Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Najeti Hôtel Château Cléry 3 stars

Rue Du Château, 62360 Hesdin-lʼAbbé, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Hesdin-lʼAbbé

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in the room. Very dissapointed as it was stated on the room description that there was one, but all they had was a bath with a little hand held shower which is useless.

    The hotel itself is in keeping with the age and character of the building, however our experience of staying in their top level suite was very very disappointing. We bbok d a suite in the ground floor so that we could take our dog who could then walk straight out into the gardens. After booking we were contacted two weeks before arrival to advise that they had a problem with the ground floor suite and that it was undergoing refurbishment due to a leak, but we could have ano5her suite on the first floor, above the original one. The wasn’t ideal as it meant our dog had to go upstairs, but we took this as we always book suites to get the extra space. On arrival we were disappointed to find the upstairs suite appeared very much smaller than the downstairs one due to the fact it is in the eaves and you lose head height. Additionally it is extremely hot in the upstairs room and there are only two small windows in the bedroom that open so no air flow. The windows open right onto trees so the noise at night from birds is disturbing plus you get insects in the room with this. However most annoying was the false description of the property. It is stated and we were told, that the room had a shower,. This is untrue . There is only a batch and a small hand shower. We are not being picky but a hand shower is a joke., we specificallly asked for a shower and this is not available. Please be aware of this. The hotel is really designed for people coming to their restaurant as this is what they prioritise. We did not eat there as the type of food was not to our liking. However we did try the bar for a drink, and it is very quiet with no atmosphere, so not a place to relax as if you speak, you feel as if you are being a nuisance. Unfortunately we will not return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the outside cottages (number 20) which was perfect for us as we had our dog with us. He could roam freely and safely from the room to the outside garden. Our room had a living area, bath/shower room and separate toilet. We ate in the restaurant and whilst not cheap the food was first class - one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Château is renovated inside and outside. No old smell like in museum:) clean and fresh rooms, nice Wintergarten. Walls are from textile. Thank you for the nice service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear neighbours quite easily (i guess thin walls), but people come here to really relax, so we did not experience any discomfort in this regard, everybody behaved very neatly.

    A very interesting experience to be able to sleep in real French chateau! We had a lovely little room, with plenty of light and fresh air (air smells so lovely here due to all greenery), bed was extremely comfortable. We had an excellent night sleep and felt really rested every morning. We also ate at the restaurant of the hotel, which was also great! Breakfast was also of a very good standard, quality of products was very good! Surrounding the property a very nice parc where you also can walk or just relax in a chaise longue. From the hotel we have visited many local landmarks, it was always 30 min drive (max.) to visit local touristic spots and beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have scored this hotel on the basis of a person with reduced mobility who might be expecting to have breakfast & dinner and to make use of the public rooms in the hotel. In my 43 reviews for booking.com (many for French hotels) I have never before given a score even close to being this low. This is because the hotel senior management have shown no serious consideration for their disabled guests whatever. There are 15 steps from the hotel entrance to the level of the dining room and breakfast room and, as far as I was able to establish, (and I contacted the Najeti group's management team after the stay) the only way that a person with a wheelchair could access these facilities would be for the staff to erect a set of temporary ramps over each of the flights of steps, of which there were several. I wonder if those who proposed this solution would wish to enter a fine dining restaurant, perhaps on a special occasion, to have a group of staff erecting and moving ramps as they negotiate the route to their table whilst being watched by everyone in the restaurant? I also asked the hotel staff where the nearest accessible toilet was to the dining room, only to be told that the only toilets available in the building were down 23 steps into the basement. I asked how disabled guests were supposed to access these toilets and was told that it would not be possible and they would have to go back to the toilet in their bedroom (some distance from the main building). This would require the negotiation of 15 steps (using temporary ramps again) to exit the building and a journey out into what might be a dark, cold and rainy night. I accept that providing suitable mobility solutions in historic buildings is not easy but we have stayed in a significant number of French chateaux that have found various ways to improve access very effectively - but the Najeti management have not even tried.

    If you are a fully mobile person then you might find this hotel quite nice, being in a historic building and in pleasant surroundings. If, however, any member of your party has a significant mobility issue please see my comment above.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know its very British but the ability to make a cup of tea in the room would have been nice. We found Wifi in the room was intermittent, so we sat in the bar in the hotel for a better signal.

    We were in a room away from the Chateau, but in the grounds. It was very quiet, just as we asked for. Bed was lovely and comfy. Had a bath and separate shower, all very clean, if looking a little tired. View of garden was lovely. TV had BBC1 and 2. Booked for dinner, which was amazing. My husband is gluten free and he was able to choose whatever he wanted from the menu and it was presented beautifully. Could only have cheese for pud but thats pretty usual. There were homemade rolls for him. Breakfast was great too, gluten free things for hubby, plus scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. It was all better than expected and only 30 mins from Eurotunnel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in a cottage close to the castle despite being priced as a castle room, otherwise it was clean and confortable.

    Wonderful breakfast, precious dinner, very friendly personnel, very nice parc with old trees and wild flowers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two luxury double rooms, they were not luxury. They were cold as the heating was turned down. Ours was dark and miserable. We did manage to change to a room in the stables block. Cold at first but much larger if rather dated.

    The evening meal was excellent , breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobes in room. No tea tray in room. Why not? Come on Najeti hotels,we paid a lot of money for one night stay at least you could provide guests with complimentary tea in room ! If you had it would have been a 10

    This hotel is very good,beautiful,classic,immaculately clean rooms. Lovely grounds. Very good food and wine in restaurant. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in one room, walk back through bedroom to bathroom for hand washing facilities. The only fault with the room.

    Château was lovely and warm on a frosty November evening. Bedroom 102 very spacious fabulously comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The en-suite is directly onto the road adjacent to the property; the blinds in the en-suite didn't quite cover the window - we overcame this by using a sticking plaster to hold the edge of the blind against the window frame.

    The exterior of the hotel was very attractive, pretty and traditional. The bed was very comfortable - wonderful sleep. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was exceptional, the crab expecially - we don't normally eat 3+ course meals but we were so impressed on the first night that we immediately booked a table for all 4 evenings of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were allocated was small and was poorly decorated along with a very bad smell, something like sweaty socks. We asked to move and were accommodated on that but they charged us 20 Euros for the pleasure. Not Happy at all!!

    We have previously stayed here and had an excellent time. The food remains very good along with the service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need tea and coffee making facilities in the room!

    We came for our honeymoon and this was just such a wonderful choice. Knowing this the hotel upgraded our room to a cottage which was wonderful, airy and large, and backed on to a garden orchard. It was breathtaking driving into the hotel, picture postcard perfect. Staff were very helpful, but most impressive was the restaurant. If the chef doesn't have a Michelin star the we believe one beckons and soon. The menu may seem a little pricey at €50 per person without drinks, but worth every penny and more! Easy access to the A16 motorway to get all over the region made it a perfect stay for us. One thing missing from the room though was a kettle, tea and coffee making facilities for first thing in the morning, this would have made the stay completely perfect. Well done Najeti, we will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dreadful. We were put in a "cottage" which was damp and musty. We complained a few times, they gave us a heater as they apperently had no other rooms. The seating area consisted of one chair, which was a garden chair. We had paid for a de-luxe room! We had booked for five nights but left after four.

    The food was delicious, and the conservatory dining room very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Chateau was exactly as described and we were pleased with the choice. Have already recommended it.

    We stayed in the stable block. Big room, good bathroom and quiet. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and thought it was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were not given the option of staying in the main chateau when we booked. We had a look at the rooms in the main house and would've preferred it by far. Even though smaller, these rooms have charm and character which were sorely lacking in the family suite we stayed in. Also, we would've liked to have had coffee and tea available in the room as well as a bar fridge with mini bar. Food in the restaurant was pricey. Some sound filtering through the walls from the adjacent apartment.

    Spacious room with a lovely view of the vast lawns on the property. Good bathroom. Pet dog allowed on the property including at mealtimes. Main house is a beautiful, old chateau. Staff were friendly enough and spoke English, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome. Superb property although we felt our room could do with a touch of decorating. However, this did not change our opinion of the property. Superb evening meal and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one of the ground floor cottage rooms as we had requested which has a door opening onto the gardens. Perfect as we had our dog who could wander outside quite happily. The gardens are beautiful with plenty of loungers / tables for outside drinks and food. Our room was very clean, comfy bed and lovely brand of shower gel. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was standard buffet type. Would have liked decent coffee from a presse type machine but I'm particularly fussy about coffee!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of upgrade. Mould in tile joints suggested need for regrouping.

    superb Restaurant. ideal location just off motorway some 20 miles south of Calais

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff, I explained that the card I had booked, had been hacked so I was going to settle my bill with cash, the man then demanded that it paid there and then for the full booking, I have stayed before at this hotel, so it wasn't that I was a new customer. I found this demand both inappropriate and very rude. other hotels en route were perfectly happy with my payment options.

    the food was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing 2 flights of stairs, but the hotel was full and it was good exercise.

    The dinner was excellent, service very good with friendly efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sold a deluxe double room with "seating area", which we were not given. When we addressed this to the staff we were told some double rooms had seating areas, some did not--in which case they shouldn't promise this. The bathroom didn't have a shower curtain nor glass to keep the water inside. We were in the mews/carriage house and it was quite noisy given we heard the refrigeration/air-conditioning both from the front and back. Food was OK although too expensive for what was offered. Basically put, we expected more from a €200/night room without breakfast.

    The gardens and grounds were very beautiful, lovely for a stroll.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little bit hot, but really acceptable.

    Living in a castle, laying in a beautiful garden and spending a fantastic dinner with my wife. It can't be better to spend an afternoon and evening on our nice holiday trip to London. The facility is really friendly and the kitchen - WOW - it was fabulous! We reserved the menu and it was well planned, nicely presented and served and just the right amount. French kitchen must be as good as people say - that's what we learned from that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and good restaurant. Excellent location for stop over on way to and from exploring the rest of France and/or Europe. Within 30 minutes of Channel Tunnel with easy access to motorway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Family room sold as "suite". "Fermette" rooms are better (and cheaper). Internet access (WiFi) extremely poor. Correct treatment by manager.

    Dinner and dinner service excellent. Limited but very appropriate wine list.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good, hot dishes very overcooked. Evening Chef not on duty mornings. In fact if we were not having the evening meal I would not stay there again. Which is a shame as we having been going for many years.

    Evening meal was incredible, every one beautifully cooked and a work of art. Fantastic Chef 👨‍🍳

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like really fresh coffee for breakfast but like so many French hotels, whilst the coffee is said to be fresh it is stewed. I have now to have an infusion for breakfast so I can enjoy my morning drink.

    The friendliness of the staff. The quality of the food, particularly the evening meal. They serve an exceptional Armagnac UBY. The cleanliness of the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal place to stay with dogs. We were in a 'fermette' which had a large room, a spectacular bathroom and a door direct onto the gardens - really convenient if the dogs wake up during the night. The food was delicious, and the service excellent. We enjoyed our overnight stay so much we have booked an extra day on the way back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were v.obliging. I have injured my ankle and foot since we did the booking so the staff offered us the little bungalow in the grounds instead of the second floor bedroom. This was most welcomed. All of the staff were v. helpful. We have been before and we knew the dinner would be excellent.Mosr enjoyable stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only comment is that the room was freezing when we arrived and there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Lovely Chateau, the grounds were beautiful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the restaurant was very nice, albeit expensive for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went there with my husband for a weekend getaway and found it absolutely fantastic. Really friendly people and very cozy room. But above all, the restaurant is splendid! We went for the fixed dinner menu and every dish looked and tasted like a work of art!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small and there were no curtains on the bathroom window. I had to hang towels over the window before we could use the facilities. The floors were creaky and the walls very thin. I could hear everything the couple in the next room were doing, and I mean everything.

    The food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. The staff were very pleasant, cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside I could find was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but this is a very minor point and would not stop us going back.

    The Hotel was very very nice, with lovely room, good location and excellent food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is super. The food is excellent and the rooms very comfortable. I recommend it to everyone but hope it doesn't get too busy when we want to go again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful. Loved the Chateau but we were happy with our room in the farmhouse. Will be back. The New Years celebration dinner was fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a restricted menu on the evening before New Year's Eve which was not mentioned when we booked. Having visited previously we were disappointed not to have their usual menu choices although what was provided was excellent.

    The room and bathroom were very good. The veranda restaurant gives a spacious and open outlook. The grounds are excellent. It is very dog friendly with well behaved dogs permitted in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make your stay any more enjoyable, From the moment we arrived to leaving the staff were there to assist and ensure your every need was catered for. We ate in the restaurant and the staff explained every dish to us, The waitresses made sure the wine was poured to perfection and the food delivered with a flourish, Thank you all for making this trip so enjoyable and we look forward to a return visit soon.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly concerned that within 30cm of my pillow the WiFi connection was twirling. It woke me in the night flashing all around my side of the room and i had to wedge a scarf then a jumper over it to cut out the strong flashing green lights. Not happy with 3 nights this close to a WiFi to be honest.

    Restaurant excellent and good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed a relaxed few days, and the Clery delivered - as always. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food and wine excellent. What more do we need!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs to 2nd floor. Shower in the bath not very good - water ran everywhere, bath a bit difficult for elderly guests.

    The location and the style of the property were stunning. Staff were very friendly and we received a warm welcome. Rooms were warm, large and comfortable with nice views. Nice bathroom (apart from shower!) Bar and restaurant were comfortable, excellent service and splendid food and wine list.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because we arrived very tired and hungry we did not have the energy to change for dinner and went down in jeans and tee shirt. This was reflected in the service we received from the staff. We were offered bread and accepted but it didn't arrive. That happened twice during the course of the meal. We were not attended on as opposed to the next table where the waiters constantly asked about the clients enjoyment of the various courses and constantly charged their glasses.The room was adequate, clean and comfortable. I don't think we will stay there again because of the dining room staffs' attitude. This was our second visit within 3 weeks.

    Food was excellent as usual.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rack for the shower A proper closet A safe Minibar Breakfast expensive Waiters- unprofessional

    Location,location,location! For nature lovers ,this quiet place is just beautiful remembarance of old good times!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wifi was down for entire week. It was close to my office during the business trip. otherwise it is a little bit isolated

    The elegance, the jardin, the restaurant and the comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems that most of the accommodation is provided in a series of buidings situated outside of the Chateau. We stayed in a suite that was housed in a bleak looking building from the outside and grubby on the inside with poor furnishings. It was a cold day and there was no heating on in the room for our arrival. Also the wifi was completely lacking because they were waiting for it to be repaired although the receptionist did kindly offer the use of the hotel computer to check our emails. The bathroom had no shower only a handheld shower head with no facilty for using it overhead. The bath gel/shampoo was combined and dispensed from a single bottle fastened to the wall. There was however, a seperate toilet but unfortunately it was so small the door hit your knees when it was closed! The breakfast choice wasn't good either with watery scrambled eggs and the bread meant for toasting consisted of both stale and damp slices.

    The quality of food and the service in the Restaurant for dinner was good if a little bit pricey. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the Ferry and Eurotunnel at Calais

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room up on the 2nd floor. Booked a table for 1930 but told that we would be seated at 2030. Went down at 2000 to find the restaurant half empty. Reasonable meal, not as good as previous visits

    location and grounds. convenient for the tunnel but not too close

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were mostly indifferent. For example, I arrived by bicycle in a torrential downpour and was utterly drenched. Nobody even asked me about my journey, let alone offered facilities to dry my things (my feet squelched loudly as I walked!)

    A lovely property, and the food in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    We arrived here for the fourth time, but this time it was special, as it was our 25th wedding anniversary, and to say the least the greeting was superb, the hospitality was excellent, and as always the restaurant was perfect in every way.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tea and coffee making facilites in the room and a shower attachment to shower handsfree

    we stayed in a cottage, no 39, it suited us as a family and we were very happy with the accomodation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff could be slow at times in the bar

    Staff and food is really very good. The sparkling rhubarb and sitting in the drawing room is a wonderful memory. The stables made into rooms are really the best rooms in the place! Location is great if you are looking for some tranquility. Do take a walk in the gardens!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was fully booked and the nearest alternative is a 20 minute drive away. The room didn't have any bath towels and had no coffee/tea facilities.

    The hotel itself and it's grounds are very impressive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have preferred a shower to a bath in the room

    very comfortable delux room, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant. Very dog friendly, supplied dog bowls in our room for our pups.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the main building is difficult for disabled guests.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Ground floor rooms since there is no lift. Delicious dinner and good buffet breakfast.Good grounds to walk pets.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a proper shower in our room, it's a mix tap one and there is no where to hang the shower head, had trouble getting in the bath too!

    Love the food, fab and staff always helpful and polite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are only as good as your worst staff member.

    We always stay here on the way down to our holiday rental and on the way back because its convenient for the Eurotunnel. We have always found the staff very welcoming and the restaurant is exceptional. I would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aperitif accompagnements not very exiting, just a few olives and 1 puff pastry choux per person. Blinds in The Suite 38 should be blackout. It would be nice to have a coffee in the bedroom b4 breakfast without having to order it.

    The service in all parts was excellent. The Food tasty, well presented on a good Menu. Good Wine list.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing else matters

    Arriving from West Yorkshire this hotel is always our first stop in France. The hospitality and welcome is 1st class, excellent rooms and a first cold drink in the large back gardens is very relaxing. Fabulous food as always.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in such a place is hard to believe. It's was a warm day and not so confortable night. Sorry but for such a price per night, it should have AC.

    Great reception and super correct workers. Very nice location and surroundings, relaxing environment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hardly anything! The chateau, once home to Napoleon's Marshall Berthier, has several fine features and has been modernised to today's standards of comfort - with en suite bathrooms and the addition of a conservatory to extend the restaurant. Perhaps now it's time for a coat of paint and new carpeting to spruce up some of the communal areas?

    Best thing was the location: perfect for a weekend away from the UK, night stop on way to or from Calais, or for a quiet place to stay near beaches and golf courses. Great quality food and service in the pretty restaurant, lovely historic surroundings, gardens to relax in, comfortable rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only there for two nights.

    Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Location could not be better, river frontage and Chateau across from hotel. Location in quiet corner if an interesting town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing you couldn't enjoy about this hotel

    The Restaurant and bar were excellent with a brilliant menu. Superb choice and selection at breakfast. All fresh and overseen by a member of the staff who was there to help which he did with an elderly guest without prompt

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we weren't happy with - we even booked to stay there on our return journey!

    We stayed here overnight after crossing the channel on a journey from the north of England to the Loire. It is a lovely French chateau and all rooms have views over the large gardens or sweeping drive. We stayed in a 'charme' room tastefully and traditionally furnished. Best of all was the restaurant food which was delicious - and served in a comfortable conservatory (well worth booking in advance as it was full of guests and locals)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To gain access to the restaurant there are only steps, which makes it difficult for people with mobility issues.

    Room facilities for the disabled. Garden, restaurant and helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter was miserable

    Dinner was exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The location close to Calais/Euro Tunnel The quiet , the food and the wonderful gardens/parkland

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night from people walking about

    Food was ok but not excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superfriendly staff. Dinner was superb, almost Michelin star level! Beautiful surroundings!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Very friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The meal in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nor being able to stay longer

    excellent describes the whole experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No makeup mirror in the bathroom, no seat in the bathroom.

    The food, amazing chef. We ate fish all the weekend which was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb accommodation and excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pavement from road to drive should be lowered

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and excellent staff with perfect dining experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a very nice village the chateaux was beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quality was poor. Staff in restaurant were surly

    Food

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: