Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cour des Loges 5 stars

6, rue du Boeuf, 5th arr., 69005 Lyon, France

#13 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1308 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of wines is superb but the lack of half bottles or limited choice by the glass is somewhat biased against solo travellers. Lobby area is cramped but constrained by the original architecture. Could be a slow wait when busy.

    Staff were helpful and attentive without being overwhelming. The location in the old quarter with all the facilities of a top class hotel makes this an attractive choice. Restaurant was atmospheric with a wonderful choice of innovative but quintessentially French dishes. Pricey but worth it. The roof garden and spa are both pluses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower design flawed and bathroom area of the room was consistently wet. Room slightly too dark. Staff took a long time to respond to spa requests.

    Comfortable bed. Nicely furnished. Excellent staff. Quiet. Nice spa area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very dated, I have been coming here since 15 years ago and the room decor has not changed. In need of renovation desperately in the rooms. Everywhere else is fine.

    Building construction is very pretty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - Piazzetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't functioning, staff on the front desk lack personality. Door staff very good.

    It's in a unique location in the old quarter, easy walk to the downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very dark. Even with all the lights on it was difficult to read a book. There was no lobby to speak of, only a bar which was also quite dark. The room was small with high ceilings so they created a loft type sleeping arrangement which required climbing down rather steep stairs in the dark to reach the toilet.

    Attentive and helpful staff, all of whom spoke English. The buffet breakfast cost extra but it was worth the 26 Euro price because I ate my fill and then did not have to eat again until dinner. The location in old town was close to many tourist sites and Lyon city center was within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - Piazzetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not yet having chance to dine in the restaurant and Leaving.

    Every room has been different when we have stayed. Each one Very clean and beautifully decorated. Baths are large. Beds are lovely and comfy. Food is very good in the bistro and breakfast is outstanding. We even had two little bowls for my dachshund Tom with a few treats and some cold water. All of the staff are lovely and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Great location. Garden a delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dim-poor lighting in room and bathroom in serious need of updating...supposed to be a 5* hotel, we wouldn't rate the room above a 3* mainly because of the bathroom

    Fantastic location, quirky property in a medieval building...staff very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don't have as much lighting/a bit dark but that's due to the age of the building.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. The spa was also amazing with long hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 small duplex rooms which were charming, but cramped, tiny, and dark. Bed was upstairs. Wouldn't get that type of room again., but the classic superior room was lovely. Hot tub isn't very warm, exercise room is limited.

    Unfortunately we had a short overnight stay and left early the next morning, so no chance to eat at the hotel. The building is lovely, with an open courtyard style dining area. We used the spa facilities and really enjoyed the pool which has a current option, and steam room and dry sauna. Location is excellent with restaurants nearby, staff super friendly. Pretty pricey for the small rooms, and we paid a lot extra to put one extra person in a room. But we would come here again, choose a different room, and stay longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and a beautiful hotel in the old town. This was our second stay at the Cour des Loges and once again the staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no shower, old fashioned facilities (plastic 70s style bath, bidet, no sink in toilet, no air con)

    Concierge service great. Bed comfortable. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - Piazzetta
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outstanding location in the pedestrian area of the old city (Vieux Lyon). Short walk to some excellent restaurants. (We highly recommend the Jeremy Galvan restaurant and Le Tire Bouchon, both a block or two away.) Excellent breakfast. Very friendly, quick and comprehensive service, especially in the breakfast area and from the concierge. Our room was quite large, with both a desk and comfortable extra seating, over looking the square adjacent to the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room you sold us was seriously weird. A duplex with a bathroom taking up the whole ground floor and a tiny bedroom upstairs. I think you should have pointed this out at the time of booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small and dark, and some of the wallpaper could have looked fresher. It would have been nice to have had a stand-up shower rather than just a bath with a shower head. The hotel is expensive but you get what you pay for - amazing location, luxury, spa, fantastic food...

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful and romantic. The spa has a nice number of different options without getting treatments. The breakfast is copious and delicious (with the exception of the American-style pancakes... when in France, go for a crêpe!). The staff were all very friendly. It's in a great location in the old town, and it's possible to walk to all the main sights in Lyon, or take the metro which is only 4 minutes away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior of the hotel is beautiful. The food at the restaurant unforgettable. Good location in the center of old Lyon. No cars, great for walking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very attentive. The bed was excellent. The hotel’s Cafe Epicerie was spectacular. We didn’t go to the restaurant but it must be magnificent if the Cafe was so good. The location of the hotel is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    €25 for a glass of champagne at the bar. Don’t mind that but didn’t expect it..

    Charming hotel the coach on surrounded by colonnades. Photographers heaven!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cheaper small breakfast, sunken baths not so easy for elderly guests to get in and out of would prefer walk in shower.

    Location perfect, staff very friendly, beds very comfortable, bathroom and bedrooms a little small but this is due to the original use of the building, breakfast very expensive so therefore not taken in hotel. Bar quite expensive as are the restaurants in the hotel but as thre are so many restaurants nearby then not so important.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in rooms is very dim - part of the character but you need a torch to make sure you don't leave anything behind when packing!

    Very interesting location in a character filled alley in old Lyon Brilliantly handled refurbishment of character building Warm and luxurious furnishings and intriguing rooms Fantastic and helpful staff Great buffet breakfast Neat little indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows, extremely stuffy, couldn’t get to room without climbing the stairs . Weren’t told about free spa, or even where it was. Weren’t informed that we had to book to eat at bistro. No welcome drink, poor reception. We were made to wait in a room off reception without the offer of any refreshments.

    Beautiful building, quirky room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really old so have to expect that but bathroom toilet tiny space. Did not know original space was duplex and not good with older traveller. Also room very dark.

    Excellent concierge. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are on the smaller side due to the historical location so is the pool. The beds could be a little extra fluffy and linen as well for extra comfort.

    This hotel has incredible spirit from the medieval bourgeois lyon. It is ripe with history and style is everywhere. The staff is extra kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inappropriate pre-charging of credit card without customer consent Beds too short so could not sleep Tiny room Wellness center was full of small children Very slow bar service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the bathroom lacked a shower. The bed was not particularly comfortable being two singles zipped together. Nome of this is what I would have expected from a Luxury 5 star hotel. You are pay for the ambience and the location but the rooms should still be 5 star standard and they are not.

    The location and restaurant were fantastic. The meal we had in the hotel was the best dinner we have had had in some time. A we did dine at a a very famous 3 star restaurant in Lyon. The ambience of the hotel was excellent set in a historic building typical of old Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one of the maisonette rooms, funky, but impractical. Only a very small skylight, no other windows. Getting down to the bathroom at night shouldn't be attempted without a light. Room was clean, and unusual, but we wouldn't book it again.

    The location was fantastic, the staff very nice and helpful! Loved the way the staff left something to nibble in the room after cleaning, small cake, grapes, aso.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a little too soft for my liking and the lighting is a bit dim.

    The staff and location are the top aspects of this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, while the location is ideal for a visit to Lyon. We couldn't have been happier or more pleased.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent. The design of the property and the quirky nature of the rooms were a delight. The staff are excellent and the food delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not an observation on the hotel but the street is pedestrianised and taxi drivers don't always take you to the door. May be an issue for those with mobility problems.

    Wonderful and quirky hotel. Not many hotels have a hotel cat in the reception area - should be encouraged! Rooms unique. Central location in the old town - it's an absolute haven in a very touristy area. Lovely roof garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old, outdated, most rooms do not have proper sunlight. the appliances are rundown. Definitely not worth the money. You can still be authentic and historic, rather than old and uncomfortable, this hotel is old and feels dirty. Our room was dark overlooking at the terrasse of another room, very rundown A/C and bathroom and full of dust.

    Great staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet smelled and getting around is complicated.

    The uniqueness of the building. Historical and classical which made it an elegant place. Spa is wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the Pool could have been cleaner

    Perfectly located in the old part of Lion, UNESCO World heritage. Most sites are in walking distance. Valet parking works well, other convenient garages are in the area too. It is a fairy castle with all the little stairways, towers and corners. The atrium dining in the middle is perfectly located. The Sauna is clean and nice, the staff is extremely attentive and ready to serve. Excellent bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is excellent and we would definitely stay again. Since not all guest rooms are equipped with a shower (some are deep tubs with hand sprayers), we would request a room with a shower.

    The location and architecture are sublime. Service provided by the staff -- especially the top-notch Conciergerie team -- Is five star. Several weeks before we arrived the Concierge team emailed to say they were available to book tours, restaurants, etc.. We booked a FABULOUS private tour of the city which focused on The Resistance during WWII. It was a highlight of our stay (if you do it, book it for 3 hours--2 hours is not enough time!). They also helped with restaurant suggestions. If you stay, be sure to connect with Gérard and his team: your stay will be so much better for it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cour de loges is a fabulous hotel in EVERY aspect. Stunning architecture PERFECT location in old town, close to restaurants etc. , excellent staff, comfortable room, sumptuous breakfast! Wish we could have stayed longer. If you are in Lyon, then don't look any further - Cour de loges is THE place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel cannot be classed as a luxury 5 star property. Rooms are very shabby and the bathroom isn't great. No stand up shower and the separate toilet is vey dismal.

    Staff are friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not to my liking...the toilet in a room and the wash hand basin and bath in another!

    It is in an excellent location.Staff, especially the concierge and the young personnel,is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    To reach the hotel by car is a little bit tricky.

    The hotel has a very interesting historical background and it is a kind of mystical to walk thru the building knowing that it was hundred years ago a monastery. Service and employees are very friendly and nice. The bar has an excellent choice of liquor, wine and champagne. The rooms are interesting created, maybe a little bit complicated. The wellness area is big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal on Tuesday at the Café had a great entrée but the main course (steak) was not great; the cut and texture was a bit ordinary. Both saunas were not working which was a shame, no one at the spa to help; not a big deal.

    Loved the variety in rooms, and service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position in the old town but impossible to access by car or even taxi at some times of the day. Interesting 16 c building and history but it does not make for a good hotel. The rooms were really tiny and dark and only accessed by a narrow winding spiral staircase. Carrying luggage up and down was extremely hard; there is a slow, small elevator but it can only take luggage and no people. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. I don't have any complaints about the hotel as such - I just didn't realise what it would be like in terms of its position and its construction - neither of which make it an easy place to stay. I like old towns and old buildings but this one was at the limits of what works for me.

    Grat position. Polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First visit we stayed in a smaller room that was a bit cramped. Our second visit we upgraded and had a large, lovely room, and beautiful view of the rooftop garden.

    Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was beautiful and easy. Unique interior, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat wave in France which was above the control of the staff. However, I'm sure if they could have fixed it, they would have.

    The staff is professional, efficient and very helpful. Loved meeting in the bar each evening for a pre dinner then a digestive after dinner. Great bar staff. Very friendly and engaging and absolutely professional. We have stayed at Cours des Loges before and we love the building, it's perfect position and this time we had lunch twice at their own casual restaurant. On our last visit this did not exist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning rattled the entire time it ran. Had to use earplugs to sleep.

    The room was beautiful. Centrally located for visiting churches. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I understand that is what the effect they were going for, it is too somber for me. I need more light. We also requested to change rooms because the layout of the first one we were assigned to (toilet downstairs - bedroom and sink upstairs) was not comfortable, in fact difficult to navigate at night. The second room was more than fine.

    The garden, food and the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of chlorine in the pool was a bit too much. Very strong fumes.

    We loved everything!! The staff was incredible and treated us so kindly. Top notch, amazing! Best location in all of Lyon. Restaurants, shopping, museums - amazing hotel and staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and lacked natural light. A mirror and a tile were broken. The electrics were not great. We felt like we were staying in a shabby caravan, very disappointing.

    The location was excellent. The restaurant was amazing. The building was interesting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great place to stay in Lyon.

    Comfy bed and cool bathroom in a beautiful old palazzo-style building. Excellent location. The SPA is not big but enough to have a relaxing and pleasant time there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was always intrigued by the setting and architecture of the Cour des Loges when I was a student in Lyon 25 years ago. I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay on a recent visit. Architectural features and design didn't disappoint. The room, with both a luxurious tub and shower, was very comfortable. Service was impeccable and very friendly. Each person went out of their way with my requests, even escorting me personally to the Cafe. I enjoyed the Epicerie cafe and morning brunch, and relaxed in the suspended gardens. Loved the convenience of the Vieux Lyon location, and crossed the Saone toward Hotel de ville in minutes. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Exceptional hotel, great location and amazing architecture inside the hotel. I have appreciated the free SPA and pool. Breakfast and dinner was server in a very special setting and were top notch. this hotel has probably the best concierge service I have ever experienced. The head concierge (Gerard?) who was extremely helpful and friendly. Thanks again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find the location by car. You need to call the hotel for guidance

    Excellent location. Food was very good in the restaurant. Bedroom was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the hotel as GPS kept telling us it was not accessible by car - had to park far away, run to the hotel and get instructions how to get there ( a code for the "gate" required). Staircases very narrow, lift so small only 2 people can fit in, "fitness room" is a joke. Room décor very weird - walls and curtains were all dark red - more suitable for a soft-porn or a horror movie than a hotel room (almost expected to see Count Dracula hovering outside the window).

    Nothing really

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that spoiled our almost perfect stay was that between 4am and 5am in the morning there was a truck unloading in front of the main entrance of the hotel making a very loud noise which prevented us to sleep.

    Staff was absolutely perfect and going out of its way to fulfil every our need. The location of the hotel could not have been better and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot mention a single negative thing...

    We liked and enjoyed everything about this place! It is truly a magnificent hotel and a brilliant peace of architecture!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the bedroom - dimmed lights which you can not make brighter.

    Central, beautiful old building with charm, historical, charming bedroom, lovely food, superb staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful, charming hotel in an historic location. Staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful! Our room had old world charm with all the modern amenities! Loved it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not convenient for an older couple like us. Too many steps from bedroom to lower level. But the bedroom was comfortable.

    Comfy bed ,great location, quirky room ( loft)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Particularly liked the cafe epicerie......fine dining at affordable prices. Staff went out of their way to please. Loved the cosy bar, and we are already planning our next trip!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was a minor issue with the bar manager who didn't like us sitting in an (empty) bar at a table for 5 when there was 2 of us. Other than this fellow, the service we received was exemplary, and I haven't let it affect the overall rating.

    Beautiful room, atmospheric communal areas, a wonderful bed, with no disturbances at night, attentive and largely exceptional staff, spa was one of the nicest I've been in, breakfast was lovely with plenty of options. Location was great too. Not a lot to dislike!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nice but not trained for a 5 stars. Noisy and impatient.Facilities are growing old. Our bathroom was more like an 90's bathroom.Definetly not a 5 stars.

    Lovely place for the decoration and venitian like style. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had fond memories of our previous stay at the Cour des Loges in 2004. After this second stay we are still enchanted. This time we ate in the hotel's restaurant. It was an exceptional experience. The dishes prepared by chef Anthony Bonnet and his team were creative and a true pleasure for the palate. The service was simply perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - Piazzetta
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed a bit lumpy. Spa OK, but nothing special. Hot tub not really hot. Decor of our junior suite (room #62), was not at all to our taste -- but everyone has different taste, I guess. Just seemed a bit shabby. Lights hard to figure out. Room dark and heavily curtained. Why does the bed have to be built up on a platform? For the wiring?

    STAFF was excellent! Hotel was interesting and different. The property is so unusual and beautiful. We loved the linens and towels. Robes were nice to have, too. WiFi fast ad reliable. It was fun to have free movies, etc., too. We loved the food at the breakfast buffet. So fresh and good. Our room was very quiet. Maybe the most unusual resort hotel we've stayed at in years. Fun discovering the nooks and crannies.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for those unable to use stairs (lots of stairs). No hot water the first day. Only place to hang things and the safe is in the shower. Everything gets damp from the steam. Apparently coat racks are too expensive. Continous fan runs 20 hours a day. Sounds like an airplane landing in the room. Not possible to nap! Staff was not welcoming or friendly. Couldn't or wouldn't speak french. Arrogant!!!

    Beautiful architecture in a great location. Authentic Loge in old Lyon. Nice spa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incroyable. There is nothing not to like about this hotel. The room was amazing (large, beautifully appointed, with a spectacular bath) and the facility itself is gorgeous; truly stunning. Also, the restaurant was fully deserving of its Michelin stars -- the crevettes savage in particular were worth traveling to Lyon for all by themselves.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our split level room with the bed on the mezzanine was very small and had many steps to fall down and many places to bang your head. Open plan bath. Choose another room unless you are small, agile and uninhibited.

    Staff, location, very unusual attractive building.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so perfectly designed. From the luggage rack to the water cups in holders attached to the sink. Brilliant. Also the spa services (massage and facial) were world class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt comfort affected by medieval origins of property. For example, our large room (on three levels) was accessed directly off a steep spiral staircase.

    Concierge rearranged our travel plans after city centre subject to last minute security lockdown for Lyon marathon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little dated, perhaps not updated for over 30 years. For the most part this is fine and quite fun - it's high quality and it's all very well designed (with a somewhat retro feel to it all). But the bathroom/toilets could do with being revamped a little - in the mezzanine rooms, the toilet is in a small cupboard as you enter, and the bath/shower by the window, with huge red curtains to separate it from the room. I guess they haven't changed the layout because the stairs that wrap around encompass a tv stand/shelving and are continuous with the mezzanine floor. The stairs wrap around the bath - essentially, to change the bathroom area would mean redoing the entire rooms. The downside is a somewhat gloomy bathroom/washing areas and something of a step to get into the bath/shower. Honestly, I loved it - this was one of the best hotel stays I've had. My parents stayed at the same time and found the stairs/getting in and out of the bath/shower a little difficult - staying in a mezzanine room. I imagine the larger rooms would not have this issue.

    Good location. The rooms are very different in decor/design. But it makes a fun change from the average hotel room. The attention to detail/service standards are very high. The rooms are checked multiple times a day - and toiletries etc restocked each time if anything has been used.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not recommend the small duplex for a couple.

    The overall feeling we received upon arriving at the hotel. Very gracious, very knowledgable staff. The central location right in the middle of the Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and spa facilities a little cramped. Steam and sauna switched on at request - odd and inconvenient.

    The best concierge in the world! Very knowledgable and extremely helpful. The boss can write in English upside down - fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed for the entire period of our stay and we weren't advised of this at the time of booking - had we have known, we'd have probably booked elsewhere. Trying to make us pay for a €55 taxi from the airport when we arrived by train was rather annoying too!

    Gérard the concierge was incredibly helpful and should be consulted on all key decisions!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WiFi - not the fastest, but working well; Amazing style of the hotel - medieval style - leaving the dream! Fantastic cosy SPA area; Pretty and refreshing garden on the top floor. Very close to all city attractions and the best bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great issue with air conditioning, it's just badly engendered in both suites that we stayed. There were almost nothing to breathe on the second level and not possible to open the windows.

    Really great hotel. In the right location with great old city flavor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are too like a rabbit hutch. The staff were not smiley. The breakfast was not include and 27 euros per person in addition to 345 euros for the room!!!!

    The bed and the bath.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the street outside Noise of the rooms next door (you can hear very clearly people using the toilet). Noise of the floor Aircon temperature not adjustable Broken toilet Shower water temperature very difficult to adjust Very small room Spa has only one shower! Spa water is dirty Breakfast area gives no privacy you have to eat facing people, hence we avoided it.

    the lobby

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    This legendary hotel situated in the Vieux town is elegant, well appointed and run with great efficiency by skill full, well trained, helpful and friendly staff. Bedrooms are wonderful and very comfortable whilst not compromising the heritage of the establishment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd recommend the staff go through each room and note any items that need to be repaired. Nothing terrible... but a few things not working or a bit tattered. It is an old property though so some of the "older" items are part of the charm.

    Location in the heart of old town and a truly unique property. This hotel is within walking distance of almost everything. The workout/spa facilities were an added bonus and were quite relaxing. It wasn't as hard to get to as we thought despite it being in the old town pedestrian district. The hotel provided excellent instructions to get there and any assistance we needed. One of our favorite things was the beautiful bar and a bartender who crafted amazing drinks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't look and feel like it was properly cleaned before our arrival. Bathroom facilities not great (only a bath with hand shower that took ages to drain). Stains on floor and mouldy smell in a small, badly aired room. Had trouble reaching the hotel by car as its in a pedestrian area. Told by hotel staff that Booking.com weren't providing the correct location map for guests travelling by car. We really don't feel that the type of room we stayed in should be rated as 5-star accommodation.

    Staff was friendly and the hotel had a great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: