Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel D'Angleterre 2 stars

15 Quai Guiné, 85100 Les Sables-dʼOlonne, France

#23 of 37 hotels in Les Sables-dʼOlonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing that I did not appreciate is the lack of a door between the room and the bathroom. Instead of a door, there was a curtain. Not ideal for people traveling in couples...

    Very nice hotel, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, good bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good.

    Friendly staff. Good location. Excellent price/quality ratio. Excellent restaurant, Les Moetesses, under the hotel. Right on the Velodyssee cycling route.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic, but if it wasn't it would be far more expensive. A bit shabby, and the bathroom we had was really in need of work.

    Right on the harbour, great for local amenities and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a red large neon light directly outside the window of our bedroom No 1 which flashed all night if there was a vacancy that evening . The room needed the window ajar as would have been too stuffy if shutter had shut out the red flashing . It lit up the room all night long in a red light every couple of minutes . Bit like a brothel

    Room was clean , comfortable and suitable for two persons . Breakfast was continental with orange juice and a yogurt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower area was old and tired. The room needed air conditioning.

    Location and nearby choice of good restaurants. Also underground secure parking very convenient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was old, and there was a lot of different noises. If somebody has a light sleep I definitely wouldn't recommend the hotel, since there was all kinds of noises from the harbor, but also from the building - pipes and some repeating very loud noises. It is impossible to park nearby even for unpacking (but they have private parking). The bathroom was old and in shower there was mold. Also, the rooms were locked only using the self-locking lock (the one that is "locked" if you shut the doors) which I guess are pretty easy to open, and I found it unsettling. In general it was quite low standard, especially for the price.

    The room was big, there was an elevator, the cleanness was good. Location is very good - it is just in the harbor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking and unloading any luggage is really problematic because of the popularity of this Hotel location any time during the year.

    The Location of this Hotel is Superb. The wonderful in house restaurant offered a wide selection within their menu, so there was plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone needs to get a grip on the cleaning! This place could be so much more enjoyable if only it was cleaned properly. The basics are there.

    The locoation is perfect, the owner very friendly!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been better. For example, the shower head hook could have been at a normal height as opposed to putting it next to the bath taps.

    The rooms were a lovely size but to be honest you get what you pay for in this hotel. It did the job as we only wanted a bed for the nights we were there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be no socket in the room - if there was it was hidden by furniture. The pillows were tiny - inadequate really. For those arriving by car there is no parking, but we travelled by bus a lot.

    The helpfulness of the manager when our flight was cancelled and when Air France announced a strike. He. Was able to confirm our flight with KLM and booked us in online. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed. Best location of sable d'olonne in my opinion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night

    le calme de l'hotel et sa situation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic

    Nice French breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had terrible odor and extremely small

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location very good, everything is at very good level

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient for the local restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at the price

    Discounted car park available near by

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel! Great location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street or Patio View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Located right by great restaurants and bars in the liveliest part of town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - some traffic noise - sockets far away from the desk, hidden behind furniture - slow wifi. Need to enter your e-mail address to get wifi connection.

    price: 36e per day close to the city center

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No on site parking. I had pre booked their parking at a nearby car park but on arrival at the hotel it was not available on the first day and the staff simply said that it wasn't their problem. It was to me. After I long drive I couldn't park and had to search the town for somewhere else! Not good when the majority of tourist staying there would have driven. Needs sorting. Room was very hot and stuffy

    Good location clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our harbour view room was sadly subject to external noise. We were only supplied with one small pillow, however maybe we should have asked for a second as the staff were so obliging.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In theory the location is good but having decided to upgrade my room to one with a harbour view was s huge mistake as just below is a bar/club with incredibly loud music and people spilling out into the street drinking and talking

    Nice friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit over priced but a nice stay

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La. Situation proche des restaurants et bars

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - Hotel was fine

    Friendly staff - spoke very clearly & slowly to help me & my French. Let me store my bike inside in a store room

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room a little small

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    did what I asked for - provided a room clean comforatable enough good for wrt price

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel, close to the beach and restaurants. Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location beside the port

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcome was not according to hotel standard.

    The location, good price opportunity.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no parking very close to the hotel.

    Close to restaurants

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: