Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cœur de City Hôtel Bordeaux Clémenceau by Happyculture 3 stars

4 Cours Georges Clémenceau, Bordeaux City-Centre, 33000 Bordeaux, France

#59 of 69 hotels in Bordeaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1562 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    An attic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will not choose if we know the triple room is in an attic. Adults bump their heads easily if not paying attention. Toilet is very small. Spoilt the holiday mood a bit by this room. Location is good.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy shower, a bit run down. We stayed one night on our way to the Landes, arrived late and left early, so a basic hotel was fine with us. I wouldn't stay for more than 1 night

    Very central, good air conditioning, friendly staff .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is pretty dated and the room and bathroom pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is pretty dated and the room and bathroom pretty small. The location of the hotel was superb though. The beds were good but the breakfast a joke. Easy parking with discount across the road for hotel guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the location with an affordable price for Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom and bathroom with very limited space for storage and bags. (We did have a lot of luggage)

    Fantastic location to see Bordeaux. Around the corner from the B line tram and many options for restaurants. Very close to a supermarket and within walking distance to the major shopping street and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great town, great staff, great wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Which I could have stated a month.

    The location of this hotel is superb. Minutes from the red line tram, the Grand Theater, and around the block for the Tourism Center. Wonderful restaurants and pubs all around. Best of all was the outstanding staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Bordeaux was fantastic, the hotel was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very small,bathroom was in need of a serious upgrade and the breakfast was not good.Very basic -reminded me of a hostil,even thought of checking out and looking elsewhere but not worth it for 3 nights. Over priced.

    Comfortable bed,good location and good WiFi.Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Avoid. Way over priced and dirty gross rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, horrible shower with bad water heating. Room was musty smellling and paint pealing on walls. Couldn't even get an extra pillow from the staff for the room.

    Location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance isn't very obvious and the first room I was given was very small for a six night stay.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. They speak good English. Cedric and Olivia were particularly accommodating. The location is very central for walking everywhere, whilst at the same time it was quiet. Also, I received a small bottle of wine on the days I declined housekeeping, which was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing. General impression all done as cheaply as possible.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything. It was very expensive, and charged more for the second night 138 euros, we moved to Hotel Normandie for 150 euros - huge marble lobby, bags carried, large room, bath etc, big windows.

    Poky tiny room, half the height taken for room above, kettle but no socket for it, horrible cheap plastic glasses, tiny bin, only decaf nescafe provided. tiny shower. Broken hangers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with a repaint as the walls and doors were quite marked

    Excellent location. Clean and comfy beds with a great shower. WiFi worked brilliantly. Staff were always very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    great location but our room was so small. at 130 euros a night ,just not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    night porter was rude and surly. we asked for a hair dryer and was told it was in the bathroom. it was not. he would not believe us.

    room was so tiny. a partition split the window in half to make two rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    OK for a short stay if you don’t expect to be in bed by 21 h and have a good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room overlooked several cafes with outdoor seating and remained noisy late into the night. The room was very small but perfectly clean.

    Very professional and friendly staff, good welcome and let me leave my bags so I could sight see. Pleasant breakfast area and adequate choices. For a tourist great location in heart of city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    An enjoyable time in Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a dreadful smell in the lift and corridors which was quite worrying.

    The excellent proximity to city centre. Good breakfast and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.0
    comfortable stay in a rather outdated hotel badly in need of redecoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    room in need of decoration, walls badly marked and looked dirty, Shower tray needs replacing, grouting virtually disappearing, shower very small could hardly turn around, No English speaking channels on television not even CNN

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Unimpressed. It was a 2 start hotel pretending to be a 3 star hotel and advertised as a 4 star hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was advertised as 4 stars. It was a 3 start hotel ( as per the stars on the wall outside the hotel ) No fridge in room, no communal areas, very basic breakfast ( in an attic ). Smelly corridors ( smelt of fish all day long ). Air con was noisy and didnt work. Very basic amenities. It was more of a commercial travelers 2 start hotel. The only good things were the central location and the views form the room.

    The view was good of the Rue De Intendent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the roof. I didn’t like it. Ceiling was very low. I can’t walk inside very very well because of afraid of hitting my head. I had to bow down. The room was very small. Actually When I looked at Booking.com, I didn’t see this. There aren’t a glass without thin plastic cups...It was not comfortable...

    Location is very beautiful..,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location, but run down and way too expensive for what it is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in poor conditions and pretty run down. It looks like it was refurbished 40 years ago with little to no maintenance done ever since. I think overall the hotel was clean, but it’s so run down that it’s hard to tell. My single room was small and really basic, with minimal comforts (just a few hangers and a small kettle). Pretty spartan for the price I paid! The photos of the hotel on Booking.com look nothing like the real thing.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small, and you could hear the doors closing from other bedrooms

    Very good location. And a kettle and some tea and coffee , both in the hall and bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    What a shame the location is spoilt by the conditions in and outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor condition of room, lack of basic services (towels for one person only, non-working phone, poor cleanliness, bad condition of room itself)

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The location in the city was great, there are plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location in the city was great, there are plenty of restaurants local to it, the public car park was opposite the hotel, which was good, all the staff seemed to speak at least two languages

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location. Clean. Very comfortable bed. Excellent shower. Too noisey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy - the wall are like paper and you could hear absolutely everything in the corridor and adjacent rooms. Rooms need to be sound proofed.

    Very comfortable bed and very clean. Shower was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    2.9
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the attic and you banged your head periodically. The toilet/bathroom stank bad and was badly worn out. The room was dirty, cobwebs and marked walls, never been decorated in decades. Do not use this hotel !!!!!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    I’d go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. When you travel you can end up with a bit of neck tension which easily. A firmer pillow I find makes a load of difference.

    Handy location, nice room with street view and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very helpful staff. Original room split in two, division made at window which allowed very little natural light. Bathroom terrible. Could not get into shower easily as handbasin was in the way. WC wedged into tiny alcove. Not sure how this arrangement is permitted. Also very bad smell in the very tiny lift. Breakfast was good, plenty of options, but again the dining area was very very small. Staff could not stand up straight in kitchen area as ceiling was so low.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the top floor and extremely noisy located nxt to the restuarant. Sounded like the coffee machine was attached to our wall!! Would not stay there again and very dissapointed. Will be writing review on tripadvisor as not worth the money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great must go back for more !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather ha ha ! not your fault !

    The bed was nice and warm though there was a electrict blanket on lol also the room was nice and warm. It was right in the centre of the city fantastic lots of shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location. Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups for tea and coffee. Finishing touches a little tatty. The corridors were very cramped.

    Very comfortable bed. The bath was an added bonus. Location was amazing and parking close to the hotel with a reduced parking fee was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Well the place is located in the city center of Bordeaux, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit smelly i think the pipes and we heard the street a bit sometimes, even tho the sleep quality was great

    Well the place is located in the city center of Bordeaux, so its very easy to get there from the train station or to the airport (bus number1). Within 10 mins on foot to everywhere. The staff were nice, breakfast was okay and we felt great the whole time. The price for a double room was 90 Euros a night so i really recommend it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great, always very helpful! Great location for sight seeing, airport bus etc (which was very easy!). Plenty of good food options within 10minute walk. Single room was small but clean and comfortable, all I needed. Nice view to the shops and street below. Good range of options available at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    This is one of those old (but done up) French hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is a little small - although the shower itself is very good. Shower curtain needs replacing .

    This is one of those old (but done up) French hotels. Don't expect luxury, but it's comfortable and warm - I was there during a cold snap! As a woman travelling by myself, I felt safe. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast is great and has the French staples.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    3.3
    Survived without sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is very narrow and dark. It smells bad everywhere: old in the hallway, the stairs, in the rooms of stale oil. It was very noisy from the outside (Pubs, drunk People, garbage moving aso.) and I had to sleep with an open window because of the smell. Rooms are tiny. Bed is narrow and shower too small to move (and I am not a big person!) I would not recommend the Hotel. Staff was not asking to help.

    The Hotel is in a central place and you can reach bars and restaurants easily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location - bit noisy but fine if you shut the windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drains very badly (room 111)

    Great location - bit noisy but fine if you shut the windows. Nice welcoming staff and several useful extras offered

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Bordeaux is a beautiful city with history. No matter were you stay is worth the visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was soooo small! The bed was against a wall so there could be some walking space in the room! For a moment I though I was in a small cruise cabin...

    Great Location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great for a one nighter thru Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In-room wifi did not work. However...they provided free mobile wifi to make up for it.

    Great service,super location and actually quiet rooms despite being located on the Main Street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money we paid. Felt ill after 4 days of the smell of dead bodies !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful smell throughout hotel, tiny bedroom, no hot water in shower, no water pressure in shower, very poor decor and furnishing a great let down for Bordeaux.

    Location and staff, bed was reasonably comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Very well situated in the center of the city, near shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet breakfast somewhat overrated - not a big variety in selections of foods. Very small breakfast room, with few tables. Small rooms and even smaller bathroom/shower. But clean and sufficient for the low price.

    Very well situated in the center of the city, near shopping and Tourist office. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Cute hotel in Bordeaux
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, which made it hard to move around. It also had a very small bed and even a smaller shower. In fact, even thin individuals will find it challenging to shower in such a narrow space. Breakfast is extremely basic and the dining room can get crowded at peak times (you may need to wait; suggestion: go at 6:30 AM…). The staircase and the elevator area didn’t smell too great either… The WiFi stability and login protocols can get annoying…

    A lovely hotel in an excellent location. Within walking distance to many of Bordeaux’ main attractions. Kind and knowledgeable staff. Unique elements, not offered in any other hotel (as far as I know) include a nice Nespresso machine downstairs and a “candy bar”. Good windows, capable of blocking the street noise (my window was facing a main street right above a busy and noisy restaurant; it was still OK).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced shabby and booking .com ripped us off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will start my review by saying , I really thought booking.com promised the best price . This is not the case I paid almost 40 euros more for 2 nights than if I had booked with the hotel direct ( the hotel also included breakfast) With regard to the rooms , they were small shabby and the shower was an absolute joke . Not big enough for an adult to get in We were offered a change of room , but when we came back after it had been cleaned , they had re let it . This wasted much of our day Totally overpriced accommodation and more like an hostel than an hotel

    The two youngsters on the reception were very pleasant an tried to be helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.8
    Bad surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor comfort, service, breakfast. It smells awfull in the lift and stairs. Bad value for money indeed. Don't understand how they got 3 stars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable and central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doors and paint are old, scratched and chipped. The hotel needs a slight rennovation.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel need a bit of a refurb - the bathroom was very dated and there was a backing board next to the toilet that kept falling open, exposing the pipes. Also a weird smell hanging around on the 2nd floor where my room was...

    Great location with parking across the street. Comfy bed and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    A lovely clean central and friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bonus for not having the room serviced was a small bottle of wine. As a non drinker was useless to me. If they had said what the special bonus actually was I wouldn't have opted.

    Friendly and very central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Céntrico, limpio, flexible, personal muy disponible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had some problems with our tryp and our reservation and they solve twice these inconveniences.we are very grateful to them.most of them understand spanish.the personal is so helpful we feel at home

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Well located in the centre of Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic, hostel-like accommodation.

    Well located in the centre of Bordeaux. Easy access everywhere by public transport. Walking distance from main tourist attractions and shopping streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Close to shopping and restaurants.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderfull man in the reseption. Fre wather, coffie and candy bar in the reseption. Grate naberhod with beautyfull arcetecture ! High fashion brand stores and endless of other stores right around the corner. Restaurants right outside and right around the corner. You don't have to walk far for a good meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    First time in Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really,first appearance the room was quite small but it was so clean one forgot it was a little tiny.Grew to love it!

    So central,loved how close the restaurants and shopping mall was and of course the free bottled water and the lollies in the foyer.The staff were exceptional to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Suspicious management practices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking process was a lie again! It was indicated that I wouldn't be charged until I arrived at the hotel. When I got there I had made a mistake of booking it in July and not as I thought June. Despite desperate pleas in correspondence with the manager I was not offered a refund. This is the second time this has happened with booking.com but the fact that this chain of hotels were not willing to refund on a simple mistake was spiteful, small minded and suspicious. I wonder where my payment went when they rebooked the room they knew I wasn't going to occupy for a month.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Run down and small room/bathroom but beautiful building in great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rundown and extremely small, didn't seem to reflect the price. The bathroom was also very small - could not shower without filling the bathroom with water.

    I liked the friendly and accommodating staff, the incredible location and the view from the room was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift from your room only has a down button so you have to go down to go up in the lift. Breakfast room on the 4th floor. No safety deposit box. Coffee/tea maker not enough supplies to go with it and again another hotel with paper cups. :( :(

    Hotel in great location. Reception staff very helpful. Parking opposite hotel in mutistorey carpark. Take ticket, park car, take ticket to reception. They will sort out a cheaper rate when you leave. It should be E30 per 24hrs, you pay the hotel E12 and they give you a second ticket to put into the machine after you have put in the original ticket, so don't lose it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    Although the hotel's location is good for exploring...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotel's location is good for exploring Bordeaux my room was just above restaurants and cafés, which made it noisy; and I had asked for a quiet room. I wore earplugs and still could hear the talk and general noise until early morning hours. And the internet was not functioning properly. It was not a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Basic but clean with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small. The shower was so small I couldn't move without burning my arms on the taps, and water went everywhere into the bathroom. Also not sure if the hotel is to blame, or the guests, but it was very noisy. People slamming doors and moving furniture at all hours of the night.

    The location was perfect, set right in the middle of all the restaurants and bars. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.6
    not good nor the compensation will you do something
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the lift broke down when we arrived did not work until we left we were on the 3rd floor 85 steps every day to much for 2 70+ olds they offered compensation but we still have not got it perhaps you can do something.The room service coffee in the morning 2nd morning only 1cup left 3rd morning no milk with no lift had to take our cases down we had to take them ourselves

    the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Right in the heart of Bordeaux!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small but it was comfortable and central.

    Central location. Had great meal in restaurant that was just below my little balcony window. Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    We did not like anything apart from the location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could have been better. Room TINY, shower SOO small could barely get in it. LIft SOO small took two trips getting in and out. Asked for ice, and was sent to Restaurant next door!!!!!!! HOw would you feel about that????? Weird place . . Not really a Hotel at all . .you should make that clear on the website. Refund please?? VAlerie Wise

    We did not like anything apart from the location . . Dreadful place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location, if you don't need to take a shower
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water pressure at all. The kettle didn't work. The staff were not very knowledgable about the local area and couldn't recommend any restaurants/wine bars without using Google. The parking is not on hotel property but a paid underground parking garage nearby.

    Great location, close to the historic city centre. Beds okay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location and friendly staff but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed in plenty of franchi hotels which are normally compact but the rooms in this hotel are tiny. The bathroom resembles a closet ! It was comical

    The hotels location was excellent. You are within a five minute walk to the centre of Bordeaux. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Despite its small size and central location the room was quite and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location for old city but accomodation very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad smells from WC. The elevator was broken down. The room very tiny. Two room lights were not working.

    Breakfast and breakfast staff were good. Liked free bottles of water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is on the small side, and the shower is very small (but with good water pressure) The selection at breakfast was very limited, and the croissants are not up to French standards

    The location is great, with all the main sites, lots of restaurants and shopping all within a short walk The reception is available 24 hours a day with helpful and friendly staff They offer free water and coffee in reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To use the toilet was almost impossible such a tight squeeze - only one light bulb working in the bathroom - the whole room needs refurbishing the bathroom was tiny and we would not stay there again

    The bed was very comfortable - the staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff - don't recommend the bathrooms- 3 different ones the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small but comfortable. Bathrooms were small and Showers were ridiculously tiny and very difficult to wash in.

    Staff were very helpful and bed was comfortable and location was good close to restaurants & shoppingFriendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Location,location, location + excellent Brasserie next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed bottom 1.5' from wall so bit of a squeeze to reach the v.small shower room. Mind your head in breakfast room as ceiling v.low in parts. Lift v small and takes ages to get a lift at breakfast time

    Balcony superb aerial view with doors open. Couldn't find any English speaking stations. Good WiFi though so use vpn and BBC iPlayer. Staff very helpful, and free coffee/sweets/bottled water at reception. Le Grand Cafe/Brasserie on ground floor behind hotel entrance excellent with big portions too. New Wine Museum not to be missed. Go by tram, return by river taxi (all for ¢1.50)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location with car park at reduced rate opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little on the small side especially the shower

    Perfect location with car park at reduced rate opposite. It is a comfortable hotel perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stop

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.7
    Close quarters in a prime location......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small cramped rooms, a normal size person can barely ft in the small shower stall. Overall the hotel is very cramped, with narrow hallways & a tiny lift... one can barely fit in the lift with a suitcase. No lobby area with seating. Just a place to crash for 1 or 2 nights. I would not recommend an extended stay.

    Location, Location , Location! Clean property & helpful staff, comfortable bed. Good wifi connection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location but old rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a small single room. Old hotel, hole on the bed covers, found an insect running on the floor (because the hotel is old, not because of cleaning). For 1 night is ok.

    Perfect view from the window, perfect location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Location, Clean, Comfy and Happy Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little basic but for the price and location its perfect

    amazing location, great staff, tea and coffee facilities, clean, comfortable and complimentary sweets!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Good, but be careful when booking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I was booking the room, the whole price of the room was blocked on my credit card. It was just validation, but holding such an amount was a bit surprising. Effectively, I couldn't use these money and it was very similar to pre-payment.

    City center, good value for money, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    5.8
    A basic, centrally located hotel - fine for one night, but not for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed a refurbishment. Very small with only half a window! Shower room was tiny. No light over mirror and no magnifying mirror

    Staff were very helpful. Maid service excellent - the room was cleaned well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    Convenient central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was very small. The breakfast room had limited space for a family. The triple room on 4th floor was cramped with only natural light from skylight.

    The room, bedding and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was fine and fortunately the table clearing was efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very late down to breakfast (9.45am) and there was nothing left!

    The location is great. Right in the middle of the city and near a great shopping centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bed and the smallest shower I have ever used. When one turned around one could not help but bump into the controls which caused the water to go either cold or very hot.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.7
    Exellent location and staff breaking your privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite difficult to find the hotel at the street as there were no visible signs and the entrance was a small door between 2 restaurants. Standard room was small but quite cozy. No cosmetics in the bathroom, only soap. Despite the cleanleness of the room it looked threadbare - spots, chipped paint on the walls and wall corners. Thin walls so in the morning you hear housekeeping staff talking in the corridor. Be attentive - check out time is at 11:30 am, and it is not mentioned while check in. For us it was a big bad surprise to be informed at 12 noon that we must leave immidiately and no way to extend the stay. And at last THE WORST THING I have never had staying at the hotels before - at this hotel staff enters your room in the morning without calling by phone or knocking at the door or even saying "may i come in?". They just use their cards and enter!!! Enter the room while guests are sleeping there!!! We faced that twice per one morning. This fact just made me speechless really. So please lock the door to make your stay more comfortable.

    Exellent location! Very close to all the main attractions. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful - especially Stephan who provided us with useful tips and a list of restaurants with local cuisine. Water and soft drinks at the reception are free of charge. If you are traveling by car then take an opportunity to leave it at the city parking in front of the hotel and ask for a ticket at the reception while leaving - hotel provides it for 10€ per day (instead of city price of 30€ per day).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.0
    Central but shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to know where to start. I booked this hotel as it had a lot of positive reviews but, in reality, it's shabby, run-down and uncomfortable. We walked past twice before we spotted the etrance. The reception area is tiny with the smallest lift in the world to take you to the floors above - seriously, 2 people with limited luggage barely fit! The rooms are clearly subdivided. Ours had been split in half so we had half a window and barely enough room to move around in with hardly any space to unpack. The bathroom was miniscule requiring various contortions to get into the shower (which was dreadful) or to use the toilet. It was impossible to draw the curtain so the room was lit-up all night by the reflected street lights. The a/c didn't work and the room was stuffy, particularly as you couldn't open the window for the roar of traffic and late-night noisy bars below. It became obvious that the rave reviews were left by people impressed by 'freebies' and not too bothered by noise or discomfort.

    Location is very central.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    I was only there for 2 nights and I had the option to not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was so small it was a little difficult to use, it was hard not to get water on the floor or accidentally touch the very hot part of the faucet due to the size of the shower.

    I was only there for 2 nights and I had the option to not have the staff clean my room and I would get a "present" and the present was a little bottle of wine! Also the staff was kind and helpful. The location was great, it was right by so many things.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    Convenient for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - small rooms - no wardrobe - basic breakfast

    - very friendly stuff - very good location - OK for a short stay - free wifi - free coffee and soft drinks - free candy bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    The candy in the lobby was a sweet and nice treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and some of the paint was chipping on the baseboard. It was a pretty basic hotel and very clean, however, the wifi seemed to not work very well in our room.

    The candy in the lobby was a sweet and nice treat!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: