Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden & City Lyon - Marcy

80, Avenue Marcel Mérieux, 69280 Marcy-lʼÉtoile, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Marcy-lʼÉtoile

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 958 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation wasn’t clean . The shower curtain was browny-yellow (originally white) rooms were been vacuumed.

    The location is great . Located near to a park. Free car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally I didn't miss anything although sugar and salt in the kitchen area would be nice. :)

    We rented the apartment for 5 people for 3 nights and the accomodation was pretty much what it needed to be - it has kitchen, comfortable beds and two toilettes. Although it's outside of Lyon, if you have a car you won't have any trouble finding the place with GPS. Apartments are located in a nice, quiet area and I'd definitely recommend it for travelers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cutlery in bad condition ( vent spoon, broken knives). Not much of it . I was alone so ok but with family it would be a problem . Also dishwashing liquid was empty and washing sponge dirty . It could do with a water kettle and coffee machine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimalistly equipped house: we had only 4 forks and chairs even we had a reservation for five person. When we realized this - as it was after 6pm - the reception was closed so one us was eatinging the pasta with a spoon and one of us was sitting in a foteuil around the table. 50 Eur penalty for leaving the kitchen dirty and / or 15 EUR penalty for not bringing out of the garbage is incorrect and disproportional.

    Large enough for a 5 members family. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was chosen as a convenient stop rather than a deliberate choice. The place was really good and took us by surprise. The facilities and the actual place was great. Easy to access, clean and comfortable. There is a small van which does pizza's nearby which are great, and would recommend them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had very big trouble while finding the place because of some roads under construction in Lyon. We even lost one night in Garden & City Lyon - Marcy, because our navigation was not able to find another way. We were forced to sleep in another place because it was too late. We looked for the hotel in the morning again, asking people and fortunately at last we found some that could explain us how to go out of Lyon other way. We had some help from the reception, either. We understood that it is our responsibility and didn't even talk about this missed night. But we understood that the hotel charged us for 2 nights in advance and this was not mentioned in the terms of our booking. We even did not understand how they did it. We think it is not fair.

    Actually, we liked the place :) It is quiet and the area is pleasant. The location is comparatively good. It was exactly what we needed - to be independent and in calm place. The apartment was good enough. Maybe one bath is insufficient for more persons and only on second floor. But for 3 of us it was OK. The guy on the reception is friendly and professional, very correct in his duties. But not more. When it is not working time, nobody cares where are you, why are you late and what happened, but he is really good enough in his job. We had breakfast once. We suppose it is good, but we had only one croissant left for us and two cookies, so we can only suppose :) The coffee is not bad. It was a good stay for us, regardless of the obstacles we had to reach there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On getting into the room there was a list of things that if you didn't clean your room on departure you would get charged for. I think the idea is that all the housekeeping staff have to do is change the beds. It seems a little wrong somehow to be charged €15 if you forget to empty your bin. Other charges were €30 if you didn't wash up after yourself. Cleaning the whole apartment thoroughly would take about 1 hour. As it is I try and leave most places as I find them but I think this was taking it a step too far. As it was there was a hole in the door leading to the bathroom.

    The guy on reception was great and really friendly. The pool was lovely but closed at 6 pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. Apartment was clean and spacious, kitchen basically equipped but perfectly adequate for one night, bedrooms are large, beds comfortable, plenty of towels. Added bonus of swimming pool on site. Plenty of secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    single bed are small in size we have to put the garbage to a dust bin near main gate at the time of check-out.

    Safe parking, calm and quite area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and peaceful place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or fan Inside the villa was very hot Breakfast was not good value

    Secure parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WIFI and a swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washing machine

    Very nice park 5 minutes away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry dirty Not maintained property Everthing is broken Do not book this hotel The only good thing was the breakfast and departure

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    geen airco of ventilators

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too basic

    It was very basic but reasonably priced for a family en route to another destination not for a long stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacy appartments

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property blocked my credit card for 250 euros deposit without telling me. Very unprofessional.

    No biger issues about the apartment.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bins overflowing, no clean towels or bedding

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for helping us retrieve a lost wallet, much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one bath for 5 is not enough. Very basic decor. Two washrooms equipped with WC had no basins to wash hands...kitchen light was not working.

    The property was nice. Enough parking. Nice small garden outside the apartment.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I stayed in apartment that it is not the one I booked and confirmed by booking.com. Upon my arrival the owner showed me another apartment adress. I could not change because I had children with me.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cooking facilities are very limited but were just about good enough for 2, more people would have been a challenge. The only real down side was that the toilet seat was broken on arrival & it took 3 days for maintenance to replace it!

    Very spacious & comfortable apartment within easy reach of the centre of Lyon if you have a car (approx 20 mins)

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The appartment was dusty, the beds were uncomfortable, had an unfresh smell and sand in them. There were not enough large towels (2 for 5 people) and the ground-floor window was broken (a hole). The breakfast (8EUR) was low value for money: horrible instant coffee, no cheese, no eggs, no fruit.

    the aparthotel is conveniently near the Domain de Laval.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception called us during the day to give us access codes for the property as we were arriving outside usual check on hours. On the 2nd leg of a 20 hour drive this was a huge weight off my mind!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All of it! No a/c or fans. Random furniture! No comfortable furniture in the living area. Noisy next to road. Dishwasher was full of dirty dishes that stank complete with resident fly! After 6 hours in the car & 43 degree heat the last thing we wanted to do was wash a dishwasher full of dirty dishes, cups, cutlery... We just needed a cup of tea.... No kettle! Clump of someone's hair on the floor. Lingering spiders in almost every corner. Otherwise all just dandy!!!

    Receptionist was good. Email communication prior to arriving was good. Our 5th bed was made ready. Bath & Shower

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Remote from shopping/petrol stations. Would only recommend as a stop to break up a long trip. Nothing to do in the area.

    Great spacious flat with good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was not value for money, very basic and limited options. Other people that came after us had little left.

    Good location and price.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not enough pillows

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: