Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Lion d'Or Limoges 2 stars

9-11, Cours Jourdan, 87000 Limoges, France

#27 of 40 hotels in Limoges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Renovated Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Higgildy piggildy staircases: difficult with pram, suitcase and toddler. Very small lift! Noisy at night.

    Lovely staff. Beautifully renovated. Very clean. Fab location. Close to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not feel at the time of booking that enough information was given about the difference between a renovated room and an unrenovated room. I would have gone for a renovated room if I had known. Tea and coffee facilites in the room would have been nice. There was a kettle but only paper cups and a tea bag.

    Hotel was good value and the staff were great and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Renovated Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere to hang clothes and place a small suitcase on.

    The friendly and knowledgeable welcome at Reception. The clean and tidy renovated room., also the kettle , hairdryer and toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no coffee available in the room; they offered 1 teabag, despite the fact that 2 people were occupyingthe room - no milk was on offer. The en-suite facilities consisted of a Macerating toilet, which was exceedingly noisy & the whole hotel was noisy due to lack of soundproofing. We had to refuse the 1st room offered as it had not been cleaned, we had to stay in a room with twin beds despite having ordered a double bed for the 1st night.

    The beds were quite comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the hotel was made even more difficult because the Orleans Lion d'Or shares its efforts with another Citotel hotel nearby. This is very confusing.

    Limoges is a slightly grubby town and the hotel itself could also do with a thorough clean up. The bedroom however was tidy and the sheets etc. clean and very acceptable. The receptionist, Cecille, was very efficient and extremely affable. The following day the breakfast was initially drawn out because the coffee machine was broken. The server did his best and the food was eventually quite acceptable as was the coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    only problem I had was our room was not done one day but the staff said we did not have to pay for breakfast the next day so we thought the staff did take note and we were happy with the out come

    i was there with my granddaughter we thought the breakfast was reasonable but the dishes were not filled up very often

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very warm, old and had it's best time. Area surrounding the hotel didn't feel very safe. Close to the trainstation could be an advantage if travelling by train.

    A bath in one of our rooms was easy for the kids to refresh after a whole day in the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much, maybe a private translator as I was improving my French.

    The staff was available to give me the door access code when I came in late the first night; they were helpful with maps and directions; the room was clean and the bed was comfortable; the price was very reasonable. The hotel is close to the train station, The entire "downtown" can be crossed in 10-15 minutes, and this was a five-to-ten minute walk to just about anywhere downtown, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. I suppose you get what you pay for. The mattress was so soft you could bend it double with one hand. See the toilet for yourself - not enough room to swing a cat. The garage looked unsafe with debris everywhere and holes in the roof. Didn't dare risk breakfast as the dining area looked unhygienic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated but for the price you can't really complain!

    Great location, near to centre with secure parking for €5. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay and would struggle to find any faults.

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, gave us loads of information about the area. Hotel was basic but clean and welcoming. Hotel location was great, short walk from train station and opposite a good bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    50 yards away was a disco which went on until 4am every evening this wasn't mentioned anywhere when i was looking to book.we were silly enough to book a breakfast for 7.90 euro's which consisted of stale bread there was one piece of curled up ham left and no effort was made to bring any fresh very disappointed for that price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building in good position but room overlooked courtyard for smokers room had tiny toilet with electric disposal, A large person would have had difficulty using the toilet. Good hot water though for shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI did not work well in my room. Parking was difficult....and not secure...our car was robbed.

    The woman at the desk was very helpful when I needed to make a phone call. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty marked carpet should have been cleaned and curtains hanging off the track, it was cheap and you get what you pay for I guess.

    handy location for both the railway station and city centre. comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception staff in the evening...entrance by code at night door. However code easy to obtain - sent to email, or obtainable from reception at nearby hotel

    Comfortable renovated room in an old hotel near the centre of Limoges only minutes from the beautiful railway station. Short walk to the cathedral and its superb gardens

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room. Very noisy with drunks who congregated across the road near a memorial.

    Bed was comfy. Staff were nice and helpful. Location great. When checking out we were not charged for parking as a way of saying sorry about the noise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed that when we arrived at the hotel at about 19:15, there was nobody to check us in at reception. A sign on the door said reception was closed from 10pm, so we were confused. Because there was nobody to greet us, we had no idea where to park our car. And, because it was a Sunday the local area was very quiet, so getting advice on an evening meal was difficult. The rooms were OK, but had no air conditioning, despite it being about 36 degrees outside. With the only window to the rooms being open to a smoking terrace, there was no option but to make do. It was so warm, we couldn't sleep. (We've just done a road trip around all around Spain so have stayed in 9 hotels - this was the first without air conditioning). The rooms were well presented, but full of dust on the carpets and door frames. The sort of dust that's obviously been sat there for weeks. I clean my own place more often - and I'm a 30 year old man. The shower head had so socket, so you had to hold it up. Not surprisingly frustrating when you've only had 4 hours sleep. That was aided by the fact that every time another guest flushed their toilet, one of the showers would shoot out water randomly. One of the worse things was the insulation of the rooms - I could hear conversations of the guests in the room next to me, broken up only by the sound of someone urinating in the room above me, or the crying baby opposite. We didn't pay a lot for these rooms, but it's clear why. We had three rooms and all were the same (with exception of the shower sockets). I can't help but feel these guys need to seriously up their game. There's absolutely no chance we'd go back - a complete waste of our money.

    Bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The lady at checkout was very nice, and the hotel lobby was very modern (albeit we didn't see this until the morning after because we had to use a nighttime entrance which was through a grubby parking garage).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wasn't any tea & coffee in room.

    The staff were really friendly. Hotel in good position from train station, a just out side was a very lovely bistro.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a good breakfast a nice situation comfortable beds a quiet area of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was perfect, the breakfast was very good. parking was right outside the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-renovated Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the drain is kind of clogged up

    comportable bed, and really clean nice staff, the price is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Renovated Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of the room. The very small bathroom

    The friendly and informative welcome. The location. The coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and cheerful!.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like floor carpet in a hotel

    Price/Quality is top!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is in a cupboard it's ok if your on your own as it's only modesty is a plastic folding door .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi reception poor

    Location, close to city centre. Parking in the street outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    With it being the last room available, I did not have a shower in the room.

    Peaceful and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm and the area didn't really feel safe. Hotel was old and tired.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Renovated Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Wifi kept timing out every hour.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for bathtub bathing. Comfortable and quiet stay.

    Excellent hospitality and value for money . Good restaurant in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location and the service provide at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, good value for money. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Renovated Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor buffet for breakfast and uncomfortable bed

    Staff super friendly when at hand

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Renovated Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some refurbishment is needed, but still great value.

    Great value for money, clean, quiet and warm. Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night club just around the corner. Noisy revelers all night long till 5 am. Nightnight door difficult to use.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. Had to sit or kneel in the bath and hold shower rose in hand. Hard for older people

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was no air con, and it was very hot!

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay in hotel with lovely receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning

    Staff was helpful and pleasant. Room was clean. Hotel was situated for visiting Limoges center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renovated Single Room with Private Toilets and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from other rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very convenient for the station, cathedral and city centre. All are within easy walking distance. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renovated Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was a bit tired and some of the rooms were small

    staff were excellent and very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea / coffee making in room, breakfast very expensive, we thought it was inclusive, shocked when we got the bill. Very unhappy with street noise, mainly from pub oppersite, this was through the night and untill at least 4am so did not get much sleep.

    Great staff, good location, clean, good size room and shower room, pleased with secure car parking.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They close the recepcion, and I could not take hot water to drink, but they only stop for a few hours, and during night, so you get a code to enter.

    The staff helped me with printing, fork and knife to eat my dinner at the room, with indications for public transport or stores.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Couple

    The curtains could do with replacing

    We were really surprised how good this hotel is for a 2* it looks a bit gross from the outside and thought it would be like that on the inside so was very happy with room and cleanliness of the bathroom .

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good position near railway station,hotel is in a one way street so you have to take the next street after the hotel and turn right done the first street.this hotel is good value for money and staff were very helpful,

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I checked the option with two separate beds and received confirmation. Otherwise we wouldn’t take the room. The reception clerk called around 9.30 pm to tell us that she is closing the office and that she has not the kind of room we asked for. We were at that time on the highway at 150 km of destination and forced to accept the deplorable proposition. When we arrived around 11.45 Pm we discovered that the room has not air condition, that there was only one cushion, one towel and one plastic goblet.The bathroom door was defect.

    The reception clerk, when we left the next day was very kind

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms really need some update, and small things need to be fixed. No Airco.

    The room was really big. Private parking. Easy to access from the highway..

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Little noisy at night due to railway lines opposite, but I slept through.

    The rooms and the beds were good, very clean throughout the whole hotel. Staff were very helpful when needed. Location could not be better for railway station, bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had not been checked, some lights not working. We arrived before check in and If we had not inadvertently gone to a sister hotel in error would not have known how to access Citotel Orleans Lion D'Or. No information had been given to us prior to our arrival.

    Very good sized bedroom, and bathroom. Bed comfortable. A very comfortable overnight stay

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very basic and very dated, particularly the toilet. If you're happy with no frills this is pretty decent. Anything more then look elsewhere.

    Check in was quick and easy, the staff were helpful. Wouldn't bother booking parking as street parking was readily available and cheaper

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is open only in the morning and afternoon. On Sundays, it's closed in the afternoon. The bathroom is a bit haphazard.

    it's centrally located and across the road is a Basque restaurant called La Pitchouri, which is highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned eighties decor. Toilet in cupboard.

    Central location. Quite room. View over the rooftops of Limoges. Coffee machine in reception. Night access code.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately the wifi wasn't working when we arrived. We were offered to go to a nearby hotel to access the internet but it's not the same thing that do it from our room. The garage needs repair work pretty soon but is large enough and secure.

    The comfort and cleanness of the room, despite the fact that we stayed in a room still with the old furniture. We saw a room recently refurbished and it looked lovely. The staff was very polite and willing to help in our needs.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    didn't like the toilet and bathroom in the room only having a folding plastic door. Was ok for one night but not very private. wi fi connection poor

    bed was super comfortable , location ideal staff very friendly , parking great using the hotels secure parking garage, small so make sure you book this.,

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is run down broken shower heads in at least 3rooms. Terrasse is disgusting!

    The location. Convenient for tourist sites and station

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room basic but comfortable and clean. Location central for sightseeing. Bistro opposite excellent. Receptionist extra helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather expensive for this room and hotel. Soap and towels only for one person in the bathroom.

    Staffel at the reception Vers friedlich and helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No food at nights

    Really comfortable rooms, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front Door locked at times.

    Close to railway station. Close to town.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Convenient, welcoming & comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got a day without cleaning my room and the shared bathroom.

    The location is the best. Good bed. Big room.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Parking on site. Good value for this type of hotel. Idea for an overnight stop.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, arrival/access out of hours went fine (we were sent an e-mail with all the details day before)

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed to park on the street not a problem at the weekend.

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no kettle

    location

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The mattress was terrible. The bathroom had a bath but no proper shower.

    The breakfast was good and it was at a walking distance to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Parking and the english skills of the personell

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being able to park bicycles in garage was a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central nice staff secure car park

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff fine room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They had forgotten about the parking but they did refund it. So no worries.

    Was good for the price. Would book again.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: