Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B hôtel Angoulême 2 stars

4, rue de la Croix Blanche, 16160 Le Gond-Pontouvre, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Le Gond-Pontouvre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Not somewhere i would choose to stay, but limited choice in the area with parking outside property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt like being in a cell! small room with 1 small window, hot weather so needed window open but for security needed to put shutter down, no fans or aircon so a very uncomfortable night. Bathroom very small with 2 bath towels and 1 handtowel. No staff around and electronic check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stopover on the way to Le Havre ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site renovations, room very basic and very limited space for two persons. Not enough plug sockets. Pricey compared to other properties with more to offer.

    In fairness the Hotel was undergoing extensive renovations, so we didn't see the finished product. The "Consierge" was friendly and welcoming. But onsite parking is always a bonus for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Good Hotel but not worth paying for twice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to a mix up I ended up paying for the rooms twice. I had booked thro' Booking.com the night previous to our arrival. During the on-line booking process I noticed that I had the option to pay by Paypal. I chose this option as I could pay using my American Express credit card which is not accepted everywhere. When I checked out of the hotel I was only expecting a bill for 3x breakfasts which we had ordered additionally on arrival. I was however presented with a bill for the whole amount ie. 2x rooms and 3x breakfasts. I queried this, as I thought (correctly as it turned out) that my Paypal payment was payment in advance but the receptionist (#a different one) was adamant that any previous card transaction was purely to ratify the booking and, according to her booking computer, no payment had been made. As my access to the internet was patchy at best and, having never used it before, I was not entirely certain of the booking process, I had no real other option than to pay the entire bill. On returning home I have checked my records and I have indeed payed twice. I have contacted Booking.com helpline and an investigation is currently underway. The receptionist at the hotel did not seem to be aware of the Paypal process and made no real enquiries; this I find dissatisfactory.

    The hotel was in good location for us. As we were travelling by motorcycle we found it easy to find and the on-site parking was handy as,at the (#helpful) receptionists suggestion, we parked the bikes immediately outside one of our room windows. Which added to the feeling of security. Though the hotel was in a more industrial part of town, there was still a choice of various good restaurants within easy walking distance. There was also a "Cerveseria" (a bar/beer shop) which sold an amazing selection of local and imported beers in bottles or on draught and which had a great, freindly atmosphere and also opened well into the night. The receptionist, however was not aware of this because, when we asked about the whereabouts of local bars, she said there were none and we would have to travel into Angouleme town. I however had had the good sense to explore beforehand on Google and was correctly suspicious of this reply!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.3
    Unsatisfied unsatisfactory place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything would not return there

    The bed was made up wooden base with exposed rough wood The shower was so small you could not turn round breakfast was not worth the money The restaurants near by were not good the one we chose served us up raw cold beefburgers we did not pay .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.0
    Basic breakfast one of our party were ill and didn't eat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was poor reception on arrival was off hand

    Basic breakfast one of our party were ill and didn't eat breakfast but as we had already paid because of the awkward receptionist couldn't get the cost of breakfast returned

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Perfect for our needs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all perfect location with food on yor door and just of the motorway

    The owner was very helful nothing was any trouble in fact went out of his way for us

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as we got the convenient room we asked for

    Nice when we found it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    2.9
    On air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    On air con

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice room for only one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is poorly soundproofed, I first heard the tv before the snoring of the neighbor

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    6.3
    Good locality when touring through France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive considering the small room and facilities.

    Proximity to major routes

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Very good room bed really comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great,for me that is no hot food no bacon Sausage only cereal pastries etc

    Very good room bed really comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Good breakfast and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find but our fault for not having SAT NAV

    Good breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Surprisingly good, but ignore the views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fault of the hotel itself, but it is in rather a commercial location.

    Choice of several restaurants/food outlets within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff were great - polite, helpful, methodical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have been a tad bigger, but for a 3 night stay it was fine.

    The staff were great - polite, helpful, methodical. Room was clean and tidy, staff efficient at cleaning. Breakfast ample.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very basic, a sheet & blanket only on the bed,shower cubicle was very small, a large person, which we are not, would have struggled, shower handset, had no wall fixing. Breakfast had no bread left & had to ask twice for milk.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    5.0
    Servis, good restarants very next to the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Formula 1 standard, breakfast very poor. Far away from city.

    Servis, good restarants very next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.3
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very limited in choice and expensive.

    Comfy bed. Good carpark.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    la gentillesse des responsables de letablisement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    la gentillesse des responsables de letablisement

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate secure storage of motorbike. Clean, tidy and well located

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    5.8
    Staff service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit cramped

    Staff service

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi seemed a bit intermittant.

    Staff were very nice and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.5
    Easy access from major routes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi did not work. Trivial issue I know.

    Easy access from major routes. Decent eating places close by

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    comfortable, clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower is too small [nearly scalded myself by knocking the tap]

    comfortable, clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    This is the third time we have stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sound insulation in the bedrooms is not great.

    This is the third time we have stayed here. Excellent value budget hotel. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.1
    Good access to motorway without need to negotiate the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good access to motorway without need to negotiate the town. Close to several places to eat. OK if just passing through.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: