Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel l'Escargotière Dijon Sud - Chenove 3 stars

120 Avenue Roland Carraz, 21300 Chenôve, France

#2 of 6 hotels in Chenôve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Just passing through on the way to The South of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just felt a little "hollow" I think it is a place where people pass through, would not recommend or return, food was the best part of the stay, the burger was super tasty and very fresh.

    We were traveling and needed a hotel were we could get good food and have secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a perfect place to stay when driving through France. The location on an industrial estate isn’t picturesque but it’s very near the motorway and easy to find. It has a large safe car park. It’s not a chain so has some character and the restaurant is excellent if a bit pricey for the type of hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Very well placed for a north to south drive stopover, great food, clean room, and a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the pictures on the website do give the impression that the hotel is in a more rural setting that it actually is, and this was initially a bit of a letdown, but not a massive concern in the end . Also, there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - this would have been nice to have a brew first thing in the morning, especially as we left on Sunday and not many places were open for coffee - we had to wait til we were on the road and stopped in an Aire for a vending machine cup.

    The room was very clean and our bed was really comfortable - the kids beds were fairly basic bunk and zed beds, but they all had a good nights sleep. Food in the restaurant was really nice and reasonably priced - good wine list and regional cuisine. The position was ideal for us as a midway stop off driving back from the cote d'azure upto Dover. There was also a mix up with our bill, as they had added the incorrect restaurant tab to it, but they quickly sorted this and were very helpful. We even managed to download a move onto the kids tablet via the free wifi! When we were travelling down to the Cote d'azure, we chose a v cheap budget place for all of us (2x Adult 3x Kids), and we genuinely felt that the extra money we paid for this place was well worth it (lesson learnt for next time!), as the last thing you want when you have a 6 hour drive ahead of you is a rubbish nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Near the motorway so a good place to break a journey south...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was in an industrial area - the hotel was surrounded by warehouses etc., not great, but once you are inside it doesn't matter.

    Near the motorway so a good place to break a journey south or to the alpes. Super staff - delicious dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    About our staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking said it's a room for 2 adult and 2 children under 10 years old and we've got a bedroom with 2 single bed. How we supposed to sleep? Where? So I talked with the lady in the reception and the only thing she could do to give us a bigger room but I have to pay plus 48 euros on top of the 74. That's too expensive for a room like we had. The door handle was broken, the air conditioner was quite useless. The service in the restaurant was a little bit slow. The kids starter was basically a half vine tomato with some parsley.

    We liked the terrace, we could sit outside and have dinner there. The staff was helpful. The bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Will stay again perfect place for a stopover on my way down to South of France
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was driving to the Cote D' Azur with dog and cat, so a perfect place to stay. secure parking and its such a bonus to find a place that also has a restaurant! Food was very good and the staff charming!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location but poor service in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was extremely poor. We were tired after a long journey and waited 20 Minutes before anyone even noticed we were there even though there were plenty of staff. The menu was complex and some things were sold out although it wasn't late.

    The reception staff were helpful especially when they mischarged for breakfast and did not query it when I asked for it to be taken off. We stay here regularly because the location is excellent and it's good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    It was o.k. for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Position, night staff were unable to find a bottle opener, no-one available to help the poor girl out, she did try to ring for back up.

    It was clean and functional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable stay in a modern air conditioned room. Shower was hot and powerful. Some English speaking staff. A good menu at the restaurant, but only a couple of options for children, overlooks the car park but was pleasant enough. Location is good for a half way break driving north/south.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Modern and clean, very functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Just it is a bit off centre for Dijon in a kind of industrial and services suburb.

    Modern and clean, very functional. Restarant was fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    OK, but could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it a little shabby, further outside Dijon than we had expected, and the staff not particularly friendly or helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Bedroom was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very bad

    Bedroom was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Staff was very narrow minded
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no any facility for good food, even you can not warm your food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Does what you expect for budget overnight accommodation. Helped that the dogs were allowed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Industrial location, morning receptionist very unfriendly. Bed very hard and uncomfortable.

    It was basic and ok for 1 night. Much as expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    Comfy bed, no charge for dogs, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    was difficult to find even with navigation, finally we had to go and ask someoneShower was splashing all over.

    Comfy bed, no charge for dogs, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    A good place to stay if you are heading to or back from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A good place to stay if you are heading to or back from South of France and just want to sleep and eat. They do good steaks here. Don't expect location to be pretty, it is literally a suburb and feels very industrial. Staff are very friendly and will do their very best to accommodate you.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.3
    Great location, garage, staff and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole place is tired and needs a good lick of paint. The room was clean and tidy but the paint was falling off the woodwork. The room is very small and crammed. No tea making facilities and pricey for what you get. all other hotels we stayed in en route from and to Italy had tea making facilities and the rates were less.

    Great location, garage, staff and restaurant. But especially the proximity of a good Super U supermarket and cheap petrol. The restaurant manager was brilliant and very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    3 bed room which i booked wasnt available when i reached...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    3 bed room which i booked wasnt available when i reached there. But they compensated me with free breakfast and 2 double bed rooms. We were happy. Excellent staff . loved our stay there.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    4.6
    The restaurant, the clean bed sheets and the car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grubby, shabby, unclean bedroom and that nothing was done to correct broken toilet seat and the safe was non operational.

    The restaurant, the clean bed sheets and the car park.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.9
    Good value clean comfortable accommodation .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good value clean comfortable accommodation . Restaurant served delicious great value food...top knotch despite functional location. Very pleased

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.3
    Very quiet, relaxing and with easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Very quiet, relaxing and with easy parking. Fantastic food in the restaurant. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    2.9
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet in the room we booked it for this reason!

    Not much.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    car park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    car park. wifi. English speakers. Restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.4
    Reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airco Smokers outside window at front of hotel (not pleasant if window is open)

    Reception staff Free parking

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.9
    dinner-excellent chef and waiters
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    dinner-excellent chef and waiters large car park capable of taking trailer

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: