Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Collège Hôtel 4 stars

5 Place Saint Paul, 5th arr., 69005 Lyon, France

#50 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 750 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    A few minutes walk to the old town, cafes, bouchon...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a negative for some, but the rooms were very small-14 sq m. I think they were all that size. Also, there was only a hand held shower with no hook to attach it to the wall. We managed, but it was a bit tricky.

    A few minutes walk to the old town, cafes, bouchon restaurants and the furnicular to the the cathedral. Great air con on some very hot days. Staff were extremely helpful. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    hotel s atmosphere is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing... thanks...

    hotel s atmosphere is perfect... location is perfect breakfast was good : you can feed a toddler with “healthy” food ( boiled eggs - fresh fruit juice - youghrt etc..) very helpfull staff , i highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and staff, expensive parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Expensive breakfast - Expensive parking space, that was not mentioned when we were booking

    - Location is in the heart of the old town - Innovative classic interior decoration - Professional staff willing to help - Great value for price considering the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Very well stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fan or their lift decoration, with picture of school students (class of....) feels like all eyes are looking at you, lol. And it's an old pictures.I like the hotel theme though. Back to school ;) I wouldn't hesitate to go back here next time in Lyon.

    I was hesitant to book in this location I thought on the other side of the bridge is a better place. I'm glad we stayed here. This part is much nicer then area across the bridge. Very close to the old town and points of interest. A couple of minutes drive to Notre dame fourviere, the one on the hill. So many restaurants nearby, we ate in one who served traditional lyon cuisine and it was superb. The staffs were very communicative including parking arrangement prior to our visit. My husband was quite nervous to park our rather big car in their garage with car lift because it was tight for our car (hotel helped to make sure in advance that our car fits though) but it went smooth. I like the fact that they have their own indoor garage. I also like their self-service bottled water in every level and it's Nestle water, one of those good brands.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Excellent for the ordinary traveller. Exceptionally clean rooms, friendly staff, well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Possible to communicate in english in reception :) At the end of Vieux Lyon, hotel quiet and a few steps to all the restaurants and small shops in the main street at Vieux Lyon, not to forget the Miniature Museum. Room not big, but exceptionally clean and so was the bathroom. Free water bottles in refrigerator at reception. We were there during the canicule/heat wave, but room very well cooled with thermostat. Excellent for ordinarry travellers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and lots of character
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything

    I love this hotel! The old school house was fun and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a large bathtub and French doors onto a balcony with a lovely view. Excellent location for exploring the old town and around 15€ for a taxi ride from the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Location, Service Front Desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to small, „breakfast-Lady“ (>50) unfriendly, only looking for end of buiseness ! Exakt The Minute !!!! :((((( It does‘nt change something

    Location, Service Front Desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    This is a good basic hotel in a great location. It is comfortable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    There needs to be more space to at least leave suitcase open or hang up clothes. If you want a bit of space then book a higher level room.

    The location was good. The basic rooms are very small but there was essential items and very good bedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Old school feel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had at least one English language TV station especially for news. Room size and design.

    Quirky, old school themed hotel. The location. Close to key sites and next door to a patisserie. Complimentary chilled water. Kettle in room. Free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    We won't be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was under staffed, and just plain rude. This kind of rudeness stems from management. Just had a really bad feeling in this place. Beds hard, street noise and dirty area.

    upon arrival there was only one person working in the entire hotel so we had no help with our bags after traveling all day this was frustrating as I was traveling with my mom and I had been handling all of my bags and hers all day. They did not make our room into twin beds so just what you want after a long day, shared bed! We walked to dinner and the area is old town which is really neat but at night it felt dirty and a little sketchy. Our room was on the second floor and we could hear people out on the street all night and our bed was hard as a brick. We switched hotels the next morning and went to the Hotel Rotunde Pavillion. Wow, was it better!! Finally got some R & R there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower glass in the bathroom was very small and the way the shower head was positioned it was difficult to keep the water in the shower. Other than that, the room was great.

    Very nice room and bathroom, wonderful terrace, comfortable bed. Appreciate the fridge full of cold, free water. Wonderful location in Vieux Lyon. Staff were pleasant and accommodating, including getting us an ice bucket for wine (it was more of a pail than an actual ice bucket, but that's OK).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Delightfully quirky - in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, but okay for just a few nights. Loading and unloading zone was congested. Would be good if they could afford a doorman/bellhop to help with luggage from taxis and moving on guests with cars.

    1. The location. Right in the charming old town but just a bridge and a few blocks' walk from the centre of the city. 2. The quirky, creative decor - reflecting the history of the old school building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Exceeded expectations in every way, especially the great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were exceptional, always friendly, helpful and happy to help me with my French. Location was excellent and the quirky college theme was appealing. Breakfast was also delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Well-located but very average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no shower, which was surprising and disappointing. Overall, the room lacked charm. The front desk seemed very confused about what we should be paying.

    Cool setting and decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Lyon was an interesting place to stay and I would stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in was tedious. We had travelled for 10 hours in the car and there was a large queue at reception - it took us nearly 40 mins to check in and park the car in the underground car park - a good facility but a challenge to use! The staff were friendly but disorganised.

    The location was fantastic. Interesting decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money in Old Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Located downtown close to the Saône river. Surrounded by plenty of cozy restaurants and bars. Opera, townhall and banks of Rhône river can be reached within 10 min. by a walk. Bottled Water for free on each corridor. Own Garage. The hotel is designed like a boarding school and equipped with corresponding furniture in the lobby, bar and breakfast room. Wifi weak, International TV channels incl. German ZDF available. We will come back for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Tiny and un-comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both rooms were in the top floor. Tiny and low ceilings as well as in the bathroom. I hit several my head. Checking the booking, unluckily booking.com doesn’t confirm on their site the pre-booked space, which should have been 13 sqm. It was not. The window was more than small, max. 60 x 50 cm.

    Open terrace for breakfast. Breakfast with open chimney. Parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    A fun and interesting hotel to visit. And geographically, just where we needed it to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    It was some years since we had visited the hotel last but it fully met our recollections as a fun and interesting hotel. The room was fine, the breakfast was excellent. From our perspective, it was just what we needed and hoped for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant place to stay in a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was all good.

    The hotel is very well located close to the old town and the River Saone. Because it was a college, there is plenty of wacky school-related furniture and pictures. The room was very comfortable with a good bed and decent shower. We also had a good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    The hotel does not deserve four stars, I don't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While we were waiting with my family for the check-in, my camera bag (also money inside) has been stolen at the lobby. There is no security camera system in the hotel. I went to police but I couldn't find anything about the thief. The hotel management must be responsible to take the security preventions inside the hotel but the management didn`t take any responsibility and they didn`t show any effort in order to compansate my loss (Insurance, discount etc.). Additionally the rooms are small, there is no refrigerator/minibar in the rooms, sound insulation in the rooms is very poor, there is an open tub in the bathroom and it is not possible to take shower while standing up.

    The location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel with a top-notch location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the rooms was a little dim. Absence of good toiletries (no hair conditioner, or body lotion). The hair dryer is absolutely inefficient.

    The location of the property is perfect. The design. The staff is very pleasant. The view from the 7th floor room was spectacular

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    great location - nice neighbourhood, and perfect spot to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin walls, so you can hear a bit of noise from other rooms/corridor

    great location - nice neighbourhood, and perfect spot to start exploring the old centre of Lyon. very cute decoration and a nice concept. beautiful terrace on the 2nd floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.8
    Very Bad Hotel! Not Service for 4 Star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very Bad ! Or Not Even work! Terrible Service in recepción ! Terrible Service in Service ! To expensiv for nothing !

    Very Bad Personal . Not for a 4 Star Hotel! Not profesional ! Very unfrendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    It was okay for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard. The window treatment in our bathroom was pulled completely out of the wall and we had no privacy for our shower.

    The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.5
    A no go
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is rude and unprofessional. Stayed a lot in different hotels in Lyon, but the quality of the city is not to be found here. Never again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    The advice from Fanny on reception was great, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only told us at checkout that we could have had a light (ie cheap!) Croissant and coffee for breakfast rather than their €17 one. As it was, we went 3 doors up the street and had 2 fresh baked croissants, coffee and juice, freshly squeezed from real oranges for about €6.50, so no real hardship.

    The advice from Fanny on reception was great, and they managed to book us in to a trad Lyon restaurant at short notice. The 70 varieties of beer bar across from the hotel, and another 3 bars and indian restaurant within 20 metres means the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, reasonable hotel, don't use the garage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is a nightmare. We got no help with parking the car - the member of staff present watched as we damaged the wing of the car against the garage door.

    It is a nice hotel with an interesting school theme with a reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    It wasn't clear regarding car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clear regarding car parking. We were disappointed we could not park our car in the hotel car park. Instead we had to park on the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park. The car was valet parked as we arrived but you were on your own for departure. There is a car lift and as our car is a luxury BMW it was a narrow squeeze to get in it and reverse out being mindful of all the bollards!

    Location was superb. The hotel is definitely quirky but lovable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb location and ammusing theme :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was lovely but in common with some other French hotels you can not have a proper shower as there is nowhere to hang the shower on the wall when you are standing and no shower screen / curtain around the bath.

    Fantastic location , car goes into a lift to get to the car park so make sure your car isn't too long. Funky themed public areas and smart scholl-room bedrooms. Free water in the fridge in the hall where you could also put your own drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a post grad room which is one of the superior ones available. It was quite small and cramped and was more akin to a standard room in a three star hotel. The foyer of the hotel is very dark and uninviting and the breakfast room intentionally resembled a school canteen. The school/college theme is overly prolific throughout the hotel. The pictures of anonymous school children on all the doors are excessive and rather off putting. Overall, the decor or room standard was not what I would expect in a four star hotel.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The presence of a safe could help to keep valuables locked rather than carrying them everywhere.

    It's so stylish place. looks like you are walking in a college. The entrance is amazing. The staff are friendly and helping. It's comfortable place. The room decoration is artistic. Near to many amazing places. Good place to start walking from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Quirky excellent hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi annoyingly had to be signed into each time I used it which seemed excessive. Also the pillow were a too thick for my comfort.

    The location is perfect for exploring the Old Town but also easy to walk to the centre of Lyon. I love this hotel for its quirky unique ambience. The large deck area is also a bonus to able to utilise. I have stayed in this hotel twice before and will certainly return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    great hotel, lovely design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a room with a tub and were given one without one, which was a bit of a disappointment on the first night, but they offered to let us switch rooms for the second night.

    Great location, great design of the hotel. Friendly and accommodating staff. Love the school theme, love the views from the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    I'll keep staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast could be a bit more generous. They'd run out of things well before it was due to finish.

    The location and style of this hotel is a great reason to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic location in old Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar or fridge in the room was really our only complaint

    Great location in St. Paul a lovely part of Lyon, great bars and restaurants all around. The hotel is very well decorated and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a good size, basic but practical and lovely views over old Lyon from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    This was the third place I stayed in Lyon but I wish I'd stayed there the whole trip instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I left and then the next day my friend staying in the same room left. The only issue was that I told them about this plan and yet when I left, the cleaning lady showed up to clean the room, thinking we'd checked out, which freaked out my friend. But it really wasn't an issue and if that's the worst miscommunication they have then I'd give them a gold star rating compared to other French customer service experiences I had.

    It's the perfect area, right next to Old Lyon where all the stores and restaurants are. It's clean and has a decently sized bathroom unlike most of the other places in France. The staff are super friendly and speak English very well. They helped me print my boarding pass, get a taxi and anything else I needed. Decor is cute, rooms are nice and bright. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Should NOT be a 4-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren't very comfy, feels like you're entering a cheap student dorm with plastic door, little isolation so you hear everything happening in the corridor, bed and sheets not comfortable, overall ambiance of the room unpleasant

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    NOT a 4-star hotel, very much 2-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointed with the property, they claim to be a 4 star hotel, while it's a 2 star at best. Tiny room, we had to change since we couldnt even physically be in the room with our suitcase, it just didnt fit. Then the other room was bigger but still very low quality rooms (old style keys, tiny sink, no coffee machine, no alarm clock, 1 tiny elevator that is slow, overpriced breakfast) Overall it's outdated, and definitely NOT a 4-star hotel. If you're looking for a hotel in the center of Lyon and dont travel with a family, then it might be good for you, if you're able to get a good rate. If not, I would definitely pass. We wont be coming back to this hotel, that's for sure, any other hotel or rental is a better/cheaper choice)

    the location is convenient, lobby's decor is fun - that's about it, the rest was disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value hotel, close to restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor of the rooms didn't give the feel of a 4* hotel, but this is the only downside and the positives far outweigh this.

    On the edge of the old town, very close to the river. There are several bars/restaurants opposite the hotel and along the roads leading away from it. The room decor is a little sparse, but they are very clean and the beds are comfy. Easy to walk to places from here and the old town is stunning and very clean. If visiting Lyon again I would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel in the historic heart of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was not up to scratch. We requested an extra pillow which wasn't delivered so the night manager had to sort this out. One day the room was left unlocked. Dirty cleaning towel was left in the room and our dirty and clean clothes were moved and all dumped in one pile.

    Amazing views from the room, we were on 7th floor. Very convenient location for sightseeing, restaurants and public transport. Great hotel for a weekend break. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Complimentary soft drinks were greatly appreciated as the weather was very hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    College Hotel - a charming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good but what I most like was the decoration: they made everything so great; the furniture was explendly restaured. It reminded you what could possible be a particular children school. I loved that!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay at great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature of shower was not very stable. Bathroom little bit outdated.

    Perfect location close to all the highlights. Very nice neighbourhood. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cool 'college' style hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay! Exellent location, beautiful room with comfortable bed. Helpfull, friendly staff. Amazing neighbourgood. And yes, they serve great breakfast!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weekend we went to Lyon it was very windy, and we were at the same level than the big balcony, so our door was moving and making a little bit of noise, a small piece of paper between the door and the frame solve that issue though.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient in the middle of the old Lyon walking distance of everything. The staff is very nice and helpful, the decoration of the hotel is very original, simple and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    A good and convenient place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in an old school dormitory and that is the decor. It is clean and pleasant but the rooms are small.

    I Liked the fact that it was right on the edge of the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Not recommended. Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is overvalued. The decor tries to look like an old school but it really looks like the house of terror. Doors and windows are old and they do not close properly. The bathroom is unseful (no curtains, no shower screen) so after the shower, there is water in everywhere. The curtains in the room were durty and broken. The worse.... the towels!!! They were DURTY!!! ( perhaps rest of makeup). After our complaints, the staff gave us the breakfast for free.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    Short break in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy, you could hear people in the local bars till after 1am. Room was smaller than I imagined so not as comfortable to use as a retreat during the day.

    Location was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included in the rate and it was a bit expendive for what was on offer. Staff was working in the dining room doing some other things while I was having breakfast. It was a bit uncomfortable!

    Great location in tbe old city and close to all pubs, bars, restaurents!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast was expensive (16 euros) and we weren't particularly blown away with what it offered.

    Our room was stylish and clean. We loved the decor throughout the establishment. The location was wonderful. We stayed on St. Patrick's Day, and even though outside was crowded/loud with people celebrating the holiday, we found our room to be quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. We had a tiny balcony with a lovely view of Old Lyon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    6.7
    Too cool for school?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was never open? I saw no staff there Location was a little removed from the centre of Lyon Staff were friendly but a little inflexible The rooms are cool, but a little cold with bare floors and not much in the way of comfort other than the bed. The parking charge advertised on the website (16 Euros) jumped by 2 Euros when we checked in We were charged an additional 4 Euros for an extra hour's parking on checking out, which I thought was a little rich - total charge for 25hrs parking - 22 Euros, making the original charge of 16 Euros far wide of the mark, and therefore less attractive.

    Parking on location was a nice bonus Location was accessible and still technically in town Nice bars and Bouchons around Design, aesthetic and room style was great, very cool Loved the free water and cola in the fridges on each floor Terrace was lovely if empty and unstaffed Staff were friendly and spoke English well (I speak very little French, sorry)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Outstanding property in the middle of View Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A lower rate our first two nights would have been more appropriate, but that was balanced by a lower rate the last 4 nights. We expected breakfast to cost E14 per person but that was raised to E16 by the time we stayed. We think there should be more of a discount for hotel guests.

    Responsive staff - we got the room we wanted with a great view plus bathtub. Requests were handled quickly and accurately. Breakfast buffet was excellent each morning. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Not a 4 * hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a 4 * hotel. The rooms were quite empty. The breakfast very expensive for what they offer. The receptionists were not very welcoming, not everyone, but some of them.

    Interesting concept. Parking. Nice lounge and reception. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    A very nice hotel at a great location with great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Regarding the price and what hotel provides I cannot make any comment for any improvement.

    Price-performance and location balance is super. Nice, clean and comfortable simple rooms. Smiling and helpful personnel. For Turkish people breakfast is very important and as a breakfast maniac Turkish man I can say hotel provides quite rich and delicous breakfast compared with its price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Good location, but not so family-feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Post Graduate
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Water and softdrinks was free, but served in a fridge in the hall. The charge you 5 Euro if you drink your own wine on your room Some of the staff were not so pleasant

    Location was fantastic. Near old town and the 1st district with lots of food and wine restaurant. Cozy rooms with nice view. Nice lobby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.0
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise. They do not have sound isolation and you hear everything from other rooms and hallways. Not a Family hotel. Would not recommend it if you have babies.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.7
    A Weekend in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor was a bit tired. Quite expensive for quality of room.

    There is an excellent bakery next door which serves good coffee. No need to pay 14 euros for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    A great gem of a hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every was great

    OK so it to me a little while to find this hotel. It's located on a road just off a square so there are many roads linked to this square so if you have Google maps I would suggest using the app. This hotel is amazing. I liked the staff there was a lovely night receptionist and the people who greeTed me were very nice. Our rooms was spotless we had a nice cleaner also. My room was number 55 and the view of the cathedral is pretty epic they now also have a new bar next door which we didn't sample and they have a pretty cool roof terrace. We went to the light festival which was amazing and the hotel is in a perfect location for your to see it. I think the location is the best for you to see all of Lyon. Me and my boyfriend also enjoyed the school theme, I thought it was going to be tacky but it was very charming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Well-located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the quirky style but it was perhaps taken a little far e.g the breakfast room chairs were very uncomfortable. There weren't enough staff to clear breakfast tables so lots of messy tables and nowhere to sit on first morning. Although we were upgraded, the room was still quite small.

    The location was perfect for the old town. The staff excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything ! It was well laid out, the on site parking was very useful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra small bed, noisy rooms and weird lights at the windows made it imposible to sleep.

    Clean rooms, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect! Stuff is great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    32c and air conditioning was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower would go from hot to cold whilst in use

    32c and air conditioning was amazing...didn't want to leave the room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Perfect spot to stay in Lyon with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small comment, the basin was too small.

    The breakfast is one of the best and it is served untill 12 at weekends!!! Parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very well located comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, bright, good air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location in Vieux Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location in Vieux Lyon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    We like the style very much, simple and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the style very much, simple and clean. Feels like back to our college time! If I come back, definitely will stay in this hotel again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    very nice hotel and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night

    very well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A quirky hotel with a relaxed college theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quirky hotel with a relaxed college theme. Very funky. Awesome location. Super friendly staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely hotel where there attention to detail is amazing - I loved all the little school themed items and furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Not one English speaking TV channel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one English speaking TV channel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work very well

    Excellent location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.4
    Location super, design very unusual, four stars hotel? I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location super, design very unusual, four stars hotel? I dont think so. Overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff who can’t do enough to help make your stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Under Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get to stay longer

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Graduate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    The staff!!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: