Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zenitude Hôtel-Résidences La City 3 stars

11 Avenue Louise Michel, 25000 Besançon, France

#18 of 46 hotels in Besançon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 793 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedside tables as well as the desk in our room were dusty, which of course brings the comfort levels down.

    The place where the hotel was situated was one of the most positive aspects of it. In 10 minutes by foot one can reach the center through a nice promenade at the river. Easy to park the car for free in the surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of some products at the breakfast (especially the croissant and the cofee). The fact that you have to re-enter the code for the wifi every time you close your tablet or computer.

    The room was large, clear, and clean. The service was efficient and nice. The French bread was good at the breakfast. The Wifi signal was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location for travelers by car, since it is close to the city center but there are many parking places in the hotel or close to it. Room was simple but clean and staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The instruction should be written both in English and French. If you will arrive late and should do self check-in, it would be difficult to understand how to get into the garage and the room.

    We stayed 2 nights, the room was well-organized and bed was firm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the entrance to the underground parking. You have to turn in from the street directly behind the hotel and then turn right again when you pass the building onto the hotel parking space, the entrance to the underground garage is then in front of you. However, you have to park first, go in and register and get a card to get into and out of the garage. When you leave it's the same process. You have to drive your car out, park, take the card back into the hotel and then drive away. So a bit complicated.

    The room was modern and clean. Average size. Liked the kitchen unit with fridge, and table and chair to sit and eat. Hotel is next to river and easy walk to old city centre. Had a lovely walk around the beautiful old part. Restaurants and bars nearby. Underground parking for extra cost. Breakfast also costs extra

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, I mean VERY basic. No effort was made to make the room anything other than functional.

    The staff was really friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underground car park will be nice when it's finished!! Access was simple enough though!

    Did the job for us. Staff were very helpful and contacted us as we arrived to ensure that someone would be there to check us in. After a long drive checking in was easy and painless. Besancon is a quaint historic city which is easily accessible from this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con either didn't work properly or was broken. Trip coincided with short period of unseasonably hot weather. Room was bordering on unpleasant. Only option to stay cool was standing under a cold shower. Facility to cool room by opening a door/window was limited by security screen. A few more plugs and basics like a good full length mirror should have been provided

    Location wasn't bad and underground parking spaces were generous compared to many hotel car parks. Although not used, the option for basic kitchenette facilities might be liked by some.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no air conditioning and within my stay of 6 days the room was never tidied or the towels replaced by house keeping. I'm sure if I asked they would have done it, but it's always nice when hotels do that by default.

    I liked that there was a fridge with a freezer and a small kitchen with microwave and hobs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The roomconfiguration once again was not on our side on booking.com, making us pay for two rooms, when we could in fact have used only one. We ended up sleeping in one room all 5 of us, in two rather large double beds. In the configurator on booking.com there where no indication that it was possible to be 5 people in the 4 bed room. But the staff at the hotel confirmed that was ok with them. We could have saved us about €75 for ordering just the room with 4 beds. Usually it is specified in the description on booking.com if the room will allow ex. small kid in parents bed. This hotel did not have that text in description. If this is booking.com or the hotels fault I can't say, but if it is up to this website, it is probably the hotels fault.. Recommended to check the hotels own website for alternate configurations if you are travelling with 5+ people.

    Great value for money. Fridge and small kitchen available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor sleeping quality/ not at all comfortable: - Very small beds - 1,40 m for two - hard mattress - one single big blanket Room was rather small and not cosy (tiles floor) only one small and one big towel at arrival for two persons

    Clean facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is higher than it should be for this kind of hotel. You should definitely put a sign on the exit from the small street of the parking to the main street indicating that this is a one-way street! I turned left and it is a miracle that we didn't crash!!!

    Good location, within walking distance from the center. Underground parking for reasonable price. Friendly receptionist. Kitchen in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you get one room over the entry of the hotel, you cannot keep open the window during the night unless you like the smell of smoked or burning cigarettes. The beds are very short and uncomfortable (is this a youth hostel or what?). No air conditioning in the rooms combined with a closed window means sleeping in a oven.

    Ok for one night (if you don't have any other option), but don't expect a huge comfort. Price/quality in the end is not advantageous. Unique positive points are the personal, the parking and the position of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking just outside the front door. As our room was on the first floor all the smoke drifted up into our room so we had to close our windows. There were also a young crowd making a lot of noise (which you would expect of young people having a good time) but until 1:00am?

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival, the first thing to do was to make the bed, which I hadn't expected, although this was not a big deal. The wifi is ok but you have to log in again every time your computer goes to sleep.

    The building was surprisingly quiet given that there were so many rooms and the place had a pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the direct vicinity there isn't a lot to see or do, nor are the surroundings terribly inspiring.

    Basic but complete accommodation, well located to see the sights. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and anticipated all my questions. It lives up to its star rating, being simple, but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast included in the room rate applied only for 2 adults and 2 children. Since we were 3 adults and 1 child, 1 was charged Euro8,80 for 1 adult breakfast. I did not read any advice on this rule when I was booking via Booking.com. This should have been in Booking.com's "Fine Print" section, at least. Guests are required by the property to segregate trash and bring the room's rubbish to the disposal area downstairs upon check-out. This rule should have also been published in the "Fine Print" section of Booking.com

    The distance of the property from Besancon's old city center is quite manageable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basically all was ok.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely marvellous. A wonderful riverside park opposite the hotel. City centre at walking distance, with public transportation and e-bike in front of the hotel. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Safe underground parking. Spacious studio, with a well-equipped kitchenette. Simple and basic yes, but very clean. You have to take into considertion that it is a 2-star hotel, and what it gives is excellent for such accommodation. Price also acceptable regarding the almost central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    why is this called a hotel? it is rather a worker residency/dormitory. The apartments are very small and basic and just very basic service at the reception. Food smell in the corridors from cooking inside the apartments. The price is really really too high for what you get! Very sterile and unconfortable atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and modern aparthotel across the river from the old town - intended rather for longers stays but it was OK for a short visit to see Besancon. We appreciated the fact that they have a system which allows to access the hotel even if you arrive very late.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt it was a bit pricey for what I had.

    Staff were friendly. What you see is what you get. I stayed there as I was attending a week course at the city university. Accommodation was comfy and suited my needs for the week.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It should be better maintained.

    This facilities is situated close to city center - easily reachable by walk. Besancon city old town is under protection of UNESCO - must see. Small apartment with good equipment. Covered garage cost 6 EUR per day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. Told to clean kitchen after use and told to take our own rubbish otherwise we'd be charged extra. sofa bed not comfortable and the room extremely hot. Wouldn't stay again, very expensive and not good enough value for money at all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    -

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got really hot at night

    In the center of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    Very clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly, after I was disappointed in the ibis hotel it was the best consolation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    Friendly staff...even on Dec 31st when we got there 3 hours before our room was supposed to be ready. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. The kitchen is fully equipped. 10 minutes walk to the center of the city. Free parking outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prostitution drug dealers no parking or reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception not always open

    Good location. Close to the city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not working properly and very noisy rooms! Walls are so thin you can hear everything from the neighbours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean and comfy room, friendly staff and lovely hard beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything; dirty and sorry interior

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty noisy rooms. Could hear people in rooms above and beside.

    room and kitchen set up - while simple it was clean and easy to use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small kitchen

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Simple, clean apartment. English speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't change the towels and bins.

    The use of a self-contained kitchen was nice and the location to the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk to inner city restaraunts.

    Excellent bed, clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The electric hob was too slow to be of any use. There was a microwave.

    Location, ample parking out of high season, general arrangement of apartment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disastrous beds, tiny kitchenette

    Good location, garage with a lift

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money, parking was easy to find in the area. Location was good, next to many oft he sights of the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is complicated. We have to turn around and around until we found the entrance. The equipment in the kitchen is very limited. There is no smoke vacuum in the kitchen, made us worry that we will ring the smoke alarm if we cook. They even ask the guest to throw the garbage. With 94€ per night, we could find many better places.

    The apartment is wide, the bathroom is clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it took an age to find this place, tucked away behing 'La Cite' and the Ibis Hotel. You need GPS

    Besancon is a very attractive city and has an interesting history

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Couple

    Car Park a bit dark and tricky to get into, but very convenient and worth the 6 Euro a day

    Convenient location for old city Good value for money Helpful Friendly staff Well equipped kitchenette

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    The kitchen was smelling strange and the bed my girlfried and me slept in was 'just' a stretcher.

    For the price (€89) we had a room with a little kitchen for two adults and two older childeren. It was near to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room in the basement under the road , lack of air condition - no possibility sleep with open door to the patio because of free acces from the street

    Good localisation

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Two negative points - There is free wifi, but you need to get it at the reception (which was closed by the time we arrived) hotel should find a solution for this. - As the hotel allows pets, the room next to us had a dog which was barking all the time, and of the same room the baby was crying as well...meaning, isolation issues as we could hear everything

    Location is at 10/15 min walk from the center, which is a nice walk, crossing the river and next to a park. There is a city-bike station right next to the hotel, we also used this option.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unser Zimmer war genau über dem Eingang, wo quasi ständig, auch Nachts, Leute zum Rauchen standen. Wir könnten nie die Fenster öffnen, ohne Qualm im Zimmer zu haben. Es gibt keinen kostenlosen abschließbaren Abstellplatz für Fahrräder. Die Nutzung der Tiefgarage kostet 6 Euro. (Pro Fernbedienung für Garagentor d.h. in unserem Fall für 2 Räder)

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    — Chambre minuscule — Laideur et absence de charme du bâtiment et de la chambre — Emplacement pas trop loin du centre mais sans intérêt.

    — Prix raisonnable — Pas trop loin du centre ville

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    centre ville accessible à pieds,calme

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not clean, the price is too high when you see the level of this hotel.

    he staff was OK

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Signs could be bigger. Ended up in Ibis car park next door. Nightmare. Do not do this :-)

    Functional hotel in good location. Underground parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning

    Great value

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Perfect, comfortable, friendly, relaxed,good location. Highly recommend to friends and will always return ourselves

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No English channels at all on the TV

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisey building work at 7am.

    Modern, clean and good location.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. There was a strong smell of food being cooked even though the hotel does not have a restaurant.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in middle of heat wave

    Price. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable and convenient. Staff very helpful. Walking distance to shopping district.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and self-catering facilities. Quiet nightes.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi reception was a bit weak in the room we were in.

    Great location, good space with good facilities.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: