower - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the directions to arrive. Probably arriving in working hours is much easier, but I took a late plane, and I was coming from abroad then, without cheap roaming and gps maps.... The house number was behind some vegetation (very nice anyway). When I found the door, I had to telephone (a very nice and patient person, with excellent English) a number written on the door and receive further instructions to enter inside. The price was a little high for my trip. But the overall soddisfaction is very high.

    the position is very good, the place was really very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and very hot. The shower was installed in such a way as to flood the bathroom floor.

    The location in the heart of La Petite France.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff around on a Sunday afternoon so I was unable to buy bottled water. No water was provided in the room. I guess we were expected to use the bathroom glass and tap (not very French is it). I never did get a reply to my email either so I feel the customer service was below average. Three pillows between two people. I had to arm wrestle my mum for this extra pillow. Breakfast was overpriced. Buffet cereal and a few slices of salami and cheese. Bread and pastries are given to you on request. One morning they ran out of bread altogether.

    Shower was good, decent hair dryer, room nicely decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting into the bathroom: you can't make up. Room a little bit small but I guess, you can not push the old wall!

    Nice modern renovation of an old house with touch of the past, mixed and matched furniture. charming atmosphere!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Very small bed(even it's little sofa), dirty bed cover, very small room 5 m.s, very bad contact with the manager. I left to another hotel barter 6 hours, even I already paid for 2 nights !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not as spacious as pictures show, there is no elevator and we had to carry our (big) suitcases up to the third floor. There was no AC and we had to sleep with windows open which was awful since the neighbourhood was very noisy all night long (there are bars and restaurant + a park next to the hotel where people hang out and play music until late at night and then people start working early the following morning so we did not sleep at all...)

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The information given on bookings.com and Kayak was very misleading. I chose Hotel Chut because it said as if there were parking spaces. When I arrived, I was told all parking spaces had been occupied and I was advised to park in a nearby car park. Bookings.com should check whether the hotel really has parking spaces. I booked a single room, and found the room appalingly small and poorly positioned - next to the kitchen and outside the small window were outdoor restaurant tables where people made noise until very late. I complained about the room, because it might cause claustrophobia, and the proprietor lady offered an apartment in an adjacent building. I had no choice but to accept the offer. The furniture in the apartment was very old and I saw someone's hair remaining in the bath tub. There was no wifi connection in the apartment. I had paid for three nights, and I left the place only after two nights. I was happy to leave even though I lost the last night's fee. Breakfast was included the room charge, but it was very basic. I hope bookings.com conducts an examination to judge whether it should remain on its list.

    The two members of the staff whom I spoke with didn't speak any English at all, but they were very kind and innocent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was shared and some distance from our room. The floor between the two creaked loudly when walking to the loo at night.

    Inexpensive and friendly manager

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Actually, nothing to complaint, but I also didn't expect too much. Everything you need is in the neighbourhood.

    Small hotel op a very nice location in the centre of Strasbourg. Everythins is clean and working fine. Recommended for business or romantic city tour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet door as if there are no. Very very small room in the attic. Only one person can move around the room. I reserved parking place but it is not available.

    Location is perfect. In the middle of Petite France.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with shower - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Open toilet without a door and the walls are very thin so it's very loud as long the restaurant downstairs is operating.

    Very charming hotel in a nice location. Very friendly staff. The rooms are really nicely done.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room next to the main entrance shouldn't be put for booking. The main door doesn't open and close properly and makes lots of noise. Therefore it is not possible to sleep or rest properly as anyone coming late or leaving early is making noise while opening the door of the the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best croissants ever. The most comfortable bed and location can not be beaten. This is a lovely quaint place with the most friendly staff, even if there was a language barrier. We loved our stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance was not that easy to find and getting access to the wifi (by sending an sms) was a bit cumbersome. My room was situated on the ground floor right next to the entrance, which made it very noisy (old building, guests coming in and out) and because there was only a small curtain not covering the entire window, it felt a bit exposed (especially if the lights were on). The room was very small, with a bathroom and toilet directly within the room (shielded off by a beautiful 'hanging door' / 'screen' however). No closet or anywhere to hang your clothes.

    Quirky room, beautiful building, great location in Petit France and within walking distance of the train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room is a smalles room I have ever stayed. Washstand, shower, toilet and bed are in one small room. Kitchen and restorant are next to the door - noisy and lot of smells of food. Very small window.

    Very authentic small hotel. Perfect location. Very frendly personnel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms facing the road are very noisy (from cars, food delivery of shop across the street, people from pub nextdoor)

    very airy rooms, lovely details - so sweet!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very little. Not for a couple ages 71-61. On 4th floor with no elevator, no cupboard, and it was not described on their page at Booking.com, so we couldn't know it before reservation. There was dust at the rooms and some standing lights did not work. Food was just ok, not more.We were disappointed!

    We liked the location in Petit Paris. The building itself is old and interesting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Bath - 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet paper in the bathroom , extremely noisy as the trashes roll down at 6am!! And working the wifi was just a nightmare, I gave up

    Very cute room, amenities were great, bed was comfy, and the furniture and decoration are really nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location of hotel. Quirky rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for walking around Petite France. Friendly staff and a quirky room made it even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Bath - 8
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very nice hotel in the center of Brussels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small common area.

    Comfy room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great design

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Difficult to find. No one to greet us. Breakfast very poor value.

    the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room- 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too noisy outside

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath - 8
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful Building and Location. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room #1 was situated on the ground floor directly next to the kitchen and the night entrance. Therefore it was unconfortabely noisy, additionally due to the bad acoustic insulation. You could hear the guests walking the stairways, walking in the rooms above and even the used water running through the downpipes. The window was very small, so was the bed, the lights partly defective and there was neither a TV set nor a closet. As can be seen on the pictures the bathroom is directly within the room.

    The hotel is located in the city center in "Petite France" which is very nice and also in walking distance from the main station and most of the touristic hot spots.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want to stay in Petit France, choose another hotel. This is a very old, cramped dwelling that has been converted into 'bedsits'. I would call it a hostel and it may suit students or backpackers, but not regular 'guests'. Hot in summer, would be cold in winter. We had to leave windows opne (one was out of reach anyway) and could hear noise from the streets till the early hours. Cramped, attic room, stifling heat, we slept naked without covers. No bottled water etc. Shower temp changed in use. Long climb up creaky stairs with luggage. Parking is not nearby, but a brisk 10 minute walk and tricky to get to. I was led there by the receptionists boyfriend??

    Nothing. This hotel soured our stay in Strasbourg. I am going to write to Booking.com and suggest the description is misleading and it should be removed from their site.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room too small and uncomfortable three stories up without elevator

    The friendliness of the staff!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked the location, the building, the staff. I liked the fact it was very authentic french small hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The open-plan bedroom / shower and loo perhaps took intimacy a bit far!

    Excellent location, good food, pleasant staff

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: