Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel de La Vallée 3 stars

28, Rue des Pyrénées, 65100 Lourdes, France

#4 of 84 hotels in Lourdes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is managed by two brothers and for me, they were excellent in what they are doing. They took care of us, their guests in a more personal way. To mention one incident. Me and my friend arrived at Citadel past 9:00 in the evening. On our way, we befriended another 2 guests. Because we have the same purpose on why we come to Lourdes, we decided to go to the Sanctuary right after we could put our things to our respective rooms and will stay there until the 11:00PM Mass is over. When we came back to Citadel, we were surprised that one of the owners is still there waiting for us when, before we left, he already taught us on how to open the main door coz he will be closing it before midnight in order to rest. We had a little chitchat. And because it was very cold, we tried to ask if he could serve us some coffee. And though tired, he obliged and lo, he gave us super delicious croissants for free. It was just one of the many pleasant memories of our stay at Citadel del Valle👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no criticism of the hotel other than it is a 15 minute walk to the Shrine and my wife finds that difficult. Buses run between the shrine and Rue des Pyrénées where the hotel is situated.

    We have stayed here before and would always come back. This is a family run hotel. The hosts are friendly, good humoured and helpful. Good English is spoken. It is reasonably priced. Meals are a set menu, but staff are happy to recommend nearby restaurants. Garage parking is available on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were charming. Spoke very good English and gave us great recommendations of what to do and where to eat. Secure parking for our motorbike.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments.

    It was walking distance to everything and the caretaker was very helpful and gave us directions and maps and also kept our luggage for us, as we had a late flight and we had to check out at 11am . Thanks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would highly recommend this hotel. Very friendly staff speaking excellent English, comfy beds, spacious and quiet rooms, good breakfast (€9), excellent location. Safe and secure indoor parking at €8 per night. Well worth it for peace of mind, no worries about motorbikes getting vandalised or stolen while parking in the streets. We could park our 4 motorbikes in 1 car space and shared the cost. Great! Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A garage next to the hotel was available with 8 euro per night. Just 10 min. walk to the sanctuary. Close to good restaurants. Room was tidy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be useful to have a fridge in the room.

    We spent three nights here and we had a good stay. Staff was helpful, bed was confortable and the room silent and clean. Bathroom was also good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choice was limited, might have liked a little bit more for the price. But good quality regardless.

    Extremely helpful and polite staff. Location was great from the perspective of visiting the sanctuary. Rooms were decent size and bathroom was fantastic as also was the cleanliness of the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Staff are very helpful and willing to answer any query we have. The location is good and secure. The room we have is spacious. There is no problem to carry our two big luggages in its lift. I love its private parking to ensure we can access to the lift. Worth to pay some extra. Very good hotel and happy to recommend others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was very friendly. The receptionist gave a prompt information on the recent events in the town. The parking place was very large and free. The room was quiet and clean. The sanctuary is 15 minutes walking distance - and you can leave your car in the hotel's garage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast choice is "poor" and the bedroom needs a another lightbulb in ceiling as is a little dark at nightime,also would have liked to listen to programmes in English language or subtitles

    Property in a a great location, about 15 minutes walk from Our Lady's Shrine, very quiet from Hustle and Bustle near the Shrine,mostly uphill, not for elderly or unfit wishing to visit the Shrine a couple of times a day. The owners are very professional and helpful, I Highly recommend staying at this lovely hotel, however in doing so I may find it a little more difficult to book it at a reasonable price again in the future! Very good housekeeping, I would rate this hotel a 9 plus overall!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like. Perfect!

    Staff was friendly, room decent sized, clean carpets and doesn't smell of smoke. Bathroom so clean it shines! Nice room with a wonderful view of the city. Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    the large double bedroom with great shower and comfortable bed. the secure garage. The hotel was on a quiet side street but only 10 minutes from the grotto. The staff were welcoming and once they understood my wife was deaf were very understanding and patient with her. I would stay again and have no hesitation in recommending it to friends

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better !

    We liked everything The staff are super ,the food very good ,parking great. We had a lovely room with a big terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet location and not too far from the Sanctuary, 10-15 minutes walk. Nice big, clean comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners/managers were two brothers and they were very friendly and very customer service oriented. Made us feel really confortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room is small!

    Clean, nice staff, quiet location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location was very good. Staff were very helpful. Garage was excellent. Rooms were comfrotable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    All the staff were very very nice, kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Close to Grotto. Great value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Phenomenal staff. Friendly, professional, go the extra mile. Fantastic location! Exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, private garage, a little bit small room but nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Room clean and spacious. We had a very nice stay there. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far away from train station but it's okay

    Clean room with complete fasility

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door position on bathroom area a bit awkward to get in and out.

    Nice, bright size room, and comfortable bed with room service everyday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm, clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful and nice staff. We completely enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant a little basic.

    Good facilities for class of hotel. Staff efficient and friendly. Secure parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Most pleasant part was the staff. They really cared that you had a great day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for boiling water for hot beverages

    Clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very helpful and professional staff. Excellent value. Happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful small hotel. Very good value. The staff are so helpful and welcoming. I will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at this hotel are so welcoming and helpful. It was our second visit here. Rooms well equipped, very clean and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no adverse comments

    Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, buffet style with freshly made coffee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a huge selection for breakfast. Otherwise there is nothing not to like.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. Nice garage area for parking a vehicle.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, 10 mins walk from the centre, grotto. Room no42 comes with an attached terrace and a fabulous view of the Pic du Jur and the castle at no extra charge.Friendly,helpful staff.Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is not too central. The parking should be included in the price...

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were quite pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    From the start till the end of our 3-day stay in Lourdes, Mr. Kamel provided us with needed assistance. He is knowledgeable about many things and always ready to assist us. And the hotel's restaurant offers very good French foods and it is not expensive.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing bad to say!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dinner on 3 occasions at hotel and it was delicious and service was excellent. WiFi was fast, free and available in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad! The hotel's location is maybe a 10 minute walking distance to the sanctuary. We enjoiyed looking at the shops along the way so it was no big deal for us.

    The entire staff was friendly, knew our purpose of visiting Lourdes so immediately gave us all the information that would help us during our stay. Room was large and clean. Amenities in bathroom were excellent and plentiful. Car was parked in enclosed and secure garage.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't anything that we didn't like.

    This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the grotto. The rooms are simple, but clean and quiet. Breakfast is in a beautiful, airy dining room. The reception staff were kind and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant wasn't open. No milk with the tea and coffee facilities.

    Security parking and a good welcome.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location for touring local area. Staff helpful good local knowledge.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location, welcoming staff, clean room and valuable price.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor worn in places, but what do you expect at these prices!

    Very helpful staff. Good air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Convenient to grotto and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A friendly hotel with garage parking. Our second visit. Good basic food in the dining room at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The very high charge for a international call.

    The hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was in a great location, parking readily available and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    went out of their way to welcome us, provide info and see to our comfort.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: