Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cottage Hotel Reims 2 stars

12 Rue Jacques Maritain - Val De Murigny, 51100 Reims, France

#34 of 49 hotels in Reims

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Very industrious location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel owners were on holiday and didnt inform us before arrival. No dinner available and hotel was empty. The staff member who was excellent apologised because she had to close the bar at 19.00 Also, the hotel is on an industrial estate

    The lady staff member was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Value for money would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was ok but the menu a little limited.

    The hotel was in a perfect spot, close to reims , the staff were friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about the rather odd ‘theming’of the rooms on places and cities. Not inside the rooms just a ghastly picture on the door and travel agent like pictures dotted round an otherwise delightful dining area.

    Looked ordinary from the front - in the usual French out of town retail/commercial park. But very welcoming and helpful staff and delightful terrace and small garden at the rear made it special. Room very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Fun, calm and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost the Engaland v Belgium football game. I would like the staff to wear a uniform, maybe white shirts/blouses and Blue/black trousers/skirts. Would make it very professional. Just an option.

    Breakfast was traditional French. Which is with in the culture setting. Cereal could have extra variety (not just cornflakes) evening meal was value for money and of good quality. Location is reflective in the price. Outside space was cool and relaxing. From bar staff to cleaner very warm hearted people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for a night on the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and toilet seat was insecure. No sink plug but otherwise OK

    Convenient but unromantic setting in a small industrial estate. Made good use of some grass and trees with off road parking. Good breakfast and a better quality evening menu than expected. Staff had good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money stay with top service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hotel was there at reception to greet us when we checked in and was very helpful and friendly. He gave us great local advice for getting in to Reims and where to go and also organised some secure parking with his neighbour for our motorbikes. Nothing seemed to much trouble and went out of his way to ensure everything was right. Great experience and delivered above expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    When we arrived on the Saturday Night we were informed that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived on the Saturday Night we were informed that the Bar and the restaurant was closed for the evening and that breakfast would be from 8.00am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Industrial estate location. Not a tourist or family hotel

    Stopover only en route elsewhere for which it is conveniently located near the Reims bypass. Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Overcharged
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged twice for one of the rooms I booked. I only found this out this week. I paid for the 4 rooms and my friends were charged for the room they stayed in too

    We were charged an extra 35 euros. Which I was not informed about when booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    As I was to leave very early in the morning it was a brief stay, but stay here when I travel through
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I was to arrive late I rang the hotel who were very accommodating, they made sure I could get in when the doors were locked & left my room key out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.3
    I think I've said it all - The Cottage Hotel in Reims is not on my list of hotels to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com stated that the hotel was open until 19.00hrs. We arrived at 18.30hrs to find the place in darkness and locked. We phoned the number stated outside (what if we had no mobile phone?) and eventually gained access, found a key with our name on it inside and found our designated room - quite the smallest bedroom we have ever slept in. The bathroom was the smallest , too, with a corner shower taking up 90% of the floor space and a toilet seat that would not remain upright. Oh, how I hate to have to hold up the toilet seat to have a pee !! The final straw was the absence of hot water the following morning, despite my running the hot tap for at least five minutes. The restaurant is closed on a Friday night, but no-one at Booking.com mentioned that. All in all, a pretty disastrous experience and one never to be repeated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    Suitable for a stop over if driving through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and not much in the immediate area. We walked 3k to the commercial centre. Not an issue as in car for a long drive beforehand.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    Will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything the room was so Tiny, my wife id disabled and they were told this but the bathroom was really too small and the room was very small.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.0
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable,no facilities to make a hot drink in the room.Ver small room too.

    Compared to some places the croissants were tiny but they were very nice as was the bread.The meal in the restaurant was nice too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed as I expected a hotel not dormitory type sleeping arrangment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name suggests a 'Cottage' hotel but it is sited on an industrial estate with bedrooms as with the Campanile i.e like a blockhouse. Very small bedrooms and smelt ' dank' no ventilation. Heaters did not work neither in bedroom or bathroom. Toilet seat was very loose and all facilities are in need of repair.

    Food was good with a good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    great for the price if you have a car
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the middle of nowhere! It is in an industrial estate to the south surrounded by garages and places to buy a kitchen! I was at the hospital which is a five minute walk to the bus stop and then maybe 15 minutes on the bus, so not too bad but highly recommended if you are in a car as the hotel is great for the price. There is a restaurant as I said which is good as there is nothing close by (aprt from a McDonalds about 10min walk).

    Great little hotel for the price, with a comfy bed, pvt bathroom, TV and wifi. There is a restaurant which is quite expensive for what you are served but is acceptable. And the breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and economical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with better pillows, very flat and it would have been nice to have materials to make a drink

    Room was comfortable and the staff were very polite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Good price for value, very convenient for non city centre visits.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In despite of being a no-smoke hotel (with indications everywhere), the room still smells to old tobacco (may be I am very sensible with that). Not possible to blind the window but by an integrated white curtain; I need complete dark to sleep and that was not possible, too much light (for me) becoming in the room through the window at night.

    Free parking place is a luxury in Reims. The place was very calm, without any disturbing noise. The price very competitive. The location, at 20 minutes walking to the hospital and very easy to reach coming from other place, was very convenient for me. The room was clean and comfortable, spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Good stopover hotel near motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good price, plenty of parking, very close to motorway and easy to find, nice restaurant & bar, comfortable rooms, small but clean bathroom. Would be more than happy to go there again. In fact did stay again on our way back home!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Ideal for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridor leading to rooms smelt a bit smoky but inside the rooms was ok.

    Good price, plenty of parking, very close to motorway and easy to find, nice restaurant & bar, comfortable rooms, small but clean bathroom. Would be more than happy to go there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant, comfortable and very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a bit non descript in so far as it was quite a distance from the motorway, though it was not difficult to find. Very little not to like really

    The reception by the staff was very good and the receptionist carried our bags to our room- which is not always performed elsewhere. The room was pleasant and there was a pleasant patio for eating outside as well as the main dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Excellent budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant were closed. We chose hotel because of these.

    Nice wide staircase made it easy to carry luggage and nice enviroment. Great staff. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Bathroom is very small. The hotel is a bit dated. No tea or coffee provided.

    Breakfast was good. The host is very friendly. The common area is very nice as is the outside table and chair area. There's a very good Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.9
    Excellent value for money in rather basic,modern, clean environment close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unmanned from about 21:00 with no visible contact numbers available, saw this as a potential problem that didn't impact us. Breakfast was very basic but for 7euros, just about acceptable.

    Value for money is excellent. Clean and comfortable in quiet industrial site location. Car parking covered by CCTV.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    GREAT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not staying longer

    Handy for visiting lots of interesting places

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely abandoned accommodation with no staff, no service at all.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Cheap hotel close to highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap Hotel, Next to highway, Very polite staff, but be prepared to speak French. This was exactly what we were looking for!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    I would not recommend in any way
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating. Shower didn't work. Tried to charge twice for my breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Fine for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Easy to reach, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms like cells, but ok to crash for one night

    Easy to reach, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for 1 night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a basic stop over hotel. It is clean and comfortable and provided a decent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful for very late arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful for very late arrival

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed free parking easy to find and excellent access off and back on autoroute

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    It was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on arrival, but it heated up OK when the heater was turned on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Froendly staff, decent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Froendly staff, decent food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    a really good stop over friendly staff and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good parking areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on an shopping estate

    Nice and clean accommodation Close to motorway good overnight stop

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    A surprisingly good stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal was lovely! Good menu, our choices very well cooked and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    The bathroom was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Convenient, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind was jammed open

    Shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.8
    1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful breakfast, poor English

    Bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    A member of staff spoke English
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room could have been cleaner

    A member of staff spoke English

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    Simple comfortable hotel lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel friendly hosts

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    I have used this hotel on several occasions when driving...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have used this hotel on several occasions when driving down to Italy on business it's a good location to stop off at from the UK

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Excellent budget hotel and conveniently situated to allow us to break our journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities

    Nice touch that there was a hairdryer in the room and miniature toiletries

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.4
    Easy to find as long as your sat nav can find hotels and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much choice of food outlets near by. The restaurant at the hotel is closed on Friday nights! Breakfast was total rubbish. Hardly any choice at all. Staff not very friendly.

    Easy to find as long as your sat nav can find hotels and not just go by the post code.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    6.7
    Restaurant and breakfast quite good and not expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny room which was cold and slow to heat. Window hinge broken- making it almost impossible to open or close.

    Restaurant and breakfast quite good and not expensive. Room was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.5
    Easy location to get top for picking up the motorway for my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was cold, however i cotacted the hotel & there was a problem with the water heater which they cotacted me telling me it was fixed, i had since revieted the property & true to their word the shower was working great.

    Easy location to get top for picking up the motorway for my drive down to Italy

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    The restaurant is absolutely wonderful, thoroughly recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hallway absolutely reeks of cigarette smoke which the owners told us had been an ongoing problem unfortunately. My room only smelled faintly of the smoke though, so it wasn't all pervasive. The hotel is too far from town to walk so a car is a necessity, however there is sufficient car parking on site.

    The restaurant is absolutely wonderful, thoroughly recommend dining in. The rooms are ok, there is free parking & breakfast is adequate

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Really recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slighty too far out of town for many people but great for us as we had to visit someone on that side of the city

    Really recommend it.....food excellent, wonderful staff and perfect for our dogs. We will visit again

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.8
    It was easy to get to and from major routes so good as a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I saw no body at all. There were no staff or reception. I found the door open and entered a dimly lit vestibule and after some exploration discovered a basket with 3 keys, one with my name attached and the room number. The restaurant was closed despite the poster saying it should open until 9.30pm (I arrived at around 8pm) The wifi didn't work even in the vestibule. I received a call from Booking.com asking if i had checked in and later discovered they had sent me the entry code if I had arrived late. The door to the car park was still open the following morning anyway. The whole process didn't make me feel very safe.

    It was easy to get to and from major routes so good as a stopover

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.5
    Location is good for a stopover - very close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning.

    Location is good for a stopover - very close to motorway. It is also easy to drive into the centre of Reims. Small room but comfortable. Excellent breakfast for the price - can sit outside.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    The restaurant has a varied menu and is good value.
    • Couple

    The rooms have been recently renovated....however in 206 they have left the old toilet seat which is past its use by date.... Everything else is new in the bathroom.... Also the new fixed shower head had been removed...!!!!

    The restaurant has a varied menu and is good value.... There is an excellent house champagne.....

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress not so good and pillows awful! However I appreciate different people have different tastes to firmness of mattress and how plump their pillow are!

    Staff very friendly and hotel is clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is just off the autoroute & 10 mins from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel on the way out to the UK and on the way back found the wash basin was blocked we told the staff but nothing was done on the way out! On the way back we found the main shower did not operate & the TV could only get one channel. When we informed the staff we were just told " Oh, they both work fine!" There was no apology from the staff in both instances. We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions now, we hope this is not a decline in service?

    The hotel is just off the autoroute & 10 mins from the city center The rooms have just been renovated & are comfortable & clean & AT LAST there are curtains on the windows!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    5.0
    No staff there when I arrived at 8pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No facilities open at 8pm

    No staff there when I arrived at 8pm

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    6.7
    Close to Autoroute and surprisingly good steak for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room. All public facilities (toilets etc) were closed.

    Close to Autoroute and surprisingly good steak for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.5
    Easy locatin to get top for picking up the motorway for my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easy locatin to get top for picking up the motorway for my drive down to Italy

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    6.7
    we like the entry sistem , when we arrived late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast. over price for what you have, a small selection.

    we like the entry sistem , when we arrived late. They left a key .

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.8
    Perfect stop over hotel, nice staff, comfy bed, good hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant and bar closed on a Friday evening.

    Perfect stop over hotel, nice staff, comfy bed, good hot shower and free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Freindly staff convieniant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Freindly staff convieniant location

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.5
    I Have stayed here several times & found it to very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I Have stayed here several times & found it to very convenient when traveling through France to Italy

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Just what you would expect from a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just what you would expect from a budget hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    As I was driving down to Italy it was a good place to stop...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    As I was driving down to Italy it was a good place to stop over

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    9.2
    No frills, no fuss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No frills, no fuss!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Every one from the boss down were extremely friendly I even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small point a lack of a comfortable seat

    Every one from the boss down were extremely friendly I even stayed an extra day.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: