Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Contact Hotel La Rochelle 2 stars

20 Rue Alfred Kastler, Port Des Minimes, 17000 La Rochelle, France

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    It's a cheap room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station but on the wrong side of the tracks. Nowhere near any attractions or centr of town. Rooms tired and the hotel name is actually different to name on booking.com -

    Close to train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Poor accommodation that I would avoid at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound insulation between floors was rubbish, and I mean rubbish. We were kept awake until the early hours as a result of noises from other guests, initially lovemaking followed by their conversations which could be heard in our room below. As a result my wife and I got very little sleep that evening, and as a consequence cancelled the second night that was booked. The hotel were unable to refund the second night, even though the cancellation was as a result of the concerns that we raised. Booking.com have also not responded to our two requests to seek a refund on our behalf, despite an initial email saying they would forward the complaint and get back to us we have heard nothing. Very poor.

    Not much about the hotel., But it is close to the harbour of la Rochelle, with a pedestrian walkway past the marina to the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Amazingly generous staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff deserve a particular mention. Especially the part time lady on the Sunday I left. I had a problem with my debit card (the pin no. was blocked), and didn't even know if I'd have enough petrol to get me to the next city, where I was having cash wired by Western Union. She very kindly gave me e10 of her own money! Such a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.3
    Almost nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is 3.5 km from the 'centre ville'. To go to the centre every time we had to walk for 30 mins. You should have a car to stay here. The hotel looked like a temporary wooden structure with very small plastic bathroom. It was quite hot when we stayed here and the AC did not work neither wifi.

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and restoring for the next stage of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to locate on our GPS

    The property was in a quiet area, easy parking and close to wonderful restaurants. We were greeted and treated by a young friendly manager.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    Good location for marina, and university.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an out of town hotel, not ideal for La Rochelle town, approx 25mins walk, few restaurants/bars nearby.

    Good location for La Rochelle Boat Show, marina and university. Clean, quiet budget hotel with parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    5.4
    Noisy tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected a small room as we booked for a night only we thought we would not mind it.But boy, it was tiny! That was not the biggest issue however. The walls are paper thin, it is like sharing a room with your neighbours.Conversations, TV noise from neighbouring room were clear as day at 2 a.m in the morning, when they had no sleep.Absolutely horrendous experience not to be able to sleep until sunrise.

    Good parking place. Price is ok for a stop-over stay en route to other destinations.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Next time I'll check soap before to go bathroom. (smile)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in bathroom and when I saw that it was to late. I usually never bring soap in my suitcase because of controls at airports.

    Quiet Close to my family Good Price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a horrible musty /damp smell to it. We assumed this was coming from the touring caravan style bathroom. The hotel is in great need of an update. Won’t use it or another Contact Hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    5.0
    Good instructions for finding the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room capsule was very strange. Hotel was Difficult to find.

    Good instructions for finding the old town. Quite far from old town, water bus was essential for us, half hourly, Very busy .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was horrible and was leaking into the room. Wifi was not working properly.

    Breakfast was really nice, the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.3
    Good for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more varied . Lack of cereals and fresh fruit. A bit annoying that only one device could be connected to free wi-fi.

    Room was lovely. Bed comfy and shower room luxurious . Modern hotel .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    4.2
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guys, you're crazy - ONLY ONE SOCKET in the room! And if I have more than one device to charge? Internet does not work + if you have internet on one device, you're not able to have it on another (we're in the 21st century and internet costs a trifle!) TV didn't work at first - needed to address this issue to the reception Films/musique (also included in TV) were not available The price is extreme for a tiny room and a tiny bathroom

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    Lovely La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi only worked on one of three devices in the room, but would definitely stay again!

    Great room, clean and comfortable. Good location, short walk to Les Minimes Beach. Not that close to the centre of town, about a 30 minute walk (a lovely walk), but there is also a bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.3
    Terrible. Dont go there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor location not evident at the time of booking Room was appalling Bathroom was terrible. We were afraid to shower in there.

    Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Would never use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was was cheap

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Very clean and modern inside, beautiful views and very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and modern inside, beautiful views and very close to castle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Great staff good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Super helpful and friendly reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Filled a need efficiently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.3
    No receptionist when i arrived
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small room

    No receptionist when i arrived Likely i have frensh friend to call the hotel to find my key by a strange way

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    4.6
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly every thing

    The position

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    A small, well located hotel. Ideal for a traveller's overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was exactly as expected. Parking was better than expected.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.5
    Air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbours

    Air con

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: