Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coq hôtel 3 stars

2. Place De La Poissonnerie, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France

#4 of 13 hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were new and well appointed. The hotel reception and restaurant were very traditional French and Les Marmites are truly delicious. A meal not to miss.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed at Le Coq now on about six occasions en route to Eymoutiers, it’s a first class location and a first class hotel. The owners are lovely people and the staff are so helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast has so much choice to suit any traveller. We would not consider staying anywhere else othe than Le Coq, it’s central in Montreuil which is a very picturesque little town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was large and the bed comfortable it was also spotlessly clean - I had the fish stew one night and a steak the next, both meals were excellent -

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, comfortable rooms, a great garden area and lovely breakfasts, with delicious breads and viennoiserie. Well placed for the town centre and close toa number of good restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the wifi didn't work. That was the only small negative point

    The room was restfull and tastefull, the breakfast was the best I've ever found in a hotel. The interior of the restaurant is unique. It's in the middle of the old town, but as soon as you step in the courtyard, you step in a time out of quiet and birdsong.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking and hosts lack of interest in advising us where to park. Room decor a bit corporate and out of character with rest of premises

    Fabulous breakfast. Charming building. Central location. Beautiful terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was a little narrow. Instead of just two main course dishes (one shell fish the other meat) at least four (shell fish, white fish, meat and vegetarian) would be a great improvement and worthy of this hotel and its delightful dining room.

    The breakfast was at its usually extremely high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the heart of Montreuil-sur-mer. Parking on site. The small restaurant in the hotel was wonderful - great food, great service and a great atmosphere. Restaurant choices are limited in this small town, but it is worth a stop to get some real French small town experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to go outside to get from the room to the restaurant and it was raining but this was a minor problem.

    The location was excellent and the hotel and restaurant had lots of French character and charm. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - probably one of the best meals I have had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking worth the 10 euros extra. Lovely room. The best shower ever. Amazing selection for breakfast when only 2 rooms occupied. Not a big menu for dinner but the fish we had was excellent with lots of vegetables. Will stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on Thursday evening the night we were there.

    Tea and coffee making facilities in room were a bonus as was a fridge. Rooms were spacey and the breakfast was out of this world. Well worth the extra 12 euros.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking limited, if you get a place it is a bit heavy at 10 euro a night. but very secure.

    Been here before, great comfort, good breakfast, easy to come and go, good food in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful small hotel, with large and quiet room, very clean, and excellent breakfast. It was low season, and we might have been the only guests, but the breakfast buffet was generous beyond expectations - a superb range of cheeses, sliced meats, super bread, fruit salad, and all fresh and excellent quaility. Almost as if an entire delicatessen had been provided for us alone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice at dinner. New style menu. Have stayed at hotel many times in past and menu choices always good and excellent cooking, one of reasons I’ve returned.

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Plus fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except maybe a choice of a smaller breakfast!

    Quiet, comfortable, friendly staff, lovely food in elegant surroundings, perfect location for a weekend getaway. The hotel annexe at the rear is very modern and well equipped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not too sure about the new format dinner menu. Good for one night but perhaps limiting for a longer stay. The Darnetal across the road offers an excellent choice

    breakfast very good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything at all! Would go back there at the drop of a hat if in the area or even as we did made a special trip to Montreuil. Also, we had 2 Labs with us who were made to feel welcome and unusually were not charged for!

    Having stayed at numerous hotels the length and breadth of France over the years, both my wife and myself can honestly say that the main highlight of this hotel other than the very comfortable room, was the incredible buffet breakfast served in the main dining area. We have never come across such a wide variety of food - there was something for everyone, ranging from fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, yoghurts to the most wonderful, flaky croissants and the freshest of breads, plus homemade jams and marmalade. Great coffee and a machine for all other hot drinks such as really good chocolat. The only item which could be found to be missing, if at all, were eggs. But with the rest who wanted those? Also, last but not least great "marmites" the night before including ours which had beautiful succulent veal marengo. There are also many other choices to suit. Plus lovely high ceiling dining room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Typically Frech small hotel in a leafy quiet square just off the town centre. Spotlessly clean, super comfortable, and superb evening meals in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good friendly hotel which we have used previously as a stop when travelling from the south back to the Eurotunnel. Montreuil Sur Mer is a lovely town with amazing ramparts and so a good place to stretch your legs at the end of a long journey. Good French cooking, casseroles being their speciality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our taps broke on arrival so unable to use bath. Feel we should have been offered another room or at least a discount but language barrier didnt help. Breakfast expensive when no hot choices.

    Location in a lovely town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was not working most of the time. Continental B/fast Euro 12 pppn..... too expensive & if you dont advise that b/fast not required in advance, its automatically charged! Parking Euro 10 per night.

    Rooms were very large (we were on third floor)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to criticise. Some of the restaurants and bistros in the out-of-season period are closed Monday and Tuesday. Be aware that the path on top of the fortess battlements (45mins for the full circular walk) is unfenced and in many places follows close to the bricked edge of a shear 50m drop. Whilst this walk has outstanding views especially towards the coast, it is not a place to allow small children to run freely!

    A very popular family run hotel that is perfect for short breaks, as a touring base or cross channel transit stopover. Five to 6 cars is about the maximum in the small courtyard carpark (€10pn) but there is more streetparking close by. There is also a large sheltered but sunny outdoor patio with tables and chairs. Whilst small couteseys to converse in French are appreciated, you will be understood in English. The rooms facing in to the courtyard are quieter than those overlooking the narrow access road at the back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone agrees that the parking can be difficult, but the good bit is it is very secure. Perfect if you have a boot full of wine.

    The quality of the rooms, in this price range, is exceptional. And as for their restaurant - the homemade food is a perfect example of French cooking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast; hotel is well placed in the middle of Montreal and it has a very pleasant garden area. It is also well placed for a quick (45mins) walk around the walls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a traditiona family run hotel. It is very comfortable and the owners and staff extremely accomodating. The food in the Restaurant was excellent and the breakfast one of the best. Its position to the Tunnel makes it a must stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner not as good as we remembered from past visit.

    Lovely welcoming staff. Very good breakfast. Parking very convenient inside hotel courtyard for 10 Euros a day. Very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good just breakfast is a little bit disappointing but other options are available close by if you look across the square.

    Very clean , comfy beds , very good shower . Enough wardrobe space , iron and ironing board given on request . Breakfast a little pricey for what you get but it is a buffet just limited choice . Would stay again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer was one of those attached to the wall so as to ensure that guests cannot steal it. It is a cheap option, with a plastic tube that has to be held to one's hair and if you don't continue holding it high, it switches off. Very annoying.

    The modern rooms to the rear of original hotel are smart and with parking right there, it is all very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointingly, the menu was changed from traditional French to a plastic coated card with selection of Marmites, sea food and a very limited choice of plat du jours. The quality of the meal was not as good as previously enjoyed.

    The room spacious and comfortable as always

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No criticisms

    Lunch and breakfast both very good. Real French cooking at lunch time with reasonable wine list. Breakfast catered for all tastes with plenty of fresh fruit and yogurts etc. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking is small but there was always a space for our car. Beds slightly hard.

    Staff was very friendly, food was perfect, both breakfast as well as dinner. WIFI was good, even in rooms. Rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent, lunch when we arrived and breakfast the following morning both really good. Staff were very helpful and friendly and they checked us in well before the the scheduled arrival time. Car park is small so best to book in advance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing; all excellent.

    Very large and well appointed family room. Nice to have proper single beds for the children, rather than the usual sofabed arrangement. Large bathroom with toiletries and bathrobes supplied. Excellent breakfast buffet., and although we did not eat at the restaurant in the evening it too looked very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I liked the private car park, the hosts were friendly and spoke English. The bedroom was huge and the bathroom well equipped and spotless. I loved the mini bar and the tea making facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of this delightful town and Brigite who owns the hotel is the most wonderful, helpful lady you could ever wish to find. My car broke down late at night and even though this was her evening off she went out of her way to assist. Firstly she called the breakdown service, then she went down the road to direct them to the rue behind the hotel where the car was parked, she then made sure that we had the garage contact details ready to call them the following morning. The next morning she assisted with the call and then on the afternoon she took me to the garage so that I could clear out the content from the car as sadly it had to be left there until it could be brought back to the UK It is rare indeed to find someone like her - she is a jewel. :) The hotel itself is a credit to her ; it is superbly clean and the breakfast is just amazing - such an assortment of breads, cheeses, meats croissants, etc - the choice is excellent. It has its own restaurant but there are many others in easy walking distance Parking is in the courtyard between the main hotel and the rooms in a separate building and very secure. The gate is locked overnight. Parking has to be agreed in advance of arriving and costs 10 euro per night. It is well worth it. However, if there is no space available then public parking is available at the front of the hotel I have stayed here 3 times now and will be going again as soon as I have some free days. It does get booked up quite quickly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are parking spaces in a courtyard within the hotel, but they charge guests to park there. We thought that was a little unpleasant. Plenty of street parking v close by. Only charged for that daytime hours and get 90 mins free withing daytime hours so no difficulty for us on a quick overnight stop.

    Lovely hotel, traditional, well kept. Excellent breakfast, really outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be an issue at busy holiday times

    The location is ideal relative to Calais and distance from the coast and motorway network. The town is kept immacutaly clean and full of flowers. The castle is also the location for live shows. Although very popular with the British the town retains its French character and ambience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The fresh orange juice machine and excellent choice at breakfast.Welcoming and accommodating although we arrived a bit early.The inner court garden is very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked some additional channels on the television, say BBC World or Sky/CNN, but that's a minor point.

    Spacious room, very comfortable bed, excellent shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meals had no choice of vegetables and in some instances what were provided did not suit the meat dish. Also the vegetables were the same every day.

    The location,accommodation,staff,breakfasts all excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A larger dinner menu would have encouraged us to eat in on more than one night. But the food we did have was excellent.

    The breakfast was simply amazing with a large selection of fruits, croissants, cheese and meats plus cereals and yogurt. Freshly squeezed orange juice is rare in hotels these days. Superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should return to the old style

    Have stayed on many occasions so I would say the comfort and cleanliness is as good as always. The food has loss some of its quality as they appear to want to appeal to a different client base in the evenings however breakfast is first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean but could have been a bit more modern, although this is a minor issue.

    The hotel is lovely and in a good central location. The owner is very nice and the food is excellent. This hotel has some traditional French character and has a very nice courtyard area to sit out in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Quaint hotel nice and comfortable.great staff . Lots of choice at breakfast .easy access to the town which is a charming place to visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot overnight despite leaving the window open wide.

    Very comfortable and quiet. Convenient for stopping en route to the tunnel. Pleasant courtyard garden. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Rooms very comfortable, clean, ideal for a stopover before return to U.K. Walking distance to bars and restaurants. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time we had Room Number 2, which was smaller than the room we had on our last visit two years ago. However this room was still fine for an overnight stop.

    Most enjoyable dinner and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly reception and the room is excellent with very comfortable bed and good bathroom. We ate out at night but the breakfast is very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor and over-priced (Suspect, given the stomach disorder following) that the mixed fruit cocktail was a day or two old!

    Location was very attractive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No specific criticisms.

    Annex is actually a hotel. It's clean and comfortable with easy access to one of the shopping streets, and an alley where you can park the car (to avoid the hotel car park at 10e). Meals in the old part of the hotel, now rather dated. Great centre town position but quiet. Quickest wifi of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and meal were almost as expensive as the 4* chateau we went on to. So neither were good value. We ate in the hotel because the carte on display outside and on the website had a nice menu including crab. However it turned out there were only 2 formules with limited choice - neither including crab. The food was ordinary. Eggs were not offered at breakfast.

    From the street the hotel looks pretty and the garden was nice. Parking was good inside the driveway. Bathroom was clean and well-lit and the room large. The Patronne was pleasant although the Monsieur was somewhat sour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    street parking was a bit difficult.

    elevator, spacious room, separate toilet, good bath, two comfy seats, bathrobes, ... Outside dining and breakfast, lovely old mansion, excellent breakfast. Very well situated close to the Citadel, after dinner walk, stunning views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oddly the reception is in a tiny crowded area at the front of the old hotel, where there is a spacious reception in the new accommodation block at the back.....not sure how that can be fixed.

    We were very pleased with the quality of both the breakfast selection and price. We also enjoyed a very tasty and well prepared and moderately priced evening meal . A first rate and enjoyable start to our holiday and will certainly stay there again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot. But left the window open all day and a freestanding fan was provided so that helped a lot.

    Lovely room, triple room for three adults was brilliant. Didn't expect mini bar but there was one and bath robes and nice towel. Exceptionally clean and tidy everywhere in the hotel. Room had a nice view over pretty courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second time we have stayed here. Bedrooms are very hot indeed and one has to open bedroom windows at night.

    Brilliant breakfast. Wonderful reception/dining/bar area, so, beautifully full of character. Great central location. Charming and helpful service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making a reservation via booking .com , there are much cheaper comparable hotels in Montreuil if booked direct with hotel.

    The locality and facilities in Montreuil are fine, the hotel where we have stayed before are suitable for us central to amenities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    The hotel felt disjointed,and a little tired albeit they were having work done in the garden/terrace of which we had to cross to get to our rooms. There was no parking available as the road behind the hotel was being re-surfaced, so not the hotels fault. Had breakfastwhich was fulsome but you had to "op-out" the day before or you would automatically be charged 12euro Overall I thought the location good only 45/60mins to ferry/tunel but probably would not stay at the Coq again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely, small hotel with one of the best "continental" breakfasts ever. The quality of the bread, ham, cheese, etc, is that of a top restaurant - which is actually the case as the hotel's restaurant is where breakfast is served.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow. Would be good to have a choice if you suffer from bad neck

    Ambience, staff, breakfast, access to nearby restaurants, central location from which the whole of this fascinating town is easily reached on foot, including the ramparts ( ambience slightly offset by current building works in courtyard, but no noise experienced from these late or early and look as if they will be finished soon) .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were some the best I have had. Would book the hotel again. Brigitte was very attentive. The hotel is ideally placed for walking round the town and the walls. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little lacking in atmosphere in the reception/lounge area to the bedroom section at the back which could have been more welcoming but that was all because of the time of year, I am sure.

    We did not have breakfast but we had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was excellent - food, service, value, etc. The staff could not have been nicer or more hospitable. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is first class with a terrific choice on the buffet. Sadly we could not have dinner the night of our stay as the restaurant was closed but the hotel kindly booked us a table at a local restaurant instead. Madame greeted us with her usual friendly manner. The secure hotel parking is a bonus as is the calm of the location of the bedrooms; they are all at the back of the hotel which is great for a town centre hotel location. The rooms all have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. :) When we need a stopover in this part of France this is out first choice hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotter water for the tea at breakfast

    Bed very comfortable, a lovely wide selection for the continental breakfast, rooms warm and well equipped with tea/coffee facilities and fridge. Like the bathrobes. Central position is excellent. Free parking on the lane outside if you are lucky.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot and the bed was very hard and we did not sleep that well. Unfortunately and no doubt inadvertently the member of staff made a mistake. When my bill was presented at check-out we were charged for 22 breakfasts instead of 2. This added 240 euros to the bill. Luckily I checked but I was surprised he did not check it before presenting it to me.

    The breakfast was excellent in a delightful dining room. The owner and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the centre of this amazing town and it is easy to walk everywhere from it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we checked the opening days for the restaurant nowhere on the website did it say that this was closed for the whole of February. We had already booked and cancelled another (cheaper) hotel because the restaurant was closed on Tuesdays.

    Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best if you have someone in your party who speaks some French. The decor is a little dated but that did not affect our stay.

    An amazing breakfast spread of great quality food, something for everyone! The room was well maintained, clean and comfy, plenty of space for our small family.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why is the restaurant closed for the three months of October, November, December? Also the main hotel building seemed closed. The courtyard room was fine but not with the character of the hotel.

    Ability to park in hotel courtyard.An excellent breakfast, one of the best we have found in France. This is one of the nicest small hotels we have found in France despite the limitations expressed across the page.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like a firm bed but this one was really, really firm Parking is available for a small daily charge - but very limited and on a first-come basis. You need to arrive/ park early.

    Lovely clean, modern room. Beautiful clean, fresh bathroom Very generous "continental breakfast" with wide choice of cheeses, breads, meats, fresh fruit salad...Excellent value. Perfect town centre location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the attached Restaurant was closed for the month. But there were many nearby good restaurants. It was just as well they were nearby - very wet and windy weather for our stay.

    Spacious rooms, in very good condition, well above the average for small French hotels. Superb buffet breakfast. Everything exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity the bar and restaurant closed during the winter

    Room/bathroom spotlessly clean and comfortable. Main building very grand and also very French. Breakfast magnificent - beautifully set-out serve-yourself - one of the best breakfasts we've ever come across.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unfortunate that the restaurant closes from November for the low season. Saturday night proved very difficult to find an alternative booking either in Montreuil or around. We ate eventually at 10pm.

    Beautiful building with rooms in a modern annex to the rear. Rooms therefore are comfortable, warm, clean and well equipped, if lacking a little in character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi can be a bit weak at times but otherwise nothing

    Good spacious rooms in an ideal location for exploring the town. Restaurant was excellent with the 20 euro menu representing great value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Thursday night so unfortunately the restaurant was closed

    Bed very comfortable and room quiet and well furnished. Location was great for short walk to main square and restaurants and also for the citadel and ramparts. There was no charge for our dog staying in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were awful, really thin and cheap and even with the spare ones on the bed, still not good. Particularly didn't like the dog poo out in the courtyard, right outside the door which I nearly trod on!

    Excellent location for a short break in Montreuil. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Overall it was a comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As in much of France, Coeliac sufferers have to take their own bread and cereal for breakfast, and look on enviously at the rest of us.

    Once you've found the carpark (thanks, Google Street view) this is a jolly little place in the middle of an attractive town just in from the coast. We had a big comfortable room, a very nice supper in the courtyard, and a decent night's sleep. We'll be going again!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Coq hôtel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: