Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint Nicolas 3 stars

13 rue Sardinerie, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#4 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2548 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Our second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was on full in the room and it was FREEZING! took a long time to warm it up enough to be comfortable. no instructions for the air con/heating/

    Our second visit. Comfortable, plenty of space in the room, friendly, wonderful breakfast. Perfect position. Would always stay there if visiting LaRochelle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Glad we found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having directions for finding it supplied with booking print out so we could negotiate one way system. We didn't have sat nav.

    The situation and character of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location - within a few minutes of the main port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    however not great for parking - will not fit 4x4 with roof rack so had to park 10 min walk away. Could drop our bags off though. Although it is hard to find with satnav - follow the little signs that have recently been put up.

    Excellent location - within a few minutes of the main port and market/cafes/shops etc - perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious and well worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was delicious and well worth it! Staff was super helpful - book a dinner reservation, oriented us to the city, and phoned a cab for us on departure! This was an amazing place to stay and was amazing value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Superb hotel in a very central, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel, very clean and modern with friendly staff. Super breakfast each morning and the hotel was in a very central, quiet location. A wonderful break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great location in stunning La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have a minibar.

    The property was very clean and the staff were helpful and efficient. Although our room was ‘compact’ it was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again. We have already recommended family members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A personal thing - the pillows are too 'bouncy' (could be softer) The tea & coffee facilities in the room are below average.

    Location is great (4th visit) pity about the new road systems which make driving difficult. It is quiet within the hotel and the range of breakfast choices very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location - very close to the main part of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little busy and we had to wait for actable. That said I think we were unlucky that most people in the hotel seemed to go for breakfast at more or less the same time.

    Excellent location - very close to the main part of the city but tucked away in a quiet location. Room was simple but adequate and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For one day there was no water and no toilet facilities. a boiler failure can't be helped but staff weren't at all apologetic and there only answer was to hand us a one litre bottle of water. again on leaving no apology was offered and no discount on the stay.

    location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 13 Euro supplement for parking seemed a bit steep at first - but it was secure parking, and I don't know what it would have cost elsewhere so...

    Brilliantly located just off the quayside. There are a welath of restaurants and cafes within easy reach. The hotel was spacious, bathroom big and beds comfy. A selection of newspapers in reception, and a good spread for breakfast (13 Euro supplement). The cot provided in the room for my 18month old daughter was also good quality. Parking was available at the property too (13 Euro supplement)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location. Walking distance to main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine

    Location is perfect. Very close to all the main attractions. Had a choice of many different restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is in a quiet location, which helps when elsewhere is very busy. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location--very convenient to access the main points of interest in La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the plumbing--No hot water for 2 of the three days we were there. However, the Hotel did give us a reduction on the stay to compensate for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent seaside break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once hotel car park full nearest public car park is a little way away and quite expensive ( over 50 euros for 3 day stay).

    Good location with many eating places close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was lovely. The staff were very helpful. It had several nice touches fresh water daily with slices of lemon & orange in the foyer. Sweets in a bowl for guests to help themselves in the foyer daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Ideal place to stay to see this interesting old port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff and excellent location of hotel for walking through old part of town and the port. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby but quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to restaurants and attractions,once you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to road closures and road work it was very difficult to find. Also, parking was not available for us on site.

    It was clean and though the room was small, it had the necessary amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in good situation - brilliant staff in our crisis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the Annexe is style over substance. far prefer the original part of the hotel.

    The morning we were due to leave our car had a completely flat battery. The staff could not have been more helpful. They even put up with us littering up the reception area for 4 hours!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel in good situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One member of reception staff. Had his colleagues not redeemed the situation on our return journey, I would have refused to stay there again

    Know it well, been going years. well-placed, secure garage (when you can find it!), comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Very close to the main restaurants but in a quiet enough street to be able to enjoy. The staff were friendly and provided great recommendations on where to eat. The room was spacious, clean and perfect for relaxing after an afternoon and evening of wandering the amazing streets of La Rochelle. Would book here again if staying in La Rochelle without a doubt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable hotel in an excellent location with the bonus of on-site parking (reserved in advance at a reasonable charge). Quiet room for a good night's sleep, helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    August 2018.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    I travel a lot and breakfast in Saint Nicolas was the best among all hotels I ever stayed. Clean room/bath room. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Overall great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, fantastic buffet breakfast (kids loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s difficult to criticise anything given what we paid. The decorum the rooms seemed a bit dated but this is a small complaint

    Perfect location, fantastic buffet breakfast (kids loved pancakes every day), friendly and helpful reception staff and a fantastic room rate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Modern and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The one-way systems in this area proved very difficult to negotiate on arrival. If arriving with a car and in the tourist season, reserving a place in the hôtel car park is a "must'.

    The situation of the hotel is very good in the old quartier of St. Nicolas - very close to the Vieux Port but without the noise. Modern and comfortable. We would return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another attic room, as it often is with booking.com Wifi does drop out quite often, maybe because we were in the attic? But overall the hotel was fine

    Great location. Park the car in the hotel car park and leave it there. Supermarket, shops, restaurants all close by. Bed comfy, room able to be darkened with shutter. Good aircon. Kettle in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    the staff were excellent in the main
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was not what i would expect a superior room to be. it was small and had little storage. more like a Travelodge than a good hotel. they tried to over charge for bike here and didnt explan the bill when i quiried it, it was only me translating the bill myself and challenging the staff a second time that sorted it out

    the staff were excellent in the main central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice but ouch mind your head!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room in the roof which had low ceiling and banged my head three times on edge of window recess, most painfull avoid these rooms if you can!

    Great location, friendly staff, modern and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Fab hotel in THE BEST location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that didn't pre-book parking so none was available - our fault, BUT we found much cheaper parking in the centre by the Tourist Office so all good!

    Absolutely fantastic location with a gorgeous wee square right full of bars and restaurants just outside, and a stones throw from the port. Beautifully decorated reception, and comfortable, spotlessly clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay at hotel saint Nicolas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Breakfast was lovely, hotel was very quiet. Location perfect. Parking was a great luxury for a hotel so close to centre. Aircon welcome for hottest day of the year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel close to harbour and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spaces are narrow so patience and accuracy are required (SUVs not recommended).

    Hotel has a modern interior in a lovely older building in a narrow street close to the harbour and old town. Excellent location. Comfortable room with tea/coffee making facilities. Limited car parking is available and worth booking in advance (try finding somewhere else to park in the centre of La Rochelle). Buffet breakfast is excellent but pricey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult if you don’t book it with the hotel in advance.

    Great location. Great aircon (- & boy did we need it.) Excellent breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Cool rooms and really cool location, friendly, right in the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains or shutters in the bedrooms. Shower splashes the room a bit. Parking very limited so must be booked well in advance. WiFi very unreliable. Great

    Comfy beds. Nice bathrooms. Air con. Free sweets. Friendly staff. Nice freebies in the bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, really welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, really welcoming and helpful staff. The Saint Nicholas Quarter was a lovely area with lots of little shops, boutiques and delicious restaurants right on the doorstep (including a gorgeous fresh seafood place and bistro). Nice, clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    I would return to this hotel if I revisit La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a little noisy with coffee/juice machines going continually and people having to take suitcases through the area to get to the carpark plus some dreadful music but there is a little bakers round the corner if you want a quiet coffee and pastry

    Perfect location. Good clean simple French hotel. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great hôtel. Super location. Car park facility.€13/night but well worth it. Highly reccomend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room. Beds were very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. More unusual in French hotels! Thunderstorms when we arrived but hotel had plenty of umbrellas at our disposal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, lovely holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative comment would be that strangely enough there was no mirror in the bedroom, not even one above the desk area.

    We had a superior room and we loved it. The breakfast is excellent, there was even scrambled eggs and chipolatas which is unusual for France. The staff were very helpful with any queries and it’s a nice quiet location, although slightly on the edge of the central area, still only a short walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Great short stay. Could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem driving to the hotel as there are barriers restricting access to the quartier. Was not aware how to get through. Telephoned hotel and they were able to lower it.

    Hotel is in a great location, near to the port, restaurants and shops. These are all within walking distance and once you’ve parked your car you can forget about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit awkward to find initial - one way system. No clothing wardrobe or drawers in room.

    Excellent location very central. Large bathroom with bath & shower. Very quiet location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    A great location. We went with our elderly parents so not very far for them to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult working round the one way system in La Rochelle but look out for small white signs with red lettering and arrows guiding the way.

    Excellent location for exploring La Rochelle. My mother is disabled and they organised a walk in shower for her for when we arrived. She asked for a non slip shower mat which was promptly placed securely in the shower. Reception provided jugs of milk when asked, which was great. If you book parking, do make sure that you let the hotel know through booking assistant, confirming when they reply. Some people had not confirmed the booking assistance messages and subsequently were not allocated parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel near the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel itself but until the La Rochelle mayor agrees that the new one way system can be digitised for Google Maps and sat navs getting to the hotel by car for the first time is almost impossible

    Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and we would definitely return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were charming, the general ambiance was very relaxed and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent . The location is very quiet yet also very central, close to the port and the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at this hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in my room (503) had a shower curtain and when you were showering the water just went under the curtain and flooded the floor.Housekeeping were informed as it was lethal, very slippery, but nothing was done about it when we had returned from our evening out. The water was still all over the floor and the bathmat was dripping wet.Also I felt the superior double room we had booked was small. And the bed was definately not a queen bed as ordered and paid for. Next time when booking I would ring the hotel to confirm the exact type of room I would be getting.

    The location and overall feel of the hotel was good. The reception staff were very helpful. But I felt housekeeping lacked somewhat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came by car and realized that the car was bigger than the pre booked parking space and had a hard time getting out of the car.

    Small, but nice and clean room. Air conditioning that could be adjusted to the perfect temperature. Helpful staff with excellent language skills. Location was close to the old port/town, Aquarium and maritime museum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Property was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left some clothing in wardrobe but was never returned we called next day but said nothing was found but it was definitely left there so not happy 😏

    Property was in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    OK city break hotel in centre of La Rochelle. Easily good enough but not special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small, bath towels were small and it was almost impossible to park and then get out of your car because the spaces at the rear of the hotel were too small. We just felt that the hotel owners were squeezing as much profit out of us as they could.

    Location great. Staff very happy to help. Good breakfast selection and coffee making provision in the room. Clean comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    More staff training required quickly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very young and in my opinion very inexperienced... no help offerred carrying luggage to room .. Restaurant waiting staff scruffy ... The room payment was taken before we arrived as agreed but when final bill was printed the accommodation was charged again and breakfast too which we didn’t have ! The staff were unable to refund onto our credit card ?!? So reimbursed us with cash ? Quite a shambles !

    Spacious room . Parking was easy Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Great room, quiet hotel, one very helpful staff member, average facilities, bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never think £22 for a buffet breakfast for 2 is particularly fair if you are staying, especially if it’s the same price if you walk off the street. Also disappointing to have to pay £25 for 2 nights parking on site. Pretty standard I know these days,for a city centre hotel but this is not a cheap hotel in the first instance and it doesn’t have the greatest of facilities otherwise. It also tends to be a small conference hotel, not the most atmospheric of bar areas, could make a lot more of that. Oh by the way, we were staying in an annexe across the entrance from the hotel and the fire alarm went off whilst we were there. We trooped off outside to be met by no one and we waited outside for 20 minutes. We weren’t told it was all clear, no one in a high vis was around and no one came and said anything. Not the greatest advert

    lovely quiet hotel even though right in centre, great location, very helpful chap on reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and secure on site parking was a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room on floor 4 which was accessed by stairs as lift only went to floor 3 We were offered an alternative room if we wished but couldn’t be bothered with the hassle

    Excellent location and secure on site parking was a bonus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fault of the hotel, but current roadworks make finding it in the car difficult with SatNav, but the hotel has put up discreet signs to follow.

    Staff were all excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved La Rochelle and hotel was really well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So central to everything and hotel was clean and well lit. Used a nearby bakery for breakfast as the 14 Euros each per day was a bit high. Parking was good and location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Quaint, comfortable, clean lodging in close proximity to central part of La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking of course is a challenge. There is a parking garage that is remarkably close by (given it's central location). Ask hotel staff if this applies to you. 13 Euros overnight.

    Location is good, accommodations are fine, and theme and air of hotel is very nice and appropriate for the locale.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel great location
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, near to the marina/centre of town, but quiet. Walking distance for restaurants and bars, several within a stones throw. Secure parking at a god rate and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Good comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was good.

    Great location to town, restaurants and the port. Cleanliness. I managed to get a vomiting bug on the trip there so my 2 nights there were a complete write off but the staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely go and stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything perfect.

    Fabulous location for centre of la Rochelle, . Fab hotel, with friendly staff. Delicious breakfast, best we have had in France.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. And in this particular room the air conditioning hit your head ideally needs to be put elsewhere or move the bed.

    Location! breakfast was lovely and they had soya milk which for someone who can't drink cows milk was delighted to have it .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    We loved the location, in the old city and close to the Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't the best, but they are changing them out.

    We loved the location, in the old city and close to the Port. Everything was very clean and the breakfast area was lovely looking at the garden. We asked for a quiet room facing the garden and that was helpful, especially with the weekend frivolities. Me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    A short but enjoyable stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con was set to 25° but it must have been more like 15° when we came into the room. The toilet seat was broken (we mentioned on check out so will have been fixed by now).

    The hotel is ideally situated in a (fairly) calm street just a few minutes' walk from the old port. The car park was easy to find and with direct access to the lobby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. At breakfast, there were some home-made local cakes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    nice and clean, very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in the small building across the suqare form the main one , and the Wifi connection was poor, I had to go down to the lobby to really get a working connection.

    The location, 5" walking distance to the old city center, and the parking, in a town where parking is a real problem. The brealfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    An ideal base for a great weekend in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi annoying, having to log in repeatedly Bath needed an anti-slip mat. Some bedrooms a bit short on storage.

    It’s a jewel in the lovely crown of La Rochelle. Terrific location, convenient for the port and old town but very quiet. Delightful helpful staff. Comfortable rooms including beds & good bathrooms with bath & shower. Excellent breakfast and bar. Foreign newspapers. Apple MAC for guests if needed & Wi-fi (see below) Small outside area for smokers etc. Very good value for money A blackbird woke me each morning - fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great little hotel, very conveniently situated close to the harbour front. On site parking too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location just a short walk to the harbour front and lots of restaurants and bars. Friendly and helpful staff, fantastic to have on-site parking and nice to find tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Everything spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in heart of town excellent for exploring on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little difficult to find driving in as one way system kept changing due to road construction but not hotels fault

    Centrally located hotel within walking distance to restaurants and the whole town. Excellent breakfast. Parking provided (for a fee) which was important as no parking nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, comfortable, clean with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been serviced earlier. When we returned in the afternoon on a couple of occasions it had either not been done or staff were working in there.

    Very helpful and pleasant staff in all areas not only reception. Comfortable and clean rooms. Shower excellent easy to operate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    An extremely comfortable hotel, perfectly situated for...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extremely comfortable hotel, perfectly situated for exploring La Rochelle. The staff were friendly and helpful. A superb buffet breakfast, too. Excellent value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is really well located, close to the harbour in La...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really well located, close to the harbour in La Rochelle, and with plenty of nice restaurants in the vicinity. It was very convenient to have parking on-site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    if you want a city-centre stay, easily accessible for restaurants, the Hotel St. Nicholas is a great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mix-up with parking (DO book a parking staff as there is no alternative locally), which was solved by one of the staff kingly moving their own vehicle.

    Great location in the centre of La Rochelle. Rooms small, but well furnished. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great location, in the Saint Nicolas quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, in the Saint Nicolas quarter. Close to the harbour and lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent facilities in the room. Secure parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Lovely room, yummy breakfast, great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service. I'm sorry, but it just didn't taste very good. It was also not as expected and came in small mixed tubs rather than a proper meal. It was nice they had that option though and I'm really just trying to find a negative!

    Really chuffed with this hotel actually especially as travelling with a young child. Fantastic location with parking on site! (pre-book), you can literally walk out and be in the old town and on the harbour front within minutes. Staff very friendly and spoke multiple languages. Room was very clean and roomy and fresh, the beds too were very comfortable and I slept extremely well. Bathroom was modern and clean and had a bath as well as a shower. Breakfast too was fantastic actually, lots of choice even for fussy little eaters. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location but small dark room and poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and when we drew back the voile half of the window was obscured by the conservatory roof. (See picture) When we booked we thought we would have had a light and airy room with a garden view similar to that on the booking.com website. However when we told the receptionist that the room was not as we had expected particularly the view, we were informed that this view didn’t exist. When we complained that the room was dark we were told this was allocated to us as we were a family and it was a ‘calm’ room. We were to discover that this was far from being a calm room; it was located opposite the cleaning staff cupboard and next to the emergency exit complete with heavy fire door which the cleaning staff used frequently. Apparently also the room is not sound proof between floors which we also discovered to our detriment when the occupants of the room above us spent most of the night stomping and tapping across our ceiling. At midnight we decided to ring the night duty staff but I was unable to do this as there was no indication of what the number is we had to ring to contact reception neither on the telephone nor anywhere near the telephone - I do not think Guests should be expected to search the room for a vital contact number in the middle of the night-it should have been easily accessible I also didn’t feel it was appropriate to go downstairs in my pajamas to complain - as a result we felt that as we did not make the staff aware of the noise problem, the hotel hadn’t been given the chance to rectify the problem. However, we believe that it is in the interest of the hotel to be made aware of such problems so they have the opportunity to address these problems. Subsequently we mentioned it during our check out and unsurprisingly we were informed that it was too late and we should have complained at the time.

    The breakfast was varied and plentiful. The waiting service was polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, in the centre of town, quiet, close to station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking for car...I did not book one and there was none left... had to park in council car park 15 mns away lugging heavy suitcases and back pack...RESERVE IN ADVANCE

    Very clean, in the centre of town, quiet, close to station..nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.0
    Lovely Hotel in the centre of LaRochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint is the WiFi which was very slow and unsecured.

    This is a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location in La Rochelle. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety. The staff on Reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel (once you find it!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tricky to find in the car due to road works and the parking was somewhat expensive.

    The hotel is well located in the old port/town area. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, and very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great city, lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better.

    Excellent location. Very good staff. 5 mins to town. Great for families. Very close to a public car pack of great value. Very close to restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    An excellent choice for La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have problems with hotel beds since I sleep on my side and the beds here would appear to have acquired harder mattresses in recent years, so I didn't sleep well. However they are just normal for the hotel business. Greek ones are worse!

    An excellent hotel which I have stayed in a number of times. Nice staff, everything works great, super clean, a nice bathroom, super location just a few mins walk from where all the action is. Right price for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was pleasant enough-perhaps some staff need some customer service training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front checking person Elizabeth was abrupt, unfriendly, impatient and unhelpful. At one point she said the hotel parking was completely full and told me to find parking elsewhere. This was not a good beginning after spending a long day on the road!! Surprisingly a few minutes later an efficient friendly clerk found us some space in the hotel parking lot for our three day stay.

    The breakfast was excellent! The attendant was very friendly and hard-working. She was very attentive and competent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    A good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    The friendly, very helpful staff, they all seem to speak good English. The lounge/bar/restruant area, secure parking, we liked the location, easy access to the harbour area and shops and the many, many restaurants. We'll stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel, friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Superior Room could have been a little bigger. PIllow were a bit too hard !

    Great Location, friendly and helpful staff, loved the fact there was safe private parking behind the hotel. Room very clean, pillows a little hard though ! The breakfast was very well laid out and very good, something for everyone, cheese, eggs and lovely fresh fruit salad. The breakfast conservatory was lovely and light even on a dull day.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: