Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain 3 stars

43 Rue Des Ecoles, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#1010 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny room n lift some rubish n dirty towels left in room

    Very tiny bathroom n lift (if u have more than 1 suitcase make 2 trips). Bed was comfortable . I had to ask for fresh towels as the previous guests towels were in the shower - also there was was on shelf plus there was a dirty glass there as well. Many restaurants close by plus a couple of supermarkets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevator is too small ,almost one person can use it at atime .reach the 5th floor,so you have to continue by staires ,I choosed one big room and they gave me aroom in the attic ,the carpet in the coredores are very old and dirty ..they cleans the room without change the towel and sheets ,small soap in the shower with one packet of body shower and shampoo at the same time ,no slippers,the room does not worth the price €273 for 2 nights.

    the morocco guys in the reception was very helpful .friendly ,during the checkin and checkout ,helped me with good advices about the city , the location is great near noterdam ,7 min walk to the subway station ,14 minutes walk to the paris big mosque ,alot of good resturant around the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    through the window i see wall another building, it was sad. i come to Paris to meet my birthday, i hoping that birthday morning they send to my room glass of champagne or cup of coffe but nothing, in the form they ask birth date, so why they asking , if not thinking. But Paris was beautiful.

    very good and safe location. room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were pleasant, but we would have preferred not to have had coffee out of a machine.

    We particularly liked the rooms and the helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't clean the room or do the towels. No housekeeping service was provided. Not enough cutlery or bowls / plates were available at breakfast so people couldn't eat the food provided. Food ran out an hour before breakfast was due to close. Had to wait at breakfast until people finished their breakfast so that staff could wash their cutlery and then give it to us.

    The size of the room. The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even for Paris hotel rooms, and I've been in many, the room was too small. Barely able to move around, no room for a comfortable chair so had to use the bed for "relaxing". Shower was tiny and floor was slick.

    Great bed even for my 6' 3"height. Staff pleasant and helpful. Location great and less noise than others I have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was alone first 2 nights with a friend joining me on the 3rd and final day/ night. Confirmed when I checked in I could move to twin room on 3rd day. My friend met me at the hotel in the morning and we made sure again the hotel would make the room change before we went out for the day. Returned at 2:45 to find that nothing had been done and the clerk spent 15 or 20 minutes finding a room that was ready’ ‘because we didn’t know what you would return( check in time is 3 pm). Otherwise, everything was great!

    Hotel was in a great location, clean and front desk very helpful except for one individual. Very small single room but had everything I needed and a window I could open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom was very small.

    The hotel is situated close to public transport, the Pantheon and Notre Dame. There are good restaurants and a supermarket within a short walking distance. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as there are other cheaper eating options close by. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. It was good having the lounge area near reception where you could make tea/coffee and enjoy a treat whilst you used the Wifi or took a break as the rooms were very small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing to say about it.

    It´s a nice hotel located close to metro and many shops around. Nice area for walking around Paris and I enjoyed a lot the hotel. They were really helpful and the breakfast is fine. For sure, its a nice option for your stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the old stylist lobby and waiting room, the big bed room, great location, easy access to the cafe etc, friendly staff, nice view from balcony, very tiny lift, interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and a little dated. Things like making sure the coffee was replenished were missed, which is disappointing

    Location was superb, and the front desk staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of Breakfast was too expensive.

    When we checked in the front desk man was so nice, he took care of our daughter getting into the room until we could get there. All of the front desk people spoke English and treated us very nicely and helped us when we asked. The family room (Triple) was huge, with a nice size bathroom also. The beds were quite comfortable too. The rooms are a bit noisy as they are on a busy street, but we loved the location, just a few blocks from Notre Dame and the Pantheon. You are truly right in the heart of Paris and can visit a lot of special places. Great price for the location. It is an older hotel, but in good shape, a very nice restaurant right down the block too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you reserve a room ask not to stay at the rooms on the first floor. The rooms as a coffee machine- didn’t work. The hat water at the bathroom finished fast. We mostly had cold water.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was richer than most places. The location is good, five minutes waking from the pantheon their you have an amazing view to the Eiffel at night. At the lobby you have a coffee and tea that you can make yourself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day reservation was not available due to a plumbing issue. However they did have it taken care of in a nearby hotel which was very nice. I would have preferred to stay there. Overall room simple and clean close to location of my meetings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk receptionist couldn't recommend a coffee shop nearby, which was kind of unusual.

    Our family room on the second floor was very spacious and comfortable. Good shower. Thick noise reducing windows. Excellent location with walking distance to many main sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my room was very noisy, it was near the lift. You could also hear people moving through the corridors and doors closing. The selection of breakfast was a bit limited.

    The location is fab and staff are very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift is too small.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, the staff very friendly and helpful. On the whole, we had an experience we would be very happy to repeat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds was uneven. Got room on the ground floor and temp was set to 32 degree so unbearable warm the first night. Noise from traffic the next morning but still ok. However the second afternoon we came back to the room to find it as we left it?? The room was not made up.....and when my wife asked in the reception she was ignored... A lot of excuses for not having done the job correctly.....finally we got extra towels....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small lift, aircon hummed a bit

    very good location to explore paris from, very close to the pantheon and a few restaurants and shops. very large room for the family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was a bit small but at least there was ine

    Fantastic location and clean room and bathroom everyday. Receptionist was very helpful where we needed information

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is tiny, and it is not very convenient to take a shower, but it is typical for Paris.

    The hotel is very nice and cosy. Location is wonderful: Notre Dame, Latin Quarter, RER to the airport within several minutes of walking. A charming Parisian balcony in the room with a nice view. We would definitely like to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was teensy-tiny. Literally one person, one suitcase. Not much room in the room to put our bags. Closet was hard to open and close.

    Bed was comfortable. Location was truly beyond compare, walking distance to everything. Perfect for anything in Paris centre. Safe in the room was useful. Bathroom was very nice, big and bright.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was meant to be a double but got two singles together which kept separating which was really annoying plus only 1 pillow each , the bed headboard was really dusty , broken shelf in wardrobe plus only 6 coat hangers to hang clothes for two people not enough . No kettle or iron . A little bit of snagging would help ps missing skirting and fix ceiling in barhroom .Also a cutlery tray wouldnt go a miss in the breakfast area instead of being in glasses or a washing up container

    The staff were really friendly and really helpful couldn’t fault them. Location was really good easy access to trains and plenty of bars and restaurants . Would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom in one of our rooms.

    Great location close to Notre Dame and several restaurants and quite quiet. The continental breakfast selection was better than I was expecting although you needed to be down early to get the pancakes and pain au chocolate. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a little more complete but was fine.

    The room was spacious and clean. Beds comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to Notre Dame and close to Metro station (RER line B takes you both to/from the train station (Gard du Nord) and the Airport Charles de Gaulle).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit outdated and the building is quite noisy. We had the room closest to the elevator and staircase: we could hear everyone arriving/leaving the hotel.

    The staff from the hotel is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom has a bath as well. Beds are comfortable and the view from the balcony is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Claude Bernard is centrally located on Rue des Ecoles in the 5th Arr. It is near the Boulevard Saint Michel and Notre Dame and Saint Sulpice (featured in the Da Vinci Code). Metro St, Cluny, La Sorbonne is situated on Blvd St Michel and Blvd St Germain and Metro Odeon is a little further away on Blvd St Germain. One can walk to Palais de Louvre and Palais Royal where there is a Metro. Hotel is very pleasant with rooms to front having a balcony. I had a single room, which was quite spacious, and although bathroom was small, it was perfectly adequate. My nephew had the double room which was very nice indeed. Beds were very comfortable and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nespresso Maxine in the room but no coffee pods. Instant coffee only.

    Great location, good value and friendly staff. Comfy beds and a bath. Large family room with 3 beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's a coffee machine in the room, but you don't get any coffee. Also you get no glasses for water/wine...

    You can take the RER train from CDG and 35 minutes later, you're in Latin Quarter which is only a few minutes on foot from the hotel. The place itself is nice, with an elegant lobby but a little aged. Room is always kept very clean and the staff is helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It really needed a deep clean. We had no coffee and tea facilities in the room because the nespresso machine was broken. Everything was falling apart Pictures over sold it. The horrid lift is a nightmare if you don't like tight spaces

    Firstly, do not be drawn in by the very styled pictures of the hotel like I did. It is more shabby than chic and I mean shabby. The carpet running throughout was absolutely filthy and hadn't been cleaned since the nineteen seventies which is precisely when the bathrooms and bedrooms were last decorated. The bedroom, thankfully, was clean enough as long as you didn't look at the fan, the edges of the bath and under the bed. We spent a lot of time outside the hotel avoiding going back. It was all very basic and the nespresso machine didn't work. No capsules were supplied but we couldn't have used them anyway we just got some orange juice after our request for a working machine was ignored. Should you go here take a travel kettle with you. The lift, if you are even slightly claustrophobic, is a nightmare. It's like a carpet lined coffin, with no visible means of escape so I only went in it once with my case to floor five! After that we walked the full five flight of 65 stairs to our room, good for keeping fit but it nearly killed us! Wardrobe doors were falling out of the fittings and the shower screen was very close to falling off, the fridge was dirty. So on the positive side the staff are very nice, wifi was very good, the building is a Hausmann and once was beautiful, the position is fabulous for accessing the Latin Quarter. I wouldn't go back because I really don't like being sold one thing when the reality is so far from the truth and all for the sake of a good clean and an update. As for that filthy carpet why not just strip the stairs back to the wood rather than leave it in that state. Yuck.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We requested a room (No 26) with twin beds. They were very small and narrow, mine even smaller than that of my wife. The springs in them would make a noise when you turned over (often to avoid falling out of bed). The bathroom door had a haunted house creak to it and didn't get much better after the front desk was asked to fix it. The lift was tiny but that is what you get when they are retrofitted.

    The location is great - a short walk from Saint Michele and Saint Germain on a relatively quiet street. Our room had a small balcony and looked across the intersection. The boulangerie opposite was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small.we were in 56 and our friends had 55 on the corner which was much roomier. Shower a bit dated. Doors instead of plastic curtain would be a nice upgrade. Plenty of hot water was nice after long days sightseeing Enjoyed the Little balcony. Bit pricey but hey its paris!

    Staff very hepful.not too far from main attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have used extra mirror (either on the wall or stand alone) near the electric plugs - as with most european hotels, the plugs for curling irons are never near the bathroom mirrors.

    The customer service was outstanding - Front desk manager, Mahmood, was friendly, helpful, pro-active in directing us to sites/tours - even jumped on trying to help sort out the Hop on/off bus tour that incorrectly charged us. We would have booked the following weekend when we were returning to Paris, but unfortunately, they were full. The location of the hotel is great - safe neighborhood, near the metro, lots of restaurant options and a 10minute walk from Notre Dame. The room was big, with lots of extra space for us 3 adults to settle in comfortably.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is very small; just 2 people without any luggage can use it at the same time

    The service was excellent, the receptionist and the room keepers were very useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're in the very top floor there is no lift for the last flight of stairs. But it wasn't a problem for us at all just a heads up if you have a big case!

    Little balcony with lovely views. Pretty building with friendly helpful staff. Its in a great location for sight seeing/shopping/dining out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit too basic with small frozen style croissants instead of locally sourced. Coffee from machine could have been better

    Traditional French style hotel with spacious rooms. Quiet inspite of road front location with plenty of facilities around and well located (less than 5 minutes from Metro stop)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is incredible! We walked around the neighborhood & got to so many wonderful spots! Would highly recommend this hotel! Would absolutely stay here again- hope to get the chance!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky beds. Didn't replace the coffee at the coffee machine in our room. Quite noisy in the morning when cleaning started.

    Very central, friendly and helpful staff. Quite spacy rooms for a Paris hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the shower was tiny resulting in a wet floor every time it was used.

    The hotel was clean and the location was excellent for my needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift which only fits two persons only goes to fifth floor and our room was in sixth but this really was not a big deal.

    Announcing at the front desk was always helpful before and during trip with transportation from train station and also maneuvering the city!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    shower too narrow (controls above sink - turned water off accidentally few times). No shelf for soap/gel inside the shower. power switches felt fragile.

    Neat kettle, tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest problem for me was the poor wifi in the hotel, once you had a number of users the quality of the service diminished and would cut out. I spoke to staff about this but it appeared to be an ongoing problem. These days hotels need to provide a good quality wifi service.

    The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful, the location was very good and the room always cleaned well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and outdated. Lacked any atmosphere in this small hotel there was no bar area just a kettle to make a cup of coffee. Very poky bathroom....

    The tiny balcony was nice to sit out on. The mattresses were comfortable and the bed linen very clean. Lovely bakery across the road for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little shabby - great bath but no plug :-( could do with more electrical plugs in the room and couple extra pillows, but these are small things, I would very happily stay again!

    Lovely balcony with a view to the Notre Dame, great neighbourhood with friendly boulangerie just outside. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff. Easy metro access to the rest of the city, easy walking distance to the Seine, the Notre Dame and the Pantheon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning wasn't very cool despite adjusting the setting. Additionally, our booking.com confirmation stated that our room would have a balconey and a radio of which we had neither. I feel the room was a little over priced for what it was.

    The location was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tout est parfait.

    Twin beds very comfortable, lit clothes 1st quality, super perfect breakfast with plenty of quality food, hotel very clean and staff magnifique. Merci pour tout !!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi signal was not strong in our 4th floor room, but we were able to go sit in the comfortable lobby for a stronger signal.

    The daytime concierge was extremely helpful, and friendly. The family room was a good size for four adults. We loved that our room faced the street and we were able to open the windows. The pillows and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't a single English TV channel, which seems rather remiss in a modern hotel of this price. The WiFi was quite patchy and dropped out completely from time to time. Breakfast was OK but a bit basic for the price (no hot options at all.)

    We stayed here twice in a fortnight (on our way out and back through Paris to elsewhere). We had two different rooms, one of which was roughly double the price of the other. The location is really convenient for the Latin Quarter bars and restaurants and the metro is just a couple of minutes away. Our second room (the expensive one) was absolutely enormous with an extremely comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room and our first room (44) was two single beds pushed together. We asked if this could be changed and the reception staff were very helpful. Unfortunately, the room we ended up with was very small (25). Should probably be a single but they've put a small double in to get more money. Tiny bathroom and shower, with shower curtain. I'm 5"2 and I could touch the walls on either side without stretching. Fridge barely working. Kettle with herbal tea and basic instant coffee but no milk. Lift is also tiny. Only room for one person with two hand luggage sized cases at most. The only redeeming feature was the bed was comfortable and the balcony. Tired decor throughout although the outside looked recently refurbished.

    The room came with a balcony. The hotel was in a great location- 10 mins walk from St Michel station (direct link to CDG airport via the RER B) and plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it might be inconvenient not having a restaurant but there are so many lovely restaurants to walk to it was not a problem.

    Lovely buffet breakfasts. Location of hotel is excellent - particularly for the Paris Marathon! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely Italian restaurant nearby for pasta for marathon runners!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first bedroom (15) we had was far to small to be called a 'double'. We were moved as the shower was not functioning properly. The next room (44) was a nice room. I feel the 'photos on booking.com were very selective and didn't reflect the general bedrooms.

    Location good. No external noise. Staff were really great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners took my towels and didn't replace them. Coffee sachets were not replenished either so had to ask for more at 6am! I came back to the room with the air conditioning set at 27degrees!!!! The "garden or street" view turned out to be no view at all but just the wall of the next building. There were lots of people coming and going loudly and you could hear everything The wifi was not very strong

    The first receptionist was super helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable The location was great (10 minutes walk from the Seine)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has an unusually narrow lift: 2 persons hardly fit there with small suitcases or backpacks. We found our room a bit too small compared to the dimension of other double rooms we stayed in different European cities.

    We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we liked the cleanliness of the room and adored the incredibly good bed. We had a wonderful, relaxing sleep here after our long walks in Paris. We also enjoyed the spring air on the lovely balcony of the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar (despite saying it did) and most of the electric sockets in our room (as well as the TV and coffee machine) did not work.

    Good location close to the bars and restaurants of the Latin Quarter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Metro service too confusing. Long queues and waiting times to see sights. Not always a helpful service in Metro, shops and Restaurants.

    Sights. Architecture. Shops. Public Transport. Disneyland Paris.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were constantly reminded we had then room with the best view, it was extremely small and had two twin beds that we had to separate as not to sleep on top of each other. There is not coffee or condiments in the room. You must continually go to the ground floor for coffee. Our room was on the 6th floor, only twin bed room available, and the life only goes to the fifth floor. The TV did not work in the room and by the time it did work it was our last night. One desk clerk doesn't know any English which made communication more difficult. I would not recommend the hotel due to the room size, no coffee or tea in the room, and when the room was serviced shampoo, conditions nor shower caps are replenished. We stayed 4 days.

    I loved the location and most of the staff was very accommendation and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is small, but at least there is a lift :)

    The receptionist was very helpful, hotel was located near the Seine, easy to walk to Notre Dame, Lourve, and Musee D'Orsay! Rooms were spacious and clean. I didn't have breakfast there but there are a lot of cafes in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bokade 2 dubbelrum. Ett var mycket bra, det andra en katastrof med en 140 cm säng för två..dusch och toa gick inte att vända sig. Be att få titta på rummet om möjligt. Överensstämmer inte med bilderna. Hyfsad frukost för att vara Paris.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because it had parking and dogs were allowed. When we got here we were told that the dog is not allowed in the rooms and that there is no parking. Dirty rooms with no towels. No options for privacy and the rooms are NOT soundproof!

    Friendly staff and fair location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for such a small room, you could hear everything that happened in the hallway, hard to get sleep.

    Staff was amazing, great customer service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - close to great restaurants. Walking distance to St Germaine shopping and all major attractions. Fantastic room with great views. Ideal place to stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was broken glass on the bathroom floor, under the vanity, when we arrived. I had picked up the bigger pieces but after our 5 day stay, the other pieces were still on the ground.

    Good location. The room was dated but otherwise quite serviceable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited room facilities such as Iron - but not a big deal

    Location is amazing. Staff are very friendly and nice. Breakfast is decent and the rooms are very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fridge mounted in cupboard causing large heat production inside - awkward placing, maybe not a good idea.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Simple, but nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - We did not get double bed as it was written in the order, also no bath only shower (although receptionist suggested to switch the room with a bath, but the room was not nice as with a shower) - Beds were horribly uncomfortable (even had the pain in the neck afterwards) - Some variety in breakfast would be nice likewise for people staying more than one or 2 nights, also there were no warm food which is a big minus I would say (something like omelet, warm pancakes etc) - Check your bill carefully, we read in previous reviews that some people were charged incorrectly, we were charged likewise for breakfast even if they were included (of course the hotel returned money back, but you need to check carefully in order notice) - The lift is very very small, but as we did not have any luggage that was not an issue at all.

    + The biggest plus for the hotel is staff, they are very friendly and helpful. + Delicious Breakfast + Perfect location + Nice view from the 6th floor room and nice balconies + Clean room and facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is great, walking distance from the Latin district and Notre Dame. Quick walk to the metro. Fabulous staff - so helpful and kind - once we couldn't figure out how to work our air conditioning and the service was very prompt. I also loved the feel of the hotel. The rooms were clean and had a classic, antique feel. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should be honest to their guests. I can understand they want to get more money, but not using some sick tricks with the driver sending guests to airport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallway carpet/paint should be be replaced/cleaned. Mattress is very hard.

    Staff is lovely here--so helpful and kind. There is a lift here for luggage. The AC works well--very cold and nice. Flat-screen TV in room and small fridge--a good extra! Tea and pastry downstairs in the afternoon and morning. Location is perfect. A quiet street, a fabulous bakery (patisserie) across the street, a wonderful restaurant around the corner, a laundromat a block away, all the lively parts of the Latin Quarter just two blocks away. Great value for the money. It is a 2-3 star property, but for that it is clean and good and well situated with a wonderful staff. I've stayed her many times over the past 10 years and it's a good place to come in a great neighborhood next to the Sorbonne. The rate I got this time was amazing! The only time I stayed in a place this inexpensive in Paris was the time I stayed in a youth hostel.. This is far better than that.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small but this is Paris.

    Great location with only a short walk to Notre Dame or the Pantheon. Everything you need is there except for a lot of space to put you bags.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last night, it was either a room with no elevator (6th floor) or a room with no hotwater. Staff couldnt resolvr our problem and we werent compensated at all for this lack of water...

    The location mainly. Our first stay was good, the last night was terrible

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Common areas need renovation. Breakfast room used to be at street level but now it is underground.

    Located in the Latin Quarter. Reasonable size room with balcony. Good air condition. Very friendly staff. Adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location make this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar would have been a good addition

    Great location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 3 stars it’s OK. It’s a Little bit old style.

    Central location. Good accesibility to THE public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: