Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Clair Cottage 3 stars

27, Rue De L'europe, 37150 Chisseaux, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Chisseaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    Located in a nice village albeit on the outskirts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cramped and hotter inside than out. We endured an unbarable nights stay. Wouldn't stay again

    Located in a nice village albeit on the outskirts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay apart from car park charging policy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact that we were charged 4 euro’s to park our car in the hotel car park was incredibly disappointing and it felt like penny pinching in what is a rural location. I have never experienced this before. I would not return to stay at the hotel unless this policy was reversed. It is a shame that Management feel this is necessary, surely the room rate should include this??

    Staff friendly, room good and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    An excellent place to stay if visiting Chenonceaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a very hot day so not having air conditioning, the room was too hot even with a fan.

    An excellent place to stay if visiting Chenonceaux. Staff very friendly and breakfast good but perhaps the breakfast was a bit expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed a proper door to the bathroom but this was ok for one night. The café was unfortunately closed when we were there.

    Close to Chenonceau and parking available (4 euros for private parking or free in front of it)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were extremely helpful and did everything to make us feel welcome. They helped make an appointment with a local physician for our daughter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay for cycling group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy for those with rooms on the road side. We were a big group and there was limited outdoor space to gather for evening drinks as the space there was was already occupied.

    Very friendly owner, very helpful. Good garage for bikes. Easy parking. Lovely clean and newly refurbished rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Room was clean and large and offered plenty of comfort for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean and large and offered plenty of comfort for our family of five. Breakfast was delicious! Perfect location to visit Loire chateaux. The hosts were very friendly and accommodated our late night arrival. Parking lot is locked which provided peace of mind, although this is a very quiet area so we were not concerned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent modern accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were rather hard but we had softer ones in the wardrobe, so not an issue. We had a kettle in our room with camillle teabags - May have been nice to also have tea/coffee with milk.

    Modern, spacious rooms and bathroom - great showers. Very clean and excellent quality accommodation. Helpful host, opened up the cafe and served us tea and coffee. We stayed here as we wanted to visit the Chateau Chenonceau - stunning. We went out for dinner in Amboise, more choice and also worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.9
    Very rude and angry staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing, from the staf completelly rude to the comfort of the room or the view. Too expensive for what it is. I travel a lot but i have never seen a worst place. The owners should go to anger managment classes. I felt agressed and unwellcomed at every answer to my very standard questions .

    Parking place. Nothing else

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location. We had a big, comfortable bed. Bathroom was nice sized too. Breakfasts were good, with a good assortment of things. good coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    We will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no air conditioning in a heatwave - but a fan was provided

    Excellent location Very friendly and helpful staff Superb breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, good breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Chenonceaux

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to find and very pretty hotel. I also felt very safe in the facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The cleanness, proximity with the castle, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness, proximity with the castle, good breakfast, and very friendly owners !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable room, free parking, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, comfortable room, free parking, good breakfast, warm welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast very good especially the coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior warning that the advertised local restaurant would be shut on the day we needed it!

    Breakfast very good especially the coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is very clean and beautiful. There was a lovely family room for four. Great breakfast. Very close to Chateau of Chenonceau.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Good value, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice, straightforward comfortable stay, well located for Chateau Chenenceau.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    10
    Great location, very helpful staff, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very helpful staff, friendly. Rooms were very well kept. Parking is excellent. Quiet. Very convenient location for dinning and chateaux.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Small hotel with immaculately clean, moderately-sized rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Small hotel with immaculately clean, moderately-sized rooms, adequate but uninspiring decor. Close to Chateau Chenonceaux. Secure bike parking. Excellent and well-priced breakfast; the pain perdu is delicious. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    Very clean room but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited space and firmness of the bed.

    Very clean room but small. Bed firmer than we like. Basic American hotel like accommodation. Within a km of the chateau. Breakfast ncluded a nice assortment of breads, cheers, ham, yogurt and fruit for 9 euro 50

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Château de Chenonceau is within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Strong smell of bleach in the bathroom. Room decoration and furniture is a bit basic (IKEA-style).

    Château de Chenonceau is within walking distance. Good breakfast. Quiet room. Price/quality rate is very good. Nice creperie restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    6.3
    The evening meal and waitress service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The name Clair 'Cottage' is misleading; it is a hotel, not a cottage. It has nothing particular to recommend it and nothing particular to detract from it. It is located in a village with the same distinctive characteristics. The owner/manageress is France's equivalent of Basil Fawlty, wanting to argue the point rather than resolving matters.

    The evening meal and waitress service.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Dinner was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got the feeling that some of the other staff were not as friendly - might have been a misunderstanding due to our lack of speaking French. Once we showed much effort in trying to speak French the reception got better/warmer, it was a shaky start

    Dinner was great! The savoury crepes were delicious & dessert was too! The room was pleasant & clean. The gentleman who greeted us at reception was cheerful & friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent value for money. We are a family of five, and they gave us two connected rooms. Both large and very comfortable, with a really large bathroom in common between the rooms (connecting the two rooms) and a toilet.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.5
    The Adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of information on getting from the train station to the hotel. Ended up walking along a path parallel to train tracks in the dark after the night tour of Chenoceau. Luckily, we traveled with flash lights!

    The Adventure!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Quiet;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    First breakfast, on a Sunday, was great; the next day we may have been the only guests and the breakfast had less variety.

    Quiet; liked being in a very small town

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Superb buffet breakfast and simple but tasty dinner menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Superb buffet breakfast and simple but tasty dinner menu.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    small family run hotel,excellent breakfast the best ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cardboard cups and poor choice of refreshments in the bedroom.

    small family run hotel,excellent breakfast the best ever.Warm friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Room is big,location is quiet and away from the noisy part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When train comes, it is a little bit noisy.

    Room is big,location is quiet and away from the noisy part of the city.Parking place is good.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.1
    It was a good stop over to be close to the chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a good stop over to be close to the chateau

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    Welcome from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    comfort

    Welcome from the staff

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't a bad experience, but we were sad to learn that their in house restaurant wasn't open the night we arrived.

    Easy parking

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    location and breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    perhaps too little rooms

    location and breakfast . also the staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: